Ratings based on 55 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Indianapolis

Great Resort with small but nice beach

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Excellent experience overall. Resort is located at the north end of Cancun, around point so you miss out on some of the surf and turquoise waters. Some boat traffic- I enjoyed watching the boats come and go. Short bus ride to secondary attractions and shopping. Special thanks to Gina and Bernardo for a great experience. Only downside was Restraunt reservation system- difficult to navigate and only a short am window to get a spot at dinner. Good Buffet!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from South Carolina

Great Place and a Great Value

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, service, entertainment, ocean view, proximity to events etc.
Cons: The was a lot of loud partying until 1,2, or 3 am which would keep light sleepers awake.
Location: On site Aqua world representatives provided access to water activities. Hotel staff provided access and information about other activities.
This place is a great value with very good food, several quality restaurants, a small but well maintained beach area and an excellent staff of helpful, friendly and courteous people. The facilities are well maintained but a little older and not quite up to the latest standards. Overall it met or exceeded our expectations and we would recommend it as a great value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Jessica Reyna Arechiga Management Assistant, Hotel Management
Dear Ray: First of all, and on behalf of Occidental Costa Cancún, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post a comment about your vacation with us on this website. We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your destination for your well-deserved vacation. We are very proud to know that we have exceeded all expectations we had regarding our location, activities and services. We are motivated to read positive reviews about our hotel. Occidental Costa Cancun has as principle guides to offer a "stars" treatment to our distinguished guests and offer them a unique gastronomic experience. We are happy to know that you have received the quality and attention that distinguish us. Once again thank you for your kind words to our staff and to our hotel chain. We offer an apology for the noise you mention, we will take the necessary measures so that this does not happen again and can continue to be a part of your preference and that of our future guests. Feel free to contact us to help you enjoy your next visit. Yours sincerely,
1 out of 5
by A traveler

Extremely Unpleasant

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Well I decided to give Cancun a try for my birthday and I must admit it was one of the biggest mistakes in my life. Out of the 32 countries I have visited, Mexico has been the worst. My debit card was stolen from my room, while dining I found a bone in my cheese pizza and most of the staff was very rude. I didn't receive the wi-if that I paid for. When I complained to the hotel staff, they started to speak Spanish and pretended not to understand. When dining in the restaurants , the waiters were very rude . I honestly rather spend a night in jail before visiting this horrible place again. No one deserves this kind of punishment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Jessica Reyna Arechiga Management Assistant, Hotel Management
Dear America: First of all a cordial greeting from the team that makes up the Hotel Occidental Costa Cancun. We sincerely regret not being able this time to meet your high expectations and for give us your valuable time to write a review on this website. Mexico is one of the main tourist destinations worldwide. We are sad that he has not had a pleasant vacation. We offer you an apology if you did not receive the service you hoped for and deserve, I assure you that we will take the necessary measures so that this does not happen again. On the other hand, is a pride for us make your knowledge and different travelers who frequent this page, which the Hotel Occidental Costa Cancun has different badges and certifications, one of them is called "Crystal" which evaluates us precisely the quality and health with which we prepare food, from the staff, production and expiration , among many others. About your comment that I paid the internet, let me tell you that it is not possible because we do not include the internet. We are indeed an all-inclusive (food and drinks) hotel, however there are extra charges such as Internet Service, Spa, Premium Alcohol, Romantic Dinners, Room Service, among others. The hotel provides discount coupons for guests staying for more than 3 nights. With regard to your theft comment, let me make you aware that all our guests on the day of their arrival are given a welcome letter stating that the hotel is not responsible for objects not deposited in the box security. We would have liked to hear your opinion during your stay to be able to do something about it and to feel more comfortable. Best regards,
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Houston, TX

Below average hotel and beach

Posted Jan 21, 2017
The hotel is outdated and very basic. Several rooms are noisy due to street noise, buses motorcycles running day and night and lobby noise which carries thru every floor. The room we stayed in had a cracked door and the door frame was not sealed letting daylight and noise thru. Bathroom toilet did not flush and was not properly cleaned. When reception was advised they offered maintenance to check into the issues but changing rooms was not an option. The music played at lobby is boring. The drinks were well below average not sure if the mixes used are a factor but very dissapointing. The food at buffet average and at specialty restaurants a bit better but nothing spectacular. No pool swim up bar. Beach is small and swimming area restricted due to boat canal next door which stays busy all day. The water is not very clear due to the nonstop boat activity close by. The property is on the small end so don't expect very elaborate night shows, there's no theater at this hotel. Stayed at other Barcelo properties and this one was the worst so far. Staff was friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2017 by Jessica Reyna Arechiga Management Assistant, Hotel Management
Dear lili8888: First of all a cordial greeting from the team that makes up the Hotel Occidental Costa Cancun. We sincerely regret not being able this time to meet your high expectations and for give us your valuable time to write a review on this website and call our attention to issues in which we can improve. We work hard to improve in different areas of opportunity that you mention. All in order to keep within your preference and our other guests. We would have liked to hear your opinion during your stay to be able to do something about it and to feel more comfortable We assure you that for us the most important thing is the satisfaction of every one of the people that give us the pleasure of being our guests, we hope you give us the opportunity to receive it again in the near future to change your perception and create memorable experiences through the services we offer that it really is our main goal. To be a pleasure will be to serve you personally and show you the true service to the Occidental Costa Cancun style. Best regards, Jessica Reyna Arechiga General Management Assistant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from NJ

Getaway

Posted Dec 15, 2016
My hotel stay was Awesome!!! The front desk was very helpful and took care of any issues that I had which were very minor. The food was Ok lots of the same foods lunch and dinner but over all very very clean. My room was amazing clean well kept and housekeeping cleaned and maintained Mini bar daily.. I would definitely stay there again as well as recommend to my friends oh did I mention it was my birthday trip.. So my expectations were high.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by Jessica Reyna Arechiga Management Assistant, Hotel Management
Dear Deneen: First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to our Occidental Costa Cancun hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations. We hope to celebrate its next birthay with us, and feel free to contact us to help you enjoy your next visit, Best regards, Jessica Reyna Arechiga. General Management Assistant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great Hotel & Location

Posted Aug 11, 2016
The hotel was great, pool and restaurants also only issues that specialty rest. you need to do reservation because they are always full
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2016 by Jessica Reyna Arechiga Management Assistant, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Thank you for highlighting those qualities that allowed you to make your stay an unforgettable experience. On the other hand we will change the way to book restaurants, all with the purpose to remain part of your preference. We hope to have the opportunity to have it back soon. Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Indianapolis

Comfortable, Intimate Resort Setting

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Great location (a quick bus ride to all of the night life and excursions). Good prices and a warm, inviting staff.
Cons: They will be remodeling the main entrance this fall. We can't wait to see what they do with this area.
Location: The location is a 15-30 minute bus ride (10 pesos per rider, each way) to all of the night life and activities.
This is our third year going to this same resort with friends and family. May of the staff recognize us and greet us warmly. The rooms are comfortable but certainly not lavish. The staff is friendly but not overbearing. The daily entertainment is fun (beach volleyball, pool volleyball, Zumba, Yoga, Bingo, etc.) but nothing gush about. The evening shows are fun to watch but don't assume they are going to be Phantom of the Opera. The three table service restaurants are worth experiencing. Our group chose the Italian themed experience and had rave reviews about the Lasagna. The buffet restaurant usually has something that will appeal to everyone. Don't underestimate befriending the staff. We often communicate with them via Facebook throughout the year. When we arrive at the resort, the warm reception is fantastic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Jessica Reyna Arechiga Management Assistant, Hotel Management
Dear Quincy: Thank you for highlighting those qualities that allowed you to make your stay an unforgettable experience. We work hard to improve in different areas of opportunity that you mention. All in order to keep within your preference and our other guests. On the other hand, we invite you to our hotel already renovated in December 2016, to let you know our new facilities and services we offer for your comfort and satisfaction. We hope to have the opportunity to have it back soon. Best regards,
3 out of 5
by A traveler from los angles

Suggestions

Posted Jul 4, 2016
We had a good time at the hotel, the stuff is very friendly and helpful, everyone,except this man working with the water sports, he doesn't work directly with the hotel,his business is to sell tours therefore he tries to convince guests to buy tours from him and he even gets upset if guests refuse to purchase these tours. He treats white guests better than he does other ethnicities, his name is Alejandro, the stuff working directly with the hotel are very nice. The activities personnel work very hard to get guests entertained,kudos to them!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2016 by Jessica Reyna Arechiga Management Assistant, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Thank you for highlighting those qualities that allowed you to make your stay an unforgettable experience. We're glad know that you enjoyed the service you provide our staff. We offer an apology if the Alejandro was intense with you, we will take cards in the matter so that this does not pass again, and to be able to remain your preferred. We hope to have the opportunity to have it back soon. Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Oxford MI

Nice hotel, great food and drinks, great shows!

Posted Apr 25, 2016
This was our 6th time in Cancun but the first at the Barceló Costa. Overall great stay! The food and drinks were great and the flea markets and Mall was close by. Making reservations for dinner was easy we just did it each morning on the way to breakfast. The beach was nice and calm compared to other hotels we have stayed at on the other end of the strip. The shows each night outside were great! The beach area wasn't too big but we loved it and it was right next to the ferry for Isla Mujeres which we liked. The bathroom in the rooms was huge and the shower was the nicest shower I have ever had at a hotel. My only complaints were the music at the pool was very low and slow. They really need to turn it up and play something more upbeat instead of elevator music. Second the beds are horrible. Very hard and uncomfortable and I woke up sweaty every night even with the air on. It wasn't just me who thought this either. We went with a group of 8 who all said the same. So with loud upbeat music by the pool and a new bed it would have almost been perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2016 by Jessica Reyna Arechiga Management Assistant, Hotel Management
Dear Shannon: Thank you for highlighting those qualities that allowed you to make your stay an unforgettable experience. We're glad to know that you enjoyed our our rooms comfortable, the evening shows, the beach, food and drinks we offer for your palate, especially the cute Mexico restaurant and especially the service I provide our staff. On the other hand, the hotel will be remodeled, and we will have new beds, also We will put more attention on the subject of music, all in order to remain on your preference. We hope to have the opportunity to have it back soon. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Nevada

Beautiful property and location

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: All inclusive was truly all inclusive!!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Lots of excursions available. Flea Market down the street. Easy bus routes to follow to explore the city.
Excellent resort! Friendly Staff. Great Food. Great Entertainment. Excellent Wedding service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2015 by Management Assistant Barceló Costa Cancún., Hotel Management
Dear Laura, It is our pleasure to let you know that every day we work hard and with very much effort in order to satisfy your needs and provide you the best service that you deserve during your stay. For this reason we are truly glad to read you had an amazing time with us and enjoyed the service provided by the staff and the food. Best regards, Claudia Garrido Management Assistant Barceló Costa Cancún.