"Pros: location, food variety, night shows, beach shade and seating, cleanliness, day activities and a handful of employees that will go above and beyo ... " More

By a verified traveler on Fri 21 Jul 2017

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

An all-inclusive stay in Cancun awaits you at Occidental Costa Cancún All Inclusive. Within steps you'll find Museum of Popular Mexican Art and Escenica Tower within a short 5-minute stroll. Highlights at this beachfront resort include 4 restaurants, a full-service spa, and an outdoor swimming pool.

You can enjoy LCD TVs with cable channels, and all 133 rooms feature WiFi, in-room childcare, and coffee/tea makers. Additionally, free minibar items, free bottled water, and safes are available.

A day of pampering can include massages, facials, and body treatments along with access to the sauna and spa tub. At the resort's own poolside bar or bar/lounge, you can enjoy a drink. Spend the day at the beach and enjoy the onsite free kids' club, fitness center, and sauna. Business travelers can take advantage of a meeting room, a business center, and limo/town car service. Additionally, you'll find WiFi in public areas, a kids' swimming pool, and laundry facilities. There's also free self parking, along with the convenience of car rentals on site.

Attractions within a 30-minute drive of this 3.5-star Avenida Kukulkan resort include La Isla Shopping Mall and El Rey Ruins.

Double Room

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Double Room, Oceanfront

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Junior Suite, 1 King Bed, Jetted Tub, Oceanfront

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Double Room with Terrace

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Double Last Room Available

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Occidental Costa Cancún All Inclusive ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.7 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0
1 out of 5

Old hotel, tiny beach, don't stay here

This was a below average experience and I would not recommend this to anyone. Horrible location and horrible beach near where the sewage is dumped in Cancun.

Posted by , from Plano Texas on Jul 22, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 24, 2017 by General Management Assistant.

Dear T: We're sorry you were unhappy at our resort and not have met their expectations. However, we thank you for pointing out to us those areas in which we must continue to improve. Those kinds of comments are what help us to stay ahead, presenting you with new proposals. Thank you very much for letting us knows we hope to give us the opportunity to receive it again and change your perception of our service. Cordially Noemi Ramirez Assistant Manager

4 out of 5

Great Value!

Pros: location, food variety, night shows, beach shade and seating, cleanliness, day activities and a handful of employees that will go above and beyond expectations Cons: limited beach due to it being next to marina, not so friendly front desk or gift shop employees, no free wifi, dinner reservation are required for all restaurants except buffet and you must make reservations at 7:00 am, stand in line and deal with not so nice reservations clerks. Also, do not let the $500 resort credit fool you. It's not a real credit, it's up to $500 in discounts towards limited services they offer.

Posted by , from salinas, ca on Jul 21, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 24, 2017 by General Management Assistant.

Dear Christina: Thank you very much for your comments; it is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will certainly send your comments to the person in charge to take the appropriate measures and in this way prevent it from happening again in the future. We hope to have the opportunity to have you back soon. Best regards, Noemi Ramirez. Assistant Manager.

3 out of 5

Good hotel for the price

This was a good hotel for how cheap it was. I've been to better all-inclusive resorts, but at a much higher rate. The staff were ok, the food was bland, and the beach was small. Also, the wifi was $12/day and only supported one device. Overall, I would recommend for anyone who can't afford a better all-inclusive.

Posted by on Jul 3, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 7, 2017 by General Management Assistant.

Dear guest: We're sorry you were unhappy at our resort and not have met their expectations. However, we thank you for pointing out to us those areas in which we must continue to improve. Those kinds of comments are what help us to stay ahead, presenting you with new proposals. Thank you very much for letting us knows we hope to give us the opportunity to receive it again and change your perception of our service. Cordially Noemi Ramirez Assistant Manager

4 out of 5

Great

Great place excellent value good food I would stay again

Posted by , from tennessee on Jun 28, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 30, 2017 by General Management Assistant.

Dear Jeff Thank you very much for your comments; it is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to have you back soon. Cordially, Noemi Ramirez. Assistant Manager.

4 out of 5

Not a bad hotel but the beach is very small!

He staff was amazing and the food was good as well but the beach was incredibly small which was a real bummer.

Posted by on Jun 25, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 27, 2017 by General Management Assistant.

Dear Guest; Thank you very much for your comments; it is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to have you back soon. Cordially, Noemi Ramirez. Assistant Manager.

3 out of 5

Close to the beach. Far from downtown.

Food was ok,not always hot. The variety of food was not that great. Reservations went fast so need to book first thing. Hotel staff was ok,friendly enough but didn't go above and beyond. Booking excursions was better through the aquaworld rep by the pool instead of the girls inside at the desk. The entertainment was nice and the beach was clean and beach staff was friendly and fun. Overall good first time. Will not book again here, but it was nice for cheaper all inclusive.

Posted by , from NJ on Jun 19, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 21, 2017 by General Management Assistant.

Dear Jessica Thank you very much for your comments; it is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will certainly send your comments to the person in charge to take the appropriate measures and in this way to prevent it from happening again in the future. We hope to have the opportunity to have her back soon. Cordially, Noemi Ramirez. Assistant Manager.

3 out of 5
Hotel was not the greatest! Drinks were water down. Rooms were ok. Staff was nice. The $500 resort fee was a lie. We were very upset about that. That's the main reason I chose this hotel. Food did taste good. No nightclub at hotel. I would not go back to this hotel I think there are way better ones. We made the best of it but it was not 4-5 stars. It is dated. They can use an upgrade. Everything is close by which was nice. They only had about 3-4 restaurants. The night shows would be nice if they included audience participation. That makes them more Fun. Overall, we would definitely go back to cancun but not to occidental.

Posted by , from new jersey on Jun 8, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 10, 2017 by Noemi Ramirez Assistant Manager

Dear Bella: We're sorry you were unhappy at our resort and not have met their expectations. However, we thank you for pointing out to us those areas in which we must continue to improve. Those kinds of comments are what help us to stay ahead, presenting you with new proposals. Thank you very much for letting us knows we hope to give us the opportunity to receive it again and change your perception of our service. Cordially Noemi Ramirez Assistant Manager

3 out of 5

Hotel experience

Overall look was nice room clean staff was ok but the food was terrible and the drinks as well the ac stopped working once I lowered it the beach area was to small it was roped off the pool was nice but only 1 pool and once I booked a tour they didn't mention it took 3 1/2 hrs to get there and I got sick I had diarrhea when I got back to the hotel I tried to cancel the other tour and they wouldn't let me I told him that I couldn't cause I was sick and the ride was too long terrible experience very disappointed

Posted by , from a on Jun 6, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 12, 2017 by Noemi Ramirez Assistant Manager

We're sorry you were unhappy at our resort and not have met their expectations. However, we thank you for pointing out to us those areas in which we must continue to improve. Those kinds of comments are what help us to stay ahead, presenting you with new proposals. Thank you very much for letting us knows we hope to give us the opportunity to receive it again and change your perception of our service.

5 out of 5

Hotel

Hotel and staff were great. Very satisfied with location.

Posted by , from Texas on Jun 3, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 5, 2017 by Noemi Ramirez Assistant Manager

Thank you very much for your comments; it is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to have her back soon. Cordially, Noemi Ramirez. Assistant Manager.

3 out of 5

Older hotel with poor management

The room had a broken door. They came three times to fix the locks and I still didn't feel safe. They advertise snorkeling is included and when you get there you have to buy the equipment and stay in the tiny beach. Workers were extremely nice but management was poor. We asked to talk to the director 3 times and it happened the last day... We will not go back.

Posted by , from L. on Apr 3, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 7, 2017 by Noemi Ramirez Assistant Manager

We're sorry you were unhappy at our resort and not have met their expectations. However, we thank you for pointing out to us those areas in which we must continue to improve. Those kinds of comments are what help us to stay ahead, presenting you with new proposals. Thank you very much for letting us knows we hope to give us the opportunity to receive it again and change your perception of our service. Cordially

About the Occidental Costa Cancún All Inclusive

Location Blvd. Kukulcan Km 4.5, Cancun, QROO 77500

All-inclusive Details

This resort is all-inclusive. Onsite food and beverages are included in the room price (some restrictions may apply).

Gratuities and taxes
Gratuities and taxes are included.

Food and beverages

  • All meals, snacks, and beverages included
  • Room service during certain hours (limited menu)

Activities and facilities/equipment
All non-motorized water sports are included.

Land activities

  • Fitness facilities

Kids' club

  • Supervised activities for children between 4 and 12 years old

Entertainment

  • Onsite live performances

Not included

  • Premium food items
  • Premium and/or non-domestic beverages
  • Room service
  • Laundry/dry cleaning services
  • Offsite tours

Property Features

Occidental Costa Cancún All Inclusive is an all-inclusive resort. Room rates include meals and beverages at onsite restaurants and bars. Other items and amenities, including taxes and gratuities, and access to recreational activities and entertainment may also be included. Additional charges may apply for meals at some restaurants, special dinners and dishes, certain beverages, and other amenities. Occidental Costa Cancún All Inclusive offers its guests a full-service spa, an outdoor pool, and a sauna. There are 4 restaurants on site. You can enjoy a drink at one of the bars, which include a poolside bar and a bar/lounge. Public spaces have WiFi for a fee. A business center, limo/town car service, and a meeting room are available. A children's pool, a fitness center, and a complimentary children's club are also featured at the family-friendly Occidental Costa Cancún All Inclusive. Free self parking is available.

  • 133 guestrooms or units
  • 3 buildings
  • 4 dining venues
  • Built in 1994
  • Bar by the pool
  • Bar or lounge
  • Kid's club (free)
  • Childcare (surcharge)
  • Business facilities
  • 1 conference room
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Car service
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Garden
  • Gift shop
  • Beauty salon
  • ATM
  • Onsite shopping
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Property
  • Children's pool
  • Children's club (free)
  • Laundry facilities
  • Babysitting or childcare (surcharge)
  • In-room childcare (surcharge)
  • Babysitting or childcare
  • Playground on site

Internet

Available in all rooms: WiFi (surcharge)

Available in some public areas: WiFi (surcharge)

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Cancun, Quintana Roo (CUN-Cancun Intl.) (21.5 km / 13.3 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Occidental Costa Cancún All Inclusive offers 133 air-conditioned accommodations with free minibar items and safes. LCD televisions come with cable channels. Bathrooms include showers, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. In-room wireless Internet access is available for a surcharge. Additionally, rooms include complimentary bottled water and coffee/tea makers. A nightly turndown service is provided and housekeeping is offered daily.

  • Stocked minibar (free)
  • LCD television
  • Cable channels
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Nightly turndown service
  • Childcare in room (surcharge)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

Occidental Costa Cancún All Inclusive has 4 restaurants serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Nearby Activities

A large, free-form swimming pool includes a children's section and shallow-water shelves for lounge chairs. The 75-yard beach alongside the resort includes volleyball and soccer nets. Complimentary outdoor yoga classes and pool aerobics are offered.

Guests enjoy complimentary use of kayaks, canoes, and snorkeling gear. Introductory scuba-diving lessons in the pool are also complimentary. Additional complimentary water sports available at a marina on Nichupté Lagoon, the vast body of placid water lying between Cancún Island and the mainland, include pedal boats, Hobie Cat and Sunfish sailboats, and windsurfers. Guests must provide their own transportation to the marina, which is 7 miles (11.5 kilometers) away.

For surcharges, guests can arrange scuba-diving lessons and certification classes, snorkeling cruises, jungle tours, water skiing, wakeboarding, and fishing. Independent operators on the beach rent personal watercraft and offer parasailing flights.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or near the Occidental Costa Cancún All Inclusive; fees may apply.

  • Playground on site
  • Water skiing nearby
  • Golfing nearby
  • Fitness classes on site
  • Volleyball on site
  • Kayaking on site
  • Personal motorized watercraft on site
  • Scuba diving nearby
  • Scooter/moped rentals nearby
  • Parasailing on site
  • Yoga classes/instruction on site

Spa Services

  • Sauna in spa
  • Spa tub in spa
  • Body treatments
  • Facial treatments
  • Massages

Accessibility

If you need to make special requests for accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when booking your stay.

  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for in-room wireless Internet: USD 12 per 24-hour period (rates may vary)
  • Fee for wireless Internet in public areas: USD 12 per day (rates may vary)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Barcelo All Inclusive Cancun
  • Barcelo Cancun All Inclusive
  • Barcelo Cancun Costa
  • Barcelo Costa
  • Barcelo Costa All Inclusive
  • Barcelo Costa Cancun
  • Barcelo Costa Cancun All Inclusive
  • Cancun Costa
  • Cancun Costa Barcelo
  • Costa Barcelo Cancun
  • Barcelo Costa Cancun Hotel Cancun
  • Barcelo Costa Cancun Mexico
  • Costa Real Cancun
  • Gran Costa Real
  • Occidental Costa Cancún All Inclusive Cancun
  • Occidental Costa Cancún Cancun
  • Occidental Costa Cancún

Promotions

Limited Time Offer: USD 500 Resort Credit Discounts

Book a minimum 3-night stay in a rate plan type displaying the "Limited Time Offer: USD 500 Resort Credit" tag for travel now - December 31, 2017 and receive USD 500 in resort credit discounts on select purchases of services and products during your stay.
Resort credit and redemption details provided at check-in. Taxes and gratuity may not be included. The amount of USD 500 represents the credit value in discounts to be granted to the guest through discount percentages that can only be applied to the purchase of different services and products within the resort up to the stipulated sum. The services and products listed are not part of the All Inclusive program and the guest can only deduct the indicated percent from the total amount of the purchase of the corresponding service or product. The Resort Credit discounts cannot be redeemed for cash, neither in full nor partially, and any part not used will not be reimbursed. Additional restrictions may apply. Promotion subject to changes without prior notice.