Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

4.3 out of 5

"Hotel and room were nice but extremely overpriced. Parking our vehicle was EXTRA ($67.00 a day), water bottle in room extra ($10.00 a bottle), we we ... " More

By a verified traveler on Sat 25 Aug 2018

Hotel Description

3.5-star hotel near San Francisco Museum of Modern Art

City center stay

Within a 10-minute walk of this Downtown San Francisco hotel, you'll find San Francisco Museum of Modern Art and Moscone Convention Center. Oracle Park and Westfield San Francisco Centre are also within 2 miles (3 km).

Business services

This hotel features a restaurant, an indoor pool, and a bar/lounge. Traveling on business? Take advantage of the 16 conference rooms, business center, and valet parking. Enjoy the fitness center and perks like free WiFi.

Free WiFi, refrigerators

The soundproofed guestrooms offer free WiFi and video-game consoles. Other amenities include refrigerators, coffee/tea makers, and flat-screen TVs with cable channels.

Room, 1 King Bed, Allergy Friendly

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
$161* Per night/room Oct 31 - Nov 1

Room, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, City View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Allergy Friendly

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 2 Queen Beds

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Suite, 1 Bedroom

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Marriott Courtyard San Francisco Downtown ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.3 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Marriott Courtyard San Francisco Downtown

Everyone (18) Business (1) Family (6)
4 out of 5
The property is under lobby renovation. You would think that the guests would have gotten a price break but no it was expensive for that price. Travelocity should warn guests that the property is under major construction.

Posted by on Jul 25, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 25, 2019 by General Manager

Dear Rig, thank you for choosing us for your visit. As part of our commitment to providing exceptional accommodations and services, we are currently undergoing a revitalization project. We want to thank you for your understanding and your patience as we undergo these changes to improve our guest experience. It was our pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to having you return to enjoy our fresh, new look. Best regards, Amy Arbuckle, General Manager

4 out of 5
Good location. Close to Oracle field and Market Street. The hotel is under going renovations so there are some inconveniences and a bit of dust.

Posted by on Jul 5, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 5, 2019 by General Manager

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We are so glad that you loved our location and how convenient it was for your visit to San Francisco. However, we regret any inconveniences you may have encountered due to the ongoing remodeling. We hope this did not overshadow your otherwise great stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy more of what we have to offer at Courtyard San Francisco Downtown. Best regards, Amy Arbuckle, General Manager

3 out of 5
The building is undergoing renovations and we were placed in a room that had the windows blocked by scaffolding, which was unsightly, but not a huge issue. We stayed on a Saturday night, we were celebrating an upcoming wedding with friends. After being out on the town all night, we were awoken by a giant generator at 7 am cranking away All. Morning. Long. Half a dozen friends were staying in the same hotel on different floors and sides of the building, most didn't hear generator or have scaffolding on there windows so I guess we were the unlucky ones. We were also the only ones who booked through Travelocity, so I can't help but feel like they put us in a crummy room because we paid a discounted rate.

Posted by on Jun 17, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 18, 2019 by General Manager

Dear Guest, we are glad you stayed with us, and we appreciate you taking the time to post comments about your experience. We are sorry your sleep was disturbed by the noise. Our front desk is available to resolve issues, so we are sorry we were not aware of the noise problem, as we would have been happy to try and resolve the issue or move you to another room. Thank you again for being our guest, and we hope you will return as we would love to provide you with a better experience and a good night's rest. Best regards, Amy Arbuckle, General Manager

4 out of 5
Our card keys didn’t work initially. But everything else was great.

Posted by on May 14, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 15, 2019 by General Manager

Dear Doug, thank you for taking the time to post a nice review of Courtyard San Francisco Downtown. We always want our guests to have a pleasant experience, and we are glad to see we were able to accomplish this while you were here. We hope you will revisit so we can provide you with another great stay. Best regards, Amy Arbuckle, General Manager

3 out of 5

Posted by on Apr 24, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 25, 2019 by General Manager

Dear Guest, we are happy you were pleased with most of our services, but we apologize that your stay was not perfect. We encourage you to try us again as we are confident you will have a better experience. Best regards, Amy Arbuckle, General Manager

5 out of 5
Suite Room size was great with multiple wonderful city views. Indoor pool and spa was perfect for kiddos. Starbucks on site for a quick bite and coffe was helpful.

Posted by on Dec 9, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 10, 2018 by General Manager

Dear Guest, thank you for taking time to provide feedback about your stay at Courtyard San Francisco Downtown. We strive to provide service and amenities that are worthy of this kind of feedback. Thank you again for including us in your travel plans. We invite you to visit us again the next time you visit San Francisco. Best regards, Amy Arbuckle, General Manager

2 out of 5
This hotel is part of the Marriott chain, and they just happen to be dealing (seemingly badly) with a strike by their unionized workers. When I booked this hotel a few weeks ago, I was unaware of this prolonged strike, and Marriott made no effort to inform me of their ongoing intransigence. As a result, I arrived to find a very loud but very disciplined group of strikers outside and a small group of employees in siege-mentality inside. There were minimum services available, only snack foods and no free coffee in the lobby (the poor lobby staff had to charge me $1.50 per cup). The strikers kept up a chant audible throughout the building from 6 AM to 9 PM. Sleep and peace of mind were both less than optimal. I'm not sure who is most at fault here, but given the high room charges that Marriott demands, it seems that they are valuing corporate profit over paying their employees a living wage. As such, I am leaning towards the opinion that they do not belong in San Francisco, or elsewhere in California.

Posted by , from California on Nov 4, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
The staff were accommodating and friendly, however the noise outside from the protesters was disruptive.

Posted by , from Baltimore, MD on Nov 4, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Hotel and room were nice but extremely overpriced. Parking our vehicle was EXTRA ($67.00 a day), water bottle in room extra ($10.00 a bottle), we were charged for a meal that was not ours. The staff/personnel at reception were not knowledgeable of their surroundings,when we asked for direction, what was opened, stores near by, the valets knew more.

Posted by , from ON on Aug 25, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 26, 2018 by General Manager

Michou, thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Courtyard San Francisco Downtown. We are glad that your overall stay was enjoyable, but we are sorry for your disappointment with our extra charges. We also apologize for the service issues you had and the inconvenience it caused. We want every guest to have a fabulous experience with us so your feedback helps us refocus our efforts to ensure that we succeed in that goal. We hope you will come back and give us the opportunity to make it up to you during your next visit. Best regards, Amy Arbuckle, General Manager

4 out of 5
Pros: lobby
Great patio with fire place/warmer. Very inviting lobby.

Posted by on Mar 15, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 16, 2018 by General Manager

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Courtyard San Francisco Downtown. We agree that the seating by the fire pit offers a relaxing environment to unwind and we're so glad that you enjoyed spending time there. We hope to host you again whenever you are back in San Francisco. Best regards, Amy Arbuckle, General Manager

About the Marriott Courtyard San Francisco Downtown

Location 299 2nd St, San Francisco, CA 94105

Property Features

Marriott Courtyard San Francisco Downtown offers its guests an indoor pool and a fitness center. There's a restaurant on site, as well as a coffee shop/café and a snack bar/deli. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. WiFi is free in public spaces. There's an onsite business center. Event space at this hotel measures 9903 square feet (920 square meters) and includes conference space. A terrace, multilingual staff, and gift shops/newsstands are also featured at the business-friendly Marriott Courtyard San Francisco Downtown. Parking is available for a fee. This 3.5-star San Francisco hotel is smoke free.

  • 410 guestrooms or units
  • 18 levels
  • 9903 sq ft of conference space
  • 920 sq m of conference space
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • Deli
  • Business facilities
  • Conference space
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Concierge
  • Terrace
  • Gift shop
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • ATM
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Indoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Soundproofed rooms
  • Snack bar/deli
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Free cribs/infant beds

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Self parking (surcharge) , Valet parking (surcharge) , RV, bus, truck parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: San Francisco, CA (SFO-San Francisco Intl.) (22.9 km / 14.2 mi)
  • Train station: San Francisco 4th and King Station (1.4 km / 0.9 mi)
  • Metro station: Montgomery St. Station (0.6 km / 0.4 mi)
  • Parking: Valet parking, self parking, and RV/bus/truck parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Marriott Courtyard San Francisco Downtown offers 410 air-conditioned accommodations with laptop-compatible safes and video-game consoles. 32-inch flat-screen televisions come with premium cable channels and pay movies. Guests can make use of the in-room refrigerators and coffee/tea makers. Rooms have partially open bathrooms. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. This San Francisco hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Bathrooms are partially open
  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Movies for purchase
  • Refrigerator
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cribs (free)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Gaming console
  • Hair dryer
  • Laptop safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Sound-insulated rooms
  • Air conditioning
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

Whispers Bar & Grill - This restaurant specializes in American cuisine and serves dinner only. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include an indoor pool and a fitness center.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Mountain biking nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby
  • Kayaking nearby
  • Sailing nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

  • Wheelchair accessible path of travel
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • In-room accessibility
  • Assistive listening devices available
  • Braille or raised signage

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 4 PM

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 25.0 per night.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pets

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • Only service animals are allowed

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Self parking fee: USD 70 per night
  • Valet parking fee: USD 70 per night (in/out privileges)
  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 25.0 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Courtyard Marriott San Francisco Downtown
  • Marriott Courtyard Hotel San Francisco Downtown
  • Marriott Courtyard San Francisco Downtown
  • Marriott San Francisco Downtown
  • Marriott San Francisco Downtown Courtyard
  • San Francisco Downtown Courtyard
  • San Francisco Downtown Marriott
  • Courtyard San Francisco Downtown Hotel San Francisco
  • San Francisco Courtyard
  • Marriott Courtyard San Francisco Downtown Hotel
  • Marriott Courtyard Francisco
  • Marriott Courtyard San Francisco Downtown Hotel
  • Marriott Courtyard San Francisco Downtown San Francisco
  • Marriott Courtyard San Francisco Downtown Hotel San Francisco

You should know

  • Pool access available from 5 AM to 11 PM.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing https://www.travelocity.com/San-Francisco-Hotels-Marriott-Courtyard-San-Francisco-Downtown.h693658-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.