Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

"Very friendly and safe location! The staff was great even though they DID change our room after we left the DO NOT DISTURB sign. The Italian Restauran ... " More

By a verified traveler on Tue 31 Dec 2019

Hotel Description

3.5-star beachfront resort near Playa del Carmen Main Beach

On the beach

Your stay at this Playacar resort places you within 2 miles (3 km) of Quinta Avenida and Playa del Carmen Maritime Terminal. Playa del Carmen Main Beach and Mamitas Beach Club are also within 2 miles (3 km).

Full-service spa, outdoor pool

This resort features a full-service spa, a marina, and 3 restaurants. Relax with sun loungers and beach umbrellas, and cool off with a drink at the beachside bar. There's fun for all ages with a free kid's club and a children's pool, and free childcare is an added bonus.

Free WiFi, balconies

The 198 guestrooms have LED TVs with cable channels and offer free WiFi and balconies. Other amenities include refrigerators, free bottled water, and ceiling fans.

Superior Room, Balcony, Garden View

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
$86* Per night/room Oct 26 - Oct 27

Premium room, balcony, garden view

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

The Reef Playacar Resort & Spa - Optional All Inclusive ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.6 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for The Reef Playacar Resort & Spa - Optional All Inclusive

Everyone (20) Couples (3) Family (2)
5 out of 5
Very friendly and safe location! The staff was great even though they DID change our room after we left the DO NOT DISTURB sign. The Italian Restaurant was amazing for the 24th but service was a disaster after that. Our waiter the first night was Venezuelan and did a glorious job. The next night, we actually walked out cause the service was so bad. other than that, the buffet was awesome. The snack bar is adequate.

Posted by on Dec 31, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 6, 2020 by Micaela Castilla - Brand Executive

Dear guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding your stay at our resort.   We are saddened to learn about the impression you had regarding the service we provide. We will consider your comment very carefully, as we always pride ourselves on our high level of service and hospitality. Where an issue is identified we strive to learn from it to keep improving as keep working relentlessly to maintain our high standards in quality and service. The situation mentioned in no way reflects our standards and rest assured we will consider this situation with the Management in order to avoid any further inconveniences. We are saddened to read that you do not intend to return to our resort but we truly hope we may prove you in the future our commitment to exceptional customer service and satisfaction. In the future, we hope to have an opportunity to host you for a stay that truly exceeds your expectations. Kind regards,

2 out of 5
nice resort neglected and poor service especially at reception

Posted by on Dec 8, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 13, 2019 by Micaela Castilla - Brand Executive

Dear guest, Thank you for writing this review about your stay with us. We are saddened to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel and we regret that we were not able to meet your expectations. We would like to mention that we are concerned to read that you were unhappy with the service you were provided with. It is our goal to satisfy our guest needs. We make all our efforts to make our guests feel welcome and valued during their stay. However, this time we were not able to meet your expectations and we will consider your comment to assure to please our future guests with our high standards in quality and service. We would be grateful if you give us the opportunity to change your perception from our Resort. Thank you again for your review and for visiting us. Kind regards,

4 out of 5
I give this a B- I thought the staff were very accommodating. Rooms were average. The coffee Bar and ice cream bar were delicious. The buffet had a lot of variety but was so-so. Breakfast was great. I didn’t get hassled by any staff to participate in any timeshare. Maybe I was lucky. Would I stay here again. Probably not just because there are so many other resorts to visit. Would I recommend this place yeah.

Posted by on Oct 23, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 30, 2019 by The Reef Playacar

Thank you for taking some of your valuable time, post your review and sharing your feedback and experience regarding your stay with us.

1 out of 5
Worst hotel I’ve stayed at by far. Only one restaurant and one snack bar unless you pay extra for the upgraded all inclusive which includes another Italian restaurant, top shelf alcohol(not a great selection), and a private beach bar(not private when they serve anyone even if they don’t have the upgraded wrist band). The food at the buffet restaurant is some of the worst food I’ve ever had. Snack bar is the same way, absolutely terrible. We were turned away twice from the Italian restaurant that we paid extra for. First time because my husband had no sleeves. Came back the next night with sleeves. Was turned away again for no sandals. This is all after the outdoor excursion to get there. Multiple flights of stairs and this hotel is all outdoors. We were never told about a dress code for the restaurant. Not ahead of time. And not upon arrival. Talked to the manager at the front desk who did nothing but call me a liar, and scream at me. Upon leaving, we were told we had to go back to our room and get the pool towels or towel keys to return. Even though we were told upon arrival that we can leave them in the room for housekeeping to collect. Guy at the desk told us we had to go back to our room. Mind you we were already sweating from the walk from our room to the front desk because again, it’s all outside. Told him no, shuttle is outside waiting for us. All in all, terrible stay. Terrible staff. Terrible food. Terrible drinks. Terrible experience. Would NOT recommend this hotel.

Posted by on Oct 1, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 6, 2019 by Pamela Burguete

We are very sorry that your stay has not been pleasant, and each of the points that you have mentioned has been shared with the corresponding departments so that incidents such as yours do not arise again and we can continue to improve our service.

3 out of 5

Posted by on May 21, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 3, 2019 by Micaela Castilla - Brand Executive

Dear guest, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your review and for giving us the opportunity to welcome you the past days. We are sorry to know that you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel and we would like to apologize for any inconvenience that might have taken place. We would really appreciate if you gave us the opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel. Kind regards,

5 out of 5

Posted by on Mar 20, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 2, 2019 by Micaela Castilla - Brand Executive

Dear guest, It is an enormous pleasure to know that you liked the hotel and that you got to enjoy your vacations. Thank you for visiting us and we hope to see you soon again. Kind regards,

5 out of 5

Posted by on Jan 9, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 13, 2019 by Micaela Castilla - Brand Executive

Dear guest, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your review and for giving us the opportunity to welcome you the past days. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at The Reef Playacar. Kind regards,

1 out of 5

This is not a great all inclusive deal

The food is gross. There are no good choices, limited variety. Snacks and alcoholic drinks are rated the same. Cups are not washed just rinsed off with water and re-used for the next person. Restroom in room was dirty. Toilet and sink were not cleaned before our check in. Some of the staff were not nice. The front bartender and the valet/security were great and very helpful. Fromt bartenser made the best drinks, the rest of the hotel had watered down liquor. The valet always got us a taxi if needed. Room service is not prompt. Called more than 3 times for bottled water and more towels. Concierge is a constant hassle; They will not let you enjoy your stay, are nagging you for first 2 to 3 days to sit and talk to them about visiting their other facilities. If you want to get away from home and not stay in the hotel to eat and/or relax... this includes spending more money on every meal - This is the place for you. If you want to relax and feel like you are on vacation don't stay here. For an all inclusive package deal you should atleast get great food choices and clean cups even if you choose the standard package.

Posted by on Jun 8, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Awesome hotel on the beach

Rooms are clean and comfortable, staff was amazing and were eager to fulfill requests. The buffet resturaunt was very good and the menu changed nightly. Plenty of beach/pool lounge chairs to go around. I will definitely return to the Reef and will recommend it to friends and family.

Posted by , from Denver Colorado on May 4, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 30, 2018 by Micaela Castilla - Brand Executive

Dear Brian, Thank you for letting us know about your wonderful experience at our hotel. We must say we cannot express enough our satisfaction about the positive experience and sensational time you mention to have spent in our property. We are very proud of our staff who works hard to ensure that our guests are feeling comfortable and have everything they may need for a memorable stay. When their efforts are acknowledged it makes all their work worthwhile and so we will be delighted to share your kind comments with them. Thank you for highlighting our variety of food. Our executive Chef and Restaurant Manager will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed our delicious food. Your satisfaction is our reward; we really appreciate the time you took to provide us your positive feedback and would be happy to welcome you here again. Kind regards,

4 out of 5

Nice Hotel

Very nice hotel but they need to fix there room they were clean but my window had a crack on top wer mosquitoes or any other bug could come in, also no hot water I had to take two showers with cold water until I call front desk, their Spa I got a holistic massage and my daughter got the relaxing one both wer the same we paid 99 for each but we could go on their hot tub everything is extra but other than that a quiet nice hotel

Posted by , from los Angeles California on Jul 16, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 19, 2017 by Micaela Castilla - Brand Executive

Dear Gloria, We appreciate your comments about your recent stay in our hotel. We apologize for all the inconveniences you had in you room, we wish you had told us before you check-out, in order to give you a proper solution. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the spa treatments. We would be pleased to welcome you and your daughter back at The Reef Playacar. Kind regards,

About the The Reef Playacar Resort & Spa - Optional All Inclusive

Location Ave. Xaman-Ha, Playa del Carmen, QROO 77710

Renovations + Closures

We're sorry, properties in this area are unavailable for the dates you selected.

All-inclusive Details

All-inclusive room rates at The Reef Playacar Resort & Spa - Optional All Inclusive are available. These rates are higher because they include onsite food and beverages in the room rate (some restrictions may apply).

Gratuities and taxes
Gratuities and taxes are included. Additional gratuities at guests' discretion are accepted.

Food and beverages

  • All buffet and à la carte meals, snacks, and local beverages included
  • Dining and beverage availability limited at one or more venues

Activities and facilities/equipment
All non-motorized water sports, land activities, and use of recreational facilities and equipment are included.

Water activities

  • Kayaking
  • Sailing
  • Snorkeling
  • Surfing/boogie boarding

Land activities
  • Bicycling
  • Fitness facilities
  • Volleyball

Lessons/classes/games
  • Aerobics
  • Dancing
  • Language

Kids' club

  • Supervised activities for children between 4 and 12 years old

Entertainment

  • Onsite entertainment and activities
  • Onsite live performances

Not included

  • Motorized water sports
  • Scuba-diving certification
  • Scuba-diving excursions
  • Scuba-diving lessons
  • Snorkeling excursions
  • Surcharge for premium food items
  • Premium and/or non-domestic beverages
  • Surcharge for bottled wine
  • Airport transfers
  • Childcare
  • Laundry/dry cleaning services
  • Spa/beauty facilities and services
  • Activities and services offered by independent operators
  • Offsite tours
  • Transportation to offsite activities

  • Kayaking included
  • Sailing included
  • Surfing/boogie boarding included
  • Taxes included
  • Buffet and à la carte dining
  • Airport transfers not included
  • Premium/non-domestic beverages not included
  • Fitness facilities included
  • Premium food items not included
  • Volleyball included
  • Laundry/dry cleaning services not included
  • Childcare not included
  • Scuba diving excursions not included
  • Snorkeling excursions not included
  • Scuba diving certification not included
  • Motorized water sports not included
  • Bicycling included
  • Spa/beauty facilities and services not included
  • Activities/services from independent operators not included
  • Transportation to offsite activities not included
  • Offsite tours not included
  • Scuba diving lessons not included
  • Aerobics classes/lessons included
  • Dancing classes/lessons included
  • Language classes/lessons included
  • Onsite entertainment and activities included
  • Gratuities included
  • Local beverages and soft drinks only
  • Additional gratuities accepted
  • All food and beverages included
  • Food and beverage restrictions apply
  • One or more venues limit dining availability
  • One or more venues limit beverages
  • Surcharge for premium food items
  • Surcharge for premium or imported alcoholic beverages
  • Surcharge for bottled wine
  • All non-motorized water sports included
  • Onsite live performances included
  • All land activities, and recreational facilities and equipment included
  • Snorkeling included

Property Features

Some rates at The Reef Playacar Resort & Spa - Optional All Inclusive are all-inclusive. These rates include onsite meals and beverages, and may include taxes and gratuities. Additional charges may apply for meals at some restaurants, special dinners and dishes, certain beverages, and other amenities. Enjoy the umbrellas and sun loungers for a relaxing day at the beach. At The Reef Playacar Resort & Spa - Optional All Inclusive, pamper yourself with a treatment at the full-service spa or have fun in the sun with activities like surfing/boogie boarding and snorkeling. There are 3 restaurants on site, as well as a coffee shop/café and a snack bar/deli. You can enjoy a drink at one of the bars, which include a beach bar, a swim-up bar, and a bar/lounge. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. This beach resort also offers a complimentary children's club, an outdoor pool, and a children's pool. Free self parking is available. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 3.5-star Playa del Carmen resort.

  • 198 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • 18 buildings
  • 3 dining venues
  • 5167 sq ft of conference space
  • 480 sq m of conference space
  • Built in 1998
  • Bar on the beach
  • Bar by the pool
  • Swim-up bar
  • Bar or lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • Deli
  • Kid's club (free)
  • Supervised kid's activities (free)
  • Childcare (surcharge)
  • Beach lounge chairs
  • Towels for the beach
  • Umbrellas for the beach
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Umbrellas for the pool
  • Business facilities
  • 1 conference room
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Pool or billiards table
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Gift shop
  • Beauty salon
  • Television in lobby
  • ATM
  • Onsite shopping
  • Bellhop
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Children's pool
  • Supervised childcare/activities (free)
  • Free WiFi
  • Children's club (free)
  • Snack bar/deli
  • Laundry facilities
  • Babysitting or childcare (surcharge)
  • Playground on site
  • Refrigerator
  • Free cribs/infant beds

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Property shuttles: Airport shuttle
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

The Reef Playacar Resort & Spa - Optional All Inclusive offers 198 accommodations with safes and complimentary bottled water. Rooms open to balconies. 32-inch LED televisions come with premium cable channels. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and ceiling fans. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Private balcony
  • LED television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cribs (free)
  • Rollaway beds (free)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ceiling fan

Food & Drink

The Reef Playacar Resort & Spa - Optional All Inclusive has 3 restaurants on site.

Nearby Activities

An outdoor pool and a children's pool are on site. Other recreational amenities include a fitness center and complimentary bicycles.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Snorkeling on site
  • Free bicycles on site
  • Fishing on site
  • Golfing nearby
  • Surfing/boogie boarding on site
  • Cave exploring/spelunking nearby
  • Beach volleyball on site
  • Kayaking on site
  • Skydiving nearby
  • Parasailing on site
  • Ziplining nearby
  • Playground on site
  • Ecotours nearby
  • Fitness classes on site
  • Sailing on site
  • Boat tours on site
  • Scuba diving on site

Spa Services

The Spa at The Reef has 3 treatment rooms including rooms for couples. Massages are available on the beach and in the spa; other services include facials, body wraps, and body scrubs. A variety of treatment therapies are provided, including hydrotherapy. The spa is equipped with a spa tub, a steam room, and Turkish bath/hammam.

The spa is open daily.

  • Number of treatment rooms 3
  • Couples treatment rooms
  • Massages on beach
  • Manicures and pedicures
  • Body treatments
  • Body wraps
  • Facial treatments
  • Body scrubs
  • Hydrotherapy treatments
  • Spa tub in spa
  • Steam room in spa
  • Massages

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Wheelchair accessible parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at anytime
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Free rollaway/extra beds!
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pet Policy

  • Pets and service animals are not allowed at The Reef Playacar Resort & Spa - Optional All Inclusive

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place.Disinfectant is used to clean the property.Personal protective equipment, including masks, will be available to guests.Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; guests are provided with hand sanitizer.Each guestroom is kept vacant for a minimum of 24 hours between bookings.

  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is available to guests
  • Masks are available to guests
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • No shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • No elevators
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Service animals not allowed
  • Individually-wrapped food options are not available
  • gap period enforced between guest stays 24 hours

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • A tax is imposed by the city: MXN 26.06 per accommodation, per night

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • In-room safe fee: MXN 0 per day

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Reef Playacar All Inclusive Beach Resort
  • Reef Playacar Beach
  • Reef Playacar Beach Resort
  • Reef Playacar All Inclusive Beach Resort Playa del Carmen
  • Reef Playacar Beach Playa del Carmen
  • Reef Playacar All Inclusive Beach
  • Reef car Inclusive Resort
  • The Reef Playacar Resort Spa
  • The Reef Playacar Resort Spa All Inclusive
  • The Reef Playacar Resort Spa Optional All Inclusive
  • The Reef Playacar Resort & Spa - Optional All Inclusive Resort

You should know

  • Reservations are needed for golf tee times, massage services, and spa treatments. For reservations, contact the resort before arrival using the contact information on the booking confirmation.
  • Certain facilities might have restricted access. For details, you can contact the property at the number on the booking confirmation.
  • Pets and service animals are not allowed on site.
url importing http://www.travelocity.com/Playa-del-Carmen-Hotels-The-Reef-Playacar-Resort-&-Spa---Optional-All-Inclusive.h794331-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Playa-del-Carmen-Hotels-The-Reef-Playacar-Resort-&-Spa---Optional-All-Inclusive.h794331-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.travelocity.com/Playa-del-Carmen-Hotels-The-Reef-Playacar-Resort-&-Spa---Optional-All-Inclusive.h794331-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.