Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"I have been traveling to Mexico for 18 years and this was my first disappointment. The staff were so unfriendly. One of the reasons we continue to tra ... " More

By a verified traveler on Mon 27 Dec 2021

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

4.5-star beachfront property near Grand Coral Golf Riviera Maya

Beachside getaway

You'll find Grand Coral Golf Riviera Maya and El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Course within 3 miles (5 km) of this Playa del Carmen property. Playa Xcalacoco and Punta Esmeralda Beach are also within 3 miles (5 km).

All-inclusive

This all-inclusive property features a full-service spa, a water park, and a nightclub. Relax with sun loungers and beach umbrellas, and cool off with a drink at the beachside bar. Enjoy the 12 outdoor pools and free perks like buffet breakfast and free self parking.

Free WiFi, balconies

Featuring conveniences like sitting areas and coffee/tea makers, the 674 guestrooms also offer free WiFi and plasma TVs with satellite channels. Other amenities include balconies, room service, and free bottled water.

Deluxe Room, Garden View

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
$235* Per night/room Jan 25 - Jan 26

Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Family Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Junior Suite - Super Saver

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Suite With Jacuzzi and Outdoor Shower

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Suite (with 2 Jacuzzies)

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Grand Riviera Princess - All Inclusive ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.6 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 5.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Grand Riviera Princess - All Inclusive

Everyone (12) Couples (15) Family (16)
3 out of 5
I have been traveling to Mexico for 18 years and this was my first disappointment. The staff were so unfriendly. One of the reasons we continue to travel to Mexico is the hospitality of the people. The staff were working very short and it showed. From groundskeepers to wait staff everyone had a scowl on their face and appeared displeased if you asked for anything. Service in the restaurants was very poor as there was typically only 1 server. Lines at the bars for drinks were very lengthy. The only friendly people we encountered were the people trying to sell you vacation packages. Fortunately the food was better than most all inclusive resorts otherwise the week would have been my worst vacation to date. I understand tourism is down and resorts are trying to save money but 1 staff member per bar or restaurant is absurd and abusive to the staff.

Posted by on Dec 27, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 27, 2021 by Alfredo Lezama

Hello dear Kelly, we appreciate you sharing your experience with us, we know that feedback is important for continuous improvement in our service. Your opinion is of the utmost importance to us since without it we would not be able to know what are the things that were unpleasant for you during your stay. Now that you share the areas in which we must work more, we will pass them on with the corresponding departments so that they can implement an action plan and make the corresponding improvements in our service. We regret not being able to exceed your expectations. Best regards

4 out of 5
Overall the resort is very pretty has lots of fountains and statues beautifully maintained garden areas. Most of the stuff for her friendly and very helpful however it does seem that they are shortstaffed and it can take a while to get something such as a drink at the Buffet, pools and beaches. But all the stuff for working very hard to ensure that you had what you needed at all times. The food was fairly average it wasn’t bad but it wasn’t wonderful or memorable. Overall for the cost it was a great vacation. One improvement is definitely the Wi-Fi horrible you can not even send or receive texts on it.

Posted by on Dec 19, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 21, 2021 by Alfredo Lezama

Hello Kimberly! Thank you for taking the time to write your experience at our hotel. We have reviewed all the points you mention and we will make a report on the issue of Wi-Fi and send it to the corresponding area, with the aim of improving our service. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again. Greetings.

4 out of 5
Overall a great resort from food to amenities and the staff couldn’t have been more accommodating! We stayed at the villas which was super cool but no one told us until our second to last day that we were supposed to get a special dinner (which was past the date), free breakfast at their luxury restaurant and a free massage. Only other issue was the beds were like sleeping on planks so not the most comfy. Would’ve been 5 stars if it wasn’t for the above. Overall minor stuff but still wouldn’t been nice to know it so we could’ve taken advantage. Food, staff and amenities were all great so would definitely stay again for the price. If you’re looking to stay on property for most of your stay, great spot! If not, it’s about 30-45mins to Tulum, 2.5-3 hours to Kithen Itza (not a bad drive) and some other site seeing places.

Posted by on Sep 12, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 13, 2021 by SANDRA GALVAN

Dear guest, Thank you for that kind rating, we really appreciate it. we hope to see you soon! Best regards.

4 out of 5

Posted by on Aug 19, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5
BEWARE!!! “ROOM SERVICE AND POOL SERVICE” are not included in all the INCLUSIVE PACKAGES. The food is not at par not like the last time I was there. The ocean water is brown, not swimmerable and has a foul smell. VERY DISAPPOINTED AND DISSATISFIED!

Posted by on Jul 24, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 26, 2021 by Sandra Galvan

Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review, feedback is always appreciated. We will share your comments with our staff to improve our service. Best regards

5 out of 5
Staff very friendly and excellent service

Posted by on Jul 24, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 27, 2021 by Alfredo Lezama

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us and thank you for such a generous rating. We hope we have met all your expectations and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again. Best regards

5 out of 5
We loved the Villas where we stayed. Private quiet and private cabanas and a pool and Jacuzzi. It felt like we were the only ones there. Edith our concierge made booking easy and helped us with our spa day. What we did not like was check in. It took 1 hour and 45 minutes to check in. It was loud and crazy but they did there best to check us in.

Posted by on Jul 22, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 23, 2021 by Alfredo Lezama

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us and thank you for such a generous rating. We hope we have met all your expectations and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again. Best regards

2 out of 5
When we chose this location, the reviews had a 4.1-4.5 star rating -- by the time we returned, it was down to 3.6. Please note upfront there is a tax that has to be paid when you leave and the check-out process is over an hour long. These pieces of info will impact your departure. The facilities are spacious and beautiful but we had challenges from the moment we arrived. I paid for a room with 2 queen beds and got only 1 king; our room didn't have a safe or bedding when we walked in. They delivered a safe and bedding after multiple requests but the safe never worked. We were supposed to have access to a mini-bar but they rarely stocked it (and didn't stock the coffee either). The food was decent. The gym and kids clubs are all closed due to COVID, which is understandable but not advertised anywhere, which were a couple of the reasons I chose this location. My son was bummed to say the least. The taco stand by the pool is for sure the best food you will find. And there were a couple of fantastic servers. I can think of two, but much of the staff is unresponsive and also possibly overwhelmed. They clearly do not have enough staff on hand to manage the crowds at this location. We made the best of it and had a great time drinking margaritas, swimming and doing tours, but will not be returning to this location.

Posted by on Jul 21, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 21, 2021 by Sandra Galvan

Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review, feedback is always appreciated. We will share your comments with our staff to improve our service. Best regards

1 out of 5
They do not have enough employees, when its rain the rooms leak water and they need to change your room and it will take a whole day to get another room. Cleaning is ok, Food is ok, just to have a full belly. They plates and glasses are not that clean. Make sure to look at them very well before use it. You have to pay a fee when you get there per each night of your staying. The pool are big and the place is beautiful. The beach was full of seaweed but that has to do with the weather not the hotel. It was raining every days. If you want to enjoy the beach try to travel from August

Posted by on Jun 23, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 23, 2021 by Alfredo Lezama

Dear guest: Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We will take note of the points you mention to take corresponding actions. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again and regain your trust. Regards

1 out of 5
A brilliant, stunningly wonderful place to spend our honeymoon. What a joy! The food, the service, the beauty are truly unparalleled. It would be impossibly to convey here what an amazing, palatial, kind-staffed resort this is!! But it was beyond my highest hopes or expectations in every respect.

Posted by on Jun 10, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 11, 2021 by Sandra Galvan

Dear guest: Thank you for your 1 out of 5 rating - hopefully next time it will be a 5 out of 5 rating! Warmest regards,

About the Grand Riviera Princess - All Inclusive

Location Prolongacion 5ta Avenida, Playa del Carmen, QROO 77710

All-inclusive Details

This property is all-inclusive. Onsite food and beverages are included in the room price (some restrictions may apply).

Gratuities and taxes
Gratuities and taxes are included.

Food and beverages

  • All buffet and à la carte meals, snacks, and beverages included

Activities and facilities/equipment
All non-motorized water sports are included.

Land activities

  • Fitness facilities
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Lessons/classes/games
  • Aerobics
  • Dancing

Kids' club

  • Supervised activities for children between 4 and 12 years old

Entertainment

  • Access to onsite nightclubs
  • Onsite live performances

Not included

  • Motorized water sports
  • Surcharge for premium food items
  • Room service
  • Childcare
  • Spa/beauty facilities and services

  • Access to onsite nightclubs included
  • Aerobics classes/lessons included
  • Dancing classes/lessons included
  • Taxes included
  • Buffet-style meals included
  • A la carte dining included
  • Gratuities included
  • Fitness facilities included
  • All meals included
  • Tennis included
  • Volleyball included
  • Soccer (football) included
  • Childcare not included
  • Surcharge for premium food items
  • Motorized water sports not included
  • All available beverages included
  • Spa/beauty facilities and services not included
  • All non-motorized water sports included
  • Onsite live performances included
  • Room service not included

Property Features

Grand Riviera Princess - All Inclusive is an all-inclusive property. Room rates include meals and beverages at onsite restaurants and bars. Other items and amenities, including taxes and gratuities, and access to recreational activities and entertainment may also be included. Additional charges may apply for meals at some restaurants, special dinners and dishes, certain beverages, and other amenities. Lie back and work on your tan with relaxing beach amenities like umbrellas and sun loungers. At Grand Riviera Princess - All Inclusive you can cool off in one of the 12 outdoor swimming pools and indulge in a pampering afternoon at the full-service spa. Free breakfast is served daily. There are 9 restaurants on site, as well as a coffee shop/café and a snack bar/deli. You can enjoy a drink at one of the bars, which include 9 bars/lounges, a beach bar, and a poolside bar. WiFi is free in public spaces. This all-inclusive property also offers a water park (surcharge), a complimentary children's club, and a children's pool. You'll have access to the outdoor pool at a partner property. Self parking is free. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 4.5-star Playa del Carmen property.

  • 674 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • 9 dining venues
  • 9 bars or lounges
  • 5425 sq ft of conference space
  • 504 sq m of conference space
  • Built in 2007
  • Buffet breakfast (free)
  • Nightclub
  • Deli
  • Kid's club (free)
  • Supervised kid's activities (free)
  • Childcare (surcharge)
  • Terrace on the roof
  • Beach lounge chairs
  • Towels for the beach
  • Umbrellas for the beach
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Umbrellas for the pool
  • Business facilities
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Game room or arcade
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Gift shop
  • Beauty salon
  • ATM
  • Onsite shopping
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • Smoking in designated areas
  • Bar on the beach
  • Bar by the pool
  • Swim-up bar

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Number of outdoor pools - 12
  • Children's pool
  • Supervised childcare/activities (free)
  • Free WiFi
  • Outdoor tennis courts - 6
  • Children's club (free)
  • Snack bar/deli
  • Laundry facilities
  • Babysitting or childcare (surcharge)
  • In-room childcare (surcharge)
  • Arcade/game room
  • Playground on site

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Grand Riviera Princess - All Inclusive offers 674 accommodations with safes and complimentary bottled water. Rooms open to balconies. Accommodations offer separate sitting areas. 30-inch plasma televisions come with satellite channels. Bathrooms include complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Additionally, rooms include coffee/tea makers and ceiling fans. A nightly turndown service is provided and housekeeping is offered daily. Amenities available on request include irons/ironing boards.

  • Private balcony
  • Sitting area
  • In-room dining
  • Plasma television
  • Satellite channels
  • Coffee maker
  • Rollaway beds (free)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Nightly turndown service
  • Childcare in room (surcharge)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board available
  • Desk
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ceiling fan
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

Guests are served free buffet breakfast daily from 7 AM to 11:30 AM.

Buffet Verde - This buffet restaurant specializes in international cuisine and serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

La Hacienda - This theme restaurant specializes in Mexican cuisine and serves dinner only. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar. Reservations are required. Open daily.

La Vaquería - This theme restaurant specializes in local and international cuisine and serves dinner only. Reservations are required. Open daily.

Mamma Mia - This theme restaurant specializes in Italian cuisine and serves dinner only. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar. Reservations are required. Open daily.

La Fondue - This theme restaurant serves dinner only. Reservations are required. Open daily.

Room service is available.

Nearby Activities

6 outdoor tennis courts and a water park (surcharge) are featured at the property. 12 outdoor swimming pools are on site along with a children's pool. Other recreational amenities include a health club, a spa tub, and a sauna.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Snorkeling on site
  • Playground on site
  • Rowing or canoeing on site
  • Fitness classes on site
  • Basketball on site
  • Tennis lessons on site
  • Volleyball on site
  • Beach volleyball on site
  • Motor boating on site
  • Scuba diving nearby

Spa Services

Spa Princess has massage/treatment rooms and couples treatment room(s). Massages are available on the beach and in the spa; other services include deep-tissue massages, hot stone massages, and facials. A variety of treatment therapies are provided, including aromatherapy, hydrotherapy, and reflexology. The spa is equipped with a sauna, a spa tub, and Turkish bath/hammam.

The spa is open daily.

  • Couples treatment rooms
  • Massages on beach
  • Manicures and pedicures
  • Body treatments
  • Body wraps
  • Facial treatments
  • Body scrubs
  • Aromatherapy treatments
  • Hydrotherapy treatments
  • Hot stone massage
  • Deep tissue massage
  • Sauna in spa
  • Spa tub in spa
  • Reflexology
  • Detoxification wrap
  • Massages

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Wheelchair accessible path of travel
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 10:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Free rollaway/extra beds!
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

This property accepts credit cards and cash

Safety features at this property include a smoke detector, a security system, and a first aid kit

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and cash. For guests' safety, the property includes a smoke detector, a security system, and a first aid kit in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property and commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays. Personal protective equipment, including masks and gloves, will be available to guests. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; temperature checks are available to guests; guests are provided with hand sanitizer. Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Each guestroom is kept vacant for a minimum of 24 hours between bookings.

  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are available to guests
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Security system
  • Protective clothing is available to guests
  • Masks are available to guests
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Gloves are available to guests
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for lunch
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for dinner
  • Gap period enforced between guest stays - 24 hours

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Late check-out fee: USD 32 (subject to availability)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Grand Riviera Princess All Suites All Inclusive Playa del Carmen
  • Riviera Princess Suites Inclu
  • Grand Riviera Princess - All Inclusive Playa del Carmen
  • Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort Spa All Inclusive
  • Grand Riviera Princess - All Inclusive All-inclusive property

You should know

  • Reservations are needed for massage services and spa treatments. For reservations, contact the property before arrival using the contact information on the booking confirmation.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
  • Guests may experience noise disturbance due to nearby construction work.

Awards & Affiliations

Green / Sustainable Property
This property participates in Travelife, a program that measures the property's impact on one or more of the following: environment, community, cultural-heritage, the local economy.

url importing http://www.travelocity.com/Playa-del-Carmen-Hotels-Grand-Riviera-Princess---All-Inclusive.h2661557-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Playa-del-Carmen-Hotels-Grand-Riviera-Princess---All-Inclusive.h2661557-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.travelocity.com/Playa-del-Carmen-Hotels-Grand-Riviera-Princess---All-Inclusive.h2661557-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.