Enter dates to see availability

"Staff was very helpful. We requested a late check-out and were able to stay without hassle. Valet parking was very convenient. " More

By a verified traveler on Mon 19 Mar 2018

Hotel Description

3.5-star hotel near Downtown Aquarium

Heart of Houston

Within a 10-minute walk of this Downtown Houston hotel, you'll find Downtown Aquarium and Revention Music Center. Also, House of Blues Houston is within half a mile (1 km) and Discovery Green is within 2 miles (3 km).

Renovated in 2016

This hotel features a restaurant, a 24-hour fitness center, and a bar/lounge. Traveling on business? Take advantage of the 24-hour business center, free WiFi in public areas, and valet parking. A free area shuttle is offered as well.

IPod docks, WiFi

The 350 guestrooms have plasma TVs with cable channels and offer WiFi and iPod docks. Wired Internet, room service, and hair dryers are also available.

Room, 2 Queen Beds

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 5 Max
$140 per night

Room, 1 King Bed (Peloton Bike)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Presidential Suite, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Room, 1 King Bed, Corner

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Suite, 1 Bedroom

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible (Hearing & Mobility, Roll-In Shower)

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

C. Baldwin, Curio Collection by Hilton ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.0 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for C. Baldwin, Curio Collection by Hilton

Everyone (25) Couples (1) Family (2)
1 out of 5
Horrible staff, hotel under construction, no room service and breakfast was a joke. Over all a horrible experience and I talked to management and express my disappointment about the hotel. Regency about a block away and much better hotel with a way better staff. We found that out when we had to walk there to get coffee and breakfast !!! Yes believe it or not, you can't even get coffee at this place... Very sad situation.

Posted by on Jun 14, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 19, 2019 by Eve

Thank you very much for your feedback. As valued guest, your comments and concerns are very important to us. We will definitely use them as a training tool for our staff as we are all trained to provide a high level of service and I regret the fact we fell short in providing a memorable experience. As you mentioned, the hotel is under renovation right now and for that, we apologize for the inconvenience and confusion that it may have caused you. We can't wait to finish it and share our final product with all our guests. We hope you will give us a second chance to re-earn your truth for our hotel. Thank you for staying with us.

1 out of 5
The hotel is under construction. Had to park and call valet over to take my car after unloading everything for check in. Front desk was very rude. The room was in good shape but stay next door at the Hyatt for the same price and you don’t have to deal with the madness of this hotel.

Posted by on May 5, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 6, 2019 by Eve

thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry we did not exceed your expectations. As you mentioned, we are going under major renovation at this time and we are very sorry for the inconvenience and confusion this may have caused. We sincerely hope you will give us a chance in the future to be of service once renovation is completed.

1 out of 5
Hotel was still under construction no sign no lunch or dinner, no cart to take your clothes to room. We left and got another room as did most others waiting in the make shift check in station on the 2nd floor you got to by walking up plywood ramp. May someday be a nice hotel but they have a long way to go.

Posted by on Apr 28, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 29, 2019 by Eve

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. As you mentioned we are going through a transformation at the moment and can't wait to share our final product with our guests. I do apologize for the confusion and inconvenience this may have caused.We do hope you give us another opportunity to be of service.

5 out of 5

Posted by on Apr 6, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 8, 2019 by eve

We are pleased your experience was a fantastic one and thanks for your excellent rating. All of us at The DoubleTree by Hilton Houston Downtown look forward to having you stay with us again.

1 out of 5
I really wish there would have been some communication in regards to this hotel being under construction. Had I known this, I would not have stayed here. Upon arrival the Valet met us in the street due to the "main" entrance being under construction. After carrying all of our bags down the sidewalk to the side entrance, we see the luggage cart. A little late! We go in the door and up the escalator to the check in area. Vey helpfull and pleasant staff. We get to our room on the tenth floor to rest from our travels. The consistant and repetitive banging above us was not very welcoming. I called the front desk and they said they were doing some construction above us as well. They offered to move us to another room but assured us that the workers should stop around 6pm. We did not want to have to carry our luggage again so we declined. We were attending the Dinner Detective show in the hotel. Upon our arrival at the room the temperature in the "lobby" had to have been in the 50's. The hotel staff had a space heater to keep them warm. But all of their patrons were very cold. After the show we went to the "bar" where not to our surprise, it was VERY cold as well. Obviously the heater was not on. We made the best of the circumstances and retired to our room. At 8:00am Sunday morning the repetitive beating and banging began... As I type this, we are about to check-out with great displeasure and frustration.

Posted by on Jan 20, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 22, 2019 by evelyn veitia

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. As you mentioned we are going through a transformation at the moment and can't wait to share our final product with our guests. I do apologize for the confusion and inconvenience this may have caused. We do hope you give us another opportunity to be of service.

5 out of 5
Great experience! Awesome staff! AMAZING COOKIES!!!

Posted by on Jan 8, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 8, 2019 by Evelyn Veitia

Thank you for your feedback. We are very excited that we exceeded your expectations. Our Staff will be proud of knowing they did such an excellent job!. We hope to see back in the near future. thank you for staying with us.

5 out of 5
Construction was bad, y’all r remodeling, to much noise around my room..

Posted by on Dec 27, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 2, 2019 by HOUDB

Dear valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We have begun the initial phasing of our transformation to a new lifestyle product to better serve you in 2019. We deeply regret any disruption due to noise or lack of service while you were on property. We consistently work with our construction project managers to try to limit any disruption to our guests. We are currently scheduled to work progressively through various sections of the hotel to complete our transformation while providing minimal impact to guests stays. Please accept our apologies as we are diligently work to provide you with a phenomenal hotel experience in 2019 with a brand new hotel product along with our Hilton Hotels unmatched service level. Thank you.

1 out of 5
Worst hotel experience ever. Was not informed that hotel was under construction prior to my arrival. Was informed by a letter under my door late in the day that the water would be shut off the next day 9 am to 1 pm. Hotel desk offered to switch my room but not able to guarantee that room would have water either. Had to argue with the hotel and also with Travelocity to get a reimbursement. Had to switch hotel at midnight.

Posted by on Dec 26, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 4, 2019 by Yours In Hospitality

Thank you for sharing your experience. Our apologies for the inconveniences you experience during your stay with us. It seem that we fell short of providing and exceptional stay and for this we are truly sorry. We are presently working diligently to provide an amazing product for our valued guest such as your self. We hope you accept our sincere apology and allow us to redeem our self in the future to come as we look forward to your next visit.

3 out of 5
The staff was awesome and the shuttle was amazing. 35 bucks for overnight parking was a little much, but understandable for the location. The room was not as nice as I thought it would be and there were a lot of cosmetic issues, especially in the bathroom. The hot water didn’t work until about 11 am so I had to wait to shower until right before check out. The room was hot as well despite it being in the fifties outside and having the thermostat set at 60. Also the construction on the outside made it very difficult to find and unpleasant to enter. My overall experience was ok, but for the price of the hotel I was a bit disappointed.

Posted by on Dec 24, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 5, 2019 by Yours In Hospitality.

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize your stay was not satisfactory, It seem that we fell short of providing and amazing experience and we hope you will give us the opportunity to make it right in the not too distant future.

4 out of 5

Posted by , from Kansas City on Sep 16, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 17, 2018 by HOUDB

Dear Raquel, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you back in the near future. Thank you for staying with us.

About the C. Baldwin, Curio Collection by Hilton

Location 400 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77002

Property Features

There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. There's an onsite 24-hour business center. WiFi is free in public spaces. Event space at this hotel measures 18000 square feet (1672 square meters) and includes conference space. A 24-hour fitness center, tour/ticket assistance, and multilingual staff are also featured at the business-friendly C. Baldwin, Curio Collection by Hilton. A free area shuttle within 3 miles is available. Parking is available for a fee. A complete renovation of C. Baldwin, Curio Collection by Hilton was completed in 2016. This 3.5-star Houston hotel is smoke free.

  • 350 guestrooms or units
  • 20 levels
  • 18000 sq ft of conference space
  • 1672 sq m of conference space
  • Built in 1981
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Business center (24 hours)
  • Conference space
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Dry cleaning
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Convenience store
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • ATM
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Property
  • Free WiFi
  • Free area shuttle
  • Grocery/convenience store
  • Free cribs/infant beds

Internet

Available in all rooms: WiFi (surcharge) , Wired Internet access (surcharge)

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Valet parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: Houston, TX (HOU-William P. Hobby) (18.1 km / 11.2 mi)
  • Train station: Houston Station (1.4 km / 0.9 mi)
  • Metro station: Main Street Square Station (0.6 km / 0.4 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Free area shuttle within 3 miles
  • Parking: Valet parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

C. Baldwin, Curio Collection by Hilton offers 350 air-conditioned accommodations with iPod docking stations and safes. Plasma televisions come with premium cable channels and pay movies. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. This Houston hotel provides wired and wireless Internet access for a surcharge. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • IPod dock
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Plasma television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Movies for purchase
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cribs (free)
  • Rollaway beds (free)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy buffet breakfast daily.

Trofi Restaurant - This restaurant specializes in American cuisine and serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Lobby Lounge - This lobby lounge serves lunch and dinner.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include a 24-hour fitness center.

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 2 AM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Check-out

  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 2 children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Free rollaway/extra beds!
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pets

  • Pets: USD 100 per accommodation, per stay, plus a deposit of USD 50 per stay
  • Maximum 1 per room (weight limit: 165 lbs)
  • Restrictions apply
  • For more information, you can reach out to the property at the number on the booking confirmation

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: USD 50 per night

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for buffet breakfast: USD 18.85 for adults and USD 15.00 for children (approximately)
  • Fee for in-room wireless Internet: USD 9.95 per day (rates may vary)
  • Fee for in-room wired Internet: USD 9.95 per day (rates may vary)
  • Valet parking fee: USD 40 per night (in/out privileges)
  • Pet deposit: USD 50 per stay
  • Pet fee: USD 100 per accommodation, per stay

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • DoubleTree Hilton Hotel Houston Downtown
  • DoubleTree Hilton Houston Downtown
  • DoubleTree Houston Downtown
  • Hilton DoubleTree Houston Downtown
  • Houston Downtown DoubleTree
  • Houston Downtown Hilton
  • DoubleTree Hilton Houston Downtown Hotel
  • DoubleTree by Hilton Houston Downtown

You should know

  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
  • To make arrangements to bring your pet, contact the property directly at the number on your booking confirmation (please see the Fees section for related charges).
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.