"Stayed there 4 nights. Room was decent size, hotel is in great shape, clean and well maintained. Location is amazing: 1 block from Collins ave, 2 bloc ... " More

By a verified traveler on Fri 27 Oct 2017

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

4-star historic hotel near Miami Beach Boardwalk

Oceanside stay

A stay at this South Beach hotel places you steps from Miami Beach Convention Center and a 5-minute walk from Miami Beach Boardwalk. Collins Avenue Shopping Area and Lincoln Road Mall are also within 6 miles (10 km).

2 outdoor pools

This boutique hotel features 2 outdoor pools, a restaurant, and a bar/lounge. Traveling on business? Take advantage of the business center, free WiFi in public areas, and free airport shuttle. There's a rooftop terrace on site, and a 24-hour front desk and a coffee shop are also provided.

Free WiFi, comfy beds

Boasting comforts like pillowtop beds and Egyptian cotton sheets, the 153 guestrooms also offer free WiFi and plasma TVs with cable channels. IPod docks, minibars, and room service are also available.

Classic 1 Queen Bed, 235 sq ft

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$111 per night

Lux One Bedroom Suite, 690 sq ft

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

The Balcony, 295 sq ft w/private balcony

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Two Queens are Better than One, 295 sq ft

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Riviera Suites South Beach, a South Beach Group Hotel ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.9 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Riviera Suites South Beach, a South Beach Group Hotel

Everyone (16) Couples (1)
1 out of 5
Stayed at the Riviera Suites Hotel, South Beach Miami, 8 nights, to attend professional conferences at a nearby venue. Expensive hotel,definitely not a suite! My room was cramped, shabby, poorly maintained with filthy floors as were the common areas. Night one, air conditioner was broken sounding like a demolition zone, so I couldn’t sleep—took several hours of repair work the following day to fix. Night 2, the faucet handle fell off in the only sink bizarrely located next to the bed—several hours to fix. Arranged 1 hour late check out, despite which ,3 separate staff banged on my door telling me that I had to leave because the front desk failed to communicate this to them. A final insult was my mistake in formally reserving the hotel’s complimentary airport shuttle. Stood near front desk after staff assured me that the shuttle driver would come in and get me. Finally, noticed a shuttle in the street and made a mad dash out. I asked the driver whether he had checked to make sure all passengers were accounted for. He rudely slammed the luggage door and drove off leaving me and my luggage in the middle of the street! Never stay at this property!

Posted by on Feb 3, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 7, 2019 by Darko Gjorgioski

Hey there, Thanks for sharing your feedback on Riviera Hotel. We're very glad you chose us and loved our location. It's truly disappointing to read you didn't find all of our offerings to be perfect as we aimed for. We hope you will still come back and experience the offerings our guests so often enjoy with us. Best regards,

1 out of 5
The room was gross,especially the bathroom. And it was loud.

Posted by on May 29, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 29, 2018 by TM, Guest Relations

Hello. Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear you did not have a pleasant stay. Your review will be shared with our housekeeping staff for further clarification. We have a fantastic restaurant and bar that is lively until about midnight, but we would have gladly switched your room if this was an issue. We want our guests to have an enjoyable stay. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider us where we can exceed your expectations.

5 out of 5

Great location

Stayed there 4 nights. Room was decent size, hotel is in great shape, clean and well maintained. Location is amazing: 1 block from Collins ave, 2 blocks from the beach. Rooftop pool area is really nice. Staff was friendly and helpful, shot out to Pedro and Amaury at the front desk for being so accommodating. Was a little scared at first after reading some of the reviews complaining about noise and the condition of the room, but that was definitely not my case. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Posted by , from New York, NY on Oct 27, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 29, 2017 by DARKO Gjorgioski

From the behalf of the entire Riviera team, THANK YOU !! Those wonderful comments are music for our ears! Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

5 out of 5


Rivera hotel is awesome 4 blocks from the beach rooms are comfortable the sitting is what's awesome you feel like a local mark the Manger is wonderful the staff from the bell hop to bar tender are awesome if your looking for uber luxury bad service and a traditional miami vacation go stay at a resort if u want a memory of a lifetime the Rivera is a great start

Posted by , from s on Apr 17, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 19, 2017 by Darko Gjorgioski

Hello Josh, Thanks for your glowing 5 star words on us! We're so happy to receive your loyalty and Mark Kelly will be happy too. We can't wait to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Darko Gjorgioski

2 out of 5

Dirty hotel

It was awful! The elevator was discussing, the rooms were not clean, the noise wouldn't let me sleep and staff was so rude, dont bother placing the "do not disturb" sign outside the door 'cause they just won't care, they'll knock on your door anyways!

Posted by on Apr 2, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 4, 2017 by Darko

Hello, Thanks for your honest words on Riviera Suites. We appreciate you sharing, although we're truly sad your time wasn't perfectly 5 star. We aim to please and it's truly sad to read you didn't love our hotel from start to finish. We hope you will still come again in the future so that we can provide you with all that our guests rave on. Kind Regards, Darko Gjorgioski

1 out of 5

Worst ever!

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone . Front desk don't know how to run a hotel. The line to check in was ridiculous, only one person at the front desk. Hotel fees add up for things you didn't even use . Never again!!

Posted by on Mar 13, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 15, 2017 by Darko

Greetings, Thank you for your detail review and honest comments. We appreciate your feedback. What a bummer to our ears to hear that your stay was not pleasant one. We hope to see you again in the future and use the chance to prove you our great costumer service. Kindly Darko Gjorgioaki

1 out of 5

Nice Hotel but Terrible Happy Hour at Moreno Bar

Pros: The Staff is Excellent. Emmy, Zack and others are awsome. Hotel location is Excellent and one block from the beach.
Cons: Happy Hour at Morenos Bar/Restaurant needs the biggest improvement. Hotel will loose lots of future guests due to bad behavior of Morenos Bar owner.
Location: Location is Excellent to everything. There is the Ocean Cuban store right near the hotel and has decent breakfast/lunch/dinner and not so expensive.
I have been a guest at this hotel numerous times since its opening in 2013. The hotel has changed with some areas improved and others even got worst. Things that I liked about this hotel are: 1)The hotel staff is Excellent, friendly and very helpful. Hotel location is Excellent. Things I did NOT like at this hotel: 1)The Happy Hour at the Morenos Bar and Restaurant was the worst I have ever seen in my life. You get only one hour of Happy Hour and if you lucky enough you get like 2 drinks. The line for the Happy Hour is long with only one slow bartender/waiter and the owner of the Bar (George) is aggressive, very rude and pushes hotel guests around. Before the Happy hour starts, George puts "Reserved" signs on each table and if you do not order food and setting on one of those table watch out for his humiliation. So many of the hotel guests saw that George will come to each table and ask you if ordered food or not. If not, then he will loudly in front of everyone will tell you to leave the table and go to the back of the hotel area and have your drink. George usually takes private parties at the same time as the Happy Hour time and that adds up to the big line, slow service and unhappy hotel guests. Lots of hotel guests complained that they will not come back to this hotel because they advertise the wrong service, guests gets insulted by George and no one is doing nothing. 2) The swimming pool is dirty. 3) Hotel is full of noise. Saw guests looked came right from Jail

Posted by , from NYC on Sep 7, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

An okay hotel, but not 4 stars

Pros: The cleanliness of the hotel was awesome. I returned from the beach, tracking sand, surf and what not and didn't find my trail an hour later.
Cons: Sound proofing was quite poor and the staff while friendly needs to be more pro-active and engaged.
Location: The beach is only 2-3 blocks away and the main street is only 1 block away. There are plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance.
The hotel was very pleasant to look at as I walked in. It was clean and looked exactly like it did in the pictures. The staff was distant but pleasant. They had my reservation and offered up the valet parking in an easy to understand manner. The swimming pools and a nearby bar were explained and identified. The room was quite clean as I walked into it. There was the normal fridge of beverages and I learned later they didn't cost much more than they would at a restaurant. There was no room service menu or options documented so I assumed I would have to look them up online. The hostess had offered a balcony room for some extra $$, but only views available would have been of the surrounding construction. It seemed a great place to stay if you weren't intending to stay in the room much on your trip. The biggest negatives were the conditions of the room and the attentiveness of the staff. The room had essentially no sound proofing. I was on the 2nd floor and after I returned to the hotel , I heard the people above me moving around and the people on the side of me doing things. It was consistent throughout my stay and did not sound like people hammering on the floor or pounding on walls to create the affect. For the staff, on my last night, I ran into these two young women who were trying to find their hotel around 6p. The staff just stared at these women as they kept looking around for a place. I ended up opening the door for them as the staff lounged looking at them.

Posted by , from Chicago, IL on Sep 4, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Resort was great

Pros: Truly enjoyed the hospitality of the chief concierge Pedro Alvarado. Extremely helpful and pleasant.
Cons: More bathroom space
Location: Beach, restaurants on Collins Ave. Bus tour, boat ride all suggested by Concierge Pedro Alvarado who also gave us tickets to a great nightclub. FUN
Resort was great well within walking distance to many things. Using the shuttle bus was definitely a plus and saved money. Resort was off a street, a bit noisy one morning with sewers being cleaned. But was during the work week when we attended.

Posted by , from Chicago on Jun 22, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

One night stand

Pros: Pleasant, clean and staff nice.
We were there just one night it was pleasant and clean. The staff were helpful and nice. Valet parking a little slow but once you know you can plan.

Posted by , from Tampa, FL on Dec 29, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Riviera Suites South Beach, a South Beach Group Hotel

Location 318 20th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Property Features

Riviera Suites South Beach, a South Beach Group Hotel offers its guests 2 outdoor swimming pools. There's a restaurant on site, as well as a coffee shop/café. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. There's an onsite business center. Event space at this hotel measures 1000 square feet (93 square meters) and includes conference space. A rooftop terrace, a library, and tour/ticket assistance are also featured at the business-friendly Riviera Suites South Beach, a South Beach Group Hotel. A roundtrip airport shuttle is free at scheduled times. Limited parking is available for a fee and is offered on a first-come, first-served basis. This Art Deco Miami Beach hotel is smoke free.

  • 153 guestrooms or units
  • 4 levels
  • 3 buildings
  • 1000 sq ft of conference space
  • 93 sq m of conference space
  • Built in 1936
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • Terrace on the roof
  • Towels for the beach
  • Cabanas by the pool (free)
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Umbrellas for the pool
  • Business facilities
  • Conference space
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Library
  • Garden
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Television in lobby
  • ATM
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site


Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi


Valet parking (surcharge) , Parking (limited spaces)


  • Airport: Miami, FL (MIA-Miami Intl.) (19 km / 11.8 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Free airport shuttle
  • Parking: Valet parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Riviera Suites South Beach, a South Beach Group Hotel offers 153 air-conditioned accommodations with iPod docking stations and minibars. Pillowtop beds feature Egyptian cotton sheets, down comforters, and premium bedding. 42-inch plasma televisions come with cable channels. Bathrooms include showers, bathrobes, designer toiletries, and complimentary toiletries. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and safes, as well as phones; free local calls are provided (restrictions may apply). Additionally, rooms include hair dryers and irons/ironing boards. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Pillowtop beds
  • Minibar
  • IPod dock
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Plasma television
  • Cable channels
  • Egyptian cotton linens
  • Down blanket
  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Bathrobes
  • Designer toiletries
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy cooked-to-order breakfast daily from 8 AM to 11 AM.

Mas Cuba - Overlooking the garden, this restaurant specializes in Latin American cuisine and serves breakfast, brunch, lunch, and dinner. Guests can order drinks at the bar and enjoy alfresco dining (weather permitting). Happy hour is offered. Open daily.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.


If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies


  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 2 AM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Special check-in instructions:

Airport shuttle service is available at scheduled times from 9 AM to 9 PM. Fees may apply. Contact the property in advance to make arrangements.

Airport transportation is offered at scheduled times from 9 AM to 9 PM. Fees may apply. Please make arrangements in advance by contacting the property.


  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.


  • Pets are welcome and stay free
  • Restrictions apply
  • For more information, you can reach out to the property at the number on the booking confirmation


Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation. Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

Gift cards are not accepted as payment for room reservations or deposits.

This property accepts credit cards only for all onsite purchases, including incidentals. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation.

  • Noise-free rooms not guaranteed
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available
  • Pets allowed (no fees)
  • Parking height restrictions apply


Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: USD $100.00 per stay

The charges below are included in your overall room price:

  • Resort fee

The resort fee includes:

  • Pool access
  • Beach towels
  • Airport shuttle
  • Shuttle service
  • Business center/computer access
  • Internet access
  • Phone calls
  • In-room safe
  • Housekeeping

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between USD 15 and USD 25 for adults, USD 15 and USD 25 for children (approximately)
  • Valet parking fee: USD 40 per night (in/out privileges)
  • Pet deposit: USD 250.00 per stay
  • Early check-in fee: USD 20 (subject to availability)
  • Late check-out fee: USD 20 (subject to availability)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Riviera Suites South
  • Riviera Suites South Hotel
  • Riviera Suites South Hotel Beach
  • Riviera Hotel Miami Beach

You should know

  • Riviera Suites South Beach, a South Beach Group Hotel offers transfers from the airport. Please contact the property at the number on the booking confirmation with your arrival details prior to travel.
  • Pool access available from 8 AM to 8 PM.
  • The total price shown includes a resort fee.
  • To make arrangements for your pet, contact the property directly using the information on your booking confirmation.