Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

4.0 out of 5

"Just a nice place to stay the night and the end of our trip. Food and drinks good or your in the heart of Kona where all the action is. Beautifu ... " More

By a verified traveler on Sun 22 Mar 2020

Hotel Description

3.5-star beach hotel near Magic Sands Beach

In historical district

You'll find Hulihee Palace and Magic Sands Beach within 3 miles (5 km) of this hotel. Kahalu'u Beach Park and Kona Le'a Plantation are also within 6 miles (10 km).

Full-service spa, dining

A full-service spa, an outdoor pool, and a restaurant are all featured at this romantic hotel. Traveling on business? Take advantage of the free WiFi in public areas and onsite conference space. Relax with a drink at one of the 2 bars/lounges and enjoy the fitness center.

Soaking tubs, free WiFi

Boasting deep soaking bathtubs, the 436 guestrooms also offer free WiFi and balconies or patios. Flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and other amenities include refrigerators and coffee/tea makers.

Standard Room

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
$159* Per night/room Aug 1 - Aug 2

Deluxe Room, Partial Ocean View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Partial Ocean View Room

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Deluxe Room, Oceanfront

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Deluxe Room, Ocean View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Ocean View Room

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Royal Kona Resort ratings based on 229 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.0 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Everyone (38) Couples (12) Family (16)
5 out of 5
Just a nice place to stay the night and the end of our trip. Food and drinks good or your in the heart of Kona where all the action is. Beautiful sunset

Posted by on Mar 22, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 23, 2020 by Zareena - Customer Satisfaction Team

Mahalo for your feedback! We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our location was the perfect fir for your needs. Hopefully you can visit us again real soon!

3 out of 5
There was a lot of construction going on which was loud in the afternoon. A lot of the facility was torn up for construction. There was no room service nor a valet service. The hotel furniture in the room was battered and functioned poorly. The bathtub needed non-slick safety surfaces. The temperature of the shower varied constantly from too hot to too cold.

Posted by on Mar 12, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 13, 2020 by Zareena - Customer Satisfaction Team

Mahalo for your feedback! We are very sorry that the construction was disruptive during your stay and that there were some items that need to be replaced in your room. We are working hard to improve the resort and are in the process of refurbishing the rooms. We do hope that you will join us in the future to see our improvements.

4 out of 5

Posted by on Feb 21, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 21, 2020 by Zareena - Customer Satisfaction Team

Mahalo for your feedback!

3 out of 5
Hotel is old and in need of upgrades. Staff was great but beds were old and uncomfortable. Food and drink prices were very high.

Posted by on Jan 10, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 13, 2020 by Zareena - Customer Satisfaction Team

Mahalo for your feedback! We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and that the beds were uncomfortable. We do our best to provide a wonderful stay and will share your feedback with our leadership team. We would have been happy to move your room had we known that you were unhappy. We do hope that you will join us in the future. We are currently renovating and are confident that you will enjoy the updates.

2 out of 5
The overall property was as expected, minus the construction zone right outside our room. The "tower" we were in had the main staircase under construction, literally right outside our room door. Since we traveled with our 9 month old, this was an issue when we retreated for nap time. Not to mention walking around the resort with construction people, riding in the elevator with them. It was an uneasy feeling at times. The pool, beach area, etc. were nice and as expected. The Travelocity "deal" we signed up for was to include breakfast - it did NOT!!! This was a horrible disappointment when traveling with kids. The carpet in our room was so disgusting, after 15 minutes of crawling around, the 9 month old had - no kidding - BLACK hands and knees. Freaked me out until I figured out it was the filthy carpet. So her time on the floor was kept minimal except right before a bath. The lady that checked us in appeared to be intoxicated by something, that was really odd. Most airline travel back to the mainland is overnight. This means you don't need to be back at the airport until after dinner time. Unfortunately the hotels don't let you keep your room. "Late check out" was noon. They offered a hospitality room when we checked in, so we reserved it for nap time and a chance to shower before we left. Only to find out the morning of, they were completely "booked" and the hospitality rooms were NOT available. Again, horribly disappointing. No willingness to work with us.

Posted by on Jan 1, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 3, 2020 by CSD

Aloha We are very sorry you did not have an enjoyable time with us. We do our absolute best to accommodate guests requests however at times there are situations that do not allow us to accommodate every request, we do try however. Again we are very sorry about everything and do hope you return to stay with us and come see our improvements. Mahalo!

4 out of 5
Liked small private beach. Great lounge! Wonderful views. Good food and service.

Posted by on Dec 12, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 13, 2019 by CSD

Aloha We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you in the near future. Mahalo!

4 out of 5
We liked the location. Our room had a nice view but the noise from the Luau every night was annoying. The resort is in need of updating as well.

Posted by on Nov 22, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 22, 2019 by Zareena - Customer Satisfaction Team

Mahalo for your feedback! We are in the process of renovating rooms and would have been happy to look into a room move for your had we known that the luau was disruptive. The luau is held Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Fridays and we do end the show before 9pm every day as to mitigate any noise issues. We hope that you had a beautiful time with us otherwise and will join us again in the future! We will do our best to place you in a building that is away from the luau.

2 out of 5
Hidden fees on everything, parking ($84 for 1 night), using your credit card, breakfast, trash being removed from your toom? " grocery boxes, no plastic bag allowed on island". All staff are straight POS. Rude, unfriendly, uncaring.... I have nothing nice or descent to say about staff or the service given from this resort. Talk about a serious vibe kill on whats suppose to be an enjoyable vacation. Avoid this place an people at all cost.

Posted by on Nov 17, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 18, 2019 by Zareena - Customer Satisfaction Team

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry however there is inaccurate information in your review. We are not an all-inclusive resort nor do we claim to be. We have all information regarding fees directly on our website, which includes the pricing for meals, parking, and internet. Parking is $15 daily, not $84. We do not charge for using a credit card or for having trash removed from the room. Our staff is a team of caring individuals who work hard every day to ensure guests are enjoying their stay. We do hope that you had an enjoyable time in Kona. Please feel free to contact us in the future so we can provide correct information regarding the resort.

4 out of 5
We loved the location of the hotel. We had a partial view of the ocean which was pretty nice as well. The staff overall, was very accommodating and professional. We loved the unique design and history of the building. With that said, I’d recommend changing out the carpet. Fresh new carpet would give it a fresh smell and a newer look to match the unique exterior of the building. My wife and I loved our stay and would definitely stay there again, even today. We’d also recommend it to friends and family. Thanks John 3:3

Posted by on Sep 20, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 20, 2019 by Zareena - Customer Satisfaction Team

Mahalo for your feedback John! We are delighted that you enjoyed our location and in particular the architecture of our resort. We agree with your suggestion about replacing the carpet as we are actually in the process of renovating the rooms at the resort! We would love to welcome you and your wife back again to see our improvements!

3 out of 5
Beautiful view and location...its just really old. Very friendly and helpful staff though

Posted by on Sep 13, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 13, 2019 by Zareena - Customer Satisfaction Team

Mahalo for your feedback! We are an older resort but do our best to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable, beautiful stay. We are currently renovating rooms and continue to offer friendly service in all areas. We do hope that you will consider us on your next visit to Kona!

Renovations + Closures

This property is closed from 24 March 2020 to 31 July 2020 (dates subject to change).

Property Features

Royal Kona Resort offers its guests a full-service spa, an outdoor pool, and a fitness center. There's a restaurant on site. You can unwind with a drink at one of the 2 bars/lounges. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. Event space at this hotel measures 5400 square feet (502 square meters) and includes conference space. Spa services, a terrace, and tour/ticket assistance are also featured at the business-friendly Royal Kona Resort. For a fee, parking is available. This 3.5-star Kailua-Kona hotel is smoke free.

  • 436 guestrooms or units
  • 7 levels
  • 2 bars or lounges
  • 5400 sq ft of conference space
  • 502 sq m of conference space
  • Built in 1968
  • Dining venue
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Conference space
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Gift shop
  • Computer for guest use
  • ATM
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Self parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: Kona, HI (KOA-Kona Intl. Airport (KOA) (15.3 km / 9.5 mi)
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Royal Kona Resort offers 436 air-conditioned accommodations with safes and coffee/tea makers. Rooms open to balconies or patios. 32-inch flat-screen televisions come with cable channels. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations with deep soaking bathtubs, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. This Kailua-Kona hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Private balcony or patio
  • Deep soaking tub
  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Air conditioning
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy full breakfast daily from 6:30 AM to 10 AM.

Don The Beachcomber - This restaurant serves breakfast and dinner.

Don's Mai Tai Bar - This bar is located on the beach. Happy hour is offered. Open daily.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include an outdoor pool and a fitness center.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Golfing nearby
  • Snorkeling nearby
  • Parasailing nearby
  • Surfing/boogie boarding nearby
  • Tennis lessons on site
  • Rafting nearby
  • Ecotours nearby
  • Boat tours nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby
  • Kayaking nearby
  • Sailing nearby
  • Scuba diving nearby
  • Scooter/moped rentals nearby

Spa Services

Lotus Center Spa has 2 treatment rooms including rooms for couples and outdoor treatment areas. Massages are available on the beach and in the spa; other services include facials, body wraps, and body scrubs. A variety of treatment therapies are provided, including aromatherapy and Ayurvedic.

The spa is open daily.

  • Number of treatment rooms 2
  • Outdoor treatment areas
  • Couples treatment rooms
  • Massages on beach
  • Manicures and pedicures
  • Body wraps
  • Body treatments
  • Body scrubs
  • Facial treatments
  • Aromatherapy treatments
  • Ayurvedic treatments
  • Massages

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them in the special requests field on the booking page after selecting your room.

  • Wheelchair-accessible on-site restaurant
  • Wheelchair-accessible lounge
  • Visual alarms in hallways
  • Handrails in hallways
  • Handrails in stairways
  • Wheelchairs available on site
  • Well-lit path to entrance
  • Stair-free path to entrance
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)
  • Pool hoist on site
  • Pool access ramp on site
  • Wheelchair accessible path of travel
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • Wheelchair-accessible public washroom
  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • Wheelchair-accessible concierge desk
  • In-room accessibility
  • Assistive listening devices available
  • Wheelchair-accessible van parking
  • Wheelchair-accessible path to elevator
  • Wheelchair-accessible registration desk
  • Wheelchair-accessible pool
  • Wheelchair-accessible meeting spaces/business center

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 4:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at anytime
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Anyone traveling to Hawaii is required to self-quarantine for 14 days upon arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 2 children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. Tax ID - TA-130-995-4048-01. Safety features at this property include a smoke detector. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place.Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F.Contactless check-in and contactless check-out are available.Each guestroom is kept vacant for a minimum of 24 hours between bookings.The property affirms that it adheres to the Intertek Cristal (3rd party expert - Global) sanitization guidelines; the SafeStay (AHLA - USA) sanitization guidelines; and the Safe Travels (WTTC - Global) sanitization guidelines.Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. The tax ID number is TA-130-995-4048-01. For guests' safety, the property includes a smoke detector in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place.Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F.Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; guests are provided with hand sanitizer.Contactless check-in and contactless check-out are available.Each guestroom is kept vacant for a minimum of 24 hours between bookings.The property affirms that it adheres to the Intertek Cristal (3rd party expert - Global) sanitization guidelines; the SafeStay (AHLA - USA) sanitization guidelines; and the Safe Travels (WTTC - Global) sanitization guidelines.

  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Staff temperature checks are not conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are not available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Property follows sanitization practices of SafeStay (AHLA - USA)
  • Property follows sanitization practices of Intertek Cristal (3rd party expert - Global)
  • Property follows sanitization practices of Safe Travels (WTTC - Global)
  • Protective clothing is not available to guests
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Tax ID - TA-130-995-4048-01
  • Individually-wrapped food options are not available
  • Debit cards
  • Number of children who can stay free - 2
  • Gap period enforced between guest stays 24 hours

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for full breakfast: USD 22.95 for adults and USD 12.50 for children (approximately)
  • Self parking fee: USD 18 per night (in/out privileges)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Kona Resort
  • Kona Royal
  • Kona Royal Resort
  • Royal Kona
  • Royal Kona Resort
  • Royal Resort Kona
  • Royal Kona Resort Kailua-kona
  • Royal Kona Kailua-kona
  • Royal Kona Kailua
  • Royal Kona Resort Hotel
  • Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-kona
  • Royal Kona Resort Kailua-Kona
  • Royal Kona Resort Hotel Kailua-Kona
  • Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/kailua-kona

You should know

  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing http://www.travelocity.com/Kailua-Kona-Hotels-Royal-Kona-Resort.h25276-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Kailua-Kona-Hotels-Royal-Kona-Resort.h25276-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.travelocity.com/Kailua-Kona-Hotels-Royal-Kona-Resort.h25276-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.