Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

"I appreciated the free parking; walk-out to beach; general area the hotel was in had less crowds. However, cleanliness of hallways was disappointing. ... " More

By a verified traveler on Wed 16 Jun 2021

Hotel Description

3-star beachfront hotel near First Landing State Park

On the beach

A stay at this Northeast Virginia Beach hotel places you within half a mile (1 km) of First Landing State Park and 2 miles (3 km) of Virginia Beach Boardwalk. Also, Seabreeze Beach is within half a mile (1 km) and Neptune Statue is within 2 miles (3 km).

Fun at the beach

This hotel features a restaurant, a fitness center, and a bar/lounge. Traveling on business? Take advantage of the business center, free WiFi in public areas, and free valet parking. Enjoy the seasonal outdoor pool and perks like free self parking and a free area shuttle.

Free WiFi, refrigerators

Featuring conveniences like refrigerators and coffee/tea makers, the 244 guestrooms also offer free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Other amenities include balconies or patios, room service, and hair dryers.

Room, 2 Double Beds (Non-Oceanfront)

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
$229* Per night/room Jun 27 - Jun 28

Suite, 1 Bedroom, Accessible, View (Coastal View)

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Executive Studio Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Oceanfront (Large Deluxe Room)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Suite, 1 King Bed, Oceanfront (1st Floor)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Suite, 2 Bedrooms (Coastal)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 8 Max

Room, 1 King Bed, Oceanfront (High Floor)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.0 out of 5 3.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Everyone (24) Couples (8) Family (23)
3 out of 5
I appreciated the free parking; walk-out to beach; general area the hotel was in had less crowds. However, cleanliness of hallways was disappointing. I would think that would be at least the bare minimum.

Posted by on Jun 16, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5
We have stayed at this location in the past and it was ok, but we loved the view and quietness away from the boardwalk. This time things were absolutely horrible. No wash cloths, no hand towels, a single bath towel and that was just the start. The wallpaper was coming off, every vending machine was out of order, the internet was out, the water temperature was either so hot one day or so cold the next day, even the station to wash your feet off after the beach was broken. We tried to eat breakfast one morning and there was 1 waitress for the entire restaurant and they made you get your own coffee of you wanted it. We weren't alone as every person we rode the elevator with or ran into all had the same horror story. It was bad enough that we decided to cut our only vacation in 2 years short.

Posted by on Jun 9, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 16, 2021 by General Manager

It is extremely important to us that our guests have a relaxing and positive experience when staying with us. We regularly review our guest comments to share feedback with our staff so that our guests can enjoy their stay at the beach in a clean, comfortable atmosphere. We are so sorry to read this trip did not live up to the high standards we want our guests to enjoy, please accept our sincere apology. It is our hope that you found value during the rest of your trip as our scenic, North End location is perfect for guests to enjoy the quiet surroundings, excellent for taking in an Atlantic Ocean sunrise or just lounging on the beach. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience.

1 out of 5
DO NOT BOOK HERE. It’s filthy , we had no hot water for the first 2 nights, there were roaches and flys, the staff and operations was horrible, the hotel did not have any wash cloths?!, I honestly don’t know how this place is still in business. Don’t waste your time or money! They don’t clean your room daily, the ocean view is nice and that was it!

Posted by on Jun 1, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 2, 2021 by General Manager

We are truly disappointed to read about your experience because we want our guests to enjoy a vacation at the beach with lots of restful sleep and relaxation. Please accept our sincere apology that your visit was not better enjoyed and that you had frustrations during your oceanfront visit. We are reviewing this with our staff now to see where improvements can be made to provide better service in the future. The hot water scenario was an isolated and unexpected occurrence that we did not anticipate. We are sorry that it affected the outcome of your visit along with other disappointing aspects. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience.

3 out of 5
This hotel is OK, nothing special. The room wasn't too clean, as I found someone's socks under one of the beds and candy/food wrappers under the other. One of the chairs on the balcony was broken. Great view of the ocean & beach from the room, and a good value. The beach was quiet as the hotel isn't in the busier area. Great value.

Posted by on May 24, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 26, 2021 by General Manager

We are sad to read that your experience did not reflect the highest level of service and efficiency we often pride ourselves in providing for our guests. We always want everyone staying with us to enjoy traveling to the beach and have a relaxing trip enjoying the incredible ocean views and services we offer. Please accept our sincere apology for the lack of attention given to your guest room before you arrived. Those items should have been caught in advance and we are truly sorry for any inconvenience. Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention so we may review this with our team and ensure it is avoided in the future. We hope you otherwise had fun while in Virginia Beach and spent plenty of time walking along the surf or exploring the boardwalk area.

1 out of 5

Posted by on May 21, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5
I had a great expectation after seeing the website and the location however great disappointment the front staff did their best however I think they are not given the tools to to succeed. the place needs renovation if you want to continue to charge premium charges, the sea view is not it. I am sure you know it, clean it up

Posted by on May 13, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 19, 2021 by General Manager

Your constructive feedback is valued yet we are sorry that your time with us was not better enjoyed. Our staff is working hard to deliver quality service and warm hospitality but it appears there was a shortfall with the accommodations we provided you. Please accept our apology that you did not have a more enjoyable oceanfront visit. Hopefully, you were still able to spend plenty of time on the beach and explore the scenic Virginia Beach oceanfront area.

1 out of 5

Posted by on May 6, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 19, 2021 by General Manager

While we surely hope you enjoyed our oceanfront location, we believe our guests deserve the best, so we are disappointed to see by your rating that your stay was less than satisfactory. It is our goal to always make sure guests have a great time when staying with us at the beach, so we do sincerely apologize that you did not have a better experience. Hopefully, you were still able to enjoy the beach, nearby boardwalk area and nearby attractions during your visit.

1 out of 5
This place is absolutely disgusting! The first room had bugs coming out of the molding in the ceiling, the second room smells like pure cigarette smoke and almost all of the beds (we have stayed in over 6 different rooms) are stained with a red liquid. I understand a beach hotel usually has some flaws, but this one has taken it to another level. The grounds are FULL of cigarette buds and the smell of pot wreaks down the hallway. Do better!

Posted by on May 3, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 12, 2021 by General Manager

While we are grateful that you recently stayed with us, we are disappointed to learn that your experience was not better enjoyed. Guest satisfaction is important to us so we are truly sorry that your visit here at the oceanfront did not go more smoothly. We are a smoke-free property, so it is unfortunate to hear that other patrons did not adhere to our strict policy. We will be sure to keep an eye on this more closely in the future as we do not want this to occur again. We apologize for any inconvenience and hope you otherwise enjoyed our oceanfront views and your time while in the area.

3 out of 5
During the pandemic, my husband and I decided to take a working-vacation. We’ve stayed and worked remotely at this hotel several times. First when we arrived we realized they had removed desks. They redecorated/remodeled the rooms since our last visit. The new furniture is very uncomfortable, especially the bar stools. They are not only very uncomfortable, but also very unstable! Our door wouldn’t like and when it did lock, it was very difficult to open, my husband had to open it whenever I went outside. They replaced the lock, but we still had difficulty opening the door. Then the internet kept going on. It was out for two and a half days. We had to use our hot spot on our phones. We love Okaloosa Island, the hotel is in a great location, but we are decided to look for a different location for our next “workcation” because this hotel is not “business travel” friendly!

Posted by on Apr 28, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 28, 2021 by Lizz

We are not Okaloosa Island. We are Virginia Beach and all of our rooms have desks.

2 out of 5
Sheets were dirty and stained no ice bucket no remote called for the items never received them had to end up changing rooms

Posted by on Apr 13, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Location 5700 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451

Renovations + Closures

The following facilities or services will be unavailable from March 11 2021 to February 28 2023 (dates subject to change):

  • Swimming pool

Due to COVID-19, this property’s food and beverage options may be limited.

Property Features

Sit back and relax on the beach with cabanas (surcharge), umbrellas, and sun loungers. After a day at the beach, enjoy amenities at Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront like a seasonal outdoor pool and a fitness center. There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. Free self parking and valet parking are available. This 3-star Virginia Beach hotel is smoke free.

  • 244 guestrooms or units
  • 18 levels
  • 5218 sq ft of conference space
  • 485 sq m of conference space
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Cabanas on the beach (surcharge)
  • Beach lounge chairs
  • Umbrellas for the beach
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Conference center
  • Business facilities
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Convenience store
  • Terrace
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Free area shuttle
  • Grocery/convenience store
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking , Free valet parking

Transport

  • Airport: Norfolk Intl. Airport (ORF) (32.1 km / 19.9 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Free area shuttle within .75 mi
  • Parking: Free valet parking and self parking

Room Amenities

Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront offers 244 accommodations with safes and coffee/tea makers. Rooms open to balconies or patios. 32-inch flat-screen televisions come with premium cable channels. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations and hair dryers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Private balcony or patio
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy cooked-to-order breakfast daily from 6:30 AM to 11:00 AM.

Surf Club Ocean Grille - This restaurant specializes in regional cuisine. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include a fitness center and a seasonal outdoor pool.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Bicycle rentals on site
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby
  • Golfing nearby
  • Scuba diving nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • In-room accessibility
  • Assistive listening devices available
  • Braille or raised signage
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 4:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 6:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 21

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Masks are compulsory at the property for guests without full COVID-19 vaccination.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 10.0 per day.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • Pets: USD 25 per pet, per night
  • Only dogs are allowed
  • Maximum 2 per room (weight limit: 50 lbs)
  • Pets cannot be left unattended
  • Certain rooms only, restrictions apply
  • You can request a pet-friendly room by reaching out to the property at the number on the booking confirmation
  • Service animals are exempt from fees

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

Minimum Spring Break check-in age is 21 years old

This property accepts credit cards; cash is not accepted

Safety features at this property include a smoke detector

Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property; the policies listed are provided by the property

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

Minimum Spring Break check-in age is 21 years old. This property accepts credit cards. Cash is not accepted. For guests' safety, the property includes a smoke detector in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; temperature checks are available to guests; guests are provided with hand sanitizer.

  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Pets cannot be left unattended
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Property follows sanitization practices of SafeStay (AHLA - USA)
  • Masks are available to guests
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Gloves are available to guests
  • Protective clothing is not available to guests
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available
  • Property follows a brand or regulatory agency's sanitization guidelines Count on Us (Wyndham)
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available through room service
  • Masks are compulsory at the property for guests without full COVID-19 vaccination
  • No gap period between guest stays

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for cooked-to-order breakfast: USD 12.00 for adults and USD 10.00 for children (approximately)
  • Pet fee: USD 25 per pet, per night
  • Service animals are exempt from fees
  • Late check-out is available for a fee (subject to availability, amount varies)
  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 10.0 per day

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Virginia Beach Wyndham
  • Wyndham Oceanfront
  • Wyndham Oceanfront Hotel
  • Wyndham Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
  • Wyndham Oceanfront Virginia Beach
  • Wyndham Virginia Beach
  • Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
  • Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
  • Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel
  • Wyndham Virginia Oceanfront
  • Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel
  • Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Virginia Beach
  • Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach

You should know

  • The seasonal pool will open in May and close in September.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
  • Pets are welcome in certain rooms only; other restrictions apply (please see the Fees section for related charges). To make arrangements for your pet, contact the property directly at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing http://www.travelocity.com/Virginia-Beach-Hotels-Wyndham-Virginia-Beach-Oceanfront.h8175-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Virginia-Beach-Hotels-Wyndham-Virginia-Beach-Oceanfront.h8175-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.travelocity.com/Virginia-Beach-Hotels-Wyndham-Virginia-Beach-Oceanfront.h8175-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.