Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

"The ladies at the front desk were warm and friendly. My only complaint was the lack of places to eat nearby, but they gave me a list of places that de ... " More

By a verified traveler on Mon 14 Oct 2019

Hotel Description

Enjoy free breakfast at this Alexandria hotel

In historical district

You'll be within 2 miles (3 km) of Landmark Mall and 6 miles (10 km) of Springfield Town Center with a stay here. George Washington Masonic National Memorial is within 6 miles (10 km) and Birchmere is within 9 miles (15 km).

Free perks

This hotel doesn't skimp on freebies - guests receive free on-the-go breakfast, free WiFi, and free self parking. Business travelers can take advantage of the express check-out. A snack bar/deli, a grocery/convenience store, and a picnic area are also on offer.

Free WiFi, comfy beds

Featuring conveniences like refrigerators and microwaves, the 164 guestrooms also offer free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with satellite channels. Other amenities include pillowtop beds, coffee/tea makers, and free local calls.

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
$85* Per night/room Sep 23 - Sep 24

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking (Efficiency, Upgrade)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking (Efficiency, Upgrade)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking (Efficiency, Pets Allowed)

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria Van Dorn Street ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.9 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria Van Dorn Street

Everyone (8) Couples (1) Family (2)
5 out of 5
The ladies at the front desk were warm and friendly. My only complaint was the lack of places to eat nearby, but they gave me a list of places that delivered.

Posted by on Oct 14, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 1, 2019 by Valerie FOM

Thank You!! Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

4 out of 5
Given how much less expensive it was than the majority of properties within reasonable distance of the meeting I was in town for, I wasn't expecting much - but the hotel was very nice. A bit dated, a bit worn, but very comfortable - definitely a good bargain. My company has noted it as a recommended option for future trips.

Posted by on Jun 13, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
The bed and linens were very comfortable and the room was surprisingly charming. We had a corner room which had 3 large windows, 2 of which had spacious window seats which was such a nice feature.

Posted by on Apr 30, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 4, 2019 by Valerie Butler FOM

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town. Kind regards,

1 out of 5

Noisy and dirty

We checked in and used the shower and it did not drain. Were switched to another room and the the furniture was very dirty. There were stains on the sofa that were from what? You can imagine from only what? The noise from the highway was continuous and we only slept a couple of hours because of it.the lady at the desk was very rude, not only to us but to other guests that were checking in also.needless to say we only spent one night in this hotel even though we paid for two nights. We would not recommend this place to anyone.

Posted by , from Tennessee on Jan 13, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 17, 2018 by Scott

We are very sorry that your experience at our hotel was not satisfactory and would check on the room condition and service issues you noted but will need your date of stay and last name to check on this. We look forward to hearing from you and again apologize for the issues you encountered.

3 out of 5

Disappointed with all staff

Asked manager NOT to send maintenance till we we're in room. We came back and maintenance had come in. Locks were broken, toilet clogged. The charge for a small contained dog is $40 per night and can't be left in the room at all. Staff is unfriendly and not well trained.

Posted by , from Florida on Jul 6, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 11, 2017 by Scott

We are very sorry that you were not happy with your experience at our hotel and will follow up with our team regarding the communication error with our maintenance staff. Thank you for staying with us and thank you for letting us know about your stay. Scott McEwan General Manager

5 out of 5

Great for our family

We stayed with two small children during our trip to D.C. The closeness to the metro station is why we chose this hotel. It was very clean and comfortable and the hot breakfast was perfect for our family. Many of the staff members took time to speak with our children and were extremely friendly to them. We will be back!

Posted by , from Newport News, VA on May 22, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 21, 2018 by Scott

Thank you

3 out of 5

Ok for the money

This hotel was ok for the price I recieved. They even upgraded our room and let us check in at 9am. However the rooms were dated, the couch was springy and uncomfortable. There were spiders crawling on the floor (that I saw a few times) and if I didn't have two kids and it wasn't such a hassle, I would have switched hotels. The free breakfast was okay, it was the same every day. Most of the workers did not speak very good English, so communication with them was a bit difficult. They do have a free shuttle to the metro; but it doesn't help when they take 10 minutes to answer their phone and then another 10 mins to get there because they're on break. The pool was nice and the distance from all of the sight seeing wasn't bad, but I wouldn't stay there again if I had the choice.

Posted by on Jun 22, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 28, 2016 by Scott

I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy and truly wish you had let us know that you were not satisfied with the suite we upgraded you to. We checked the room after you let us know about the spiders you saw but we were not able to find any. We did have our pest control company come it to be safe and although they didn't find any spiders either we had them treat the room to be sure. Thank you for staying with us, we hope you will consider staying with us again. Scott McEwan General Manager

4 out of 5

Nice hotel near the Metro.

Pros: The breakfast buffet. I also made use of the grab and go food for sale in the lobby.
Cons: It would be nice to have some type of line for the Metro shuttle. We waited 35 minutes one day, and people came later and jumped aboard ahead of us.
Location: Unfortunately, we had to order out dinner our first night, as we did not know there was not a restaurant either at the hotel or close by.
I chose this hotel because it had a shuttle to the Metro station and also offered a free breakfast. We did not have a car, so being close to the Metro was necessary. We stayed for five nights. I did not remember the Metro shuttle hours, and one night we came later than planned and had to take a taxi back to the hotel, as the shuttle service had ended for the night.

Posted by , from Minneapolis MN on Jul 26, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 25, 2018 by Scott

Thank you

5 out of 5

I had stayed at this hotel some years ago

Pros: The location is close to the major expressways around.DC
Cons: I had no complaints
Location: I usually visit family in Burke, Springfield and Alexandria. There are plenty places to go around there.
I was glad to see the quality of the rooms and the service has not deteriorated over since my last stay. I plan on travelling to this area more and will be choosing to stay there in the future.

Posted by , from Chicago on Jul 22, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 25, 2018 by Scott

Thank you

5 out of 5

Perfect home base for a week in Washington DC

This hotel met our expectations in every way. It was quiet, clean, and comfortable. Every staff person we encountered was pleasant and approachable. Housekeeping staff asked about our day when we passed them in the halls; front desk staff sent us off each day with a smile; the lady who ran the breakfast room did an excellent job maintaining each item in hot, fresh, plentiful supply; and the shuttle drivers were courteous. One picked us up after a very hot day of sightseeing in DC with a cooler full of ice-cold bottled water, which he offered us as soon as we took our seats in the van.

Posted by , from Ohio on Jul 20, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 25, 2018 by Scott

Thank you

About the Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria Van Dorn Street

Location 5716 S Van Dorn St, Alexandria, VA 22310

Renovations + Closures

Due to COVID-19, this property’s food and beverage options may be limited.

Property Features

There's a snack bar/deli on site. Free breakfast is served daily. WiFi is free in public spaces. Tour/ticket assistance, barbecue grills, and a vending machine are also featured at the business-friendly Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria Van Dorn Street. Self parking is free. This Alexandria hotel is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 164 guestrooms or units
  • 9 levels
  • To-go breakfast (free)
  • Deli
  • Charging station for electric cars
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Convenience store
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Television in lobby
  • ATM
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Grocery/convenience store
  • Snack bar/deli
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Train station: Alexandria Station (7.7 km / 4.8 mi)
  • Metro station: Van Dorn Station (1 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria Van Dorn Street offers 164 accommodations with laptop-compatible safes and coffee/tea makers. Beds feature pillowtop mattresses. 32-inch flat-screen televisions come with premium satellite channels. Guests can make use of the in-room refrigerators and microwaves. This Alexandria hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and desk chairs, as well as phones; free local calls are provided (restrictions may apply). Additionally, rooms include hair dryers and irons/ironing boards. Housekeeping is provided daily. Renovation of all guestrooms was completed in February 2020.

  • Pillowtop beds
  • Flat-screen television
  • Satellite channels
  • Premium channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Laptop safe
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Wardrobe or closet
  • Toothbrush and toothpaste available
  • Desk chair

Food & Drink

Guests are served free on-the-go breakfast on weekdays from 6:00 AM to 9:00 AM and on weekends from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM.

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Wheelchair-accessible lounge
  • Visual alarms in hallways
  • Handrails in hallways
  • Handrails in stairways
  • Well-lit path to entrance
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)
  • Wheelchair accessible path of travel
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • Wheelchair-accessible public washroom
  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • Wheelchair-accessible concierge desk
  • In-room accessibility
  • Assistive listening devices available
  • Braille or raised signage
  • Wheelchair-accessible path to elevator
  • Wheelchair-accessible registration desk
  • Wheelchair-accessible fitness center
  • Wheelchair-accessible meeting spaces/business center

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 4:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 21

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Due to COVID-19, this property's food and beverage options may be limited pursuant to local regulations.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 2 children 11 years old and younger stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • Pets: USD 50.00 per pet, per night
  • Only dogs and cats are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover; cash is not accepted

Safety features at this property include a carbon monoxide detector, a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, a security system, and a first aid kit

Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property; the policies listed are provided by the property

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit or credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover. Cash is not accepted. For guests' safety, the property includes a carbon monoxide detector, a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, a security system, and a first aid kit in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F; the property is cleaned and disinfected with electrostatic spray. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; guests are provided with hand sanitizer; cashless payment methods are available for all transactions; masks are required in public areas. Contactless check-out is available. Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast. This property affirms that it follows the cleaning and disinfection practices of Commitment to Clean (Choice). This property affirms that it adheres to the cleaning and disinfection practices of SafeStay (AHLA - USA).

  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Guest accommodation is not sealed after cleaning
  • Electrostatic spray is used for disinfection
  • Cashless transactions are available
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Masks are compulsory at the property
  • Temperature checks are not available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Cash or credit card deposit required
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Security system
  • Property follows sanitization practices of SafeStay (AHLA - USA)
  • Mobile key entry is not available
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Protective clothing is not available to guests
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available
  • Property follows a brand or regulatory agency's sanitization guidelines Commitment to Clean (Choice)
  • LGBTQ friendly
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast
  • Number of children who can stay free - 2
  • No gap period between guest stays

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Pet fee: USD 50.00 per pet, per night
  • Service animals are exempt from fees
  • Early check-in fee: USD 25.00 (subject to availability)
  • Late check-out fee: USD 100.00 (subject to availability)
  • In-room safe fee: USD 1.50 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Alexandria Comfort Inn
  • Comfort Alexandria
  • Comfort Inn Alexandria
  • Comfort Inn And Suites Alexandria
  • Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
  • Comfort Inn Hotel Alexandria
  • Comfort Inn Hotel Franconia
  • Comfort Inn Franconia
  • Comfort Inn Suites Alexandria
  • Comfort Inn Suites
  • Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria Van Dorn Street Hotel
  • Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria Van Dorn Street Alexandria
  • Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria Van Dorn Street Hotel Alexandria

You should know

  • Please note that this property can refuse certain bookings for the purpose of group events or parties, which include pre-wedding stag/bachelor and hen/bachelorette parties.
  • Up to 2 children 11 years old and younger stay free in the same room as the parent or guardian when using existing bedding.
  • This property welcomes guests of all sexual orientations and gender identities (LGBTQ friendly).
url importing http://www.travelocity.com/Alexandria-Hotels-Comfort-Inn-&-Suites-Alexandria-Van-Dorn-Street.h14163-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Alexandria-Hotels-Comfort-Inn-&-Suites-Alexandria-Van-Dorn-Street.h14163-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.travelocity.com/Alexandria-Hotels-Comfort-Inn-&-Suites-Alexandria-Van-Dorn-Street.h14163-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.