4.4 out of 5

"Great location for a one night stay in NYC to see a show. Hotel staff was friendly and accommodating and rooms were clean and ready upon arrival. " More

By a verified traveler on Tue 27 Dec 2016

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

A luxury stay in the heart of Manhattan awaits you at The Kimpton Muse Hotel. Within steps you'll find Broadway and Times Square within a 10-minute stroll. Highlights at this boutique hotel include a restaurant and in-room LCD TVs.

You can enjoy WiFi, cable TV, and DVD players, featured in all 200 rooms. Dining in is an option with room service, and minibars provide refreshments. Premium linens invite a comfortable night's sleep, and you'll find nice touches like bathrobes and designer toiletries. Free newspapers, in-room massages, and safes are also available.

The restaurant, Nios, is open for breakfast and dinner. Other amenities include a 24-hour fitness center, a free manager's reception, and WiFi in public areas. There's also the convenience of valet parking.

Attractions within a 10-minute walk of this 4.5-star Central New York City hotel include Rockefeller Center and Radio City Music Hall.

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$176 per night

Premier Room, 2 Double Beds

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Executive Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Executive Suite, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Premier Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Premier Room, 1 King Bed, Balcony

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

The Kimpton Muse Hotel ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.4 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5

Close to everything

Great location for a one night stay in NYC to see a show. Hotel staff was friendly and accommodating and rooms were clean and ready upon arrival.

Posted by , from Brewster, NY on Dec 27, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 31, 2016 by Stevo

Thank you for the 5 out of 5 rating! We find that the experience our staff gives our guests is just as important as the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms. We greatly look forward to your next stay with us!

1 out of 5

A Pig with a Wig

Pros: Location
Cons: They need a total change in culture.
Location: Good location to time square
There are much better hotels in NYC for the same price or less. This hotel does not even get close to what a modern hotel should deliver at the price. No business center, no A/C in the rooms. Room service is limited to some special restrictions. The customer service aspect of this place should make up for some of there short comings but give them a chance and yes they will disappoint you. I have stayed at 3 other Kimpton propertys and never had such a bad stay.

Posted by , from Anaheim on Dec 17, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 24, 2016 by Stevo

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. I am surprised and disappointed that you did not enjoy your time at our property. Our property recently underwent renovations to improve the look and feel for our guests. The staff here love what they do and where they work as you can see in almost all reviews written about our service. I greatly apologize that you did not have a good stay. I hope you will stay with us again in the future to allow us to change your opinion of our property.

5 out of 5

We highly recommend the Muse.

Pros: Location, location, location. Great bathroom.
Cons: Concierge sent us to a place we didn't like at all the first night. It was all done rather quickly.
Location: All of the Broadway shows are very nearby. Lots of reasonable restaurants are nearby. Radio City Music Hall, MOMA, Rockefeller Center all near.
The Muse is in a great location. The rooms have been recently renovated. The bathroom is the nicest bathroom we've stayed in. The restaurant, Nios, isn't a full service restaurant and is closed on Sunday after breakfast. This is unfortunate. The other thing we warn the Travelocity member about is that if you book on Travelocity you do not receive Kimpton Karma rewards. We did not realize this and were really bummed out because we stayed 7 days. Kimpton said if you call them they will match the price you see on Travelocity or other websites. I wish we had done this.

Posted by , from Eugene, OR on Dec 7, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 10, 2016 by Stevo

It overjoys my heart to hear that you enjoyed our location and our newly renovated rooms! We greatly look forward to having you stay with us next time you're in New York City!

5 out of 5

nice hotel near to times square

Pros: very clean, modern design, their morning tea and coffee test, their evening wine test.
Location: there is a lot of shopping and dining places. walking distance for times square.
The hotel was very clean, modern design, very near for times square, helpful staff. I like it very much.

Posted by on Oct 23, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 3, 2016 by Stevo

I am so happy to hear that there was so many aspects of our property! We greatly look forward to having you back with us so we may spoil you more!

4 out of 5

Great value

The Muse exceeded my expectations. I checked in and was offered a free glass of wine. The decor was modern and to date. The room was clean and decorated nicely. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The location was a plus as it was at the heart of time square and convenient to many popular areas.

Posted by , from m on Aug 14, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 17, 2016 by Manager Muse

Thank you for the wonderful review Tracey! I'm so glad you enjoyed our complimentary wine reception and our helpful staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

5 out of 5

Convenient midtown location

Room small but attractive. Nice bathroom. Staff very helpful.

Posted by on Oct 19, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 20, 2015 by Manager

Thank you so much for the 5 stars!

3 out of 5

Dissapointing

Pros: The staff and the breakfast
Cons: Add more comfortable seats to the lobby and, of course, get the restaurant and bar done. Lower the prices for the smaller rooms.
The hotel restaurant was under renovation, unbeknownst to me before I got there and so the lobby was noisy, and the people at the front desk had to be shouted at to be heard. They did serve free wine in the lobby each evening and you could sit there on bench seating, which was neither cozy nor comfortable. Meanwhile the room, though newly renovated, was much smaller than what was represented in the website photo for a single. The best thing about The Muse was the friendly staff and the buffet breakfast included in the room fee. All in all it was not worth the price paid.

Posted by , from washington DC on Sep 28, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 1, 2015 by MUSE MANAGER

So sorry about your unpleasant visit, hope to see you back to give us a second chance to show you the true kimpton care!

3 out of 5

Great room but elevator noise!

The room where I stayed with very spacious and well appointed. Unfortunately the floors are small and there are not many rooms located on each floor. The elevator noise was evident all night long. So what first appeared that it was going to be a wonderful experience turned out to be not very restful...

Posted by , from b on Mar 23, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 31, 2015 by Muse Manager

Dear Joey, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We sincerely apologize about the noise you experienced. We do hope we can welcome you back again and ensure a room away from the elevators.

5 out of 5

Outstanding value and large rooms in Midtown

My new favorite hotel in Manhattan. Very professional staff, with personal touches in service. Perfect location from which to explore Midtown and beyond. Just a block from Times Square, but reasonably quiet. Loved it, and will definitely be back.

Posted by on Mar 11, 2013

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 14, 2014 by Sarah

Thank you for the five stars!

5 out of 5

Great customer service!

Cons: No free Internet
We had a great night in New York! The staff went above and beyond my expectations. I look forward to staying at the Muse again!

Posted by , from Ridley Park, PA, USA on Feb 28, 2013

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 18, 2014 by Sarah

Thank you for the five stars!

About the The Kimpton Muse Hotel

Location 130 W 46th St, New York, NY 10036

Property Features

The Kimpton Muse Hotel offers its guests a 24-hour fitness center and complimentary bicycles. There's a restaurant on site. A free manager's reception is offered daily. WiFi is available in public spaces for a fee. Limo/town car service and meeting rooms are available. Event space at this hotel measures 1350 square feet (125 square meters). Tour/ticket assistance, multilingual staff, and concierge services are also featured at the luxury The Kimpton Muse Hotel. Parking is available for a fee. This 4.5-star Manhattan hotel is smoke free.

  • 200 guestrooms or units
  • 3 conference rooms
  • 1350 sq ft of conference space
  • 125 sq m of conference space
  • Dining venue
  • Manager's reception (free)
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Car service
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Fireplace in lobby
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Internet

Available in all rooms: WiFi (surcharge)

Available in some public areas: WiFi (surcharge)

Parking

Valet parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: New York, NY (LGA-LaGuardia) (15.2 km / 9.5 mi)
  • Train station: New York Grand Central Terminal Station (1.5 km / 0.9 mi)
  • Metro station: Times Sq. - 42 St. Station (0.6 km / 0.4 mi)
  • Parking: Valet parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

The Kimpton Muse Hotel offers 200 air-conditioned accommodations with DVD players and minibars. Beds feature Frette Italian sheets and premium bedding. LCD televisions come with premium cable channels and pay movies. Bathrooms include showers, bathrobes, designer toiletries, and complimentary toiletries. In-room wireless Internet access is available for a surcharge. Business-friendly amenities include desks, complimentary newspapers, and phones. Additionally, rooms include laptop-compatible safes and hair dryers. In-room massages and hypo-allergenic bedding can be requested. A nightly turndown service is provided and housekeeping is offered daily.

  • Minibar
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • LCD television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Movies for purchase
  • DVD player
  • Frette Italian linens
  • Hypo-allergenic bedding
  • Shower
  • Cribs (free)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Nightly turndown service
  • Newspapers (free)
  • Massage in room (surcharge)
  • Hair dryer
  • Laptop safe
  • Bathrobes
  • Designer toiletries
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

The hotel hosts a free manager's reception daily.

Nios - This restaurant serves breakfast and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Nearby Activities

Note: The fitness center is currently undergoing renovation. During this time the hotel will be offering day passes to a nearby full fitness center and gym.

Central Park, 13 blocks north of this Midtown hotel, offers a variety of recreational opportunities, including ball fields, tennis courts, rowboat rentals, horseback riding, and miles of trails for hiking, biking, running, and in-line skating. Rockefeller Center's famed skating rink, 2.5 blocks away, opens in winter, as does Central Park's Wollman Rink.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or near the hotel; fees may apply.

  • Free bicycles on site
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby

Accessibility

If you need to make special requests for accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when booking your stay.

  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Check-out

  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pets

  • Pets are welcome and stay free

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.

Group bookings of 10 or more rooms cannot be accommodated via this website.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • Pets allowed (no fees)

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: USD 100 per day

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: USD 16 per person (approximately)
  • Fee for in-room wireless Internet: USD 12.99 per 24-hour period (rates may vary)
  • Fee for wireless Internet in public areas: USD 12.99 per 24-hour period (rates may vary)
  • Valet parking fee: USD 55 per day

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

You should know

  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.

Awards & Affiliations

Green / Sustainable Property
This property participates in Green Key Eco-Rating Program, a program that measures the property's impact on one or more of the following: environment, community, cultural-heritage, the local economy.

  • This property is affiliated with the International Gay & Lesbian Travel Association (IGLTA) and welcomes lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) guests.