4.6 out of 5

"The hotel was in a great location to where we were visiting. The staff was great and responded to all requests. The first disappointment was that one ... " More

By a verified traveler on Mon 09 Apr 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

3.5-star hotel near John Hancock Center

Heart of Chicago

Within a 10-minute walk of this Near North Side hotel, you'll find John Hancock Center and Tribune Tower. Chicago Water Tower and Wrigley Building are also within half a mile (1 km).

Business services

This hotel features an indoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and a restaurant. Traveling on business? Take advantage of the 24-hour business center and free WiFi in public areas. Self parking, a coffee shop, and a snack bar/deli are also offered.

Free Internet, flat-screen TVs

Featuring conveniences like refrigerators and microwaves, the 306 guestrooms offer free WiFi and free wired Internet, as well as flat-screen TVs with satellite channels. Other amenities include room service, premium bedding, and coffee/tea makers.

Room, 1 Queen Bed

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$85 per night

Room, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Room, 2 Queen Beds

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, Multiple Beds (Larger)

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Room, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Magnificent Mile ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.6 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Magnificent Mile

Everyone (23)
4 out of 5
Room was clean. Bed was comfortable. Room lacked decor. Could have used photos or paintings on the walls for interest. Restaurant food was very good.

Posted by on Nov 28, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 28, 2018 by Arron M.

We appreciate your feed back and 4 star review. We hope to see you again.

2 out of 5
Had a slow drain in the tub. Sticky spot on the carpet period a wet spot on the carpet by the nightstand. Could not regulate heat / air conditioning.

Posted by on Jun 12, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 12, 2018 by General Manager

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. We have addressed the appropriate staff to ensure all items in the guest rooms are functioning properly and spots in the carpet are addressed. We do hope you will consider staying with us again.

3 out of 5

The hotel was in a great location.

Pros: The hotel itself was very clean and the service from the staff was excellent.
Location: excellent location
The hotel was in a great location to where we were visiting. The staff was great and responded to all requests. The first disappointment was that one of the reasons we booked this hotel was there was a restaurant in it and we wouldn't need to go out to find food. We were informed upon arrival that it was under construction and would possibly be open the next day. When asked the next day we were told no that it wasn't and wouldn't be until the end of the week. NOT GOOD. There weren't any vouchers given for any other places nearby only a list of possible restaurants. This was not very convenient with 2 children. Also in the bathroom of our room we called and had maintenance come because the fan wasn't working and was told that it was, so when we took showers the whole area was steamy and wet. We had mentioned about the inconvenience with the restaurant when we check out and they took my cell number but of course never heard back.

Posted by on Apr 9, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 9, 2018 by General Manager

Thank you for staying with us and for for bringing your concerns to our attention. We apologize that our restaurant was out of service for remodeling. It has since re-opened and is getting rave reviews. I hope you will consider staying with us again to experience it. Thank you again for your business and time.

5 out of 5

Five day getaway, great location downtown.

Nice stay, great staff, close to the beach. Within walking distance of many shops, sites, river walk, eatery’s. Connected parking ramp for rental car. Recommend this hotel!

Posted by on Mar 2, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 2, 2018 by Arron

We thank you for your wonderful review and we hope to have you back with us again very soon.

5 out of 5

Clean hotel

Clean hotel, close to amenities. Very secure, felt very safe. Starbucks in hotel was nice. Parking garage narrow, but found surface parking close for less. Only drawbacks were, close to hospital, so heard lots of sirens and no microwave in the room.

Posted by , from Indianapolis, IN on Jul 20, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 25, 2017 by General Manager

. Thank you so much, we are thrilled that you had such a great time! I know I speak for my entire team when I say that your review reaffirms why we are in this business. We take pride in providing exceptionally clean rooms. Please let us know when you are returning so that we may provide you another great stay!

5 out of 5

Great for Cubs games.

Pros: Great location. Very easy to grab cabs. Sleek, modern rooms. Friendly staff. Fabulous showers!
Cons: Better pillows! Better deal with onsite parking. Better stocking of the "Market" area as it's the only food onsite after 10pm.
Location: LOTS of shopping within walking distance. Easy to grab a cab and get to Wrigley Field quickly. Lots of great choices for meals.
For my birthday this year my best friend and I spent a couple nights in Chicago so we could attend two Cubs games. I chose this hotel because of it's location, and the other reviews. We very much enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly and were very quick with the answers to the questions we asked. (We needed recommendations for eating, needed a bit of help with transportation, and asked for a late checkout). Loved the doorman who not only grabbed us a cab but celebrated the Cubs win with us when we got back from the game! My only (minor) issues were, there were a few cobwebs in our room, some crumbs on the carpet, as well as an icky looking stain on the bathroom floor. For what we paid (and the location) one would think the rooms would be spotless. Also the pillows were HORRIBLE! Both my friend and I ended up with stiff, sore necks! We travel a lot and end up with a lot of those weird, flat hotel pillows, but these were the worst by far. The AC unit was placed in such a way that the curtains essentially blocked all the cool air, and after being out in the warm, sunny weather it was a bit of a bummer to come back to a room barely cooled. Other than that the room was modern and nice, sleek and had a great view. We were sad to leave behind the amazing shower! We did wish there had been later room service (it ended at 10pm) but there were many great restaurants in the area that delivered. We would use this hotel again if we get the chance to go back for another visit.

Posted by , from IL on Jun 23, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 28, 2017 by General Manager

Thank you so much for your recent stay and 5 star review of your experience at the Courtyard Chicago Magnificent Mile! We really appreciate guest feedback and you mentioned all the aspects that we focus on for a great stay. It's all due to a great staff, that provide such well-maintained guest rooms and common areas, along with excellent guest service. We strive to have every guest leave as satisfied as you did. Once again, thanks for the great review and staying with us! We hope you will visit us again.

5 out of 5

Great overall choice

Pros: everything
Location: Next to the shops and restaurants galore.
We had stayed in this hotel before and it didn't disappoint this time either. Great location, clean, quite room, very comfortable bed, garage right next door so no need for valet.

Posted by , from Memphis on Jun 19, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 21, 2017 by General Manager

Hello Martina, Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your recent stay. We are delighted to read that our location as well as our accommodations were able to meet and exceed your expectations. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and look forward to your return.

5 out of 5

Extremely friendly and helpful staff. (All members of the staff.) Good central location. Many thanks to staff and management.

Posted by on Jun 11, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 15, 2017 by General Manager

Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback. We appreciate the great review. Positive feedback empowers us. Our staff takes great pride in what they do and I will share this great feedback with them. We are esteemed you had a pleasant stay. We hope to see you soon!

5 out of 5

Great Location

Pros: The rooms where very quiet (except for sirens) and the beds were great. The business center was good.
Cons: The elevators required some special skill set many people lacked. It became kind of a joke.
Location: Dine at Labriola. The pizza was great. We're not shoppers, but the shopping on Michigan Avenue was convenient.
The Courtyard is centrally located for shopping and dining in a very walkable neighborhood. It is a few blocks from Navy Pier, the Chicago River, and everything those locations have to offer. Its location makes it easy to head back to the hotel for a break in mid day. If you don't want to walk, the Hop On Hop Off double-decker bus stop #10 is a mere three and a half blocks away, and the tour is a lovely way to get to know the City and its vast cultural offerings. I would recommend the Courtyard and plan to stay there onmy next visit.

Posted by , from Columbus, OH on Jun 20, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 23, 2016 by DOS

Deb, we truly appreciate all of your wonderful comments about our hotel. It is so great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay. It sounds like you were able to see all that Chicago has to offer! The Hop on Hop off bus is an excellent choice for sightseeing in the Windy City. We are excited to welcome you back so you can see more of our beautiful city!

5 out of 5

Excellent location in Chicago

Pros: Very clean and happy staff
Location: Close to so many places to go in Chicago downtown
We were looking for a nice hotel for a family of 4 and this hotel was the right choice.

Posted by , from indiana on Jun 20, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 24, 2016 by DOS

Jamie, thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you and your family. We are so thankful for your kind words about our staff. We will be sure to share your feedback with our entire team. We love being located in the heart of Chicago which makes it easy to access all that the city has to offer. We look forward to hosting you and your family again soon!

About the Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Magnificent Mile

Location 165 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611

Property Features

Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Magnificent Mile offers its guests an indoor pool and a 24-hour fitness center. There's a restaurant on site, as well as a coffee shop/café and a snack bar/deli. Business amenities include a 24-hour business center and meeting rooms. Public spaces have free WiFi and wired Internet. Event space at this hotel measures 3700 square feet (344 square meters) and includes conference space. Tour/ticket assistance, multilingual staff, and gift shops/newsstands are also featured at the business-friendly Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Magnificent Mile. For a fee, parking is available. This 3.5-star Chicago hotel is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 306 guestrooms or units
  • 23 levels
  • 6 conference rooms
  • 3700 sq ft of conference space
  • 344 sq m of conference space
  • Built in 2002
  • Dining venue
  • Coffee shop
  • Deli
  • Charging station for electric cars
  • Business center (24 hours)
  • Conference space
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Gift shop
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Fireplace in lobby
  • ATM
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Property
  • Indoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Snack bar/deli
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Free cribs/infant beds

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet

Parking

Self parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: Chicago, IL (MDW-Midway Intl.) (20 km / 12.4 mi)
  • Train station: Millennium Station (1.1 km / 0.7 mi)
  • Metro station: Grand Station (Red Line) (0.6 km / 0.4 mi)
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Magnificent Mile offers 306 air-conditioned accommodations with complimentary newspapers and coffee/tea makers. Beds feature premium bedding. 37-inch flat-screen televisions come with premium satellite channels and pay movies. Refrigerators and microwaves are provided. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wired and wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and blackout drapes/curtains. Housekeeping is offered daily and hypo-allergenic bedding can be requested.

  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Flat-screen television
  • Satellite channels
  • Premium channels
  • Movies for purchase
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Luxury bedding
  • Hypo-allergenic bedding
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cribs (free)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Newspapers (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy cooked-to-order breakfast daily from 7 AM to 10 AM.

Starbucks - This restaurant serves breakfast and lunch. Open daily.

Copper Fox Gastropub - This restaurant specializes in American cuisine and serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include an indoor pool and a health club.

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 4 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 21

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit or credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • Parking height restrictions apply

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between USD 3 and USD 10 per person (approximately)
  • Self parking fee: USD 53 per night (in/out privileges)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Chicago Magnificent Mile Marriott
  • Courtyard Chicago Magnificent Mile
  • Courtyard Marriott Chicago Magnificent Mile
  • Courtyard Marriott Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile
  • Marriott Chicago Magnificent Mile
  • Marriott Chicago Magnificent Mile Courtyard
  • Marriott Courtyard Chicago Magnificent Mile
  • Courtyard Marriott Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel

You should know

  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.