Ratings based on 10,695 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.3 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Disappointing

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything. Mainly cleanliness and smell.
Understood that the hotel is very old, that being said it was not a "charming" old it was a musty not clean old. The first rooms we were given were very mildew smelling with dark lighting and dirty Q-tips on the bathroom floor. The second rooms we were given were indeed better, NOT great but the heat was not working and there was a strong draft from the large windows next to the bed. Overall very dissatisfying.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Congress Plaza Hotel needs some help

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: Room service was good and there were several outlets around the room.
Cons: Larger television, replace table with an actual desk, replace light fixtures, put in a coffee shop, remodel finishes, replace elevator, ice machines..
Location: Location was good.
The building is in a good location but not very good condition. From the tiny television to the 20 coats of paint on the wood trim, this hotel is ready for a make over.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Sidmouth

Great location

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
We had an excellent stay. Although some of the furnishings in the room are dated it was clean and comfortable; we slept well and the great location of the hotel made it ideal for sight-seeing.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Québec

Endroits touristiques

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
Visites de musées
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Appleton, WI

Three days in Chicago

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Desk staff and security personnel were courteous. Lobby was amazing. History is great. Best location. The area is full of amazing Chicago architec
Cons: Do some careful renovation, clean up the halls and stairwells, clean the rooms.
Location: Could see the lakeshore, Buckingham fountain. Easy walk to Navy Pier, the Bean, restaurants. Short ride to museums, Shedd, etc.
The Congress Plaza is in a perfect location. An easy walk from Union Station and close enough to walk to many great sites, as well as places to eat. In its day the Congress must have been grand. We have a deep appreciation for the details, original craftsmanship and incredible architecture of that era. Lobby and first floor were well maintained and glorious. (The gift shop was a real embarrassment to sofistication of the hotel. Crappy junk.). But from the elevator on up the hotel was dirty, even scary looking with layers of paint slopped over wrought iron railings, crown molding and casings. Did not look like cleaning was done. There were small pieces of glass on the carpet. Didn't appear to have vacuumed. If you just want to stay where the presidents of the past stayed the congress is it. But don't go past the lobby.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Ontario,Canada

Do not stay here!

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything.
Location: Great location for walking and site seeing. Close to museums, Soldier Field, parks.
Smell is overwhelming . Room was very old and did not look anything like the pictures online.. Strange sounds.. A huge hotel but we saw nobody on our floor! Creepy vibration. Peeling and missing plaster on stairwell. We did not even stay the night.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
The Congress is a beautiful historic building with a very interesting history. It's famous for being one of the most haunted hotels in the country, although I did not notice anything that strange. There is a strange smell when you walk through the main entrance - moth balls?? Our room smelled like band aides or something, however after a few minutes not noticeable. The pillows are horrible, did not sleep well. We stayed on the 13th floor - which is strange, most buildings skip it. All said and done, the location couldn't have been better, room was very clean and the lobby is stunning.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice loved being there! Wifi was awful
4 out of 5
by A traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Kerri from Asheville, NC

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
It was a quick trip to move my daughter back into school. The room was large with. King bed and a double bed. Both beds were hard and the shower was tiny. The hotel is beautiful and The Gold Room is a must see.