Ratings based on 246 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.2 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Lexington, Ky

Convenient to where we wanted to go.

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Hotel room was clean and comfortable. Staff was wonderful.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Disappointing

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything. Mainly cleanliness and smell.
Understood that the hotel is very old, that being said it was not a "charming" old it was a musty not clean old. The first rooms we were given were very mildew smelling with dark lighting and dirty Q-tips on the bathroom floor. The second rooms we were given were indeed better, NOT great but the heat was not working and there was a strong draft from the large windows next to the bed. Overall very dissatisfying.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Congress Plaza Hotel needs some help

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: Room service was good and there were several outlets around the room.
Cons: Larger television, replace table with an actual desk, replace light fixtures, put in a coffee shop, remodel finishes, replace elevator, ice machines..
Location: Location was good.
The building is in a good location but not very good condition. From the tiny television to the 20 coats of paint on the wood trim, this hotel is ready for a make over.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great Location

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Working AC and close to many things
Cons: AC leaked, causing our carpet to be wet by the AC
Location: Close to many attractions; Grant Park, Shedd Aquarium, Science Museum
Great location to walk to the Shedd Aquarium. A historic hotel with a cozy feeling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from des moines ia

Nice hotel close to what we were interested in.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
We had a wonderful time. Would recommend this town to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Mi

Old Charm

Posted Jul 25, 2016
This nice clean old hotel with tons of character. The price is right with a great location. Some say it needs updated, others like it just the way it is. Take some time and look at little details that you don't see anymore. Enjoy the old photos in the corridors. We had a great stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Spring Grove, Il

Very old building but very well maintained.

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Across from Grant Park.
Location: Taste of Chicago was going on across the street. Shopping within blocks. Navy Pier fireworks very close. Great Segway tour.
Pleasantly surprised how nice the room was considering how old the building is. We had a wonderful breakfast in the restaurant. We had great views of the beautiful lake.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2016 by Front Desk Office, Hotel Management
Thank you Marge for your review, we truly appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you at the Congress again soon!
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Great view, terrible value

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Classy
Cons: The bed and general repair of appliances.
Location: Location was great. Walking distance of museums. Absolutely marvelous in this respect.
I suppose it should be expected that it's an old hotel and that things aren't top-of-the-line or in good working order, despite the price. We first entered the room and the toilet was running. We had to pull the handle up with every flush to keep it from running constantly. The water pressure was a light drizzle, but we were on the 10th floor. Not sure if that's normal. Unfolded a towel to find a blue sticky stain on it. Housekeeping didn't replace glasses or fully make the bed every time. Despite all of these small gripes, my biggest issue was I plopped down at the foot of the bed to put on my shoes and fell through. I'm not an overweight fellow. It turns out that the bed was supported by wooden slats (explains a lot about its comfort), and that the foot of the bed had sparse support. Where I placed myself, I had ONE single quarter inch piece of wood to support me, which promptly snapped. There was over a foot of space in either direction. The bed was not adequately supported. We complained to the front desk and their only reaction was to send housekeeping, who replaced the single board that was snapped and did not reinforce the area. We carefully moved on the bed from then on for fear of breaking any more supports. All of the other pieces of wood (including the one that broke) appeared new and in good condition. The spaces indicate that these snap often, but are not always replaced.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Hotel was overpriced

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Front desk girls were not the friendliest, only people that did an amazing job was the gentleman helping with luggage/parking. The hotel smelled of weed the whole time of my stay, parking car overnight with hotel was way overpriced $44 and if you stay past 2pm you have to pay an additional $16 cash only (parking should be included in the stay seeing as the rooms are way overpriced anyways) I most likely will not be back. Little disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from South Dakota

Antique hotel located near everything

Posted May 23, 2016
We stayed at the Congress plaza on may 21 for one night. The hotel was a little on the expensive side, but it was worth paying a little more to be in the right area. We didnt realize when we booked it that the hotel was said to be the most haunted hotel in chicago. We didnt really care either. It was actually kind of fun and who doesnt wanna stay in the same hotel as al capon, famous presidents, and celebrities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2016 by Front Desk Office, Hotel Management
Thank you Ally for your review, we greatly appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at our hotel and we hope to see you again soon!