Ratings based on 10,127 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.3 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Great Location

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Working AC and close to many things
Cons: AC leaked, causing our carpet to be wet by the AC
Location: Close to many attractions; Grant Park, Shedd Aquarium, Science Museum
Great location to walk to the Shedd Aquarium. A historic hotel with a cozy feeling.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from des moines ia

Nice hotel close to what we were interested in.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
We had a wonderful time. Would recommend this town to anyone.
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Mi

Old Charm

Posted Jul 25, 2016
This nice clean old hotel with tons of character. The price is right with a great location. Some say it needs updated, others like it just the way it is. Take some time and look at little details that you don't see anymore. Enjoy the old photos in the corridors. We had a great stay!
4 out of 5
by A traveler from Spring Grove, Il

Very old building but very well maintained.

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Across from Grant Park.
Location: Taste of Chicago was going on across the street. Shopping within blocks. Navy Pier fireworks very close. Great Segway tour.
Pleasantly surprised how nice the room was considering how old the building is. We had a wonderful breakfast in the restaurant. We had great views of the beautiful lake.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2016 by Front Desk Office, Hotel Management
Thank you Marge for your review, we truly appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you at the Congress again soon!
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Great view, terrible value

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Classy
Cons: The bed and general repair of appliances.
Location: Location was great. Walking distance of museums. Absolutely marvelous in this respect.
I suppose it should be expected that it's an old hotel and that things aren't top-of-the-line or in good working order, despite the price. We first entered the room and the toilet was running. We had to pull the handle up with every flush to keep it from running constantly. The water pressure was a light drizzle, but we were on the 10th floor. Not sure if that's normal. Unfolded a towel to find a blue sticky stain on it. Housekeeping didn't replace glasses or fully make the bed every time. Despite all of these small gripes, my biggest issue was I plopped down at the foot of the bed to put on my shoes and fell through. I'm not an overweight fellow. It turns out that the bed was supported by wooden slats (explains a lot about its comfort), and that the foot of the bed had sparse support. Where I placed myself, I had ONE single quarter inch piece of wood to support me, which promptly snapped. There was over a foot of space in either direction. The bed was not adequately supported. We complained to the front desk and their only reaction was to send housekeeping, who replaced the single board that was snapped and did not reinforce the area. We carefully moved on the bed from then on for fear of breaking any more supports. All of the other pieces of wood (including the one that broke) appeared new and in good condition. The spaces indicate that these snap often, but are not always replaced.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Hotel was overpriced

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Front desk girls were not the friendliest, only people that did an amazing job was the gentleman helping with luggage/parking. The hotel smelled of weed the whole time of my stay, parking car overnight with hotel was way overpriced $44 and if you stay past 2pm you have to pay an additional $16 cash only (parking should be included in the stay seeing as the rooms are way overpriced anyways) I most likely will not be back. Little disappointed.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Los Angeles

Not a three star - old but clean.

Posted May 31, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Cleanliness and location
Cons: Upgrades everywhere. Fix hot water issue and replace bottle water in vending machines.
Good for backpackers, or just to sleep and keep moving - this hotel is very dated. It's dated to the point where you worry if you are going to get stuck in the elevators. The WIFI was non-existent, they claimed they were fixing it but it never was. The hot water took 15mins to heat up. There was no bottled water available for sale in the vending machine (sold out and not replaced). Cannot complain about the cleanliness, that was where they excelled but there are better options in Chicago. Not a three star more like a 2.5.
3 out of 5
by Denise K. from So. Cal

Clean but... disappointing

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
Architectural details on the first floor are lovely. The elevator doors are terrific. I found the Congress Plaza to have clean rooms but I was disappointed with the advertised room renovations. The renovations were merely coats of paint not even applied well. Mismatched tiling in the bathrooms. Poor room lighting. TVs so small screen was hard to see from the bed. Great location, walking distance to everything Chicago.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Normal

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
Muy buena estadía, habitaciones comodas no se dejen guiar por el estado del hotel la entrada y loby algo viejos con olor antiguo pero las habitaciones muy limpias.
4 out of 5
by Leonardo from curitiba

ótimo hotel

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
hotel muito bom!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Leonardo for your review, we greatly appreciate it and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!