Ratings based on 9,418 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Chicago

Downtown hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Dirty room. Molding falling off, peeling paint and musty odor. Extremely hot and unable to adjust room temperature.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from South Bend, IN

Good hotel, close to everything!

Posted Dec 14, 2015
Pros: Free wifi, location
Cons: The rooms are a little beat up
Location: Right across from Grant Park, close to Train Stations, Symphony Hall, Millennium Park
I really like the Congress Plaza Hotel. It's a great place for the money, and is close to everything downtown Chicago has to offer. That being said, it isn't the prettiest hotel I've ever stayed in, but is clean and comfortable with a nice staff. The rooms look tired and a little beat up, but everything worked and was clean. The free wifi was a nice bonus. So I would definitely recommend the Congress Plaza, just know to expect an older place when you get there!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: I loved the mosaics in the ceilings.
Cons: The TV and remote did not work well at all.
Location: Right across from Buckingham fountain. Michigan Ave. and State St. shopping are a close walk.
The hotel was a great price and when we got there they upgraded us to a lake view for free! It has a beautiful and historic interior while still being very clean!
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Historic Building Not Kept Well Over the Years

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Pros: Historic Venue, great view, good location.
Cons: Comfort of bed, add a desk to the rooms. Bathroom was a decent enough size, but the shower was small.
There are parts of the hotel and conference areas that are beautiful and historic, but the rooms are a huge disappointment given the stature of the venue. Hallway doors that don't close quietly can keep you awake. Beds and pillows that are rock hard make for a very uncomfortable sleeping experience. TV signal isn't clear and on very small screens. Wi-Fi access is wide open to anyone, guest or not, which is a security issue. I will not be planning on staying here again.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Oldy Moldy

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: This hotel needs a multi-million dollar update.
Location: Near Grant Park and on Michigan Avenue.
This hotel has not gotten out of the 1960's. It was dark, dank, and moldy. Stay here only if you cannot find a better deal elsewhere. Only thing good about this hotel was the location. Their breakfast is only OK.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Hotel in a sad state

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Beautiful old hotel that is in terrible disrepair.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Seattle, WA

An Overall Feeling of Shabbiness

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Hot water and complete overhaul of the facility.
I accidentally booked two nights, instead of three, and the staff were pleasant and accommodating about extending my stay. I spent the first night in one room in the south tower, and the next two in a different room in the north tower. The building is obviously very old, with lots of overlapping remodels. The first morning, there was no hot water and I ended up taking a barely luke-warm shower. An unpleasant start. Although, there was hot water in my room the following two nights. The TV had a "menu" button to access hotel services, checkout, and on demand movies. This button did not work in either room. Generally everything was on the shabby side and encouraged me to stay out and about and not linger in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Springfield, MO

Beautiful building, but in need of upgrades. Comfy

Posted Nov 15, 2015
The shower took a very long time to heat. Chipped paint/wall paper. dated decor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anthony from Tennessee

A hotel with history n character

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is old.. furnishings newer only problem was confusing hallways and broken ice machines. Staff at the restaurant were wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2015
Pros: very clean; staff responded well to a couple of issues
Cons: the room was hot, but the a/c was turned off for the season; it was very difficult to open the windows the bathtub was too narrow at the bottom
good experience - close to museum, aquarium, parks, downtown; slight issue with room temperature