Ratings based on 39 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.2 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Seattle

Melrose Hotel, Georgetown, May 2017

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: service. if you have a problem with on-line bookings, don't make them
Location: Very close to metro, GWU, about a mile walk to the Kennedy Center and Lincoln Memorial.
We very much felt like we were in a second-class situation at this first-class hotel. The facility was very nice, and the room was comfortable, but it was in need of a little polish, and in an out-of-the-way spot as far as view was concerned. More importantly, we had a very difficult time just being acknowledged by the hotel: a call to the front desk meant that someone might answer after 7 or 8 rings, then maybe transfer you to sales instead of room service; we waited for almost 10 minutes at the lounge before the bartender came back from a stocking run, even though there were at least three other staff members around who never acknowledged us; we had asked for a bottle opener and were told that one would be sent up when it couldn't be located at the front desk, and just gave up after calling 30m later and being told that one was on the way (it never showed up). We understand that it was a discount booking, but we've had better service in discount hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Denver

Great hotel, great location

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: The staff were very friendly and attentive. This is good hotel for tourists and business travelers alike.
Location: Great location on Pennsylvania Ave within a 15-20 minute walk from the White House and 2 blocks from the nearest Metro station.
My middle school age son and I stayed 4 nights at the Melrose Georgetown during a spring break trip to Washington DC. The Melrose Georgetown was close to all the museums, monuments, and historic sites that were on our agenda.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from NY

A Four-Star Price w/o the Four Star Experience

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: The staff - super welcoming and just plain nice :)
Cons: The room. Worn out and lack of attention to details were obvious. Dirty rugs, broken doorstop, not four-star quality to be sure.
Location: Super restaurants and a short ride to landmarks and shopping in Georgetown.
Visiting DC for two nights and wanted to splurge on a four star hotel. After EXTENSIVE research, I found the Melrose Georgetown. My hotel room window literally framed a huge hvac unit and a brick wall. Yuck. The room was worn and a dirty: carpet stains, stains on furniture, door stop loose and hanging from the door, mold in bathroom, stains and holes in bed linens. Gross. Toiletries were not all refilled for a 2-day stay. Wi-Fi was CRAZY slow - unless you paid extra to upgrade to a faster speed. Not the four-star experience I was anticipating. Was disappointed in the room. The hotel staff was super warm and friendly though - so four stars for the Concierge and lobby folks!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from chandler, az

Nice but a few minor oops

Posted Feb 28, 2017
This was a very nice hotel conveniently located near Georgetown and George Washington University. It is on the older side bit appears to be well maintained and updated. I was there at the end of February when the lows wye in the 30's and they had no heat because there system is old and only does heat or cooling. They had already switched to cooling since it had been warm the week before. I was so cold unless I was under the covers including the extra blanket. I would suggest they have space heaters. In the morning before ten am they started repairing something right outside my door so they were talking and making noise. I could hardly get out of the door and had to drag my suitcase over the white cloth they had put down in front of my door. Other than that, it was a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Absolute best hotel I've stayed in

Posted Feb 13, 2017
It was beautiful. My room was upgraded to an executive suite and complimentary fruit tray and waters sent to my room. The staff was extremely friendly. I felt so comfortable there. Best experience I've had at any hotel by far. Thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Isse

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Location: The location is perfect as it is very close to the Metro.
We enjoyed our stay. There were only a couple things we thought could be improved. First, we asked for a wake-up call as we had a 7 am flight. We did not get one. Fortunately, we had set our IPhones for backup. There was no coffee in the lobby until 6:30. I would think many people are up earlier. Otherwise, necessary to call room service? Necessary to call room service to get ice. Otherwise, very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Eastern Shore of Maryland

Booking Issues, but great stay overall.

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: The hotel appearance, nice sized room & comfy bed. Loved the little in hotel bar. Great coffee too!
Cons: The rooms facing the dumpster should go for under $100, very nasty vie
Location: Loved the Foggy Bottom restaurants & shops. Went to Bodega Tapas bar for appetizers & later to Old Ebbitt's Grill for dinner & we'd do both again.
My room was booked via Travelocity & was originally booked to check in on December 4th & out on December 6th & was listed as totally refundable/no charge for cancellation. A change in plans caused me to have to cancel for the 4th & keep only my reservations for the 5th. When I attempted to change my reservations I called the hotel on December 3rd at 8AM & spoke with reservations who promptly said I needed to make any changes through Traveocity. I contacted Travelocity & was told the hotel would not charge me a cancellation fee, but that I was not allowed to change the hotel to a one night booking without re-booking my hotel for $85 more than the $127.50/ night (including taxes) I was originally paying for each night of the 2 night booking. I wanted to stay where we were booked, so I paid extra. I was told by Travelocity this was the hotel requirement, not theirs. We checked in & really liked the hotel, the staff at check in, but the room we stayed in was on the first floor & was dark with the view being of a dumpster. We were not spending much time in the room so we did not ask for a different room. The hotel Bartender, Joe, was extremely nice & we had a nice nightcap upon our return to the hotel after dinner. If we were to stay at the Melrose again, we would book directly through the hotel, not through Travelocity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A traveler

Exceptional Hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
This was my first stay at the Melrose. It exceeded my expectations. The room was quiet and exceptionally clean and comfortable. All the staff encounters were very professional, friendly and helpful. I loved the proximity to the Metro, Georgetown and my meeting location, The Advisory Board Company. I will book this exceptional hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from dallas, tx

Chic hotel close to the metro

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Staff, room service, bed, decor
Cons: Not really
Location: Restaurants, hospital, the metro, cvs, boutique shopping, & office buildings. An embassy is close by so it's cool to see the diplomats drive by
my first trip to DC (during a snowstorm) these are my pros and cons of this hotel. Pros: Close to the metro Fast & Friendly staff Has room service & a convenience store next door for forgotten things Large room Cool decor (great for Instagram photos) Huge comfy bed Close to lots of good restaurants and a metro or quick uber ride away from everywhere else Computers to check in your flight Cons: small bathroom with dead entry space (king size room) Small elevator (you and housekeeping can't fit we tried) My view was staring at some apartments & a small courtyard Overall it's a great hotel for the price and I don't think I would stay anywhere else when I go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by brickpf2010 from Hyattsville, MD

the Hotel is beautiful!

Posted Feb 13, 2011
Pros: Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
My husband and I stayed AT THIS BEAUTIFUL Hotel for two nights and we loved it! People treated us very well and the bell man were really kind and helpful. I will definitely go back!