Ratings based on 70 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A traveler

Great location on Capitol Hill

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The location of the hotel is great!
Cons: The rooms are small but clean!
Location: The hotel is conveniently located across from Union Station and the Capitol building! Great locaction!
Phoenix Park Hotel was a great hotel! I recently stayed there with my two children (13 and 10 years old) for spring break. We went to DC to sightsee and see all the spots! The Phoenix Park Hotel is conveniently located by Union Station. We started our day at Union Station with a quick breakfast and caught the trolley from Union. ( Everyone had a choice of food at Union). The staff at the Phoenix Park was very helpful and I felt safe staying there with my kids.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
So glad you enjoyed your visit and that our team looked after you so well. We appreciate your business. David Hill General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Very convenient location

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Staff was excellent
Cons: Nothing
Room was very clean and upgraded. Somewhat small but nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Reading, PA

Very, very nice

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: Close to the Capitol. Great place to eat and drink downstairs called "The Dubliner."
Cons: The only complaint I have is that the mattress didn't help my back any. I woke up each morning hurting.
Location: Within walking distance to The Capitol. Plentny of free parking nearby. Also very close to Union Station for the metro and bus tours.
Great hotel. Very nice room. Clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
We thank you for your visit during our renovation work. David Hill General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from s

Great hotel close to transportation and restaurans

Posted Oct 11, 2015
We enjoyed our stay. The location to many sights and restaurants. Our room was very nice, quiet and clean. The staff was helpful and friendly. We would recommend it to a friend. Hope to return. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great hotel and great location.

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Pros: Location and service.
Location: Closest hotel to Union Station and very close to the capital.
Overall great experience. The location is the best. The Dubliner is a great place to grab a burger and a beer and listen to some Irish music.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great Deal, Excellent Location!

Posted Jul 7, 2015
This hotel is in a perfect location, just a block away from Union Station and no more than a 1/4 mile to the Capital building and the National Mall. We arrived very early before check-in time and the staff was very helpful in letting us check our bag so we could carry on with our days activities without having to carry luggage around. We didn't return to the hotel until well after 1:30 am, the desk guys were very friendly even at that hour, they got our bags, got us checked in, and even gave us some menus for late night snack deliveries. The room was perfect and the bed was comfy. A great night sleep after a very full day and woke up refreshed for another full and busy day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Jacksonville, FL

Great Hotel in mid D.C.

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Amenities - free umbrella, bathrobe, fridge, coffee maker in room. Close to many historic sites. One block from Union Station.
Cons: Nada. Keep it just the way it is!
Location: Connections at nearby Union Station for Metro to and from National Airport and for the inexpensive Circulator bus that takes me all around town.
My wife and I have stayed at the Phoenix Park Hotel numerous times when visiting D.C. On memorial day weekend we stayed two nights. Same great place as always. I got up early on Sunday morning and took a nice, invigorating walk to the nearby Capitol and down the national mall while 99% of the tourists were still either asleep or just waking up. Very comfortable king size bed. Love the decor of the room.
3 out of 5
by Bjram from Washington, DC

Verbally abusive doorman

Posted Aug 13, 2013
You would think that an Irish hotel would be hospitable but not the case with Phoenix Park Hotel.  The doorman/bellman, Charles, was mean and rude. Was spitting angry with me; literally, spit was flying out of his mouth. All over a miscommunication about parking. He started yelling at me as I entered and followed me into the lobby still verbally abusing me. I was traveling alone, so after my run in with Charles, I didn't go to bar as planned, instead I stayed in my room afraid to cross his path on the way.  I immediately emailed the hotel from my room and the next morning reported the incident to the front desk staff, asking them to please make sure the manager saw my email. They assured me they would make sure he saw it.  The general manager, David, has not replied to my email so he either doesn't care or his staff didn't share the email with him.  I visit DC often but will not return to the Phoenix Park. 
4 out of 5
by alyse5387 from Los Angeles, CA

Super Comfortable Beds

Posted Jul 3, 2013
Short review: Hotel rooms are very small, staff isn't reliable, rooms are clean and in good condition with a good location, and they had the most comfy beds I've ever slept in. Good if you plan on spending almost literally no time in your hotel.  All-in-all, this hotel is just fine. Nothing spectacular, the staff is not attentive and the maid was kind of rude, the room was extremely small and the tub didn't drain correctly. No counters in the bathroom (with 4 people was a nightmare), no dresser space and limited hangers in the closet (that would be fine if the room was a bit bigger, but many times we were stumbling over things.) However, I will say that the beds are the best hotel beds I've slept on, and all 4 of us had 2 pillows with extra in the closet if we needed. Since we spent most of our time out of the hotel, it was fine that the room wasn't 5-star. We had 4 adults in the room, and I wouldn't want to have stayed in there more than an hour or two a day.  The hotel didn't have our reservation when we arrived, they had us arriving the next day. That was upsetting, 2 of us had to sleep on a pull-out bed. Sure the suite was cool, but again, we weren't there but to sleep so the pull-out bed was disappointing. We did get breakfast vouchers, so I'm not wholly disappointed with them but the point is to do it right the first time, isn't it? We had to move rooms (obviously) and were told that since we would be out all day, a bellman would place our things in the new room for us if we packed everything up and our keys would be ready for us when we arrived. The gal at the desk, however, didn't write any of this down, didn't put it into the computer or talk to the bellman on duty. Big surprise that none of it happened and we had to do it ourselves.  The maid was rude, she complained to us about having to move our stuff to make the beds. The room was so small there wasn't anywhere we could have put our things that was out of the way. Period. There was no dresser and barely any closet space and 4 adults with a full week's worth of things, where, prey tell, should I put my suite case so that you're not inconvenienced?? 
5 out of 5
Recommended
by seriomsw from Laurel, MD

Beautiful Historic Hotel!

Posted Jun 2, 2013
My wife and I had our wedding reception at this beautiful hotel in May of this year. The staff was wonderful to us and our guests. The rooms were beautiful! The views were fantastic. Just a short walk to the Capitol and Union Station right across the street. Our wedding coordinator, Tracy Zahn, was amazing. Our wedding reception and our stay at the Phoenix was everything we ever imagined. They made such wonderful memories for us. If you are having a wedding or an event, Tracy Zahn, makes you feel like you are her only priority. She is passionate about what she does. Our guests just raved about the food. Everyone who works on the catering/event team really took care of us and our guests.