"I had a good experience. Nice big room. Not being able to control the room temperature from my room was not ideal because the room was cooler than I l ... " More

By a verified traveler on Fri 29 Jun 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

3.5-star hotel near Gateway Arch

Heart of St. Louis

With a stay at this Downtown St. Louis hotel, you'll be steps from Security Building and Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. Dome at America’s Center and America's Center Convention Complex are also within 6 miles (10 km).

Business services

This hotel features an outdoor pool and a 24-hour fitness center. Traveling on business? Take advantage of the 15 conference rooms, 24-hour business center, and valet parking. Enjoy the a rooftop terrace and perks like free WiFi.

Sofa beds, cable TV

Offering conveniences like sofa beds and coffee/tea makers, the 440 guestrooms also have premium bedding and cable TV. Hair dryers, phones, and ironing boards are also available.

Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$79 per night

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Suite, 2 Bedrooms, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Suite, 1 Bedroom, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Junior Suite, 1 Bedroom, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

City Place St. Louis - Downtown Hotel ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.3 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 2.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for City Place St. Louis - Downtown Hotel

Everyone (59) Business (1) Couples (1) Family (2) Other (1)
1 out of 5
DO NOT STAY HERE!!! Our heater in our room did not work; there is not a restaurant on site, it's closed...pubic hairs in the bath tub, no ice machine for several floors, no ice bucket in our room but 5 trash cans; no wash rags, two towels, tons of hand towels; remote did not work; door locks malfunctioned and maintenance never responded; the wall in one room was splattered with something sticky and all over the picture frame. Horrible location for anything except the Arch. NO NO NO

Posted by on Dec 2, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 3, 2018 by General Manager

Thank you for your honest and helpful feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We regret that our hotel's cleanliness and facilities less than met expectations, and we'll use your comments to help us target areas for improvement in the future. Providing our guests with a clean and comfortable stay is our top priority, so we appreciate your comments and we hope you'll give us a chance to improve upon our first impression in the future.

2 out of 5
Substandard older hotel that shows well in the pictures but is sorely lacking. Mold and mildew in the small bathroom. Balcony door latch, handle & door frame broken & damaged. Window frame damaged or broken & was not able to be completely closed. There was cigarette ashes on the window frame. The bed was pretty comfortable and sheets appeared clean; the TV was nice and the view of the River & Arch was GREAT. We moved the stained couch to have a place to take in the view and found debris on the floor. We asked that to be cleaned up twice but it was never taken care of. We had no hand towels the first day and no bath matt the second day. Only one wash cloth the first day, but three the second day. All carpet we saw was very soiled and stained. Walking through the hallway there was a strong cigarette smell. The restaurant was under renovation. At check out and after explaining, we were told our parking would be credited back. BUYER BEWARE!

Posted by , from Cincinnati, Ohio on Oct 29, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 31, 2018 by General Manager

Dear Tim, Thank you for taking the time to share your insightful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We're pleased to hear that you found the beds to your preference and appreciated the great views of the river and Arch from your room. However, we're sorry to hear that you were disappointed in some aspects of your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies if your room was not as clean and maintained as well as it should have been and that you experienced some issues with the supply of towels. We're sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused. We will address your concerns and work with the rest of our team on making improvements. Your comments enable us the essential opportunity to continuously monitor and increase guest satisfaction. We hope that you'll choose to stay with us again so we can deliver a much better visit.

4 out of 5
Our stay was nice except for the air conditioning was extremely poor , need updating . Other than that great views and location !!

Posted by on Oct 8, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 9, 2018 by General Manager

Thank you very much for sharing your constructive feedback! We are happy to know that you enjoyed our excellent views and central location. However, we do apologize that you encountered troubles with your A/C, and we will have our maintenance team address the issue promptly. We wish you all the best, and we hope to see you again soon!

1 out of 5

Never, ever, ever stay here!!

Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
Notes on our experience are below. lobby Revolving door does not work One door single door to go in and out of the hotel Desk staff friendly, but not responsive to needs No restaurant even though it is advertised on their website Aesthetically looks old and worn down Elevators and halls 4 smaller elevators and two larger elevators able to handle the guests Dingy and worn Dirty carpeting and wallpaper in halls Balconies Scary Cantelevered Crumbling concrete No furniture South side nice view of arch Pool Small Looks in good condition 20ish loungers around the pool Room Hairdryer doesn’t work Too 48 hours and 8 times asking staff to get pillows and towels Room never made up the whole time (4 days) Had to ask for more coffee, Shampoo and soap Dirty when we got here Filthy carpet and furniture— dirt on my clothing when I got out of the chair Tables not wiped off- dust and drink rings on the glass top tables No mattress pad on bed and sheets don’t fit bed Pillows and pillow cases brought to us were dirty 1/2 outlets don’t work Very thin walls, can hear everything out in the hall Dripping shower Had to take toilet paper off abandoned housekeeping cart in the hall to replace ours Came back from being away from the hotel to find someone had been on our room and took our towels and left other dirty towels, towels from our room were outside on the floor in the hall Air conditioning not cold — some water cooled system that is terrible and can’t keep up with the heat of a mi

Posted by on Sep 5, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 14, 2018 by General Manager

Dear Deano, Thank you for taking a moment to detail your recent experience. Providing clean, comfortable and convenient accommodations is always our primary goal, so while we're happy to hear the location was convenient for your needs in the area, we do apologize that the rest of your stay didn't fully meet your expectations. We've notified our team of your comments so they can quickly correct any issues, and we would like the opportunity to change your perceptions and deliver the excellent stay you deserve when your travels bring you back to the city.

1 out of 5

Worst hotel stay ever!!

The room was filthy and old with torn carpet and dirty furniture. Staff was extremely rude!! We had no towels or linens in the room. There was no coffee or anything available. I was told there was a shuttle to ballpark village, which is why we booked the room, but turns out they have no shuttle. Worst stay ever!! Will never go back.

Posted by on Aug 20, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 22, 2018 by General Manager

Thank you for taking the time to notify us about your recent visit, we care deeply about our guests and are constantly seeking to improve. We're very sorry for any concerns you encountered regarding cleanliness and will address that right away. Also, we apologize for failing to deliver excellent service and will speak with our staff to ensure that all members meet the high standards that we're known for. We appreciate your business and would truly value another chance to do better in the future.

1 out of 5
The room wasn't cleaned or ready when we artived. One mattress was up against the wall, the other against the window, which was open. The sheets from the beds was left all over the floor. There was a few of the staff who weren really nice to us, the others didn't care. It took them an hour to get the towels to the room and the staff didn't bring them, I had to go get them. it took 45 minutes to get coffee cups up to our room and they didn't see a problem with that, nor that half of what was supposed to be in the room wasn't there. Make sure you actually call if your going to stay at this hotel that everything you need is available cause the open cause the restaurant was also said to be open and was under renovation, with the wifi working half the time

Posted by on Aug 19, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 23, 2018 by General Manager

We welcome feedback from our guests as it helps us understand how we might improve our services, and we thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are troubled to hear about your experience, and we apologize for the oversight. We will review your comments with our team, and work to uphold our high standards of customer service. We wish you well in your travels ahead, and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again at a later date and meet your full expectations!

1 out of 5
Upon arriving at the hotel 4 hrs after check in we were told that our room was still not ready and they couldn’t provide an estimated wait time. After another 30 minutes we spoke with a manager who said the room was ready (even though other staff said it was not). Upon entering the room we found that 2 of the 3 air conditioners didn’t cool properly and that the windows opened (on the 16th floor!) raising safety concerns with our children. The staff was the rudest bunch of people I have ever had to encounter then they tried to charge $20 for parking even if you didn’t park at there facility. Room was very out dated and carpet had several major stains! Would never recommend anyone to stay here!!!

Posted by on Aug 14, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 14, 2018 by general manager

We appreciate you taking the time to express your concerns to us. Please accept our heartfelt apology for aspects of your stay that fell short of meeting your expectations. We'll work to ensure clear communication between our team members regarding room status. Your constructive feedback will also enable us to continue improving the quality of our service and accommodations. We hope your travels were nonetheless pleasant. Your input is important to us, and we'd love an opportunity to make this up to you.

4 out of 5
Good location good room, didn’t expect to be charged $20.00 for parking when leaving.

Posted by , from Dallas, TX on Aug 1, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 3, 2018 by Manager

Thank you for your back. We apologize for the confusion with the parking.

2 out of 5

Ok for a night, but wouldnt stay longer.

Pros: close to the arch and busch stadium.
Cons: could be a lot cleaner.
Location: the arch, busch stadium. Bud factory is about 10 mins away.
check in took forever because they only had 2 people at the desk during check in, with a line out the door. Only 2-3 elevators out of 7 were working. Rooms and hallways were dark and dirty. Shower curtain had mold, tile floors hadn't been swept, and there was piles of dirt in the corners of the bathroom. Carpets in the room were heavily stained and dirty. The mattresses were hard and the pillows thin. The only good thing about this hotel was the closeness to the arch and to busch stadium.

Posted by , from Harrison on Jul 31, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
The room was dingy. Had a great view of the Arch, but windows were filthy. The blankets on the bed had big holes in them. I accidentally dropped a glass beer bottle on the tile by the mini fridge & called for someone to come up and clean it. It took almost a half hour for someone to come up. When he came up, he only had a towel- no dust pan, no mop, just a dry towel. He wiped up what he could & then grabbed a vacuum to get any little glass pieces. Before he left, we asked him about getting more towels and a few more pillows & blanket. He just grabbed a bunch of items and gave it to us. He was the most helpful staff we encountered. Later that night, we went to go upstairs to enjoy the rooftop & security was by the elevators telling everyone that the pool & observation deck had to close a half hour early because of maintenance and because there were too many people up there. The following day, another staff member knocked on our door & told me he was checking to see if we were still there because he received a message from the front desk that they were to empty the room for the next day. Not a good overall stay & very disappointing. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Posted by on Jul 9, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?

About the City Place St. Louis - Downtown Hotel

Location 200 North 4th Street, St. Louis, MO 63102

Renovations + Closures

The property is undergoing renovations. The following areas are affected:

  • Dining venue

Renovation work will only be conducted during business hours on weekdays. Every effort will be made to minimize noise and disturbance.

Property Features

City Place St. Louis - Downtown Hotel offers its guests an outdoor pool and a 24-hour fitness center. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. There's an onsite 24-hour business center. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. There are 15 meeting rooms available. A rooftop terrace, a vending machine, and multilingual staff are also featured at the business-friendly City Place St. Louis - Downtown Hotel. For a fee, parking is available. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 3.5-star St. Louis hotel.

  • 440 guestrooms or units
  • 29 levels
  • 14866 sq ft of conference space
  • Bar or lounge
  • Terrace on the roof
  • Business center (24 hours)
  • Conference space
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Concierge
  • Garden
  • Television in lobby
  • ATM
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Sofa bed
  • Free cribs/infant beds


Available in some public areas: Free WiFi


Self parking (surcharge) , Valet parking (surcharge) , RV, bus, truck parking (surcharge)


  • Airport: St. Louis, MO (STL-Lambert-St. Louis Intl.) (22.8 km / 14.2 mi)
  • Train station: St. Louis Gateway Station (2.7 km / 1.7 mi)
  • Parking: Valet parking, self parking, and RV/bus/truck parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

City Place St. Louis - Downtown Hotel offers 440 air-conditioned accommodations with coffee/tea makers and designer toiletries. Beds feature premium bedding. Televisions come with premium cable channels and pay movies. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and blackout drapes/curtains. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Pull-out sofa bed
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Movies for purchase
  • Coffee maker
  • Luxury bedding
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cribs (free)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Designer toiletries
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Air conditioning
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available


If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies


  • Check-in time starts at 4:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 2:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age is 21


  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 2 children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 15 per night.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!


  • Pets: USD 35.00 per pet, per night
  • Only dogs are allowed
  • Maximum 2 per room (weight limit: 50 lb)


Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation. Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation.

  • Only service animals are allowed


Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: USD 200.00 per stay

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Self parking fee: USD 20.00 per night
  • Valet parking fee: USD 30.00 per day (in/out privileges)
  • Pet fee: USD 35.00 per pet, per night
  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 15 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Crowne Plaza Riverfront
  • Crowne Plaza Riverfront Arch
  • Crowne Plaza Riverfront Arch Hotel
  • Crowne Plaza Riverfront Arch Hotel St. Louis
  • Crowne Plaza Riverfront Arch St. Louis
  • City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel
  • City Place St. Louis Downtown

You should know

  • The seasonal pool will open in May and close in September.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.