Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"It was a nice boutproperty that is 15 minute walk to everything that you will want to go. " More

By a verified traveler on Thu 22 Jul 2021

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

3-star hotel near Tennessee State Capitol

Heart of Nashville

Within a 10-minute walk of this Downtown Nashville hotel, you'll find Tennessee State Capitol and Ryman Auditorium. Also, Bridgestone Arena is within half a mile (1 km) and Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum is within 2 miles (3 km).

Free breakfast

This hotel features a restaurant, a gym, and a bar/lounge. Traveling on business? Take advantage of the business center, free WiFi in public areas, and valet parking. Enjoy the free cooked-to-order breakfast each morning.

Free WiFi, comfy beds

The 100 guestrooms feature comforts like pillowtop beds and premium bedding, while refrigerators and coffee/tea makers offer the conveniences of home. Flat-screen TVs come with satellite channels, and other amenities include free WiFi and free local calls.

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$98* Per night/room Dec 21 - Dec 22

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

The Capitol Hotel Downtown, Ascend Hotel Collection ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.7 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for The Capitol Hotel Downtown, Ascend Hotel Collection

Everyone (4) Couples (5) Family (4)
5 out of 5
It was a nice boutproperty that is 15 minute walk to everything that you will want to go.

Posted by on Jul 22, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 23, 2021 by General Manager

We are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your stay here at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville! We are also glad that you loved our prime location. Being so close to the Music City Center, the Bridgestone Arena, Ascend Amphitheater, and the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum, to name a few, is what makes us one of the best choices in Nashville. So whether you are here for business or fun, our boutique hotel is the place to be. Thank you very much for your business, and we hope to see you again soon! General Manager

5 out of 5
Location is great! Staff is very friendly and helpful! Room was clean and comfortable!

Posted by on Jul 16, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 17, 2021 by General Manager

Thank you very much for staying with us at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville. We were thrilled to learn you loved our hotel so much. With our excellent location, friendly staff, and well-appointed rooms, we believe our boutique hotel is a perfect choice for anyone visiting the area, and we are glad you agree. We hope we will be your hotel of choice every time you visit Nashville. Thank you again! General Manager

5 out of 5

Posted by on May 25, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 5, 2021 by General Manager

It was a pleasure having you as our guest at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville. We strive to deliver an exceptional experience to each of our guests in all areas of our hotel and your feedback tells us we are meeting our goals. Thank you for taking the time to share your perfect rating. We look forward to hosting you again soon. General Manager

5 out of 5
We enjoyed the bar area and the decor. Staff was very friendly and helpful

Posted by , from St Joseph on Feb 20, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 21, 2020 by General Manager

Kellie, thank you for the excellent review of The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville. We are happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and you loved our dedicated associates as well as the beautiful decor of the hotel. It is also nice to see that you had a great time at or bar. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon. General Manager

5 out of 5

Posted by on Jul 29, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 29, 2019 by General Manager

Thank you for staying with us and for your excellent rating. On behalf of all of us at the Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville, we would like to invite you for another outstanding visit. General Manager

4 out of 5
It is very near the capital and within walking distance of the other attractions. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Posted by on Jul 29, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 29, 2019 by General Manager

Thank you for choosing The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville and for the terrific rating. We are thrilled to know you were impressed with our courteous associates and that our prime location with easy access to major attractions of the city and other points of interest was perfect for your plans. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we hope to see you again very soon. General Manager

4 out of 5

Posted by on Jul 19, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 19, 2019 by General Manager

Thank you for your nice rating. We are glad you had a great stay and enjoyed all that we offer at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville. General Manager

1 out of 5
I contacted the property before booking to find out details about the distance to Broadway which is the main reason for our trip and they said its a very short walk. They don't tell you its not flat and you are going downhill on your way to Broadway but its totally uphill on the way back. That is not what they made it sound when I spoke to the staff. The property is not what I expected its a converted motel. Our room faced the street and the noise level was horrible. Fire Truck Sirens, Train horns at all hours of the night. Also the trash pick ups from those huge metal containers could clearly be heard from our room. The breakfast they offered was terrible. Not worth the price we paid. I had a wonderful time in Nashville but I would NEVER stay at this hotel/motel nor would I recommend this property.

Posted by on Jun 17, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 18, 2019 by General Manager

Thank you for choosing our hotel. We are sorry for the miscommunication that happened at the time of booking and we understand your disappointment. Also, we are sorry for the inconveniences you had during your stay because of the traffic noise. We wish we had the opportunity to address it while you were here as we would have done our best to ensure you were comfortable. Although we did not meet your expectations this time, we hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back and experience our hotel as you should have on this visit. General Manager

1 out of 5
I contacted the property before booking to find out details about the distance to Broadway which is the main reason for our trip and they said its a very short walk. They don't tell you its not flat and you are going downhill on your way to Broadway but its totally uphill on the way back. That is not what they made it sound when I spoke to the staff. The property is not what I expected its a converted motel. Our room faced the street and the noise level was horrible. Fire Truck Sirens, Train horns at all hours of the night. Also the trash pick ups from those huge metal containers could clearly be heard from our room. The breakfast they offered was terrible. Not worth the price we paid. I had a wonderful time in Nashville but I would NEVER stay at this hotel/motel nor would I recommend this property.

Posted by on Jun 17, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 18, 2019 by General Manager

Thank you for staying with us. Our team strives to ensure an excellent experience for each guest, so we are sorry for disappointing you because of the miscommunication that happened at the time of booking. Also, we are sorry for the inconveniences you had during your stay because of the traffic noise. Please know our front desk is staffed 24/7, and we would have happily changed your room upon request. Although we did not meet your expectations this time, we hope you will afford us an opportunity to redeem ourselves in the future. General Manager

4 out of 5
The best thing about the Capitol is that it is within walking distance to Broadway and many of the attractions and a short ride to the Opry. The price also helped us make our decision on where to stay. It did not offer all the amenities of a 5 star hotel such as room service and mini bars in the room, but I never usually use the things anyway. The rooms and hallways are a little worn but not terribly so. I was satisfied with our queen double room, small but functional. I kept having to move the chair out of the way to open the drapes, but no big deal. The room was clean and comfortable. We did not use housekeeping during our short stay, but staff always checked with us to make sure we had enough towels and supplies. mini fridge and Keurig coffee maker in room. The breakfast room was clean and cheery and the woman who staffed the room worked endlessly to make sure everything was clean and the food replenished as needed. The food was good and I was surprised at the variety of hot and cold items. The desk staff were very helpful and assisted us in arranging rides as necessary. If you are not looking for 5 star amenities but a clean comfortable place to stay for a reasonable price, I recommend the Capitol.

Posted by on May 21, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 22, 2019 by General Manager

Thank you for the wonderful review of The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville and for recommending us. We are delighted to know you liked our well-maintained accommodations and considered us good value. It is also great to know you had an excellent breakfast experience and enjoyed our outstanding service. We appreciate you highlighting our convenient location and look forward to welcoming you again soon. General Manager

About the The Capitol Hotel Downtown, Ascend Hotel Collection

Location 711 Union Street, Nashville, TN 37219

Renovations + Closures

Due to COVID-19, this property’s food and beverage options may be limited.

The property is renovating until January 31 2022 (completion date subject to change). The following areas are affected:

  • Exterior
  • Select guestrooms

Guests will have access to the following alternate facilities during the renovation:

  • Business facilities
  • Health club

Renovation work will only be conducted during business hours. Every effort will be made to minimize noise and disturbance.

Property Features

There's a restaurant on site, as well as a coffee shop/café and a snack bar/deli. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Free breakfast is served daily. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. Business amenities include a business center and limo/town car service. A fitness center, tour/ticket assistance, and gift shops/newsstands are also featured at the business-friendly The Capitol Hotel Downtown, Ascend Hotel Collection. Limited parking is available for a fee and is offered on a first-come, first-served basis. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 3-star Nashville hotel.

  • 1 building
  • 100 guestrooms or units
  • 5 levels
  • Cooked-to-order breakfast (free)
  • Deli
  • Business facilities
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Car service
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Convenience store
  • Gift shop
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Television in lobby
  • ATM
  • Elevator
  • Smoking in designated areas
  • Microwave in a common area
  • Bar or lounge
  • Dining venue

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Grocery/convenience store
  • Snack bar/deli
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Valet parking (surcharge) , Parking (limited spaces)

Transport

  • Train station: Nashville Riverfront Station (1.2 km / 0.7 mi)
  • Parking: Valet parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

The Capitol Hotel Downtown, Ascend Hotel Collection offers 100 accommodations, which are accessible via exterior corridors and feature safes and coffee/tea makers. Pillowtop beds feature premium bedding. 32-inch flat-screen televisions come with premium satellite channels. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. This Nashville hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks along with free local calls (restrictions may apply). Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and blackout drapes/curtains. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Pillowtop beds
  • Flat-screen television
  • Satellite channels
  • Premium channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Coffee maker
  • Luxury bedding
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Exterior corridor access
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available
  • Wardrobe or closet

Food & Drink

Guests are served free cooked-to-order breakfast daily from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM.

Craft Bar and Bistro - This cocktail bar serves dinner and light fare. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include a fitness center.

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Wheelchair-accessible on-site restaurant
  • Wheelchair-accessible lounge
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)
  • Wheelchair accessible path of travel
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • In-room accessibility
  • Assistive listening devices available
  • Wheelchair-accessible van parking
  • Braille or raised signage
  • Valet for wheelchair-equipped vehicle
  • Wheelchair-accessible path to elevator
  • Wheelchair-accessible registration desk
  • Wheelchair-accessible meeting spaces/business center

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at anytime
  • Minimum check-in age is: 21

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children 17 years old and younger stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

This property is managed by a professional host; the provision of housing is linked to their trade, business, or profession, within the meaning of article 155 of the French Tax Code

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation

This property accepts credit cards; cash is not accepted

Safety features at this property include a carbon monoxide detector, a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, a security system, a first aid kit, and window guards

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property is managed by a professional host. The provision of housing is linked to their trade, business, or profession, within the meaning of article 155 of the French Tax Code. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation. This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, and Diners Club. Cash is not accepted.

For guests' safety, the property includes a carbon monoxide detector, a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, a security system, a first aid kit, and window guards in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Personal protective equipment, including masks, will be available to guests. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; temperature checks are available to guests; masks are required in public areas. Contactless check-in and contactless check-out are available. Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Each guestroom is kept vacant for a minimum of 72 hours between bookings, and can be accessed from outside the building via exterior corridors. This property affirms that it follows the cleaning and disinfection practices of Commitment to Clean (Choice). This property affirms that it adheres to the cleaning and disinfection practices of SafeStay (AHLA - USA).

  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Masks are compulsory at the property
  • Temperature checks are available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Security system
  • Property follows sanitization practices of SafeStay (AHLA - USA)
  • Protective clothing is available to guests
  • Masks are available to guests
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Staffed front desk
  • Guests are not provided with hand sanitizer
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available
  • Property follows a brand or regulatory agency's sanitization guidelines Commitment to Clean (Choice)
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for lunch
  • Parking height restrictions apply
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for dinner
  • Gap period enforced between guest stays - 72 hours

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Covered valet parking fee: USD 21.00 per day
  • Late check-out fee: USD 75.00 (subject to availability)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Best Western Convention Center Hotel Downtown
  • Best Western Downtown Convention Center
  • Best Western Downtown Hotel Nashville
  • Capitol Hotel Nashville
  • Capitol Nashville
  • The Capitol Hotel an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
  • The Capitol Hotel Downtown, Ascend Hotel Collection Hotel
  • The Capitol Hotel Downtown, Ascend Hotel Collection Nashville

You should know

  • Please note that this property can refuse certain bookings for the purpose of group events or parties, which include pre-wedding stag/bachelor and hen/bachelorette parties.
  • Children 17 years old and younger stay free in the same room as the parent or guardian when using existing bedding.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing http://www.travelocity.com/Nashville-Hotels-The-Capitol-Hotel-Downtown,-Ascend-Hotel-Collection.h4351-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Nashville-Hotels-The-Capitol-Hotel-Downtown,-Ascend-Hotel-Collection.h4351-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.travelocity.com/Nashville-Hotels-The-Capitol-Hotel-Downtown,-Ascend-Hotel-Collection.h4351-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.