4.0 out of 5

"It was pretty positive experience. I did find a bug the first night that I was there, so that was a little offsetting. Other then that, everything e ... " More

By a verified traveler on Thu 26 Jul 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

3.5-star hotel near University of Hawaii at Manoa

Near beach, shopping

At this Honolulu hotel, you'll be within half a mile (1 km) of Ala Moana Center and 3 miles (5 km) of University of Hawaii at Manoa. Aloha Tower and Honolulu Zoo are also within 3 miles (5 km).

Multiple dining options

This smoke-free hotel includes 2 restaurants, an outdoor pool, and a fitness center. Traveling on business? Take advantage of the 24-hour business center, free WiFi in public areas, and valet parking. You'll appreciate the sauna, bar/lounge, and coffee shop.

Free Internet, LCD TVs

Featuring conveniences like refrigerators and microwaves, the 1100 guestrooms offer free WiFi and free wired Internet, as well as LCD TVs with cable channels. Premium bedding, coffee/tea makers, and hair dryers are also available.

Standard Room, Partial Ocean View (Kona Tower) - Resort Fee Included

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$169 per night

Standard Room, Ocean View (Waikiki Tower) - Resort Fee Included

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Room, Partial Ocean View (Waikiki Tower) - Resort Fee Included

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Room, City / Mountain View (Kona Tower) - Resort Fee Included

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Suite, 1 Bedroom Mountain View (Waikiki Tower) - Resort Fee Included

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Junior Suite - Resort Fee Included

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Ala Moana Hotel ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.0 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Ala Moana Hotel

Everyone (30) Couples (1)
5 out of 5

Posted by on Oct 15, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 15, 2018 by Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra

Mahalo for your review and we hope you had a fantastic time with us!

5 out of 5
Nice hotel. Close to mall. Good brunch breakfast. Initial room that was given faced the back alley. Not a nice view. I returned to front desk. They didnt really accomodate me. They said if i was willing to upgrade then they could give me a nicer room. But, for a price. They were able to give me 50% off on the upgrade cost. Also, the key cards to the room malfunctioned several times. I had to go to the front desk to get new ones. Inconvenient.

Posted by , from Los Angeles on Oct 4, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 4, 2018 by Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra

Aloha Raphael and thank you for your review. We apologize for the issues experienced with your keys and are glad we were able to offer a discounted upgrade cost. We hope you are able to see us again in the fututre!

3 out of 5
It was pretty positive experience. I did find a bug the first night that I was there, so that was a little offsetting. Other then that, everything else was great.

Posted by , from San Diego on Jul 26, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 31, 2018 by Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra

Our apologies for finding a bug Dave. We hope you enjoyed the rest of the stay.

4 out of 5
The hotel is in a great area with the mall next door. The staff was helpful. The room had some problems. The fridge was loud. The closet door had a bad roller. The bathroom needs a fan to keep the mirror from fogging. The views were great!

Posted by , from california on Apr 26, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 27, 2018 by Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra

Mahalo for the informaiton Paul so that we may address some of the maintenance issues you mentioned. We're glad you enjoyed the view and hope to see you again!

5 out of 5

Hawaii 2018 best trip so far I have experience

Pros: It was clean, the staff was nice and helpful but the tourist was not so friendly most of them, but it is not you all fault.
Cons: The cafe should be open for lunch and dinner
Location: Great mall next door and mostly everything was in walking distant
Hubby went touring Honnonula, went to a great timeshare presentation, to bad we could not afford it yet. The last event was the Luau and of course we went shopping.

Posted by on Apr 23, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 23, 2018 by Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra

Thanks for your review and feedback. Although the cafe is only open for breakfast, we hope that you were able to enjoy some of the eateries in the mall and surrounding area. We're glad you had a great stay and hope to see you again!

2 out of 5

Stay elsewhere

Front desk clerk said “your room is dirty” upon check in. That was quite shocking as in the past I have been told that “the room isn’t ready” at other properties. It was clear that the Ala Moana hotel was of a low quality property. Once in this dirty room, I realized how right the front desk agent was. There was a white stain on the pull out couch cushion and the toilet was leaking. Definitely got the worse view unless strip clubs are your thing lol. It was a hard hat special so the helicopter activity was expected as well as the loud construction. If there is no where else to stay on the island of Oahu, then stay at he Ala Moana Hotel

Posted by , from maui on Mar 28, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 30, 2018 by Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra

We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. When a room has just been checked out of by another guest and has not been cleaned, it is referred to as dirty. We do have partial ocean view and ocean view rooms available at an upgraded rate, as opposed to our introductory city view rooms.

4 out of 5

Close to the largest shopping mall on the island

Cons: In order to get up to the floors above 2 your key card had to be inserted into the elevator key slot. When we checked in we were not told about this.
Location: The hotel was convenient to the Ala Moana Mall, the Ala Moana Beach Park
The hotel was conveniently located to the mall, the beach park harbor area and many other points of interest. We did not use any of the restaurants, conference rooms or bars. Did not use the pool either. Not even sure if there was one as the hotel didn't list their facility in the book in the room. We did hear from other guess that there was a laundry facility up on the 19th floor.

Posted by , from Huntsville, AL on Feb 25, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 26, 2018 by Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra

Aloha Karen and thank you for your feedback. We're happy to see that you enjoyed the location and convenience. We do indeed have an outdoor pool on the third floor for our guests to use and laundry facilities on the 6th & 13th floors as well. We hope to see you again soon!

3 out of 5

clean, adequate but small accommodations

Pros: nice lobby.
Cons: better description of room and views.
Location: location was good for us
When I made the reservations more than 2 months in advance I was told we had a mountain view. When we arrived to our room our first thought was "wow small room", but we were excited to see the 11th floor view. When we pulled back the curtain there was no balcony, the sliding door didn't even allow us to stick our head out. to our disappointment the view was of an office building and new construction of a high rise. If you stood to the far right of the window and looked left next to the building there was a small sliver of a hill. the sticker on the window said for our safety the window would not open yet our daughters room had a fully functioning sliding door with a balcony and a slice of a view of the ocean , so the safety was not an issue in their room. I called and made a formal complaint to the front desk which gave us no options . The room was very disappointing.

Posted by , from CA on Feb 6, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 8, 2018 by Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra

Aloha Linda and thank you for your feedback. We apologize that you were unhappy with your room. It does sound like you booked in our Kona tower, which does not have balconies and the glass partitions only open partially. Your daughter booked in our Waikiki tower, which does have balconies that one can access fully and ocean views as well. We hope that the rest of your visit was pleasant and hope you return to the islands again.

5 out of 5

Not close to the beach but it was an okay walk

The walk to the strip is pretty good walk beach has to be more then a mile just saying but over all great hotel. Has construction going on next door so a bit noisey

Posted by , from s on May 4, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 6, 2017 by Bill

Mahalo for the kind words and we look forward to hosting you soon. Shopping, sun, fun and a convenient place to serve a base for exploring the wonders and delights of our beautiful Island - hurry back soon. Warmest Aloha and Ā hui hou kākou (Until we meet again)

4 out of 5
The short female that checked us in was unfriendly and unpleasant. Did not smile at all. There was plenty of staff so she was not overworked. My husband was with me when I checked in and she originally gave me one key. I had to ask for another key. Other than that the room was nice and comfortable and the lady that checked us out was very friendly and pleasant.

Posted by on Mar 28, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 30, 2017 by Bill

Mahalo for staying with us and we apologize for the lapse which we will discuss at our Front Office meeting this morning. We appreciate the feedback because it is through your caring concern that we improve and live up to the standards all our valued guests deserve. Please hurry back soon when your travels take you back to our beautiful Island. Warmest Aloha and Ā hui hou kākou (Until we meet again)

Property Features

Ala Moana Hotel offers its guests an outdoor pool, a sauna, and a fitness center. There are 2 restaurants on site, as well as a coffee shop/café and a grocery/convenience store. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. A 24-hour business center, limo/town car service, and meeting rooms are available. Tour/ticket assistance, multilingual staff, and gift shops/newsstands are also featured at the business-friendly Ala Moana Hotel. Parking is available for a fee. This 3.5-star Honolulu hotel is smoke free.

  • 1100 guestrooms or units
  • 2 buildings
  • 2 dining venues
  • 9 conference rooms
  • Built in 1970
  • Bar or lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • Business center (24 hours)
  • Conference space
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Car service
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Convenience store
  • Gift shop
  • ATM
  • Onsite shopping
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Property
  • Outdoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Grocery/convenience store
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Self parking (surcharge) , Valet parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: Honolulu, HI (HNL-Daniel K. Inouye Intl.) (13.6 km / 8.4 mi)
  • Parking: Valet parking and self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Ala Moana Hotel offers 1100 air-conditioned accommodations with safes and coffee/tea makers. Beds feature premium bedding. Refrigerators and microwaves are provided. Bathrooms include complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wired and wireless Internet access. LCD televisions come with premium cable channels and pay movies. Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and blackout drapes/curtains. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • LCD television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Movies for purchase
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Luxury bedding
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (air conditioning)

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy buffet breakfast daily from 6:30 AM to 10 AM.

Signature Prime Steak - Overlooking the ocean, this restaurant specializes in American cuisine and serves dinner only. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

Starbucks - This restaurant serves light fare only. Open daily.

Plantation Cafe - This buffet restaurant serves breakfast only.

Nearby Activities

A third-floor sundeck houses an outdoor splash pool. Adjacent to the pool, the renovated fitness center provides treadmills, elliptical trainers, stationary bikes, free weights, strength-training equipment, a sauna, and a steam room.

The family-friendly Ala Moana Beach Park is a block from the hotel. Surfboards, boogie boards, kayaks, ocean rafts, snorkel sets, umbrellas, and chairs can be rented on Waikiki Beach, a mile away. Outrigger canoes and catamarans offer rides from the beach (surcharge).

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or near the hotel; fees may apply.

  • Golfing nearby
  • Snorkeling nearby
  • Surfing/boogie boarding nearby
  • Sailing nearby
  • Windsurfing nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children 18 years old and younger stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit or credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: USD 200.00 per stay

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for buffet breakfast: USD 16.5 per person (approximately)
  • Self parking fee: USD 20 per day (in/out privileges)
  • Valet parking fee: USD 25 per day

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra
  • Ala Moana Honolulu
  • Ala Moana Hotel Mantra Honolulu
  • Ala Moana Hotel Honolulu
  • Hotel Ala Moana
  • Hotel Moana
  • Moana Hotel
  • Ala Moana Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu
  • Ala Moana Hotel Mantra
  • Ala Moana Mantra Honolulu
  • Ala Moana Mantra

You should know

  • Children 18 years old and younger stay free in the same room as the parent or guardian when using existing bedding.