Enter dates to see availability

4.4 out of 5

"The hotel was very pleasing, the beach at the Barceló Maya Beach area was very nice, other locations were very rocky. The grounds were beautiful, the ... " More

By a verified traveler on Fri 23 Mar 2018

Hotel Description

4-star all-inclusive property near Xpu-ha Beach, connected to a shopping center

Beachfront retreat

Within 3 miles (5 km) of this property, you'll find Xpu-ha Beach and Dolphin Discovery. Also, Ecopark Kantun Chi is within half a mile (1 km) and Cenote Cristalino is within 2 miles (3 km).

All-inclusive

This all-inclusive property features a casino, a full-service spa, and a water park. Dine at the beachfront restaurant and relax with sun loungers. Bring the family and enjoy the free kid's club, children's pool, and playground.

WiFi, LCD TVs

The 630 guestrooms feature free minibar items, LCD TVs with satellite channels, and thoughtful touches like bathrobes and slippers. Other amenities include furnished balconies or patios, WiFi, and rainfall showerheads.

Superior Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
$226 per night

Oceanfront Suite Premium Level

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Suite, Oceanfront (Premium Level- Single occupancy)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Superior Room (Single occupancy)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Junior Suite Oceanfront Premium Level

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Junior Suite Oceanfront Premium Level - single occupancy

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Barceló Maya Beach - All Inclusive ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.4 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Barceló Maya Beach - All Inclusive

Everyone (13) Couples (1) Family (2)
5 out of 5
Staff were friendly. There was sooo much to do and see!

Posted by on Apr 11, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 13, 2019 by Manager

Dear Guest, Thank you for providing your positive feedback after your recent stay at Barceló Maya Beach. It is overwhelming to our staff and I, knowing we were able to accomplish yet another wonderful vacation. We will be more that honor to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, José Luis Serratos Sub Director Barcelo Maya Beach

2 out of 5
As other reviewers mentioned, the property is beautiful and well kept. Rooms could use some upgrades (bathroom, TV). The main negative for us was the food: buffet restaurants had limited variety and menu basically did not change from one day to the other. Quality of the food also was far from what we expected: most of the food had no flavor and everything was poorly presented. Last year we stayed at Grand Palladium Kantenah and food was way better. They could use a couple more cooks preparing omelettes during breakfast and past at lunch instead of leaving a single cook struggling to attend everybody and creating long lines. The a-la-carte restaurants were not better: not many alternatives and same lack of flavors (we tried Trattoria, Mexico Lindo and Kyoto). Most of the desserts looked like they came straight from a box. Drinks weren't great either, with only local low-end liqueur available. Since most of the guests are international, it would be good to have staff that speaks English (even communicating with Guest Service was a challenge unless you speak some Spanish). Too many things not included in the all-inclusive package which ends up being annoying.

Posted by , from Miami, Florida on Mar 29, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 9, 2019 by Manager

Dear Guest, Thank you for your valued time and your review on your recent stay at Barceló Maya Beach. It is with great concern that I read your feedback about how we did not manage to exceed your expectations during your stay, please know that day by day each and every staff member puts very much effort in order to work hard and to accomplish your every needs, our goal is to make your holidays as perfect and memorable as they can possibly be. Please forgive us, for not being this the occasion. I truly hope you allow us another opportunity to welcome you and allow me to assure you that you will notice all the improvements we have made since your last stay and hopefully change the thought you have towards our Resort. Best Regards, José Luis Serratos Subdirector Barceló Maya Beach

3 out of 5
The view and the cleanliness of the hotel is awesome! The staff very helpful! Although the buffet food was absolutely horrible! It was a different theme but same food. You could tell it had been sitting there awhile. Not much flavor. It had a lot of different food that I noticed not a lot of people ate. The snack bar was better than the buffet. The restaurant had very good food, there wasn’t a fair warning to let us know they book up fast so that was an issue. The bugs were everywhere I know it’s an open resort but I don’t think they did much spraying to help prevent so many. I would recommend this resort if the food wasn’t so bad. Thats honestly what will stop my family and I from coming back. While purchasing the package we were also not told about having to pay for the bowling or water park or mini golf. They put it out to be as if it is all inclusive online. Then once you get there it’s very expensive for even a family of four to enjoy an activity. Beautiful place they need better details and food.

Posted by , from Des Moines, Iowa on Jul 8, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 15, 2018 by Manager

Dear Casandra, first of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Barceló Maya Beach for your vacations. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Regards

4 out of 5

Wonderful Experience

Pros: The resort was huge, there were plenty of pools, rooms were clean, staff was very nice and most of the shows at night were very good.
Cons: Pool at our area was very quiet, could use music. 3 shows at night are all at the same time. Times should be staggered so that you could see 2 shows.
Location: We did not leave the resort.
The hotel was very pleasing, the beach at the Barceló Maya Beach area was very nice, other locations were very rocky. The grounds were beautiful, the pools were clean and very nice. The food at the specialty restaurants was excellent, otherwise it was just OK. The resort is huge, has its own mall, bowling alley, water park, dolphin park, and casino. Most shows at the theaters were very good and you had three shows each night to choose from. I would definitely return to this resort.

Posted by , from Pennsylvania on Mar 23, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 29, 2018 by manager

Dear Bev, Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Maya Beach hotel for your holidays in teh Riviera Maya and for the review you shared, all of your kind words about your stay with us are great to hear. Regards

5 out of 5
Had a fantastic vacation. We were there 6 years ago and liked it very much then and found it to be even better now. Can't wait to return.

Posted by on Mar 21, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 29, 2018 by manager

Dear Anonymous, Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Maya Beach hotel for your holidays in the Riviera Maya and for the review you shared, all of your kind words about your stay with us are great to hear. Regards

4 out of 5

Would definitely stay there again!

Pros: All the hotels felt beachfront and pool front. You weren't on the 12th floor of a hotel which is 100 yards from the pool.
Cons: Maintenance on the rooms was a little lacking - our safe didn't work properly, the screen door was torn, sliding door didn't lock.
Location: Almost everything you need to on-site - Dolphin Show, small mall, bowling, mini-golf, lots of pools, close beach, tour companies to schedule excusions
It was a great vacation. I have a 4 year old who loves pools and water slides. This place was perfect for that. We upgraded to the Premium Level which was worth the money. Our room was great - spacious, comfortable, great view, hot tub on balcony - however there were some odd maintenance issues (the hot tub knobs were broken, certain #s on the safe didn't work, etc), but those didn't ruin our trip. The food was pretty good (comparable to Beaches resorts) and the staff was very helpful. Getting restaurant reservations was an issue for some people but we ate early so not a big deal for us. The resort was sold out but didn't feel crowded which was nice. All the hotels are basically, beach-front and pool front. The beach has the softest sand. I remember the water being clearer in Cancun but still better than most. Everything that you need is onsite - Dolphin Show daily, mini-golf, bowling. Overall, we would gladly stay there again.

Posted by , from Philadelphia, PA on Jan 2, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 4, 2018 by Manager

Dear Cynthia, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló Maya Beach hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the imperfections you describe in your review, all rooms reserved for new arrivals are per standard double checked by our head of housekeeping to ensure that everything is functional and spotless for our guests, clearly we were not performing to our usual standard on this occasion and we regret not being immediatley informed at réception so as to be able to intervene in no time for you to fully enjoy your stay in our hotel. Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Regards

5 out of 5

Family Vacation

We had an exceptional time during our family vacation. The facilities and accommodations were in excellent! The restaurant food was delicious and many options provided. Overall, my family and I had an amazing time!!!

Posted by , from El Paso, Texas on Nov 25, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 29, 2017 by Manager

Dear Martha, Firstly we would like to thank you for the review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations and we look forward to serving you again soon. Regards

5 out of 5

Dream Vacation

We stayed from June 28 to July 5 and it was a great experience and my kids love everything! Great for families and would recommend it all the way! Thank you Barcelo Maya Beach

Posted by on Jul 7, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 12, 2017 by Guadalupe Sosa

We really appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets. Best Regards

5 out of 5
Close to the beach. Very clean. Nice and helpful staff

Posted by on Jul 2, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 4, 2017 by Guadalupe Sosa

Thank you for your feedback regarding our staff. We all remain at your service.

5 out of 5

Great Mega Resort

Pros: The kind staff and service. Super clean!! Beautiful grounds!
Cons: Better teen centered activities. My teens disappointed in this.
Location: Cenotes Azul, Cristobel and Chicken Ha. Tulum quick Collectivo away.
Quick check-in! Great ala carte restaurants. Buffets didn't care for. Always found something to eat though. Can we as big or small as you want it to be. Walked out of hotel wing straight to pool on one end and lobby the other. If you want to explore the other hotels, you can. Loved you can walk from your room to buffet and the mall completely covered in case it rains. Cannot even get a drink at Palace. Knew you could not eat there but after the long walk down there, we thought we could get a coke at least. Not sure if you are allowed to use their pools but we did. Missed out on water activities. Ocean too rough for water bikes, paddle boarding and kayaks. They DO NOT take you out on hobby cats like other resorts; use have to do it yourself. That left us out! Snorkeling was okay. Maybe for novices. Didn't see much fish. A lot of dead coral. Snorkeled way out too. Didn't see turtles even at different times of day down by Palace. I am sure if the weather was affected, it would have been great. Entertainment, okay. A lot of similar acts. Loved the fact they have a mall for shopping and also outdoor market type shopping. Cenotes across street were great visit! Walk there. Used the hotel bus once to try it out to go to Palace. Quicker to walk there. Pluses...bath products...shampoo, conditioner, body wash dispenser, small tube of toothpaste, a toothbrush, shoe shine kit, sewing kit, vanity kit, slippers, robes, snacks and plenty of drinks.

Posted by , from Pittsburgh, PA on Jun 22, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 25, 2017 by Guadalupe Sosa

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Barceló Maya Beach was an enjoyable one. Thank you very much

About the Barceló Maya Beach - All Inclusive

Location Carr Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km 266.3, Xpu-Ha, QROO 77750

All-inclusive Details

This property is all-inclusive. Onsite food and beverages are included in the room price (some restrictions may apply).

Gratuities and taxes
Gratuities and taxes are included. Additional gratuities at guests' discretion are accepted.

Food and beverages

  • All buffet and à la carte meals, snacks, and local beverages included
  • 24-hour room service
  • In-room minibar (all beverages included)

Activities and facilities/equipment
All non-motorized water sports, land activities, and use of recreational facilities and equipment are included.

Water activities

  • Kayaking
  • Sailing
  • Snorkeling
  • Windsurfing

Land activities
  • Fitness facilities
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Lessons/classes/games
  • Aerobics
  • Dancing
  • Language

Kids' club

  • Supervised activities for children between 4 and 12 years old

Entertainment

  • Onsite entertainment and activities
  • Access to onsite clubs

Not included

  • Motorized water sports
  • Scuba-diving certification
  • Scuba-diving excursions
  • Snorkeling excursions
  • Premium and/or non-domestic beverages
  • Surcharge for bottled wine
  • Surcharge for room service
  • Airport transfers
  • Childcare
  • Laundry/dry cleaning services
  • Spa/beauty facilities and services
  • Wireless Internet access
  • Activities and services offered by independent operators
  • Offsite tours
  • Transportation to offsite activities

  • Kayaking included
  • Access to onsite clubs included
  • Sailing included
  • Windsurfing included
  • Taxes included
  • 24-hour room service
  • Buffet and à la carte dining
  • Airport transfers not included
  • Premium/non-domestic beverages not included
  • Fitness facilities included
  • Tennis included
  • Wireless Internet access not included
  • Volleyball included
  • Laundry/dry cleaning services not included
  • Soccer (football) included
  • Childcare not included
  • Scuba diving excursions not included
  • Snorkeling excursions not included
  • Scuba diving certification not included
  • Motorized water sports not included
  • Spa/beauty facilities and services not included
  • Activities/services from independent operators not included
  • Surcharge for room service
  • Transportation to offsite activities not included
  • Offsite tours not included
  • Room service not included
  • Aerobics classes/lessons included
  • Dancing classes/lessons included
  • Language classes/lessons included
  • Onsite entertainment and activities included
  • Gratuities included
  • Local beverages and soft drinks only
  • Additional gratuities accepted
  • All food and beverages included
  • Food and beverage restrictions apply
  • Surcharge for premium or imported alcoholic beverages
  • Surcharge for bottled wine
  • Minibar (all beverages included)
  • All non-motorized water sports included
  • All land activities, and recreational facilities and equipment included
  • Snorkeling included

Property Features

Barceló Maya Beach - All Inclusive is an all-inclusive property. Room rates include meals and beverages at onsite restaurants and bars. Other items and amenities, including taxes and gratuities, and access to recreational activities and entertainment may also be included. Additional charges may apply for meals at some restaurants, special dinners and dishes, certain beverages, and other amenities. As a guest of Barceló Maya Beach - All Inclusive, you'll find a full-service spa, a water park (surcharge), and 2 outdoor swimming pools. There are 3 restaurants on site, along with a snack bar/deli. You can enjoy a drink at one of the bars, which include 3 bars/lounges and a swim-up bar. Public spaces have WiFi for a fee. There's an onsite business center. Event space at this property measures 12109 square feet (1125 square meters) and includes a conference center. A casino, a children's pool, and a health club are also featured at the family-friendly Barceló Maya Beach - All Inclusive. A roundtrip airport shuttle (available 24 hours) is available for a fee. Free self parking is available.

  • 630 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • 3 buildings
  • 3 dining venues
  • 3 bars or lounges
  • 12109 sq ft of conference space
  • 1125 sq m of conference space
  • Built in 1999
  • Casino
  • Nightclub
  • Bar by the pool
  • Swim-up bar
  • Deli
  • Kid's club (free)
  • Childcare (surcharge)
  • Beach lounge chairs
  • Towels for the beach
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Conference center
  • Business facilities
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Pool or billiards table
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Gift shop
  • Beauty salon
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • ATM
  • Onsite shopping
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Number of outdoor pools - 2
  • Children's pool
  • Outdoor tennis courts - 2
  • Children's club (free)
  • Snack bar/deli
  • Laundry facilities
  • Babysitting or childcare (surcharge)
  • In-room childcare (surcharge)
  • Playground on site

Internet

Available in all rooms: WiFi (surcharge)

Available in some public areas: WiFi (surcharge)

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Cancun, Quintana Roo (CUN-Cancun Intl.) (78.7 km / 48.9 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Airport shuttle
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Barceló Maya Beach - All Inclusive offers 630 air-conditioned accommodations with free minibar items and laptop-compatible safes. Rooms open to furnished balconies or patios. 32-inch LCD televisions come with premium satellite channels. Bathrooms include rainfall showerheads, bathrobes, slippers, and complimentary toiletries. This Xpu-Ha property provides wireless Internet access for a surcharge. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Additionally, rooms include complimentary bottled water and coffee/tea makers. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Private balcony or patio (furnished)
  • Stocked minibar (free)
  • LCD television
  • Satellite channels
  • Premium channels
  • Coffee maker
  • Rainfall showerhead
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Childcare in room (surcharge)
  • Hair dryer
  • Laptop safe
  • Bathrobes
  • Slippers
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fan
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

Beach Buffet - This buffet restaurant specializes in international cuisine and serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. A children's menu is available.

Mexico Lindo - This fine-dining restaurant specializes in Mexican cuisine and serves dinner only. A children's menu is available. Reservations are required.

Rancho Grande - This beach restaurant specializes in international cuisine and serves brunch and lunch. A children's menu is available.

Lobby Bar Beach - Onsite lobby lounge. Open 24 hours.

Nearby Activities

Outdoor tennis courts, a health club, and a water park (surcharge) are featured at the property. 2 outdoor swimming pools are on site along with a children's pool. Other recreational amenities include a spa tub, a sauna, and a fitness center.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Snorkeling on site
  • Ecotours on site
  • Golfing nearby
  • Rock climbing on site
  • Cave exploring/spelunking nearby
  • Volleyball on site
  • Beach volleyball on site
  • Kayaking on site
  • Skydiving nearby
  • Windsurfing on site
  • Ziplining nearby
  • Playground on site
  • Segway rental/tour on site
  • Boat tours nearby
  • Fitness classes on site
  • Sailing on site
  • Basketball on site
  • Scuba diving on site
  • Golf lessons available nearby
  • Personal motorized watercraft on site

Spa Services

U Spa and U Spa Kids has 25 treatment rooms including rooms for couples and outdoor treatment areas. Massages are available on the beach and in the spa; other services include deep-tissue massages, hot stone massages, and sports massages. The spa is equipped with a sauna, a spa tub, a steam room, and Turkish bath/hammam. A variety of treatment therapies are provided, including aromatherapy and hydrotherapy.

  • Number of treatment rooms 25
  • Outdoor treatment areas
  • Couples treatment rooms
  • Massages on beach
  • Manicures and pedicures
  • Body wraps
  • Body treatments
  • Body scrubs
  • Facial treatments
  • Aromatherapy treatments
  • Hydrotherapy treatments
  • Hot stone massage
  • Deep tissue massage
  • Swedish massage
  • Sauna in spa
  • Spa tub in spa
  • Steam room in spa
  • Sports massage
  • Massages

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Special check-in instructions:

24-hour airport shuttle service is available on request. Fees may apply. Contact the property in advance to make arrangements.

An airport shuttle service (surcharge) is available on request. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation after booking.

Airport transportation is offered on request 24 hours a day. Fees may apply. Please make arrangements in advance by contacting the property.

Check-out

  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! One child stays free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Sanitation services: USD 2 per night

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for in-room wireless Internet: USD 12 per day (rates may vary)
  • Fee for wireless Internet in public areas: USD 12 per 24-hour period (rates may vary)
  • Airport shuttle fee: USD 123 per vehicle (one-way)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Barcelo Beach Maya
  • Barcelo Maya All Inclusive
  • Barceló Maya Beach All Inclusive All-inclusive property Xpu-Ha
  • Barceló Maya Beach All Inclusive Xpu-Ha
  • Barcelo Maya Beach All Inclusive Xpu-Ha
  • Barcelo Maya Beach Xpu-Ha
  • Maya Barcelo Beach
  • Barcelo Maya Beach All Inclusive Hotel Xpu-Ha
  • Barcelo Maya Beach All Inclusive Hotel
  • Barcelo Maya Beach Hotel Xpu-Ha
  • Barcelo Maya Beach Hotel
  • Barcelo Maya Beach All Inclusive

You should know

  • Barceló Maya Beach - All Inclusive offers transfers from the airport (fees may apply). Please contact the property at the number on the booking confirmation with your arrival details prior to travel.
  • Reservations are needed for massage services and spa treatments. For reservations, contact the property before arrival using the contact information on the booking confirmation.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.