Ratings based on 297 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from US

5 stars all the way

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Beautiful grounds and pools. Excellent spa. Facilities and service outstanding.
Cons: Thanksgiving dinner buffet was great, but dessert table was very lacking - only a few pastries offered (no pumpkin pie, ice-cream, fruits or cakes)
Location: Not close to beach but shuttle and beach set up offered.
Wonderful hotel. Beautiful facility in a beautiful setting. Great staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Claire K., Hotel Management
Thank you for the five-star rating and particularly for noting our Five Star spa and Grand Beach Service. We are thankful this Thanksgiving for guests like you and hope to welcome you back very soon!
5 out of 5
by A traveler

The best. Look no further.

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
I have never stayed at a hotel as amazing as this one. It was absolutely fantastic. The customer service was 100% top notch! Everything was wonderful. We will be back!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are both delighted and honored to hear that we are the most amazing hotel you've stayed at and that you experienced five-star service across the board. We look forward to your next return visit!
5 out of 5
by A traveler

2泊だけでは勿体なかった良質なホテル

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
フェアモント ロビーを始めホテル内の至る所がクラシカルで格調高い雰囲気に溢れています。一番下のカテゴリーの部屋だったのでベランダは小さかったですが、それでも素敵でした。部屋、バスルームとも広くコロニアル調で、窓からは中庭の噴水が。 滞在中は曇りがちでしたが、青い空なら薄ピンクのホテルが映えてより素敵だと思います。ゴルフ場を見ながら屋外であたる暖炉も良かったです。プールは時期的に入りませんでしたがお湯ジャグジーもあり、パラソルもチェアもたくさんありました。ホテル周りがウォーキングコースになっており、犬のエチケット袋まで用意がありました。 有名フレンチのAddisonは日曜日が定休日で利用出来ませんでしたが、Amayaを夕食と朝食で利用しました。サラダはかなりしょっぱかったですが、お肉は柔らかくて美味しかったです。価格はやはり高く、アメリカンブレックファースト二人分でチップ込みで約1万円しました。 ダウンタウンからは車でとばして30分ほど離れている為、あちこち観光したい方には不向きですが、ホテルに篭ってリゾートライフを過ごすには最高です。 ちなみに、サンディエゴ動物園からホテルまでタクシーで戻った際は約70ドルかかりました。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Seattle

Great Resort Property

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Expedia
This is a marvelous property, with two very good restaurants onsite and a cozy bar. We were dissappointed to get a room directly actoss from an elevator. I suppose this is because we booked through Expedia, rather than going directly through Fairmont.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Claire K., Hotel Management
Thank you for your five-out-of-five review. We are happy to accommodate guest room location requests, regardless of how the stay was booked. We hope to welcome you back soon.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Best Hotel in Southern California!

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Totally amazing in every way. Worth the price. Staff was outstanding and eager to help with anything asked. One of the best places we have ever stayed!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are honored to be not only the best hotel in Southern California but one of the best places you've ever stayed. We are particularly delighted to hear that you felt we offered incredible value and that our team delivered five-star service. We hope to welcome you back soon.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Truly a magnificent hotel!

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is truly 5 star! Magnificent property. Huge standard room. Service impeccable. Will return many times!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the five-star rating. We look forward to your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Parker, USA

Luxury in Del Mar

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Expedia
Cons: It's enormous; it took a while to walk to our room
We had a great visit at this hotel. Everything was as one would expect from a 5 star hotel and more. Our room was very luxurious with private balcony. We didn't use the family pool, but the adults-only pool was very nice. The water was heated and it's the first time that I've heard music played underwater - what an interesting experience. The spa was also 5-star all the way. Afternoon tea is also a must - the pastry chef is obviously first class!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by Claire K., Hotel Management
Thank you for the five-star rating. We are delighted to hear that you had such a well-rounded stay, from our pools to our five-star spa. With just 249 rooms situated on 400 acres, we often hear that our boutique resort feels expansive, but we hope the service you experienced was warm and approachable.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Excellant but disappointing

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
The facilities were perfect. Food was very good. Staff were all friendly but some were from their heart and some were just following the text book. Greeting were all same, How is your stay? etc., but some were genuinely interested in our answers, some showed no empathy. Spa facilities was excellent but the staff were 'over' service and felt it was fake and too much. Things they repeatedly asked more than twice was not conducted at the end, so that just showed it was fake. It is difficult to find a person with heartfull service but for the price we pay, all the staff should have the similar standards. Some were outstandging and we emailed the GM, but no response after 2 days....
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I will be sure to share your feedback with the rest of the team. We strive for consistent five-star service and are disappointed to learn that we fell short in some cases during your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon to earn a fifth star from you.
1 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
I do want to share my different opinion based on my stay at this hotel. Overall, ground and floors are well maintained. Service is good when you spend money (restaurants, room service, and etc.). Onsite facilities live up to expectation for this level of luxury hotel. However, when I left my iPad charger behind and called for retrieval. I called back a couple hours after checkout and the service staff said nothing was found or turned in and will call me back again in 2 days. 3 days later and I didn't get any phone call. I then called back and a different staff member picked up the phone and said "we can't help with it, nothing was turned in". I then asked what if I left a $10k watch behind, what's the solution? She said "if we don't have it turned in, we can' help with it. This is our protocol". With that, I am immediately turned off. I am 100% sure the charger was on the wall when I left. Keep in mind, this is something that separates a good luxury hotel from a mediocre one. This is why you pay upwards of $600 for a standard room at Four Seasons or here because they all should provide you the best services. I only stay at luxury hotels when the place I go have them around. And I am a frequent traveler and have left things behind before, but I have gotten all of them back, no hassle there. I want to share my experience with all friends who will or want to stay at this hotel. Make sure you pack and double check all of your belongings before checkout.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback. Since we were unable to locate your lost charger, we purchased a new one and sent it to your address via FedEx on October 27 with our compliments. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.