Ratings based on 375 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Pennsylvania

Elegant downtown hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: It's location was perfect. The room was functional and the bathroom was beautiful.
Cons: There were no electrical outlets by the bed. I couldn't charge my phone and have it near me for a time check or alarm while charging over night.
Location: It was perfect. Rush Street and Michigan Avenue were on either side of the hotel. The John Hancock building was a block away.
The Penisula Hotel was located within walking distance of most local sights, shopping and resturants. The staff was friendly and extremely accommodating. The room was spotless and comfortable. The view from our room was amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michael from San Francisco

A truly amazing hotel!

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
When we arrived at the hotel at 1:00 p.m., after a trip in from the west coast,we were told that our room was not yet ready and wouldn't be for several hours. While this was understandable since check in time is at 3:00, the clerk must have seen the disappointment on my face as we were quite tired. After leaving our bags with the porter and making out of the hotel for lunch and a walk, the clerk stopped us to say she had located a room for us. We returned, were taken to the room which was quite nice, freshened up and left the hotel. An hour later, another clerk called us to apologetically tell us that because there was a problem with the room they had given us, they had to move us from that standard room and placed us in a suite. My belief is that it was always the clerk's intention to upgrade us to compensate for our initial inability to check in. This level of excellent, unspoken service continued throughout our stay. It's a gorgeous hotel with wonderful service. Can't wait to return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2015 by The Peninsula Chicago, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for posting your complimentary review. We are pleased to hear that the early check-in and room upgrade made your visit memorable. Also, we appreciate your kind remarks about our staff and their excellent service. I will be sure to share your note with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula when your travels bring you back to Chicago. Warm regards, Richard Sorensen Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by anthony from Hawthorn Woods, Il.

Perfect get away in the best location of the city.

Posted May 19, 2015 on Hotels
Weekend get away for my wife's birthday. Excellent location. Excellent Sunday brunch.Very,Very good.Would highly recommend to my friends!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2015 by The Peninsula Chicago, Hotel Management
Dear Anthony, Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago for your wife’s weekend Birthday celebration. We are happy to have been part of your special occasion and that you enjoyed your visit, our location and Sunday Brunch. We are grateful to have your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Warm regards, Richard Sorensen Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by carol from Austin

Perfect in every way

Posted May 15, 2015 on Hotels
Just what I remember-the excitement of the city is right out the front door but wonder tranquility the moment you enter your room
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2015 by The Peninsula Chicago, Hotel Management
Dear Carol, Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for sharing your wonderful note. We are truly honored to hear that we are “perfect in every way.” We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Chicago! Warm regards, Richard Sorensen Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by George from Barrington hills

stay

Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Hotels
Enjoyed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Robert from Michigan

Past stays were much better.

Posted Apr 25, 2015 on Hotels
We have had much better stays there. Service was really off and normally we stay there because they are so family attentive, but this time they barely cared we had a child with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2015 on Expedia
Great hotel nestled in great area for shopping and dining.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2015 by The Peninsula Chicago, Hotel Management
Dear Friend of The Peninsula, Thank you for visiting The Peninsula Chicago and for posting your kind remarks about the location of our property. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warm regards, Richard Sorensen Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Superb

Posted Apr 16, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Location, service and amenities.
Cons: Nothing
Wonderful staff and amenities. The room was a perfect place to relax. Food and drinks at the bar were very classy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Louise from New Jersey

Great Weekend in Chicagp

Posted Apr 14, 2015 on Hotels
Great Service! Beautiful Hotel & Location! Staff 1st rate!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

An Oasis on Michigan Ave.

Posted Apr 14, 2015 on Expedia
Classical Peninsula experience with superb service, excellent amenities and well above average-sized rooms; received nice room upgrade