Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

"Loved the courtyard with all the plants beautiful. The Hotel is old and run down, Valet parking was a joke waited an hour or so no one ever showed up ... " More

By a verified traveler on Fri 21 Feb 2020

Select your room to view prices

Suite, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Premium Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Deluxe Room, 2 Double Beds

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Suite, 2 Double Beds

Bed Count 2 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Deluxe Room, 1 Queen Bed

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Hotel Description

4-star boutique hotel near Collins Avenue Shopping Area

City center retreat

A stay at this South Beach hotel places you steps from Art Deco Welcome Center and a 5-minute walk from Collins Avenue Shopping Area. Ocean Drive and Miami Beach Boardwalk are also within half a mile (1 km).

Outdoor pool, bar/lounge

This hotel features an outdoor pool and a bar/lounge. WiFi in public areas is free. Valet parking, a garden, and a computer station are also offered.

Free WiFi, cable TV

In addition to TVs with cable channels, the 68 guestrooms offer free WiFi and room service. Other amenities include hair dryers, safes, and phones.

Essex House By Clevelander ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.9 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Essex House By Clevelander

Everyone (6) Couples (1) Family (8)
4 out of 5

Posted by on May 13, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 14, 2020 by Sales and Marketing Manager

We are glad you enjoyed your time at Essex House by Clevelander. Thank you for your wonderful rating, and we look forward to your next visit. Victoria Palacio, Sales and Marketing Manager

1 out of 5
Hotel is nothing like the pictures and when requested a refund, it was not provided. The rooms were dirty, old and run down. There was a roach in the bathtub. I ended up checking out immediately and going to another hotel. There are plenty of other accommodations worthy or your spend.

Posted by , from New York on Mar 2, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 3, 2020 by Sales and Marketing Manager

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry your room did not provide you the value you were hoping for. We also apologize for the cleanliness issue you experienced in your room and have shared your comments with our housekeeping team so they can be more diligent. Also, our pest control provider does service our hotel on a routine basis. However, we will address your comments with them to guarantee procedures are being followed to prevent any future issues. We value your feedback and hope you will give us another opportunity so we can regain your trust. Victoria Palacio, Sales and Marketing Manager

3 out of 5
Loved the courtyard with all the plants beautiful. The Hotel is old and run down, Valet parking was a joke waited an hour or so no one ever showed up so parked in ramp next door which was actually cheaper and easier to us. Overall ok hotel but needs some major upgrades. Most Hotels take your credit card for incidentals but this on charges you $100 a day and puts a hold for your entire stay which if you are on a budget you will be without out that cash until you checkout not cool.

Posted by on Feb 21, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 22, 2020 by Sales and Marketing Manager

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are sorry for not meeting your expectations with the overall condition of our property. Since we are in the Art Deco District, we are historically protected and therefore, are unable to make any adjustments to the building itself. As for our rooms, we are in the process of remodeling to enhance our guest experience. We also regret your disappointment with some of our additional charges. It was our pleasure hosting you, and we hope you will revisit to see our newly updated accommodations soon. Victoria Palacio, Sales and Marketing Manager

5 out of 5

Posted by on Nov 8, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 9, 2019 by Sales and Marketing Manager

It was a pleasure having you as our guest at Essex House by Clevelander. We strive daily to please our guests, and your feedback tells us we are meeting those goals. Thank you for taking the time to share your perfect rating, and we look forward to your return visit. Victoria Palacio, Sales and Marketing Manager

5 out of 5

Posted by on Oct 27, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 28, 2019 by Sales and Marketing Manager

Thank you for the perfect rating! We are thrilled to learn that from start to finish, your stay was nothing short of exceptional. It was a pleasure having you at Essex House by Clevelander, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Victoria Palacio, Sales and Marketing Manager

5 out of 5
Very cool Art Deco hotel in the heart of South Beach. ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING STAFF that honored every request. Great experience and a real bargain during the summer.

Posted by on Aug 17, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 18, 2019 by Sales and Marketing Manager

Thank you for choosing Essex House by Clevelander, a historic art deco hotel in South Beach. We are thrilled to read about your fantastic stay and how much you enjoyed our hospitality. We work hard to deliver an excellent experience for all of our guests, and we celebrate reviews such as yours. It was a pleasure having you, and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Miami. Victoria Palacio, Sales and Marketing Manager

5 out of 5
It was ok. The staff was very nice. They had breakfast but only orange juice, cranberry juice, danishes, fruit, ceral no meat. It was clean but its a old building. To keep the look of that area they cant remodel the buildings in that area. I'll give it a 5 out of 10

Posted by on Jun 8, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 9, 2019 by Sales and Marketing Manager

Thank you for choosing Essex House by Clevelander. We are happy to know you enjoyed the service provided by our staff. However, we are disheartened to read about the inconveniences you experienced and believe you will accept our sincerest apology for what transpired. We will address your concerns with the appropriate individuals and will use them to improve going forward. We hope you will revisit us so we can provide you with an outstanding experience. Victoria Palacio, Sales and Marketing Manager

4 out of 5
I really enjoyed staying at the Essex, the building is beautiful and well kept and the staff is wonderful. The hotel is in a great location and within walking distance to about anything you want to do or a short ride away. The rooms were well kept, but the only thing that I did not like was the fact that there is no microwave or mini fridge in the rooms. Other than that I would recommend my friends to stay at the Essex.

Posted by on May 14, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 15, 2019 by Sales and Marketing Manager

Thank you for the great review of the Essex House by Clevelander. We are glad to know we met most of your expectations and that you loved our wonderful location and excellent service. We value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Victoria Palacio, Sales and Marketing Manager

5 out of 5
Great location and great service. Outside the hotel was noisy outside which kept me up quite a bit.

Posted by on Mar 12, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 2, 2019 by MT

Dear Anonymous Thank you for staying at Essex House,Our location is at the Center of the Art Deco District and close to the beach, shopping and restaurants. We appreciate the wonderful review you took the time to write about us. We look forward to your next visit. Regards, Marcello Telles

2 out of 5
My wife and I have stayed at The Essex house the last two years, and were looking forward to this years trip again. The first few days were ok. The last two nights the accompanying room next to ours was being used by more than ten people, and the door was being knocked and slammed all night until 5am..... The last night we crashed early for an early flight home and the door slamming started and then loud music from the hallway where apparently a music video was being shot, (no lie...) they played the music over and over for take after take... This was most unsettling, and beyond unacceptable. We used to enjoy the Essex house, and always referred others, but we will never go back...

Posted by , from Boston on Feb 21, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 2, 2019 by MT

Dear JJ Thank you for choosing us for your Miami destination! We regret to hear you complaints about the noise coming from next door. Your feedback is very valuable to us, as it allows us to pinpoint the areas of improvement. Having that said, I am very sorry to hear that your stay fell below your standards. We hope you'll give us another chance during your next Miami vacation. Regards, Marcello Telles

About the Essex House By Clevelander

Location 1001 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Renovations + Closures

This property is closed from July 12 2020 to October 4 2020 (dates subject to change).

The following facilities or services will be unavailable from September 9 2020 to December 31 2020 (dates subject to change):

  • Dining venue(s)

Property Features

You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. A free manager's reception is offered on select days. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. An outdoor pool, multilingual staff, and a garden are also featured at the boutique Essex House By Clevelander. For a fee, parking is available. This 4-star Miami Beach hotel is smoke free.

  • 68 guestrooms or units
  • 4 levels
  • Built in 1938
  • Bar or lounge
  • Manager's reception (free)
  • Towels for the beach
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Dry cleaning
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Concierge
  • Garden
  • Computer for guest use
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Television in lobby
  • ATM
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Outdoor pool
  • Free WiFi

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Valet parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: Miami Intl. Airport (MIA) (17.6 km / 11 mi)
  • Parking: Valet parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Essex House By Clevelander offers 68 accommodations with safes and designer toiletries. Televisions come with cable channels. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations and hair dryers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • In-room dining
  • Television
  • Cable channels
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Designer toiletries
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

The hotel hosts a free manager's reception on select days.

Room service is available.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include an outdoor pool.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Golfing nearby
  • Snorkeling nearby
  • Parasailing nearby
  • Motor boating nearby
  • Surfing/boogie boarding nearby
  • Windsurfing nearby
  • Bicycle rentals nearby
  • Jet skiing nearby
  • Boat tours nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby
  • Kayaking nearby
  • Swimming nearby
  • Sailing nearby
  • Scuba diving nearby
  • Scooter/moped rentals nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them in the special requests field on the booking page after selecting your room.

  • Accessible bathroom

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 4:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 4:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 21

Special check-in instructions:

This property doesn't offer after-hours check-in. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

This property doesn't offer after-hours check-in. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property; the policies listed are provided by the property

Additional resort fees will be applied for any third and fourth guests.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place.Disinfectant is used to clean the property.Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; guests are provided with hand sanitizer.Each guestroom is kept vacant for a minimum of 24 hours between bookings.

  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Protective clothing is not available to guests
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually-wrapped food options are not available
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • gap period enforced between guest stays 24 hours

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: USD 100 per night
  • Resort fee: USD 22.80 per accommodation, per night

The resort fee includes:

  • Pool access
  • Beach towels
  • Partner property pool access
  • Internet access
  • Phone calls
  • In-room safe
  • Additional inclusions

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Valet parking fee: USD 46.01 per day (in/out privileges)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Essex Hotel
  • Essex House Clevelander Hotel Miami Beach
  • Essex House Clevelander Hotel
  • Essex House Hotel Miami Beach
  • Essex House Miami Beach
  • Hotel Essex
  • Essex House Clevelander Miami Beach
  • Essex House Clevelander
  • Essex House By Clevelander Hotel
  • Essex House By Clevelander Miami Beach
  • Essex House By Clevelander Hotel Miami Beach

You should know

  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing http://www.travelocity.com/Miami-Hotels-Essex-House-By-Clevelander.h3792-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Miami-Hotels-Essex-House-By-Clevelander.h3792-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.travelocity.com/Miami-Hotels-Essex-House-By-Clevelander.h3792-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.