4.1 out of 5

"Stayed in a petite king room, which was big enough for two people without feeling cramped. Bed was very comfortable. Our room did not have a window, y ... " More

By a verified traveler on Sat 21 Oct 2017

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

French Market Inn puts you in the heart of New Orleans, within just a 10-minute stroll of popular attractions like Jackson Square and French Market. Highlights at this historic hotel include an outdoor swimming pool and in-room free WiFi.

Cable TV, coffee/tea makers, and free newspapers are featured in all 120 rooms. Safes, hair dryers, and phones are also available.

This hotel offers free WiFi in public areas, concierge services, and a 24-hour front desk. Added amenities include a coffee shop/café, free newspapers in the lobby, and a porter/bellhop. There's also the convenience of valet parking.

Within a 30-minute walk of this 3-star French Quarter hotel, attractions include Mercedes-Benz Superdome and National World War II Museum.

Standard Room, 1 King or 1 Queen Bed (Interior Room, No Windows)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$103 per night

Deluxe Room, 1 King or 1 Queen Bed (Courtyard or City View)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Deluxe Room, 2 Queen Beds (Courtyard or City View)

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Double Room, 2 Queen Beds (Interior Room, No Windows)

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

French Market Inn ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.1 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0
2 out of 5

Great location and staff, but not very clean.

Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Plenty to do nearby. Adjoining coffee shop was great.
The staff and location were great. The cleanliness not so great. Previous occupants hair and thick layer of dust on edge of tub. Also, previous occupants coffee still in pot. No stopper in tub. I asked for one twice but was told two days later that they didn't have any. Very limited channels on TV, local channels only. No premium channels or pay per view available. If maid service asks you if you need any more towels or anything else for your room, and you say no, we have plenty, that means to them that they don't have to clean your room that day. They asked for a credit card for incidentals, but there was absolutely nothing to buy! No phone, no mini bar.... nothing. Child size wading pool without light and vending machines in Courtyard only take bills or cards. I ended up with a lot of quarters..

Posted by , from Seattle on Feb 22, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Gorgeous Place!

Stayed in a petite king room, which was big enough for two people without feeling cramped. Bed was very comfortable. Our room did not have a window, yet did not feel too small - actually made it easier to sleep during the day when we had been up very late and jet-lagged. Exposed brick all along one whole wall of the room. Bathroom is lovely with a large shower, good water pressure, and nice hot water. We did have an issue one day when our toilet would not flush, but it was fixed immediately, thanks to the staff! Being that the building is old, with old plumbing, it comes with the territory. The hotel’s courtyard is beautiful! A nice quiet oasis away from the business of the quarter! Relaxing by the mini pool in the sun was wonderful! Location is perfect - inside the Quarter and a short walk to anything. Street car station is essentially juat across the road. A few blocks from the market. And the hotel staff were all extremely nice and helpful! Really enjoyed our stay and decided we will stay here on our next trip to New Orleans!!! Wish we had known about it the first time we came!

Posted by , from New York on Oct 21, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 23, 2017 by Kyla

Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to the French Quarter soon!

2 out of 5

Good location but facilities not updated

This hotel is very well located but the room's carpet and shower curtain were super dirty. The room was very small and bed/pillows very unconfortable. I even could live with that until our last night when a huge cocroach almost climbed the bed. That was the straw that broke the glass. If you're not as picky as I am maybe it is a good choice to stay in the French quarter for a reasonable price.

Posted by , from Miami, FL on Jul 4, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 10, 2017 by Kyla

Thank you for choosing our historic hotel for your New Orleans visit. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient French Quarter location. Cleanliness and the comfort of our guests are our top priorities and our guests usually give us high marks for our accommodations. The conditions you described are certainly not typical of our hotel. Please accept our apologies for any difficulty you may have experienced and know that all of your comments have been shared with our management team.

4 out of 5

Funky French Market Inn

Pros: The hotel is quaint and charming but the courtyard was the best.
Cons: Parking, though not sure how.
Location: French Market Inn is across the street from the Mississippi river which means it's "riverside" of the French Quarter. ( Don't ask locals directions )
The French Market Inn is a charming albeit funky place to stay. Small hallways, several turns connecting to quaint rooms which are not large but enough to be comfortable. The exposed brick walls and ceiling beams invoke a time gone by. The first room we were given had an "electrical problem" (or was it ? check out the picture I've posted) after I turned on the lamp. We were promptly given another room without any challenges. The staff was very helpful and pleasant in helping us move. Something we noticed in New Orleans is that almost nothing is level, including the floors in either room we were in. It was more humorous than annoying, just be sure to put your hand on the wall when you get out of bed. The courtyard was wonderful ! A great place to have coffee and beignets in the morning or a nightcap. Very peaceful and relaxing, we hung out there daily. The hotel is not real obvious when passing by on the street so watch closely if driving. Oh, by the way, drivers are crazy ! I believe this hotel would be more enjoyable for adults, not that anything is wrong for kids, just not a lot to do. The pool is small.

Posted by , from Pueblo West, Co. on Jun 12, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 15, 2017 by Kyla

Hi Dewey, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take pride in our historic hotel and do our best to place guests in rooms that surpass their expectations. Please know that your comments have been shared with our management team. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope for an opportunity to welcome you back soon!

5 out of 5


Pros: Atmosphere, location, staff
Cons: Our toilet ran quite a bit off & on. Seemed like as soon as we decided to call staff, it would stop, then it would start back up for a bit, then stop
Location: everything is within walking distance. Safe area. GREAT location.
We absolutely loved the hotel. Nearly all of the staff were simply amazing. There were 2 different bellhops who were totally in different about us as we came and went, but Lon (?) was simply fantastic, friendly, welcoming, and helpful. The front desk staff was great, especially Nancy who was so sweet! We LOVED the atmosphere and the convenience of the location. We opted for a petite room, which was exactly that, petite. Considering how much we were on the go, it completely fit our needs.

Posted by , from WI on May 30, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 2, 2017 by Kyla B.

Hi Jackie, thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your kind comments about our historic hotel's atmosphere, location, and especially our staff service. Please accept our apology for the difficulties you experienced and know that your comments have been shared with management. We hope to welcome you back—soon!

5 out of 5

Great location

Not in the heart of the French Quarter but still a great location. The staff was great.

Posted by on Apr 11, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 13, 2017 by Kyla B.

Thank you for choosing our historic New Orleans hotel located in the center of the French Quarter on Decatur Street near St. Louis Street. Your kind comments about our staff is appreciated.

5 out of 5


Perfect location for our needs. Easy to get on the riverfront trolly and getting most spots. Nice,clean,and friendly. Rooms were comfortable and well kept. Courtyard is very nice and quiet.

Posted by on Feb 19, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 13, 2017 by Kyla B.

Awesome! So glad you enjoyed your stay!

2 out of 5

Last time

Pros: Location
Cons: Cleaning service, reservation request honored
Location: Good location
I reserved a deluxe room but at check in was given a very small upstairs room with light showing beneath the door, no room for suitcases to open. I complained and was moved to a downstairs room on the courtyard. We stayed three nights, no cleaning at all, even after approaching the maid in person to request.

Posted by on Dec 25, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 14, 2017 by Kyla B.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your feedback. We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with some aspects of your hotel experience and regret that you did not encounter the level of hospitality we usually provide. Please know that all of your comments have been shared with management. Again, thank you and we hope you enjoyed your time in New Orleans.

5 out of 5

It Doesn't Get Much Better!!

Pros: Everything about this hotel was great.
Cons: I saw nothing that needed to be improved.
Location: You are a short walk from everything in the French Quarter. For Cajun cuisine, I'd recommend Chartres House just a few blocks away.
Located on the edge of the French Quarter, this hotel is just a short walk to many New Orleans staples: Jackson Square, Cafe Du Monde, and shopping galore. The hotel staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. The rooms are small like most hotel rooms that you will find in 200 year old French Quarter buildings but they are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. There is also a salt water pool located in the hotel courtyard.

Posted by , from Austin, TX on Aug 25, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 31, 2016 by Elise

Hi John, reviews like yours are what we strive for! Thank you for sharing feedback about your experience, we're glad you had a great time staying at our hotel in the French Quarter.

5 out of 5

loved the staff and hotel

We had a fabulous stay! The staff was amazing! So friendly and accomodating! Our room was spacious and clean "very European", We would definitely stay there again.

Posted by on Aug 5, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

by Elise

We're happy to hear you had a fabulous stay at our hotel! We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Property Features

There's a coffee shop/café on site. WiFi is free in public spaces. An outdoor pool, tour/ticket assistance, and concierge services are also featured at the historic French Market Inn. Parking is available for a fee. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 3-star New Orleans hotel.

  • 120 guestrooms or units
  • 4 levels
  • Built in 1832
  • Coffee shop
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Property
  • Free WiFi
  • Free cribs/infant beds


Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi


Valet parking (surcharge)


  • Airport: New Orleans, LA (MSY-Louis Armstrong New Orleans Intl.) (25 km / 15.5 mi)
  • Train station: New Orleans Union Passenger Terminal (2.2 km / 1.4 mi)
  • Parking: Valet parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

French Market Inn offers 120 air-conditioned accommodations with safes and complimentary newspapers. Televisions come with premium cable channels. Bathrooms include showers, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. This New Orleans hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Additionally, rooms include coffee/tea makers and irons/ironing boards. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower
  • Cribs (free)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Newspapers (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom

Nearby Activities

Guests can cool off at the onsite lounge pool.

The recreational activities listed below are available near the hotel; fees apply.

  • Golfing nearby
  • Boat tours nearby
  • Kayaking nearby
  • Sailing nearby

Hotel Policies


  • Check-in time starts at 4 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 5:30 AM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18


  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 2 children 12 years old and younger stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!


  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome


Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.

  • Only service animals are allowed
  • No rollaway/extra beds available


Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: USD 50 per stay

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Valet parking fee: USD 34.00 per night (in/out privileges)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • French Inn
  • French Market Inn
  • Inn French
  • Market French
  • French Market Hotel New Orleans
  • Historic French Market Hotel
  • Historic French Market Inn
  • Hotel Historic French Market
  • French Market Inn New Orleans
  • French Market New Orleans

You should know

  • Up to 2 children 12 years old and younger stay free in the same room as the parent or guardian when using existing bedding.