Ratings based on 6,424 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Nice location

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Nice location hotel. Too expensive, but nice hotel. William reccomended
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Great Location / Unclean Rooms

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: The location was perfect.
Cons: Clean better and correctly sized sheets.
When checking in the Front Desk Clerk made a point to let us know since we booked through Travelocity, we would not have access to better rooms. We were also charged a $27 "facilities" charge per day. On the surface, the room appeared clean, however it was not. I cleaned that bathroom, myself, prior to using the facility. The fitted sheet on the king size bed was much too small. It came off several times during the night while sleeping. The hotel lobby has been remodeled and is beautiful. The rest of the hotel including rooms are outdated and worn.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Falls Church, VA

Location is worth the time lost on inept service

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: Everything - from upgrades to the hotel - dated and worn to an HVAC system that serves all guests to trained staff.
I have stayed at this hotel for business trips in the past and for quick overnight's the location can be ideal. However, after a vacation weekend of theater I will never return to this hotel. Aside from all the ridiculous fees (which I knew about going into our stay) It took nearly 45 minutes to check in not because of merely the overwhelming line of people but because at peak check in there were 2 people at the desk. After finally getting checked in, we went to our room to freshen up quickly for dinner only to discover that there was no air conditioning in the room we were give -- in JULY -- in NYC. Another 30 minutes to get our room switched only to return later that evening to a new room and find it at 80 degrees. Upon calling down to the desk, there was nothing anyone could do - not maintenance and not even a fan. We were moved the next day again. This time finally receiving a room with operating AC. Though it never got below 75 degrees because the building is overtaxed and experiences brownouts. Prior to this trip I had only stayed during the winter and had not realized this problem. The hotel has a feeble 3 elevators for 22 floors and nearly full square block hotel. So wait times for elevators could be long. The staff's complete disregard as though simply handing me a breakfast coupon for crappy coffee and a stale muffin off sets not having air conditioning in the middle of the summer. And to top it all off, I have just discovered I was double billed. NEVER AGAIN
4 out of 5
by A traveler from San Antonio, TX

Great location and staff

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: The location and the friendly staff
Cons: The rooms are being renovated so no additional suggestions
Location: Close to Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center etc. Can't beat the location if you want to be in the heart of Manhattan.
You can't beat the location of this hotel if you want to be in the heart of Manhattan. It's close to Times Square, Central Park and many other attractions. The hotel is being renovated and I recommend reserving a renovated room or a room on the Executive floors (18+). We had an unrenovated room at first and it was a bit run down. We requested a renovated room but none were available. We were able to upgrade to a room on the Executive floor and it was very nice. We would definitely stay here again but only in a renovated or Executive room. The staff was very nice.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Cons: Remove the $25 facility fee.
Other than location this hotel needs to upgrade. The floors remind me of an old apartment building in queens.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Lobby looks great! Rooms not so much.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: The lobby was nice ... the wait to check-in not too bad.
Cons: The 9th floor seemed like it could use freshening up. Don't know if same problem on other floors. But it was severely degraded compared to the lobby
Location: Best thing about this place is the location ... so it has that going for it.
When entering the Manhattan Hotel, wow, the lobby area looks great! But when we stepped off onto the 9th Floor, the wall paper looked dingy and the rug seemed like it was pretty worn and dirty. The room was very spacious. But the same quality in bedroom. It was comfortable and served its purpose, but the run down condition of the 9th floor area at least, seemed to beg to question how clean it really was. There were cracks in the ceiling. While the carpet seemed to be clean, it was well worn. And just a note to people using online sites to make reservations ... sure we got a cheaper rate, but they charge the $25 facility fee (even though it was not used) when you make your reservation online ... a $219 a night room quickly added up to $282 with taxes and fees (and taxes on the fees). So you don't get the discount you were expecting.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from NYC

Nice place to stay

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Updating
Location: As above
Staff most helpful and courteous. Old hotel but centrally located in the theater district, NBC studio and plaza, Radio City Music hall, subway system and Duke's Cafe where I ate frequently. My granddaughter and daughter enjoyed their visit in NYC and I thank the Manhatten Times Square staff.
1 out of 5
by Ivan

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel double charged the daylies fees, once thru hotels.com and one at check out.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Customer Service, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, Ivan. We're sorry to hear of the error that occurred on your billing at the time of check out. Our staff works hard to ensure that all charges that are made are correct and we apologize for this inconvenience. We're confident that our staff was able to resolve this issue in a timely and professional manner and we can assure you that we will continue to take these matters seriously. We hope you'll give us another opportunity to host you again in the future. We'd love to share a more positive experience with you when you return to New York. Have a great day. Yours in Hospitality, Brendan Moraes - General Manager
1 out of 5
by A traveler from FLORIDA

Good location but will never go back

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: location
Cons: Better training to their personnel, add more staff, specially in the Reception area. Clear policy to their employees: BE HONEST, specially with client
Location: couple of blocks from the center of Time Square, walking distance to busses, subways, restaurants.
Unfriendly personnel, including the manager. They started doing construction work early in the morning, right on top of my room, went to the front desk, spoke to the manager, she came with me to the room; guess what happened ... by the time we got back to the room the stop the work, of course they denied there was construction work going on. You can easily see they don't have enough personnel for the size of the hotel. Elevators were crowded. The elevator panel shows six elevator but we can only visually see 4 and we can only use 3.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2016 by Customer Service, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your feedback. We're displeased to hear you're dissatisfied with the service you received during your stay, as providing our guests with exceptional service is something we take seriously. Please know this will be addressed with the appropriate members of our team so we may improve for the future. We hope you'll give us another opportunity to provide you with the quality experience we pride ourselves in. Thank you again or taking the time to share your feedback. Have a great day. Yours in Hospitality, Brendan Moraes-General Manager
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Nice hotel close in Times Square

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Expedia
It was a nice hotel for the price. It was in walking distance to most of the places we wanted to go