Ratings based on 41 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from CT

Great rooftop party

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: Rooftop, scenery, room was nice with a cool view of the MetOpera.
Location: MetOpera, Central Park
The rooftop area was nice; be forewarned that the hotel caters to more of a younger crowd; bachelorette parties went on all day up there. So not exactly a "family friendly" space where you would want to bring small children. Since I was in NY for a bach party, I had a lot of fun, and the bar/lounge area at night was fun too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Boqueron, Puerto Rico

Great location

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, elegance.
Cons: Free newspapers, (very important to see what is happening in terms of movies, activities, museums, tours, TV programs, restaurants, international news
Location: Great restaurants, Central Park near by, shopping at Trump Towers, Lincoln Center, Broadway Shows, movies, Hudson River, museums & beautiful churches
Nice hotel, and helpful staff. Rooms very small but nicely decorated. Loved the location (Lincoln Center) & public transportation. Stayed at the Carlyle Hotel 2 yrs. ago and for the same price got a room twice as large with free newspaper of my choice, slippers and a robe. Found the goodies in the small icebox so stuffed that I couldn't put any of my things in. The bed at the Carlyle was the best ever in the 22 countries I've been to. Here it was average. Yes I will stay here again because of location next to Lincoln Center cause I love the ABT Ballet Company. Great restaurants near by. Great shopping at Trump Towers at Columbus Circle. Problem, difficult for friends to come with a car and find parking. I got a metro pass 4 a wk. & meet them elsewhere. I grew up in NYC but have been away for 35 yrs. I was very nice and friendly and people were very nice to me back. I just had the greatest experience at restaurants, shops, tours, and even at a Broadway show when I got a panic attack. I asked an usher if I could seat elsewhere and she was very helpful. I was treated like a prince everywhere I went and I treated everyone with grace and dignity for the job they were doing. I was very pleased with the flights and service that I got through Travelocity and recommend it highly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from PA

great location

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: proximity to Central Park
Cons: A/C
We stayed at this hotel because of it's proximity to Central Park. There are some great restaurants right around the area, with a Starbucks right next to Empire Hotel. The room isn't huge (which was fine since we didn't spend much time in the room). We were able to check in early--perfect time to freshen up after traveling and before heading out for the day. The room was clean but the A/C did not get very cool. The NYC nighttime noise was clear but with a white noise app we slept fine. If you want to stay somewhere quiet, we found The Courtyard Marriott on 30th St near Madison Square Garden to be the best sleep we've had in NYC, but you won't be within walking distance of Central Park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from boston

Perfect manhattan hotel near park

Posted Mar 24, 2015
This is a great hotel at Lincoln center within walking distance of park, great shopping , great restaurants . Starbucks on corner Reasonable size rooms , cool bar (2)! Really helpful concierge Chris. Perfect for Fordham parents ram van stops minutes away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great location small room.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Location was great. Close to time square and the Lincoln tunnel.
Cons: The rooms need to be remodel and improved. For such a small room every detail of the room needed to be nice.
The Location of the Hotel was great. I was able to get to many of the locations from time square to the ABC television studios in 10 minutes or less. The room service food was fantastic. The size of the room was very small and the condition of room as far as bathroom tile was and walls was bad. Also the bath room was extremely small. Next time I g\back to NYC I will try another Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Snubu from New York, NY

Great location!

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Great location! Just a block from Central Park and convenient to the subway. Great service!! Wonderful experience for my first trip. I plan on revisiting this summer and will plan to stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by 15Travel15 from Lancaster County, PA

Great hotel, great location

Posted Jul 19, 2013
Trendy hotel on upper west side in midtown.    Clean and nicely decorated but small rooms.....but, this is NYC!  Wish there were more quick restaurants nearby.  We're looking for ar a quick lite late night meal but had to settle for appetizers in the bar which were just 'okay'.  Overall...would recommend this hotel and I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by HookedOnEmpire from New York

Repeat customer on board!

Posted Feb 13, 2013
Pros: supreme bar lobby server (frank), friendly bellhop service staff, bed comfort, view of lincoln center, room size, taxi availability, fun rooftop bar with great view, felt safe
Cons: No free Internet, absolutely nothing complimentary, elevator service a bit slow
Love everything about this hotel..just about (would prefer to have a free bottle of water in my room upon arrival rather than the $7 small FIJI water bottles and would be nice to have a complimentary cup of coffee in the morning for the price of the room...as well as at least one free night of parking if staying more than one night...but, alas!) We stayed here when working across at Lincoln Center for the week and so glad it was incredibly convenient! What stood out was not only the gorgeous view of Lincoln Center from our generously sized room, and the view from the rooftop, of course...what really stood out was the excellent care we found from the bar staff in the lobby bar, as well as the ultra sweet bellhops who brought our luggage to and from our room/car, etc.. We didn't get the name of the gentlemen who helped us with the bags/car, but one person, in particular, really stood out to us. This is a gentleman named Frank (we know because he greeted us in a professional, charming and attentive way with his name first.) Kind of blew us away with how incredibly on-point he was with the service, how attentive he was, never unprofessional (he's a very attractive server and we were two women, so it was refreshing not to be hit on when being served) and his service, in particular, kept us coming back each night of our stay to the lobby bar, rather than foray into other places in the city. Yes - that's how good he was! In fact, one of the nights we stayed, he wasn't working, and we were disappointed...truly stood out in his service and makes the hotel look REALLY good. If only other hotels would have that guy. He should be a consultant on the correct way of doing things. We look forward to coming back again..and again...and hope the hotel doesn't have a high turn-over rate on the positions of the phenomenal men who helped us while we were there. Thanks, Empire!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by VIAJEROINCANSABLE19 from Caracas, Venezuela

I LOVE THIS HOTEL

Posted Feb 2, 2013
THANKS TO ALL THE STAFF,MY FIRST VISIT TO N.Y,AND I LOVE THIS HOTEL,LOCATED IN THE MIDDLE OF EVERYTHING,TRANSPORTATION SO EASY..SPECIAL THANKS TO A BOY IN THE FRONT DOOR,NAME DANIEL,VERY EDUCATED,HELPFUL,THAT'S AMAZING HOW A PERSON WITH THAT KNOWLEDGE IS SO PROUD OF HIS JOB,LOVE THIS HOTEL EVERYBODY,CLEAN,I RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL 100%,I'M A TRAVELING PERSON,AND I KNOW A LOTS OF HOTELS AROUND THE WORLD,FOR THE PRICE IS MUCH BETTER.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by alteregos123 from Toronto, ON, Canada

Great location

Posted Jan 24, 2013
Pros: Close restaurants, Quiet
Cons: No free Internet
The hotel was fancy except that the room had a funny smell. It didn't smell fresh when we went in and the windows were stuck so we couldn't open it to freshen the air. We turned on the fan to get rid of the smell. It was also false advertisement when it said free internet. Free internet was only available in the lobby. There was additional charge in the hotel rooms. This made it a bit inconvenient for planning, so keep this in mind. We took many trips down to the lobby to use the free internet.