Ratings based on 63 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Staff was nice but nothing worked

Posted Dec 15, 2016
No hot water all day, broken heater and bartender was rude
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2016 by Daria Odintsova, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the service disruption we had due to NYC department of building emergency work. Also I am sorry to hear you the situation at the bar - I will bring it up to the upper management (it would be great if you could remember the name of the person who served you). Please let me invite you back to the Empire and leave you with a better impression this time. Warm regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: The staff was wonderful especially the doormen and the conceierge. Location is awesome, beautiful part of the city.
Cons: Fix the bathroom! Add a shower door and a ceiling fan. Lower the cost of the treats in the room and give free coffee & internet like other hotels
Location: Upper west side, across the street from the Lincoln center and within walking distance to time square. Close to Central Park as well.
Great location, awesome staff but room is extremely small and bathroom is not very user friendly. No shower door and very cramped. paint peeling in the bath as well. Very expensive for type of room offered and they charge for everything including coffee and internet. The charge for internet is per device which is really ridiculous! The rooftop bar advertised was not open and the weather was decent. the fridge is stocked but VERY expensive. Bottle of wine on the desk was $38 for the small bottle and $80 for the regular size. Of course I didn't purchase anything! On the plus side, there was a Starbucks directly below and a drug store that sold water. Drinks at the bar were $16 a piece!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by General Manager Empire Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the review and feedback of the hotel, especially recognizing the staff for service, however very disappointed that we didn't meet your expectation with some of the amenities in the room. Our guest feedback are important as we continue to make operational service improvements... Be Well, General Manager Empire Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Pleasing dispositions

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Connience
Cons: No paper cups even plastic cups would be better. Did you ever wake up for a drink of water in a soggy paper cup?
Location: What more could one want? Across the street from the Met Opera and NYCB. Great restaurants in the area and access to Central Park is nearby.
I was greeted on my arrival with friendly and informative staff. Someone was always there to help an answer questions. My only complaints are being blasted by the contraption wand of the showers and even when I asked to have a glass instead of a paper cup never got one. Other than that I enjoyed my stay and would certainly stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by General Manager Empire Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for the recent review and the kind warm words with regards to the staff friendliness. We continue to work on the ambience of our rooms to create a more warm and cozy comfortable rooms. We look forward to your future stays and creating lasting memorable experiences. Be well General Manager Empire Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Great location especially for the Met .Friendly and helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Empire Hotel. It is truly rewarding to hear that our staff has made a favor impression and a memorable experience. Cheers, General Manager- Empire Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Centrally located

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: easy check in
Cons: rooftop accommodation
Location: central park, time square, rockerfeller center.
Staff was helpful and courteous. Elevators broke down with guest inside. Rooftop pool extremely small, deck also small. Overall good experience centrally located to most tourist locations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Empire General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review and your insight for the guest lens...your feedback enables us to grown stronger and provide enhanced guest experience. I hope to see you back at the Empire in the near future. Our Rooftop Bar is re-opening November 1. Sincerely, General Manager Empire Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Close to a lot of great attractions....

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Location: n/a
Hi: I just finished 5 nights at Empire Hotel which was a terrific stay. It was great for me on 4 levels. Level 1 close to the Subway which line 1 red. The subway was a block away from the hotel. However, the hotel should have a set of instructions for its agents to inform people how to get to JFK and come from JFK because you will have to jump a couple of trains to get here. Same goes for Laguardia. Level 2 it was close to a lot of attractions Lincoln Center, Columbus Circle which has many subway connections, Central Park, Movie theatre, shopping, food, etc. On a 3rd level I was doing the Panasonic Tri in the city where it was convenient to where the start is for the race you only need to hop on the subway for 1 stop uptown where then you walk 2 blocks. Plus there is a bike shop that has bikes for rent/repairs a block away from where you put your bikes for holding for the race. On the fourth level, I had a kids so the hotel was kid friendly in that the restaurant was gracious with kids menus, swimming pool, central park playground with watering hole for kids to get wet on hot summer days.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from chicago, il

Disgusting hotel in need of repair

Posted Jul 25, 2016
This hotel was old and run down. Switched rooms twice before moving to a new hotel. Chose not to stay after noting black mold in bathroom and around window and bugs behind the pealing wall paper. Staff was polite, but facilities were not good. Not to mention the second hotel was less cost and much nicer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Fort Worth, Texas

Great until mishap last day

Posted May 1, 2016
We had a great experience until the last day. We were waiting to book an airport shuttle and the group in front of us had already taken 15 minutes and our time was limited so we asked the front desk attendant our options. She said we could leave to site see and call in to book the shuttle no problem. We left and went to Rockefeller Plaza and called on maybe 15 minutes after we left. The concierge said he absolutely can't book a shuttle over the phone and we had to come back. I understand the policy, however the front desk said it was ok to leave and call in. No one offered anything to rectify the situation, we just got a hasty apology and were told the girl was new and now the shuttle was booked up. Overall, my hotel experience was good but the shuttle debacle ruined our last few hours in the city as we had to spend it traveling back and forth to the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Florida

Lost Empire

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: Proximity to Lincoln Center. The only reason to ever stay there again.
Cons: Put a glass door on the shower.
Location: Excellent
No value for the price. Very small room. No door on shower, consequently every time you shower, you need extra towels to mop up the flooded floor. Amenity prices are beyond exorbitant A bottle of water that you could buy next door at Duane Read, for $2, was $8 in the room. I can buy a half gallon of scotch, for the price of two pony bottles. Ridiculous. .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from SAN FRANCISCO

Stay at Empire Hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Pros: Se above.
Cons: See above.
Location: See above
The positive factors are location, comfort, cleanliness, bedding, temperature control, bathroom facilities and pleasant environment. The only drawback was the fragmented access to WiFi. The location near the Lincoln Center, neighborhood restaurants, Columbus Circle and 59th Street subway station are ideal for my stays in NYC.