Ratings based on 4,961 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great location!

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: Location and friendly staff
Cons: The half shower door in the bathroom has to go. Free in room coffee and wifi would bring it in line with what other hotels typically offer.
Location: Central Park, Lincoln Center, Columbus Circle, subway lines
I came for the Thanksgiving day parade and this was perfect, very close to the route! It is right across from Lincoln Center, close to Central Park, Columbus Circle and as a solo traveler, I felt safe in the area. I happened to get an incredibly reasonable price through a website and although the room was typically NYC tiny, for parade time and compared to other hotels, it really couldnt be beat! I will concur with other reviewers that the half door shower is totally stupid, as is charging for in room coffee and only having free wifi in the lobby. The room was clean and bed was comfy. I did have a snafu with booking my airport shuttle through their concierge services website, paid ahead and then was left hanging at Newark at 2:30 am. Thankfully Empire did get me a refund, but since its a third party concierge service, I wouldnt trust it or use it again. I also had a $7 charged to my credit card the day after I checked out. Apparently it was for use of a band aid in first aid kit....which I did not know was in the room and did not use, clearly charged to the wrong room. They immediately credited it back to me, but I would check your bill/credit card carefully! Overall, I found the staff and especially the doormen, friendly and helpful with directions and suggestions. I will definitely stay here again, as long as I can get another good internet deal!
3 out of 5
by A traveler

My first NY Hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: Staff were nice and pleasant.
Cons: Condition of the room,. try to keep it together.
Location: NY is a very lively city.
check in around 1am. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Enter the room, the temperature was 80F and extremely hot. The heater control panel was broken and not responding. The ceiling is falling apart a bit, as some of the paint the size of a 13' laptop had already fallen off. Bathroom shower was missing one of the shower door piece, so when you shower all the water spill over and flooded the floor. Just consider the price I paid. I wasn't expecting a palace to stay in but at least not one that is falling apart either. Or may be it's just NY standard? I honestly have no reference as this be my first NY hotel stay. So do take it lightly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Knoxville, TN

Great Day in NYC

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Pros: The hotel has a nice stylish décor in the lobby and rooms. The service was very good from the staff.
Cons: The room we had was kind of small for 4 people but it was still a nice space.
Location: Kennedy Center and CENTRAL PARK - this is why I chose it initially because of the location, the 4 star rating, and the price.
My cousin and I brought our 9 year old daughters to NYC for a quick trip before Thanksgiving to see some sights like the Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island, Central Park, and Rockefeller Center.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Dallas, TX

great location at Lincoln Center

Posted Nov 20, 2015
Pros: Excellent location, has an overall design that isn't sterile; "has character"
Cons: Elevators are hideous, carpets and wallpapers showing wear, and THERE IS NO FREE WIFI. I used an actual internet cafe for the first time in 12 yrs.
Location: One crosswalk from Lincoln Center, 3-4 excellent restaurants same distance, and Central Park/Columbus Circle are within 3 blocks. Great for operas!
This was my second 5-day stay at the Empire (previous visit in 2013): the hotel could do with some basic maintenance (elevators ugly, wallpaper and carpets showing wear) but is still very comfortable. Some will hate the extra-extra-firm mattresses, but I loved these as well as the feather pillows and duvet. Rooms have window units and tiny bathrooms, but the water is hot and the decor a pleasing warm-toned design. I was very comfortable. Staff is average: no one seems to recognize or greet you even over several days (is this just New York City?) but housekeeping was excellent (I left tips).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Vancouver, BC

Great location and getting the best out of an olde

Posted Nov 15, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Great service. The hotel bar and restaurant are pleasant and reasonably priced for the area.
Cons: At these prices, in-room morning coffee and WiFi should be included.
Location: Lincoln Center is right across the street. Pleanty of great restaurants and shops within walking distance.
Location across the Lincoln Center is great and convenient. The room was quite small but renovated and perfectly clean with a comfortable bed. Unfortunately, it is a very noisy location at night. You'll need earplugs to sleep. Also accept that this is NYC and prices reflect the location. You may feel nickled and dimed (i.e. charged $3 for an in-room Keurig coffee and expensive WiFi)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Oriane

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
Le prix de l'hotel est assez cher pour la qualité des lieux. De plus, ils organisent très régulièrement des fêtes avec des centaines de personnes au dernier étage de l'hotel. Il nous fut donc impossible de fermer l'oeil avant 3 heures du matin tant c'était bruyant. Heureusement, le manager de l'hotel a accepté de nous changer de chambre le lendemain et de nous offrir un petit déjeuner pour compenser cette nuit largement ecourtée.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Anne

Lincoln Center "good enough" hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
Quick stay at Empire. Rooms are decorated nicely Beds are very comfortable. Room faced a wall but I guess you get what you pay for - I booked the cheapest room. Odd smell from the shower was off putting. Have to pay for wifi and $3 for coffee from the in-room Keurig. Bring your own pods.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by steven from san francisco ca

room.

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
I checked in at 10.00pm Friday nite. They gave me a room on 2nd floor facing an airwell. at the bottom of the airwell was an air conditioner compressor. The noise intolerable. I changed room next day a little bigger but had an adjoining door to next room. could hear everything thru the door. It was too much bother to change room but they should not assign these rooms as single rooms . great location bathrooms are tiny
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Walid

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels