Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

"Comfortable hotel , clean room, central to train station and theatre " More

By a verified traveler on Thu 26 May 2016

Hotel Description

3-star hotel near Apollo Victoria Theatre

Heart of London

Within a 15-minute walk of this London City Centre hotel, you'll find Apollo Victoria Theatre and Victoria Palace Theatre. Buckingham Palace and Piccadilly are also within 2 miles (3 km).

Free breakfast

This hotel doesn't skimp on freebies - guests receive free on-the-go breakfast and free WiFi. Business travelers can take advantage of the laundry service. Self parking, laundry facilities, and concierge services are also on offer.

Free WiFi, digital TV

The 39 soundproofed guestrooms offer free WiFi and DVD players. TVs come with digital channels, and other amenities include Egyptian cotton sheets and coffee/tea makers.

Deluxe Double Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$105* Per night/room Aug 8 - Aug 9

Deluxe Single Room

Bed Count 1 Twin Bed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Deluxe Triple Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Deluxe Twin Room

Bed Count 2 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Deluxe Quadruple Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

The Portico Hotel - FKA Hanover Hotel Victoria ratings based on 7 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
2.1 out of 5 2.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 2.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for The Portico Hotel - FKA Hanover Hotel Victoria

Everyone (4)
1 out of 5
Bad,bad dirty condition old hotel,we were never stayed in this hotel again,pictures lies and etc....I want satisfaction compensation with vaucher credit for next your offer list hotels. This hotel is complitly different then on photos, we trust travelocity but you cheated us. Our room was in basement, air was bad, we dont have views, in bathroom was moisture on wall, we must eat breakfast in room because dining room is being renovated and etc. For everything we have photo evidence.

Posted by on May 11, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5
room extremely very small , not like what been described online ! they offered me only one room based on their deal with which was the attic room ! 4 TH AND THE HIGHEST FLOOR , there was NO ELEVATOR ! the stairs way too high and fits only one person,I asked the concierge please I need another room he said that;s the only room we have as this one only assigned for you take it or leave it.I asked for refund he wouldn't refund me. I had no choice because I was so tired ans needed to rest for my next flight.bathroom was way too small they had 3 bottles only of shampoo hand wash and body wash as the shampoo wasn't the morning I talked to the manager about my experience he didn't even care & he refused to give a receipt.I highly recommend not to do business with them & for full refund !!! as I was an able to spend the night in that hotel

Posted by on Jul 16, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 24, 2018 by Viral Patel

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience after your recent stay with us here at The Hanover Hotel Victoria London. We regret to hear that you have had an uncomfortable stay due to the cleanliness and size of room. When it comes to London size than we can't do much about it. Due to the age of the building we are restricted by size as we have tried our best to incorporate the historic proportions of the building into the hotel. I would just like to add that we have 24 hours reception and hotel maintenance team who can remedy all the issues immediately. None of the matters were reported at Front Desk otherwise we could have offered even a different room to make your stay comfortable. We sincerely apologise for the discomfort. We will definitely look into the issues you have mentioned of your concerns. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience and discomfort you had during your stay. We hope to welcome you back to Hanover Hotel in future to restore your faith in our Hospitality. Wishing you wonderful day ahead!! Kind regards, Viral Patel

2 out of 5

Great location to things in London

Pros: The first room we had was very adequate, and the day staff person was very helpful.
Cons: Updating the lobby tiles and the carpeting.
Location: There are a few restaurants, a shopping center, two pharmacies, small grocery stores and markets.
We chose this hotel because of its closeness to both the Victoria Coach Station and the Victoria Train Station, both of which we were using for our transportation into and out of London. We were very disappointed to find that there was no elevator in the hotel when we got there - and being seniors with bad knees, this was not good news. We had to walk up 4 flights of stairs to our room the first night, but the staff did carry our bags up for us. The next two nights, they moved us to a room one floor below the ground level, which was the same level as the breakfast room, so this did help somewhat. However, it was a much smaller room, with no night stands or chair, which wasn't great. The lobby is pretty worn and there were quite a few stains on the carpeting on the stairs and in the second room we stayed in, but the breakfast was adequate and the staff was very friendly and tried to help us. It's a good deal for the price, if you are a younger person, or a very fit senior with no issues about schlepping luggage up flights of stairs and having to use those stairs every time you left your room. There were a few restaurants not too far from the hotel where we did eat during our stay.

Posted by , from FL on May 21, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Nice hotel close to major must see sightseeing

Pros: Close to major sightseeing locations and Victoria train station
Location: Walking distance to Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, London Eye
Comfortable hotel , clean room, central to train station and theatre

Posted by , from California on May 26, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Comfortable, Convenient

Very well located near Victoria Station. Plain but adequate low-cost accomodation. Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast included. Since I spend most of the day about the city, I am not looking for luxury. This is very good lodging at very good price.

Posted by on Mar 27, 2009

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5

It's a dump!

This is the worst hotel I have ever seen! I would not recommend anyone laying one foot in this hotel, much less actually sleep there. There was a horrible, rank smell as soon as we entered our a mixture of bleach, dirt, and oil. The beds were soo uncomfortable, you would do better to sleep on the floor. Also, the shower was absolutely disgusting! There was mold all over the shower curtain. Room size was extremely small. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

Posted by on Apr 28, 2008

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5

poorly maintained

the room stank, was uncared for, the bathroom was disgusting, the beds were torn up, the television did not work, and the front coutner people were not helpful

Posted by on Apr 1, 2007

Was this review helpful to you?

About the The Portico Hotel - FKA Hanover Hotel Victoria

Location 30 St. George's Drive, London, England SW1V 4BN

Property Features

Free breakfast is served daily. Public spaces have free WiFi. The business-friendly The Portico Hotel - FKA Hanover Hotel Victoria also features tour/ticket assistance, concierge services, and complimentary newspapers in the lobby. For a fee, parking is available. This 3-star London hotel is smoke free.

  • 39 guestrooms or units
  • 4 levels
  • 2 buildings
  • To-go breakfast (free)
  • 1 conference room
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Free WiFi
  • Soundproofed rooms
  • Laundry facilities
  • DVD player


Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi


Self parking (surcharge)


  • Airport: Heathrow Airport (LHR) (26.4 km / 16.4 mi)
  • Train station: London (ZEP-Victoria Train Station) (0.9 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Metro station: Victoria Underground Station (0.8 km / 0.5 mi)
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

The Portico Hotel - FKA Hanover Hotel Victoria offers 39 accommodations with DVD players and safes. Beds feature Egyptian cotton sheets. Digital television is provided. Bathrooms include showers, designer toiletries, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. This London hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Additionally, rooms include coffee/tea makers and blackout drapes/curtains. A nightly turndown service is provided and housekeeping is offered daily. Amenities available on request include irons/ironing boards.

  • Television
  • Digital channels
  • DVD player
  • Coffee maker
  • Egyptian cotton linens
  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Nightly turndown service
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Designer toiletries
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board available
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Sound-insulated rooms
  • Heating
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Wardrobe or closet

Food & Drink

Guests are served free on-the-go breakfast daily from 7:30 AM to 9:30 AM.

Hotel Policies


  • Check-in time starts at 1:30 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 10:30 AM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

This property's breakfast is served at a nearby Airways Hotel which is located across the street.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.


  • Check-out by 10:30 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.

Pet Policy

  • Pets and service animals are not allowed at The Portico Hotel - FKA Hanover Hotel Victoria


Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

This property accepts credit cards; cash is not accepted

Safety features at this property include a carbon monoxide detector, a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, a first aid kit, and window guards

Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property; the policies listed are provided by the property

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property accepts credit cards. Cash is not accepted. For guests' safety, the property includes a carbon monoxide detector, a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, a first aid kit, and window guards in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property and bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; guests are provided with hand sanitizer. Contactless check-in and contactless check-out are available. Each guestroom is kept vacant for a minimum of 24 hours between bookings. This property affirms that it adheres to the cleaning and disinfection practices of Safe Travels (WTTC - Global).

  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Property follows sanitization practices of Safe Travels (WTTC - Global)
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No elevators
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Service animals not allowed
  • Gap period enforced between guest stays - 24 hours


Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Self parking fee: GBP 30 per night
  • Nearby parking fee: GBP 30 per day
  • Early check-in is available for a fee (subject to availability, amount varies)
  • Late check-out is available for a fee (subject to availability, amount varies)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Hanover Hotel
  • Hanover Hotel Victoria
  • Hanover Victoria
  • Hanover Victoria Hotel
  • Victoria Hanover
  • Victoria Hanover Hotel
  • Hanover Hotel London
  • Hanover Hotel Victoria London, England
  • Hanover Hotel Victoria
  • The Portico Hotel - FKA Hanover Hotel Victoria Hotel
  • The Portico Hotel - FKA Hanover Hotel Victoria London
  • The Portico Hotel - FKA Hanover Hotel Victoria Hotel London

You should know

  • Pets and service animals are not allowed on site.
url importing
There was an error importing /London-Hotels-The-Portico-Hotel---FKA-Hanover-Hotel-Victoria.h115931-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.