Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.2 out of 5

"The check in person lacked basic communication skills. She was rude, and sarcastic. " More

By a verified traveler on Tue 21 Jul 2020

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

3.5-star vacation home near Carlsbad Premium Outlets

Oceanside stay

Within 2 miles (3 km) of this Carlsbad vacation home, you'll find Carlsbad Premium Outlets and Flower Fields of Carlsbad. LEGOLAND® California and Sealife Aquarium are also within 2 miles (3 km).

Business services

This vacation home features a 24-hour gym and a spa tub. Traveling on business? Take advantage of the 24-hour business center and free WiFi in public areas. Free self parking, a garden, and a snack bar/deli are also offered.

Free WiFi, kitchens

The 98 individually furnished homes offer free WiFi and comfy beds. Well-equipped kitchens come with refrigerators, microwaves, and dishwashers. Housekeeping is available on request.

King Studio

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$97* Per night/room Dec 30 - Dec 31

King Studio Accessible

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Queen Studio Accessible

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

King Suite Accessible

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Queen Studio with 2 Beds

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Queen Studio

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Carlsbad Suites ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.2 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Carlsbad Suites

Everyone (12) Business (1) Couples (3) Family (2)
2 out of 5
We stayed in a total of three rooms during our trip. We were there for two nights. We checked in around midnight on the first night. After unpacking in the first room, my wife was washing baby bottles in the little kitchenette. The sink drain started leaking. It appears that they knew the sink had a leak because they placed a towel under the drain pipe. They moved us to another room around 1am. My son went to brush his teeth in the new room - the sink did not drain at all. They moved us to a third room. The microwave vent fell on me when I opened the microwave. They gave a $50.00 off one night. Coming from Vegas, this experience would have had the whole stay comp'd. Poor maintenance and would not stay here ever again. The only positive experience was checking in with the two night staff - they were pleasant to deal with. Not so much a pleasure with the dayshift.

Posted by on Nov 15, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 16, 2021 by FD

Dear Jonas, This is not the type of review we like to see. We appreciate you bringing up the issues you have encountered and are working extra hard to fix these issues. We apologize sincerely for the inconvenience during your stay. We hope to better serve you in the future. Please stay safe.

1 out of 5
poor surounding and conditions, not respectful. air would not shut off. one sheet on beds. would not have stayed, had been able to find another hotel. left after first night. owner was not available for complaints. manager was to worried about personal calls while we stood their waiting to see why our reservation had been canceled and who did it

Posted by on Sep 1, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 6, 2021 by FD

Thank you for your feedback. We will work harder to address the issues you have reported.

2 out of 5
I’ve stayed in some crappy hotels, and I can typically make it work without complaining but this place is the top 2 worst hotels I have ever stayed. The kitchens in the two units we reserved were not equipped with much at all, when I asked for a pan at the front desk, the clerk went to another room, and got me one. She said “it’s dirty” and sure enough it was filthy , I had to ask for forks too. The pool lounge chairs were not even useable, no bottoms, they were ripped to shreds the hallways were so gross, the pool was closed, come on the place is just lacking any care or upkeep. I can handle a dated look, and if upgrades are not up to speed no big deal, but I cannot stand filth, filth represents laziness, and this place is lazy, it looks nothing like the pictures.

Posted by on Jun 10, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 11, 2021 by FD

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay here. We will look into the issues you have reported and work hard to fix them. Thank you for your feedback, stay safe and healthy.

1 out of 5
So, we have stayed there before when it was under previous ownership and liked the accommodations a lot. This time was completely different. First off, there was no mention in the description of the hotel that the pool was going to be closed till later this month. I have kids and that is a BIG deal when we select a hotel. I wouldn’t have booked this hotel if I knew that was the case. We didn’t know until we checked in. Second...there were signs EVERYWHERE stating that masks were required, but the three people at the front desk had their masks hanging from one ear or pulled down below their chins...every time I went by the desk. Only the girl working the counter in the mornings was always wearing her mask. I’m not hyper-sensitive to people wearing or not wearing masks, but I think a business dealing in customer service should be considerate to those who are, especially if you’re going to post signs everywhere stating it is mandatory. That also makes me question how clean the facility was. There were guests walking around not wearing mask, and why should they if the staff doesn’t even follow the rules or set an example. We’ve stayed at a few hotels during the pandemic and all other hotels had staff trying their best to sanitize the property. I never saw a single person cleaning the propery. The elevator had trash in it as well that seemed to be there for a while. I left it there on purpose just to see if someone would come take care of it or if the staff was even monitoring t

Posted by on May 10, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 11, 2021 by FD

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay here. We will look into the issues you have reported and work hard to fix them. Thank you for your feedback, stay safe and healthy.

4 out of 5
The check in person lacked basic communication skills. She was rude, and sarcastic.

Posted by on Jul 21, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 23, 2020 by Front Desk

Thank you for your feedback. Stay safe and healthy.

5 out of 5

Posted by on Jul 20, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 22, 2020 by Front Desk

Thank you for your feedback. Please stay safe and healthy.

4 out of 5

Posted by on Mar 16, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 23, 2020 by FS

Thank you for your feedback.

5 out of 5

Posted by on Feb 17, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 23, 2020 by Carlsbad Suites

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay at the Carlsbad Suites. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your experience. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Best Regards, Heather Childers General Manager

5 out of 5

Posted by on Jan 26, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 26, 2020 by Carlsbad Suites

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay at the Carlsbad Suites. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay at our property. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Best Regards, Heather Childers General Manager

3 out of 5
The room was fine but was dirty. There was sand all over every surface and it did not look like the rug or floors had been cleaned. In addition, there was a fair amount of mold/mildew in the grout of the bathtub. Overall this place was a great deal but we were a little grossed out by the lack of cleanliness.

Posted by , from Menlo Park on Jan 8, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 8, 2020 by Carlsbad Suites

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay at the Carlsbad Suites. We are disappointed to see that you had a negative experience while at our property. Please know your comments will be addressed immediately. We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Best Regards, Heather Childers General Manager

Renovations + Closures

The property will be renovating from September 11 2021 to January 31 2022 (completion date subject to change). The following areas are affected:

  • Business center
  • Dining venue
  • Hallway
  • Lobby
  • Spa tub

During renovations, the vacation home will make every effort to minimize noise and disturbance.

The following facilities are closed on Sunday, Friday, and Saturday:

  • Bar/lounge
  • Spa tub

The following facilities are closed on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday:

  • Bar/lounge
  • Spa tub

Property Features

Carlsbad Suites offers its guests a spa tub and a 24-hour fitness center. There's a snack bar/deli on site. Business amenities include a 24-hour business center and a meeting room. WiFi and wired Internet are free in public spaces. Event space at this property measures 528.00 square feet (49 square meters) and includes conference space. Barbecue grills, multilingual staff, and a garden are also featured at the business-friendly Carlsbad Suites. Self parking is free. The property offers extended parking privileges. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 3.5-star Carlsbad property.

  • 1 building
  • 98 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • 528.00 sq ft of conference space
  • 49 sq m of conference space
  • Built in 1990
  • Deli
  • Umbrellas for the pool
  • Business center (24 hours)
  • Conference space
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Front-desk safe
  • Convenience store
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Fireplace in lobby
  • Television in lobby
  • Elevator
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Number of outdoor pools - 1
  • Free WiFi
  • Kitchen
  • Grocery/convenience store
  • Snack bar/deli
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • DVD player

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi , Free wired internet

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Train station: Carlsbad Poinsettia Station (3.5 km / 2.2 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Carlsbad Suites offers 98 accommodations with DVD players and safes. Each accommodation is individually furnished. Pillowtop beds feature premium bedding. Premium cable television is provided. Accommodations at this 3.5-star property have kitchens with refrigerators, microwaves, cookware/dishes/utensils, and dishwashers. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations and designer toiletries. This Carlsbad property provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and desk chairs, as well as phones; free local calls are provided (restrictions may apply). Additionally, rooms include coffee/tea makers and irons/ironing boards. Housekeeping is offered on request and hair dryers can be requested.

  • In-room kitchen
  • Pillowtop beds
  • Television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • DVD player
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Dishwasher
  • Coffee maker
  • Kitchenware
  • Luxury bedding
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Housekeeping (on request)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer available
  • Safe
  • Designer toiletries
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Unique furnishings
  • Wardrobe or closet
  • Toothbrush and toothpaste available
  • Desk chair

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the vacation home include a spa tub and a 24-hour fitness center.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Water skiing nearby
  • Golfing nearby
  • Surfing/boogie boarding nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby
  • Sailing nearby
  • Windsurfing nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Wheelchair accessible path of travel
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • In-room accessibility
  • Assistive listening devices available
  • Braille or raised signage

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2:30 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 1:30 AM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 21

Special check-in instructions:

To make arrangements for check-in please contact the property at least 72 hours before arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. If you are planning to arrive after 10:30 AM please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in instructions. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. An adult age 18 or older must assume all liability for the booking.

To arrange for check-in, guests must contact the property at least 72 hours prior to arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests arriving after 10:30 AM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in information. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. An adult age 18 or older must assume all liability for the booking.

Check-out

  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children 18 years old and younger stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.

Pet Policy

  • Pets: USD 75 per pet, per night (maximum USD 175 per stay), plus a one-time cleaning fee of USD 100
  • Only dogs are allowed
  • Maximum 2 per room (weight limit: 75 lbs)
  • Restrictions apply
  • For more information, you can reach out to the property at the number on the booking confirmation
  • Service animals are exempt from fees

Policies

This property is managed by a professional host; the provision of housing is linked to their trade, business, or profession, within the meaning of article 155 of the French Tax Code

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, and Diners Club; cash is not accepted

Noise-free guestrooms cannot be guaranteed

Safety features at this property include a smoke detector, a first aid kit, and window guards

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property is managed by a professional host. The provision of housing is linked to their trade, business, or profession, within the meaning of article 155 of the French Tax Code. This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, and Diners Club. Cash is not accepted. Noise-free guestrooms cannot be guaranteed. For guests' safety, the property includes a smoke detector, a first aid kit, and window guards in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. This property affirms that it adheres to the cleaning and disinfection practices of SafeHome (VRMA & VRHP).

  • Noise-free rooms not guaranteed
  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Property does not offer onsite COVID-19 testing
  • Property does not require health documentation at check-in
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Property does not use a professional cleaning service
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Contactless check-out is not available
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Property follows sanitization practices of SafeHome (VRMA & VRHP)
  • Staffed front desk
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • No gap period between guest stays

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: USD 100 per accommodation, per stay

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Pet fee: USD 75 per pet, per night (maximum USD 175 per stay) plus USD 100 one-time cleaning fee
  • Service animals are exempt from fees
  • Early check-in fee: USD 30 (subject to availability)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Carlsbad Suites Carlsbad
  • Carlsbad Suites Private vacation home
  • Carlsbad Suites Private vacation home Carlsbad

You should know

  • Children 18 years old and younger stay free in the same room as the parent or guardian when using existing bedding.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
  • To make arrangements to bring your pet, contact the property directly at the number on your booking confirmation (please see the Fees section for related charges).
url importing http://www.travelocity.com/Carlsbad-Hotels-Carlsbad-Suites.h868459-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Carlsbad-Hotels-Carlsbad-Suites.h868459-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.travelocity.com/Carlsbad-Hotels-Carlsbad-Suites.h868459-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.