Ratings based on 140 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from San Francisco

Quick Business Trip

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Location and affordable rates
Cons: Parking, however the valet parking was very convenient.
Location: Go to the harbor and enjoy a great meal while watching an spectacular sunset.
Nice place, close to great restaurants and the harbor. The staff was very pleasant and quick to respond. I will definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A traveler from Los Angeles

Very comfortable!

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: Rich feeling rooms with dark woods and updated tile showers and updated furniture. Very comfortable beds and pillows!
Cons: Pool and spa on the roof!
Location: Everything was nearby. I walked everywhere. Convention center was a 12 minute walk, Gas lamp about 10 minutes.
I absolutely loved staying here for a conference. At a bar one night, I spoke to some ladies who mentioned they didn't stay there because there was no pool and although this trip was too busy to enjoy a pool that is usually on my list. For that reason I give it a 4 and not a 5 although it is not a reflection of the stay, the staff or the location at all. The room was small but the space was well used! Rooms were a little bit small, but were plenty for one person and I could definitely see myself there with my better half as well.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Not worth the money

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: Location. Very convenient to walk to restaurants and shops.
Cons: Parking is too expensive. Put doors on the bathroom. Better attention to room details.
Location: Plenty of restaurants bars and shopping.
Facility was clean and well kept. Staff was terrific, but a lot of little things lead to a less than satisfactory stay. Room was VERY small and cramped. A/C was loud making it hard to sleep. No hand towels were provided, only one roll of TP in the room ( we ran out and I had to find some more off the housekeeping cart ). The bathroom doesn't have a "door" its equipped with a slider (that wouldn't stay closed). Housekeeping crew was very loud and obnoxious in the hallway fairly early in the morning - it seemed like they were mad that we hadn't left the room yet and were trying to make it uncomfortable. Bottom line, there are many other comparable hotels at much better prices. I wouldn't go back to the Sofia. Oh ya, $36 a day to valet park - kinda steep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Locals

Girls' Night Out

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Clean
Cons: It's an older hotel so the rooms are small. How much time does one spend in the room anyway? Very clean.
Location: We had dinner and breakfast at Seaport Village. Coffee Bean in the hotel. It's sort of a rough area, lots of homeless so be watchful.
Clean, comfortable and great. We are locals and wanted to do a Girls' Night Out. The price was great and we had a ball. The hotel is charming and VERY clean. The staff is great too. Would I recommend this hotel or stay there again, in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

The Sofia Hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Very nice location will return for my next San Diego trip
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Albany, NY

Great location at a great price!

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Location and cost.
Cons: Single queen rooms are a tad on the small side, but fine for a couple who are still close!
Location: Gaslamp, excellent restaurants, marina, convention center, ball park.
Quiet and friendly hotel, close to many businesses and local attractions, like the Gaslamp District. Located right on the main busline from the airport, making it very convenient to get to for travelers coming from out of town. Extra amenities include yoga classes, an excellent fitness center, bikes for local touring, a very nice restaurant, and welcoming staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Orange County, CA

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Location.
Location: Gas Lamp district, Hotel Bar and Rest. are great.
Nice quiet room. Easy check in. Great Bar. Close to Gas Lamp, Amtrak, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from San Diego, CA

Cozy hotel close to EVERYTHING!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Loved the Sophia hotel, will definitely come back!!! The bar was awesome, The staff was great, no complaints:)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler

Trendy and Comfortable

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Stayed in San Diego to go to a concert and very much loved this hotel. The one downside is the parking; there not really parking anywhere nearby so you pretty much have to pay for valet parking at the hotel. However it is very fast and reliable valet service so besides the extra charge it is convenient. The room I stayed in was very compact but was very comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from murrieta, ca

We love this hotel!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
It's walking distance to wherever you want to go. Staff is great and rooms are very nice.