Ratings based on 926 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Miami, FL

Wonderful place, very peaceful, staff is amazing.

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: I loved everything about it
Location: My room was the bottom beach front room with a patio, and the buffet La Brisa was right next door.
We flew in from MIA to Punta Cana, we paid for Blue Travel round trip transportation to and from resort. We went on 3 excursions and they were amazing. Staff is very nice and pleasant no matter what. The place is clean. Someone is always cleaning. The beach is amazing. The food is good. The service is good and I had no problem tipping the people. $1 american dollar equals 44 Pesos for them. They are very appreciative and I would go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Long Island

Most relaxing week ever!

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: Most of all, we loved the relaxed atmosphere and the friendly staff that did everything possible to make sure we had a wonderful vacation.
Cons: There should be an indoor ping-pong table or two. The outdoor one was fun, but the ocean breeze affects the ball so much that it interferes with play.
Location: The location is so nice that we felt no need to leave the resort, which is huge. There is a tram to travle from the adult side to the family side.
My wife and I stayed at Barcelo Bavaro Beach for 7 nights in August 2015. We went there mainly to relax after a very hectic period in our lives in which we sold a house, moved into and out of a co-op, searched for 8 months for the right new home, and then went into contract on the new home. We were not disappointed! The hotel is situated on a lovely section of Bavaro Beach, which itself is situated what is probably the most beautiful location in the Dominican Republic. The beach is covered with coconut trees, the water is clear enough to watch the small fish, who are not shy and love to swim very close to your lower legs because they like the fact that people stir up the sand as they move their feet. This all-inclusive resort has an absolutely astounding array of food. There is something for everyone. My wife, a native of Trinidad & Tobago, loved the local Caribbean fruits, vegetables, and other dishes. I found myself enjoying a lot of very healthy fruits and vegetables that are difficult or expensive to buy here in the U.S. We both found that it was easy to fill up on delicious, healthy foods rather than gorge on fried or fatty dishes, although the latter are certainly available for those who prefer them while on vacation. There are a number of restaurants to choose from. Our favorite was the Santa Fe. Our least favorite was La Brisa, which was quite disappointing despite its ideal location. The staff were very friendly and nothing short of wonderful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from dallas

Great view, close to the beach

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: View resort layout beach Staff
Cons: Swim up bar! Buffets need upgraded. Rooms could use a little love. Add room service to all inclusive.
Location: The location was 20 minutes from the airport which was nice. We did one of the hotel excursions that they recommended through guest services,
My wife and I stayed for 6 days and 5 nights from 8/815-8/13/15. We had a room on the 1st floor that was 35 yards from the beach. The beach was beautiful and the view was breath taking. The food at the restaurants(not buffets) was good however you were required to make reservations at all of the restaurants that weren't a buffet, we prefer to be able to go to dinner when we feel like it not when we have to. Room service was not part of the all inclusive. The buffets were so so, we went over to the deluxe a few times to eat at the sports bar which was better than the buffets but nothing special. We tried to avoid the other resorts because of all of the kids. The last day one of the people we met said the buffet at the deluxe was better than adult only but we didn't have time to go there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Atlanta

Love this place...

Posted Aug 4, 2015
This is my fourth time staying there. It's great that the resort is Adult Only but walking distance from the other side (with many of the additional amenities (spa, bigger pool, casino, disco, etc). The rooms are very comfortable. My only problems this time were, my ocean front room was in a building back from the ocean a considerable bit. The buildings are staggered so if you're looking for true ocean front, you'll need to be in a certain building. Additionally, my shower was broken. It worked, but it wouldn't attach to the wall. Inconvenient but not worth the complaint (because it DID work). But the staff was great as always, and I would stay there every time I go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from West Palm Beach, Fl

Beautiful hotel, very accomodating

Posted Jul 31, 2015
My husband and I went there for our honeymoon. We had a great time! The food was great, the room had a good view, and the pool was awesome. However, the female bartenders at the outside pool bar were very mean. They wouldn't even look at you and acted like you repulsed them. I hated going to that bar because i hated the feeling they gave me, as if I was wasting their time. Some of the hostesses/ waitresses in the resturants we like that too. I think majority of the women working there needed attitude adjustments. In addition, Sosie in guest services was AMAZING! She was very sweet, always had a smile on her face, and was very accomodating. Overall, great trip. :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Texas

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Resort was great , staff outstanding . Super friendly and very polite . Drinks were ok , need better selection of beer then just one . The food was below average , cold dishes were not cold and hot dishes were not hot . The staff was A+ , we tipped well and often . And our cleaning lady was awesome !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Charlotte

Very nice hotel/resort

Posted Jul 12, 2015
The resort was awesome. The staff was friendly. They gave good instruction at check in to make the stay wonderful. Food was amazing. Beach was right in back yard. Sister resorts have variety. Would recommend. And would return. Had others giving advice of where to stay. This place was priced right and was just as amazing as any other location on the island. Only questionable situation is I purchased wifi in gift store. I had coupon book for discount. They didn't ask me for coupon. And coupon had to be presented at time of purchase to apply discount. Seemed as if gift store didn't want to offer discount. Again, overall this location was DA BOMB!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler

Close to beach and pool, plus no kids!

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: access to beach
Cons: food, ease of use of all inclusive amenities
Location: location is great- near by? never traveled out
The hotel is situated perfectly for quick access to the beach and the bar/pool area. The rooms are clean but look a bit run down, especially the bathroom. Restaurants are ok, nothing special, but not terrible, staff is overall friendly. The "all access' to massages in the room etc. are difficult to book, understand in terms of use, coupons etc. make it more difficult, and of course do not cover the whole cost. If you are looking for an average overall experience, this is your place, not worth the 4.5 stars it receives on travelocity etc. but not bad either.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from New York

NO!! Customer Service!

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: The quite Beach
Cons: Customer service was terrible I was disrespected by a manager.
Location: there is nothing good near by CoCo Bungo was just a bunch of live shows almost no dancing music. the Disco at the hotel isn't any better.
I would say that my experience was OK because this is the kind of Service, Drinks, and food you will get. The Drink were all too sweet or too strong, Bartenders pour drinks without measuring so you will find that every bar makes a different drink the beer is watered down. I stayed at the adults only side of Barceló but all the restaurants are on the other side of the property at the Barceló deluxe so I had to take an open air Tran to get the better side. the only plus of being on the adult side was a quite beach compared to deluxe which was full of people so good luck finding a beach chair and a quite space to relax. The Food was 10x better at the Deluxe side of Barceló compared to the adults only. so you will spend most of your time at another hotel unfortunately. The food is inconsistent one days is good the next its terrible. The service was subpar and got into it with a manager because I wore a tank top to the buffet instead of a T-shirt. I know all hotels have rules but I'm at the pool all day, I'm hungry, and my room is on the other side of the property they would not accommodate me yelled at me, and walked me out with security guards. I was very unhappy about that. NO CUSTOMER SERVICE. My Advise Try another hotel I heard Hard Rock was better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from NY

Posted Jun 7, 2015 on Expedia
The hotel staff was welcoming and friendly. The food was delicious, although redundant. The place was presentable. They could've had more events for the guests, but other than that it was a nice and relaxing experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2015 by Sandy Pfeil - Hotel Director, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, As a team we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with the community expedia.com. We are delighted that you enjoyed each of the services provided at our Hotel Barceló Bávaro Beach. Thank you very much for choosing us as a destination to enjoy your trip, We are happy that our food was to his liking and was pleased with the friendliness of our staff, our team is constantly working to deliver the best service. We will be happy to receive you again in our resort. Please feel free to contact us before your next visit. Respectfully, Sandy Pfeil Director