Enter dates to see availability

"Never have experience a river side view and it was awesome. " More

By a verified traveler on Wed 28 Mar 2018

Hotel Description

3-star beach hotel near Portland International Raceway

On riverwalk

You'll be within half a mile (1 km) of Jantzen Beach Center and 2 miles (3 km) of Portland International Raceway with a stay at this Portland hotel. Portland Expo Center and Portland Meadows Racetrack are also within 3 miles (5 km).

Nightclub, dining

A nightclub, a 24-hour fitness center, and a restaurant are all featured at this smoke-free hotel. Traveling on business? Take advantage of the business center and free WiFi in public areas. Relax with a drink at one of the 2 bars/lounges and enjoy perks like free self parking.

Free WiFi, comfy beds

The 320 guestrooms feature comforts like pillowtop beds and premium bedding, while refrigerators and microwaves offer the conveniences of home. Other amenities include free WiFi, room service, and LCD TVs with cable channels.

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 5 Max
$133 per night

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Premium Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Premium Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Red Lion Hotel on the River Jantzen Beach ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.9 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Red Lion Hotel on the River Jantzen Beach

Everyone (29) Family (4)
4 out of 5
Spacious, Excellent location Coffee maker not working

Posted by on Jul 9, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 9, 2019 by Art S. - Director of Rooms

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit with us although I do regret to hear that your coffee maker was not operating correctly . I will be sure to address your concerns with our team.

2 out of 5

Posted by on Jul 6, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 9, 2019 by Art S. - Director of Rooms

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. I am sorry to see that your experience was not as you would have expected it to be. I would love for the opportunity to hear about what changes we could make to improve your experience .

3 out of 5
Stayed for the 4th of July fireworks. We were told at check-in the restaurant & lounge were open later than usual due to the festivities. We went to the lounge & the gal came to the table but said we had to come to the bar & order, even though she was standing at our table. I went to the bar & ordered food & it never came. We brought a soda from our room & she took that & said we had to purchase. We did order a soda & never got that either. In the morning after a late evening, a person was loudly knocking on doors & saying housekeeping. It was 8:45am, typically after a late night, sleeping in is nice. Not an option! You could hear her knocking on doors all the way down the hall. Not the best stay....

Posted by on Jul 5, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 9, 2019 by Art S. - Director of Rooms

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We appreciate your valuable feedback as it helps us identify the areas we can improve the guest experience. I was disappointed to learn of the shortcomings you experienced and will be personally following up with our departments. This is not what our hotel represents and we do value our service that we provide to our guests.

1 out of 5

Posted by on Jun 22, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 26, 2019 by Art S. - Director of Rooms

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We appreciate your valuable feedback as it helps us identify the areas we can improve the guest experience. I was disappointed to learn of the shortcomings you experienced and will be personally following up with our departments. This is not what our hotel represents and we do value our service that we provide to our guests.

5 out of 5
Enjoyed location on river. Nice restaurant and lounge and port for commercial tour boats docking at location

Posted by on Jun 20, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 9, 2019 by Art S. - Director of Rooms

Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel, and hope to see you back.

4 out of 5

Posted by on Jun 17, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 19, 2019 by Art S. - Director of Rooms

Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel, and hope to see you back.

2 out of 5
I usually always stay at this Red Lion when I'm in Portland, but I may reconsider next time. There was a special event booked the same time we were there, great. But I'm not joking when I say there were a few thousand extra people at the hotel that weren't staying, and a majority drove themselves. I stepped out to get some dinner for my family and when I returned, the parking lot was full. The overflow parking lot was full. The neighboring business parking lots were full. I pulled up to the loading zone by the front counter and went to talk to them about the situation and there was a long line of guests checking out that just checked in, but decided to find accomodations elsewhere because of the parking. I asked the "supervisor" where I should park since they obviously did not plan for this. She snapped at me "I don't know. Wherever you can find parking. It's not my problem. It's out of my hands. Go park at Taco Bell or the hotel down the street!" Pretty sure that's NOT what you should tell guests that paid to stay there.

Posted by , from Edmonds on Jun 6, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 11, 2019 by Guest Relations

Dear Justin, We are truly sorry for the inconvenience you experienced with parking and for how your concerns were handled. What you have described is not reflective of the hospitality that we value, and we will make sure the team member in question is addressed. You are a valued guest and it is our duty to make sure you receive five-star service consistently. Do allow us to restore your confidence in us the next time you're in Portland.

2 out of 5
Overall the property is run down and not being maintained. The overall feeling of neglect for the pyhsical enviroment; From the parking lot to the rooms is depressing.

Posted by on Jun 3, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 7, 2019 by Guest Relations

We are saddened to hear that you did not find our property and your overall stay to be pleasing. Our hotel is generally praised for its setting and to excel to an even higher standard, our team will address your concerns and work to find ways to improve our property. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

4 out of 5

Posted by on Jun 3, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 19, 2019 by Art S. - Director of Rooms

Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel, and hope to see you back

4 out of 5

Posted by on Apr 14, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 15, 2019 by Art S. - Director of Rooms

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel! We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit! We hope to see you again soon!

About the Red Lion Hotel on the River Jantzen Beach

Location 909 N Hayden Island Dr, Portland, OR 97217

Property Features

As a guest of Red Lion Hotel on the River Jantzen Beach, you'll find an outdoor pool, an outdoor tennis court, a spa tub, and a 24-hour fitness center. There's a restaurant on site, as well as a coffee shop/café. You can unwind with a drink at one of the 2 bars/lounges. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. There's an onsite business center. Event space at this hotel measures 36000 square feet (3344 square meters) and includes a conference center. A nightclub, multilingual staff, and gift shops/newsstands are also featured at the business-friendly Red Lion Hotel on the River Jantzen Beach. Self parking is free. This 3-star Portland hotel is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 320 guestrooms or units
  • 4 levels
  • 2 bars or lounges
  • 36000 sq ft of conference space
  • 3344 sq m of conference space
  • Built in 1970
  • Dining venue
  • Nightclub
  • Coffee shop
  • Conference center
  • Business facilities
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Wedding services available
  • Gift shop
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • ATM
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Property
  • Outdoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Outdoor tennis court
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Portland, OR (PDX-Portland Intl.) (14.7 km / 9.2 mi)
  • Train station: Vancouver Station (4.1 km / 2.6 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Red Lion Hotel on the River Jantzen Beach offers 320 air-conditioned accommodations with safes and coffee/tea makers. Pillowtop beds feature premium bedding. 55-inch LCD televisions come with premium cable channels. Guests can make use of the in-room refrigerators and microwaves. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. This Portland hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and blackout drapes/curtains. Housekeeping is offered daily and hypo-allergenic bedding can be requested.

  • Pillowtop beds
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • LCD television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Luxury bedding
  • Hypo-allergenic bedding
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Air conditioning
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy full breakfast daily from 7 AM to 11 AM.

Jantzen Beach Bar & Grill - This restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

Espresso Lobby Bar - Onsite coffee shop. Open daily.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Nearby Activities

An outdoor pool and a spa tub are on site. Other recreational amenities include an outdoor tennis court and a 24-hour fitness center.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Ecotours nearby
  • Golfing nearby
  • Boat tours nearby
  • Mountain biking nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby
  • Sailing nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time ends at 1:00 AM
  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 21

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 20.00 per night.

Pets

  • Pets: USD 30 per accommodation, per day
  • Restrictions apply
  • For more information, you can reach out to the property at the number on the booking confirmation

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: USD 50.00 per night

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between USD 5 and USD 15 per person (approximately)
  • Pet fee: USD 30 per accommodation, per day
  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 20.00 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Jantzen Beach Red Lion Hotel
  • Red Lion Hotel Jantzen Beach
  • Red Lion Hotel River Jantzen Beach
  • Red Lion Hotel River Jantzen Beach Portland
  • Red Lion River Jantzen Beach
  • Red Lion River Jantzen Beach Portland
  • Red Lion Hotel River Jantzen Beach
  • Red Lion Jantzen Beach
  • Red Lion Portland
  • Hotel Red Lion Hotel on the River Jantzen Beach
  • Red Lion Hotel River Jantzen Beach Portland
  • Red Lion River Jantzen Beach Portland
  • Hotel Red Lion Hotel on the River Jantzen Beach Portland
  • Portland Red Lion Hotel on the River Jantzen Beach Hotel
  • Red Lion Hotel on the River Jantzen Beach Portland
  • Red Lion River Jantzen Beach
  • Red Lion Hotel River Jantzen Beach Portland
  • Red Lion Hotel River Jantzen Beach
  • Red Lion River Jantzen Beach Portland
  • Red Lion River Jantzen Beach
  • Hotel Red Lion Hotel on the River Jantzen Beach Portland
  • Portland Red Lion Hotel on the River Jantzen Beach Hotel
  • Hotel Red Lion Hotel on the River Jantzen Beach
  • Red Lion Hotel on the River Jantzen Beach Portland
  • Red Lion River Jantzen Beach

You should know

  • To make arrangements to bring your pet, contact the property directly at the number on your booking confirmation (please see the Fees section for related charges).
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.