Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"Loved the walk in shower? Close to restaurants. Had a pool room had actual closets. " More

By a verified traveler on Wed 15 Jul 2020

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Hotel perfectly located for exploring Newport News

Heart of Newport News

Your stay at this Central Newport News hotel places you within 2 miles (3 km) of Patrick Henry Mall and Hampton Roads Iceplex. Sentara Port Warwick and Newport News Park are also within 3 miles (5 km).

Business services

This hotel features an indoor pool and a gym. Traveling on business? Take advantage of the 24-hour business center and free WiFi in public areas. Free parking, express check-out, and a computer station are also offered.

Premium Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max
$60* Per night/room Dec 11 - Dec 12

Premium Room, 2 Double Beds

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Premium Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 7 Max

Oyster Point Inn & Suites Newport News ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
2.3 out of 5 2.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 2.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 2.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Oyster Point Inn & Suites Newport News

Everyone (14) Couples (8) Family (6)
1 out of 5
The worse place we have ever stayed!! 1.The TV was broken, it had a black line down the middle & a black spot on the bottom. It was on when we first got to the room, but we shut it off to sleep for the night, & never were able to get it back on. We talked to 4 people about it, with nothing resolved. 2.The microwave had no plate, it was hard to heat our food with out it. We finally got one after talking to 3 people, it was too big & made noise. 3. We had to turn the water on to use the toilet. 4. There was a hole in the wall. 5. The bed was very noisy. 6.The vents were filthy. We were never offered another room. Or remedied anything. We wanted to cancel our reservation & were told it was to late & if we did we would not get a refund for 3-5 days. We are very disappointed!

Posted by on Sep 25, 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 27, 2022 by Manager

Hello Charita, We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you faced such an unusual situation. We continue to strive to improve our service and accommodations so that we may provide the highest level of guest satisfaction. For that reason we are incredibly sorry that we failed to meet your needs. We hope to earn your business on future travels so that you can see our continuous improvement., we are so sorry that we missed the mark during your recent stay. This feedback has been forwarded to management and we can only ask that you consider us again so that you can see the continuous improvements we make.

1 out of 5
Absolutely horrible experience.

Posted by on Jul 10, 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 14, 2022 by Manager

Hello Teresa M, I am so sorry to hear about the unusual situation that you experienced during your recent stay with us. Please know that guest satisfaction is our utmost priority and we take what you have shared very seriously. Your review has been shared with management so that appropriate measured can be taken.,

1 out of 5

Posted by on Jul 3, 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 3, 2022 by Manager

Hello Victoria, We can't thank you enough for sharing your rating. It would be an honor to earn your business again on your next travels.

1 out of 5
Should have known when we pulled in the parking lot and all we could smell was weed…upon getting into the room, the toilet wouldn’t flush, in-room phone didn’t work, so had to back down to front desk and request maintenance…they showed up about 20 minutes later, and gave ME the PLUNGER!!! No shampoo/conditioner in the room. Shower would go from warm to freezing cold in seconds. Furniture worn and run down. Construction workers sounded like they were ripping the walls out in the adjoining room at 7 in the morning on a Saturday 😞. Never again.

Posted by , from Hudgins on Dec 4, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 5, 2021 by Manager

Your review and rating are greatly appreciated; though it is very disappointing to learn of the bad impression we made during your recent stay. We are forever working to improve upon the guest experience, and I hope you will remember our attributes for when you return during another trip to the area to see how we have improved to impress you even more.

1 out of 5
Elevator was broke, no breakfast due to covid. but no sign of cleaning protocols. public areas dirty with trash. outer doors in stairwells propped open even at night. broken furniture in room. dirty carpet, rust in tub. plastic bag over smoke alarm. internet would work only intermittently. key card would not always open door. only good item was a comfortable bed.

Posted by on Nov 1, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 3, 2021 by Manager

Your review and rating are greatly appreciated; though it is very disappointing to learn of the bad impression we made during your recent stay due to the condition of our amenities. We are forever working to improve upon the guest experience, and I hope you will remember our attributes for when you return during another trip to the area to see how we have improved to impress you even more.

2 out of 5
The hotel needs upkeep. The phone in the room didn't work, the TV always came on with the volume above 100 (seriously) and you could only watch ESPN because neither the controller or the side buttons would switch channels, there were no toiletries in the bathroom, the ironing board was broken and there was no iron, the luggage rack had red paint(?) smeared on the straps, the curtains did not close fully, and the carpet smelled. The bed was comfortable and the staff were helpful.

Posted by on Oct 25, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 26, 2021 by Manager

Thank you so much for bringing to our attention the issues that you encountered with our appliance and electronics. Your comfort and convenience is our top priority, as always. We will address the maintenance task right away for the benefit of our future guests, which hopefully will include yourself.

1 out of 5

Posted by on Aug 23, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 23, 2021 by Manager

We really appreciate you taking the time to rate your experience with us. Please come stay with us again on your next visit to the area.,

1 out of 5
Nothing like the pictures online showed. Wallpaper either missing or peeling off the walls. Bathroom sink had hair still in sink upon arrival to room. Toilet needed to be plunged upon arrival to room. Air conditioner leaking water,& carpet for3 feet around it was wet!

Posted by on Aug 3, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 5, 2021 by Manager

Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am deeply sorry for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. The fact that we have failed to meet your full expectations is disappointing and we are determined to work even harder towards ensuring that each guest enjoys a great experience. I hope you will find your expectations to be far surpassed if you ever return to the area, we would like to invite you back for another stay.

1 out of 5
The photos that are presented are nothing like the property is. The parking lot is filled with trash, the lobby, halls, and rooms smell. There are visible, dirty stains everywhere, it's a disgusting place. I felt filthy just walking in the door. There were a bunch of people hanging out in the parking lot. It was disgusting. I also couldn't get any help from Travelocity.

Posted by on May 23, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 25, 2021 by Manager

I am so sorry to hear about the unusual situation that you experienced during your recent stay with us. Please know that guest satisfaction is our utmost priority and we take what you have shared very seriously. Your review has been shared with management so that appropriate measured can be taken.,

1 out of 5
the rooms were disgusting and dirty . I did not stay here . After looking at the room I requested a cancellation and refund and was denied . I did not stay here because of filth and found a new place to stay . DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!

Posted by on May 16, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 18, 2021 by Manager

Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am deeply sorry for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. We are continuously improving upon our services and accommodations while addressing our policies and procedures for minimizing and attending to these situations. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to address our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.

About the Oyster Point Inn & Suites Newport News

Location 21 Old Oyster Point Road, Newport News, VA 23602

Property Features

Oyster Point Inn & Suites Newport News offers its guests an indoor pool and a fitness center. A computer station is on site, and both WiFi and wired Internet are free in public spaces. A 24-hour business center and a meeting room are available. The business-friendly Oyster Point Inn & Suites Newport News also features multilingual staff, coffee/tea in a common area, and complimentary newspapers in the lobby. Free self parking is available. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this Newport News hotel.

  • 87 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • Business center (24 hours)
  • Conference center
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Television in lobby
  • Elevator
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Number of indoor pools - 1
  • Free WiFi
  • Soundproofed rooms
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Free cribs/infant beds

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi , Free wired internet

Parking

Free long-term parking , Free self parking , Free RV, bus, truck parking

Transport

  • Parking: Free self parking, extended parking, and RV/bus/truck parking

Room Amenities

Oyster Point Inn & Suites Newport News offers 87 air-conditioned accommodations with coffee/tea makers and hair dryers. 37-inch flat-screen televisions come with premium cable channels. Refrigerators and microwaves are provided. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones; free local calls are provided (restrictions may apply). Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and complimentary toiletries. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Cribs (free)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Sound-insulated rooms
  • Air conditioning
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available
  • Wardrobe or closet

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include an indoor pool and a fitness center.

  • Golfing nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • Handrails in stairways
  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • In-room accessibility
  • Wheelchair-accessible van parking
  • Wheelchair-accessible registration desk
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

To make arrangements for check-in please contact the property ahead of time using the information on the booking confirmation. If you are planning to arrive after midnight please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in instructions. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

To arrange for check-in, guests must contact the property in advance of arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests arriving after midnight must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in information. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children 16 years old and younger stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 8.0 per night.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pet Policy

  • Pets: USD 15.00 per pet, per day
  • Only dogs and cats are allowed
  • Maximum 2 per room

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

Safety features at this property include a smoke detector

Be prepared: check the latest COVID-19 travel requirements and measures in place for this destination before you travel.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property is managed by a professional host. The provision of housing is linked to their trade, business, or profession. This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, Diners Club, and JCB International. Cash is not accepted. For guests' safety, the property includes a smoke detector in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Social distancing measures are in place and staff at the property wear personal protective equipment. Contactless check-out is available.

  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Staffed front desk
  • Children stay free - maximum age 16
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Smoke detector
  • Children stay free

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Pet fee: USD 15.00 per pet, per day
  • Late check-out is available for a fee (subject to availability)
  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 8.0 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Jameson Inn Newport News
  • Jameson Newport News
  • Jameson Hotel Newport News
  • Oyster Point Inn & Suites Newport News Hotel
  • Oyster Point Inn & Suites Newport News Newport News
  • Oyster Point Inn & Suites Newport News Hotel Newport News

You should know

  • Children 16 years old and younger stay free in the same room as the parent or guardian when using existing bedding.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing http://www.travelocity.com/Newport-News-Hotels-Oyster-Point-Inn-&-Suites-Newport-News.h1568486-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Newport-News-Hotels-Oyster-Point-Inn-&-Suites-Newport-News.h1568486-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.travelocity.com/Newport-News-Hotels-Oyster-Point-Inn-&-Suites-Newport-News.h1568486-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.