Ratings based on 1,889 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A traveler from Miami

Posted Sep 15, 2015
The stay was awesome. Hotel staff were always polite and attentive. Food was good. Clifton at the bar was great and entertaining. Hotel rooms need to be upgraded, which is already in progress on building B. Negative: there was no free Wi-Fi available, not even in public Lobby areas. C'mon Sunset Beach, it's almost 2016!
3 out of 5
by A traveler from VIRGINIA

Average hotel on a nice beach

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: The hotel staff was very courteous and professional. The location of the hotel on the beach was very nice. We also enjoyed the food.
Cons: The condition of the hotel needs to be improved. Renovations are definitely needed.
Our overall experience was dissappointing. Mainly with the condition of of the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A traveler

Beach was close

Posted Aug 8, 2015
I had to wait 4 hour's to get into my room.. The food sucked.. It barely slept cause I heard doors slamming... Not close to much... Excursions over priced... Limited entertainment on grounds.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A traveler from illinois

Awesome 5 days !!!

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: very nice people and very helpful!!
Location: things were close but the trip to ys falls was 3 hours there and back through the mountains !
we had a wonderful time once we got there. Our flight was delayed going out so we were 6 hours late over all ! so lost our first day there.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from nj

Not worth the money

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Paid for an ocean view but received a garden and pool view. The inside of the tub was chipped. The beach had a lot of rocks.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A traveler from Memphis Tn


Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: LOVED the open lobby and bar floor plan.
Cons: By the lobby being open the way it is, it could use more ceiling fans through out for when there is no breeze blowing through.
Location: Nice location, but the resort has something for you to do or attend each day keeping you going. near by shopping is very nice also.
The Sunset Beach Resort Spa and Waterpark All Inclusive is one of the best Hotel and resorts I have ever stayed in. It was the BOMB hands down!!!!!!! My personal opinion, no other resort or hotel can touch it. The staff is so FRIENDLY and HELPFUL. A must stay if I go to Montego Bay again.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A traveler from Laurel, Maryland

Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Expedia
Bathroom could use some upgrading. Sliding door sold be able to lock. Air conditioning unit could use an update. But overall the staff, good and entertainment and selection of day trips were beyond perfect. We have been there 8 rimes
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A traveler from NC

Nice budget friendly family resort

Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Expedia
My only complaint was that you can't make reservations for the restaurants online ahead of time. When we got there and tried to make reservations, all the restaurants were booked until after we were leaving, as this was a short family vacation. It would make more sense to open each restaurant for reservations the day of (not days in advance) to make it fair for newly arriving guests. Needless to say we ate at the buffet everyday and the beach grill became our go to spot... we never got to eat at one of the 3 specialty restaurants.
4 out of 5
for Families
by A traveler from California

one of the Island's best

Posted Jul 4, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: The Hotel was so great that we spent the whole week right there
Wonderful vacation- entertainment was Excellent. Would not hesitate to go back to Sunset Beach.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Nice place for kids

Posted Jul 2, 2015 on Expedia
Pros: Staff was nice and helpful, water activities, Spa, Spa, Spa.....
Cons: Room was muggy
Location: Stay away from Margiritaville, there drinks suck also and you have to pay top dollar for them. Also avoid the Palm no authentic Jamaican food
During checked-in we were told there is a $250 fine for smoking in the room & balcony. Balcony! OMG I never heard of that. There are only 2 designated smoking areas in the entire resort. The drinks suck, they even water down the Juices. I stopped drinking alcohol because there was no liquor inside. The activities, lazy river, water slide, paddle boat, snorkeling ect. GREAT! But if you don't return your towel there is a $15 charge. All food must be consumed in the restaurants, no eating in your rooms, no room service.