4.1 out of 5

"The hotel exceeded my expectations! My husband and I took our 3 & 4 year old daughters. Check in was fast, and the staff was very friendly and accommo ... " More

By a verified traveler on Fri 10 Aug 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

4-star beachfront property near Green Grotto Caves

Beachfront retreat

Within 6 miles (10 km) of this property, you'll find Green Grotto Caves and Cardiff Hall Beach. Runaway Bay Beach and Puerto Seco Beach Park are also within 6 miles (10 km).


This all-inclusive property features a private beach, a golf course, and a full-service spa. Relax with sun loungers and beach umbrellas, and cool off with a drink at the beachside bar. There's fun for all ages with a free kid's club and an arcade/game room, and families will appreciate the onsite laundry facilities.

Free WiFi, flat-screen TVs

The 266 guestrooms have flat-screen TVs with cable channels and offer free WiFi and furnished balconies or patios. Minibars, room service, and coffee/tea makers are also available.

Premier Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
$346 per night

Suite, 1 Bedroom, View (Butler)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max


Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Junior Suite (Plunge Pool)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Junior Suite, Oceanfront

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Suite, 1 Bedroom, Oceanfront (Butler)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort All Inclusive ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.1 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort All Inclusive

Everyone (12)
5 out of 5
Absolutely a great hotel for families!! We took a family vacation with my daughter, son-in-law, 8 and 11 year old granddaughters and you couldn't ask for a better hotel for all of us. The water slide, pools, beach, bars and food had everything for everyone. Very clean and very very friendly staff that would do anything for you to make your stay comfortable. You just have to remember that you are on Island Time and it's fantastic. I would definitely go back.

Posted by on Jan 4, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 5, 2019 by Karja

Thank you for your feedback we are delighted that you chose to spend time with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

5 out of 5

Extremely clean and kid friendly

Pros: Kid friendly, clean, private beach
Cons: Food and drinks. Alcoholic Drinks were watered down. Food wasn't great.
Location: The beach was amazing. and great location
The hotel exceeded my expectations! My husband and I took our 3 & 4 year old daughters. Check in was fast, and the staff was very friendly and accommodating! The resort isn't too big nor too small, and perfect for families. The ocean view room was perfect, roomy and clean! The beach was beautiful, clean! The water park was amazing as well! All around an amazing stay! Would definitely recommend this resort! The food was alright but the buffet had lots of options.

Posted by , from Texas on Aug 10, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 11, 2018 by SheldonD

Thank you Jessica for sharing your experience and also for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I can assure you though that the drinks are not watered down. It has been a really hot summer and the ice in the drinks tend to melt very quickly.

3 out of 5

Room accommodations

Pros: Service staff was nice.
Cons: Rooms needed updating, better WiFi connection and food that you could recognize.
Location: The location is one hour from the airport and we were advised that it was not safe.
My family and I recently stayed at this resort from a Thursday to Sunday. The room I paid for was suppose to be ocean front view with 2 double beds. I arrived at the resort approximately 12:00pm. We were given access to the property and was suppose to be allowed to check in at 3:00pm. My room was not ready until 4 and when I arrived in my room, I was provided one king bed and a twin bed that was virtually a fold up cot. The room also had a horrible smell and we could only air it out with the doors open (air conditioner was automatically cut off when doors were open). The smell was so strong and horrible it made my daughter sick and she had to sleep in a family members' room until to smell improved 1 1/2 days later.When I asked for another room, they told me that they had no other rooms available and they could maybe give me another room on the next day (never happen). The WiFi connection was horrible and you could only pick it up in the smoking areas outside. The TV programming looked like poorly streamed recordings and the food was horrible; not to mention the bees living in the soda machines outside. Needless to say, I will not be choosing this resort on my next visit to Jamaica.

Posted by , from Florida on Jun 25, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 5, 2018 by SheldonD

That you Jennifer for your feedback and for staying with us. I do apologise for the error in your reservations. The hotel was built in the 1950s and the rooms do carry the authenticate tropical Jamaican furnitures. We however do our daily upkeep of the hotel. Wifi has an issue we have been continuously working on. It is definetly a hit or miss depending on the traffic usage but is more of a hit. The lobby wifi is often times then strongest. TV programs are streamed from the US and other countries. The bees do not live inside the soda machines since no hives were found there but they are attracted to the sugar. We would put a trap but that would mean less honey for the coffee station and the smoothies in the mornings. We hope you will change your mind and return to us so that we may make it up back to you.

3 out of 5
Booked an ocean view jr suite with double beds. We checked in after waiting for our room to be ready still waiting for our adjoining room to be ready. Open the door to a terrible smell of mold, only 1 king size bed for 4 of us. The view was 1/4 of the pool. Complained to staff they brought in 2 twin beds for our kids and told us we could pay an additional $80 a night for ocean view. We spent entire trip stepping over beds and not enjoying view. Our room issue was the worst part of our trip but spent most of trip out of room.

Posted by , from indiana on Jun 17, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 3, 2018 by SheldonD

Thank you for staying with us Brandie. I apologies for the issues you had and will forward to the management team.

5 out of 5

Respect Mon

Simply AMAZING!!! Completely satisfied experience from check-in to check out. The staff was authentic, courteous, friendly, attentive to our needs and helpful. The food and atmosphere was excellent. There was a variety of everything. The themed evening events are spectacular. There’s activities for all from the aquatrike, the water park, the 3 pools to those who just want to beach it out. We’d definitely will be back.

Posted by , from Pittsburgh,PA on May 3, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 8, 2018 by SheldonD

Thank you for staying with us and also for your feedback 832Boiz. We look forward to seeing you again.

1 out of 5

A two star hotel!

Do not be fooled by the description. This was a hotel that had a beautiful beach and that's it. Service terrible, drinks cheap if you didn't have to wait 5 minutes for a small plastic cup. Food very average. Dinner was good and staff was great at the dinner places. Not sure why night staff was happier than day staff. Under staffing at the swim up bars. Towels always empty. Front desk Absolutely zero help. I have never had this experience in Jamaica. Most of the time they are happy you are there. Not this resort. I am so disappointed with my stay. So thankful for the beach, great weather, and being with family. The Blue Hole was awesome, don't go through hotel on booking it. Also, if you are booking for water park they rent it out to local schools, so 3 out of the 6 days they had 150 kids in there so it was not very accessible for resort kids. To many kids for size of water park, and no security who is coming in and out. Beware of staying here. Dirty plates, towels, never anyone cleaning up throughout the day. Trash still on beach the night before and workers walking right by not picking it up. I'm a General Manager and even talked to the Manager and he wasn't concerned.

Posted by , from Midwest on Apr 8, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 10, 2017 by Scott

Dear guest, thank you for staying with us. I am so sorry that you did not get the free upgrade that you were looking for. There were not 150 kids every day. that the days that some local groups came in the occupancy was low that could accommodate them. I am sorry that you had a challenge with the local groups. I am sure that in the city you are from that you are allowed to go to a local hotel to dine or stay. We have persons to collect towels and servers to clear tables. Thank you for taking pictures of those areas before they were cleared. Once again I always tell my guests that if they want a particular view that it is best to book that view or room and not expect a free upgrade.

5 out of 5

Best Trip to Caribbean ever.

Pros: Everything was within comfortable walking distance.
Cons: Reservations were a little messed up.
Location: So much to do onsite we only did one excursion(Dunn's Falls).
Beach were clean with plenty of lawn chairs and pretty good snorkeling. Had four grandkids(8-16), 5 adults(22-42), 2 grandparents(64) and one Great grandparent(90) and it's hard to tell who had a better time. There was always something going on if you wanted to participate. Dining choices were many, varied , and tasty! Everything i've read on the quality and friendliness of the staff was true and perhaps even understated. Waterpark was clean and run professionally. Originally, i was little concerned about the Zika problem, but after being there 7 days no one got so much as a mosquito bite despite being outdoors 7 AM -Midnights daily.

Posted by , from Oak Lawn, IL on Jan 8, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 16, 2017 by Scott

Dear Jim, thank you for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay. I am glad to here that you enjoyed your stay.

1 out of 5

I'll stick to other countries

Cons: Lots. Food..you need Chefs and not cooks. Pull outs are not beds, you try sleeping on one of them..if you can walk in the morning. I
Location: Golf. Day trips same as any other vacation spot. Notice the barbed wire and locked establishments. Security guard posted at the beach.
Arrived after 80 min drive, disorganized, needs updating. Given a King size and a rock hard pullout for a Waterview that consisted of the pool. Moved to a Waterview of the WaterPark, next day for 3 adults. Food menu never changed in the other 5 restaurants. Same menu everyday. The buffet area always had flies buzzing around. If you love kids and want to take them, then it's great for families.(lots of activiites) be prepared to stand in line as there are no reservations. They love the cruise ship visitors,Wed and Sat they take over everything from towels, chairs, bars and food areas..you are treated as a second class citizen during that time. Most of the staff were friendly, a couple of hostess had attitudes. I have worked in a people environment for 28 plus years. The tourists very unfriendly. Last impression, sitting on a wet seat in the lobby waiting for the shuttle to pick us up and having them take 20 mins to find an iron to dry out my pants I will personally stick to Mexico where you are treated well. Occidental resort Player de Car and GR Solaris, Cancun. They should visit to see what quality they offer.

Posted by , from Colchester, CT on Jan 3, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 24, 2016 by Scott

Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you never brought any of this to our attention.

5 out of 5

A Jewel in Paradise. Wonderful Honeymoon.

Pros: Staff Food (especially Jamaica night) Beach Snorkeling Five Star Service Pools
Cons: Modernize the rooms a bit. Starting to look a bit dated. More variety in the music. Add a second hot tub.
My spouse and I just got back from Jewel Runaway Bay. We had a wonderful stay. The resort was amazing. The food was excellent and included a good mix of familiar favorites as well as a great taste of Jamaica. The resort was so close to the ocean you could hear the waves splashing while eating your meal. The water shimmered with aquamarine brilliance; it was so clear. A large coral reef rested just off the shore that you could swim to. Snorkeling the reef we saw dozens of varieties of fish (I even saw an octopus). The star attraction of Jewel Runaway Bay was the staff. The entire staff was so helpful and served us with huge smiles. Every meal we were waited on hand and foot. The resort was also very clean. The staff was always cleaning to keep the rooms, the bathrooms, pools, and even the sidewalks and walls spotless. My spouse and I had a massage from the spa. The massage was a slice of heaven. Highly recommended. My only complaints was the music. I enjoyed the Reggie music (especially the saxophonist) but the selection was limited. The prerecorded music played the same songs which quickly got old. Would have a loved a bit more variety in the music instead of hearing the same songs every day. The transportation to the resort and local attractions was great. Our only issue was the bus trip back to the airport. This was a smaller cramped bus. The air conditioning didn't work correctly and several people on the bus got motion sick. Would have liked the larger bus.

Posted by on Nov 2, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 5, 2015 by Scott

Dear guest, thank you for staying with us at JRB. We are actually in the process of repairing the second hot tub.

5 out of 5

"Could Not Have Chosen A Nicer Place In Jamaica"

Pros: The amenities, with such a wide variety of things to do and restaurants to eat at the hardest part of our trip was deciding were to eat and what to do
Cons: I would have to say more lights along some of the paths and walkways, it can get pretty dark at night when walking.
Location: I loved the location, but you do have to travel to see some of the sights. Dunn's River Falls is about 30 minutes away.
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach and Golf Resort was more than I imagined. The staff was friendly and always there to help, the grounds were well kept and the food fantastic. Everything from the pools to the glass bottom boats were excellent. I would highly recommend this resort.

Posted by , from Philadelphia, PA on Oct 8, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 5, 2015 by Scott

Dear Annette, thank you for staying with us at JRB. We have actually just purchased 120 new lamp poles and when they arrive we will be replacing the ones that are missing and changing out the others.

About the Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort All Inclusive

Location Main Street, Runaway Bay, Saint Ann

All-inclusive Details

This property is all-inclusive. Onsite food and beverages are included in the room price (some restrictions may apply).

Gratuities and taxes
Gratuities and taxes are included.

Food and beverages

  • All meals, snacks, and beverages included
  • Room service during certain hours
  • Meals and beverages at companion properties

Activities and facilities/equipment
All non-motorized water sports are included.

Water activities

  • Kayaking
  • Sailing
  • Snorkeling
  • Windsurfing

Land activities
  • Fitness facilities
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
  • Access to 18-hole golf course
  • Golf open for guests ages 18 years old and older
  • Golf green fees
  • Transportation to golf course

  • Aerobics
  • Water fitness

Kids' club

  • Supervised activities for children ages 18 years old and younger


  • Access to onsite clubs
  • Onsite live performances
  • Theme parties

Not included

  • Use of golf cart
  • Use of golf equipment
  • Motorized water sports
  • Scuba-diving certification
  • Scuba-diving excursions
  • Scuba-diving lessons
  • Snorkeling gear
  • Surcharge for bottled wine
  • Laundry/dry cleaning services
  • Spa/beauty facilities and services
  • Offsite tours
  • Transportation to offsite activities

  • Access to onsite clubs included
  • Kayaking included
  • Sailing included
  • Windsurfing included
  • Taxes included
  • Golf - minimum age restriction 18
  • Fitness facilities included
  • Tennis included
  • Water fitness classes/lessons included
  • Laundry/dry cleaning services not included
  • Volleyball included
  • Soccer (football) included
  • Scuba diving excursions not included
  • Scuba diving certification not included
  • Motorized water sports not included
  • All available beverages included
  • Use of golf equipment not included
  • Use of golf cart not included
  • Spa/beauty facilities and services not included
  • Transportation to offsite activities not included
  • Offsite tours not included
  • Golf included
  • Golf - number of holes 18
  • Golf - green fees included
  • Scuba diving lessons not included
  • Golf - transportation to golf course included
  • Snorkeling gear not included
  • Aerobics classes/lessons included
  • Gratuities included
  • All food and beverages included
  • Surcharge for bottled wine
  • Meals and drinks at companion properties included
  • Room service during certain hours
  • All non-motorized water sports included
  • Onsite live performances included
  • Theme parties included
  • Snorkeling included

Property Features

Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort All Inclusive is an all-inclusive property. Room rates include meals and beverages at onsite restaurants and bars. Other items and amenities, including taxes and gratuities, and access to recreational activities and entertainment may also be included. Additional charges may apply for meals at some restaurants, special dinners and dishes, certain beverages, and other amenities. Step outside to unwind on the white sand beach. Enjoy the umbrellas and sun loungers for a relaxing day at the beach. Summer fun is a breeze at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort All Inclusive, where you can play a round of golf at the golf course, cool off in one of the 3 outdoor swimming pools, and enjoy a treatment at the full-service spa. There are 7 restaurants on site. You can enjoy a drink at one of the bars, which include 6 bars/lounges, a beach bar, and a swim-up bar. This all-inclusive property also offers a complimentary children's club, outdoor tennis courts, and a spa tub. Self parking is free. This 4-star Runaway Bay property is smoke free.

  • 266 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • 4 buildings
  • 7 dining venues
  • 6 bars or lounges
  • Nightclub
  • Bar on the beach
  • Bar by the pool
  • Swim-up bar
  • Kid's club (free)
  • Supervised kid's activities (free)
  • Childcare (surcharge)
  • Beach lounge chairs
  • Towels for the beach
  • Umbrellas for the beach
  • Cabanas by the pool (surcharge)
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Conference space
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Game room or arcade
  • Garden
  • Gift shop
  • Beauty salon
  • Computer for guest use
  • Television in lobby
  • ATM
  • Onsite shopping
  • Bellhop
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Property
  • On private beach
  • Number of outdoor pools - 3
  • Supervised childcare/activities (free)
  • Free WiFi
  • Outdoor tennis courts - 4
  • Children's club (free)
  • Laundry facilities
  • Babysitting or childcare (surcharge)
  • In-room childcare (surcharge)
  • Arcade/game room


Available in all rooms: Free WiFi


Free self parking


  • Airport: Montego Bay (MBJ-Sir Donald Sangster Intl.) (71.4 km / 44.4 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort All Inclusive offers 266 air-conditioned accommodations with minibars and safes. Rooms open to furnished balconies or patios. Flat-screen televisions come with cable channels. Bathrooms include bathtubs or showers, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Additionally, rooms include coffee/tea makers and irons/ironing boards. A nightly turndown service is provided and housekeeping is offered daily. Amenities available on request include in-room massages.

  • Private balcony or patio (furnished)
  • Minibar
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Coffee maker
  • Bathtub or shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Nightly turndown service
  • Childcare in room (surcharge)
  • Massage in room (surcharge)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

Court Jesters - This restaurant specializes in Italian cuisine and serves lunch and dinner.

Late night fare is available from room service (during limited hours).

Nearby Activities

The majority of on-site recreational activities and facilities described below are included in the room rate for this resort (scroll up to the All-Inclusive details section for more information).

The resort offers 3 swimming pools and provides pool cabanas for a surcharge and also beach umbrellas. Scuba certification, lessons, and dive packages are available (surcharge.) We recommend bringing your own snorkel equipment.

Unlimited golf includes roundtrip transportation and green fees for the 72-par, 18-hole SuperClubs Golf Course, 0.25 miles (0.5 kilometers) away; lessons with a PGA-qualified golf pro; and use of the driving range. (Fees for a mandatory caddy, cart rental, and golf clubs are not included.) Guests are also provided tennis lessons and the use of 4 lighted tennis courts.

Scooter and moped rentals are available nearby. Guests can also participate in onsite fitness facilities, basketball, beach volleyball and yoga, and table tennis. Ecotours are available nearby. Guests can relax in hammocks and enjoy nature walks.

Other entertainment at the resort includes Bling! Nightclub, late-night Piano Bar, live Entertainment, and Theme nights and parties. Weekly entertainment includes Dive-In Movies and Dinner Under the Stars.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or near the hotel; fees may apply.

  • Snorkeling on site
  • Golf driving range on site
  • Golf lessons on site
  • Golfing on site
  • Tennis lessons on site
  • Mountain biking nearby
  • Beach volleyball on site
  • Volleyball on site
  • Kayaking on site
  • Skydiving nearby
  • Yoga classes/instruction on site
  • Ecotours nearby
  • Sailing on site
  • Fitness classes on site
  • Basketball on site
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby
  • Scooter/moped rentals nearby

Spa Services

  • Hot stone massage
  • Deep tissue massage
  • Spa tub in spa
  • Reflexology
  • Massages on beach
  • Manicures and pedicures
  • Body wraps
  • Body treatments
  • Body scrubs
  • Facial treatments
  • Aromatherapy treatments
  • Massages

Hotel Policies


  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18


  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.


  • Pets and service animals are not allowed at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort All Inclusive


Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit or credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available
  • No elevators
  • No pets or service animals allowed

Hotel Names

  • Jewel All Inclusive
  • Jewel Runaway Bay Beach Resort
  • Jewel Runaway Bay Beach Resort All Inclusive
  • Jewel Resort All Inclusive
  • Jewel Runaway Bay Beach
  • Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort Jamaica
  • Breezes Runaway Bay Resort And Golf Club
  • Jewel Runaway Bay Beach Golf Resort All Inclusive
  • Jewel Runaway Bay Beach All Inclusive
  • Jewel Runaway Bay Inclusive

You should know

  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
  • Pets and service animals are not allowed on site.