Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"The room was dirty, the door took forever to open with the card. The smoke detector was missing from the wall - exposed wires " More

By a verified traveler on Thu 07 Jan 2021

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Motel near Westfield Southlake Mall in Merrillville

Near the airport

Stay at this Merrillville motel and you'll be within 2 miles (3 km) of Westfield Southlake Mall and 6 miles (10 km) of Crown Point Sports Complex. Deep River Water Park is within 6 miles (10 km) and Lake County Fairgrounds is within 9 miles (15 km).

Round-the-clock service

This motel doesn't skimp on freebies - guests receive free WiFi and free self parking. Staff at the 24-hour front desk can provide around-the-clock assistance.

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible (Smoke Free)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$82* Per night/room Jul 6 - Jul 7

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed (Smoke Free)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Deluxe Room, 2 Double Beds (Smoke Free)

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible (Roll-In Shower, Smoke Free)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Superior Room, 1 King Bed (Smoke Free)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Red Roof Inn Merrillville ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
2.4 out of 5 2.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 0.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 2.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Red Roof Inn Merrillville

Everyone (1) Couples (3) Family (5)
1 out of 5
The property was to be a non smoking room, it smelled like weed had been smoked in there. The sheets where not clean, visible hairs and stuff - facial oils for n pillow cases. There was no mattress pad and the sheets looked as if someone had been sleeping in them already. The chair to the desk was definitely not new or looked new. The fabric was missing and the floors were not hard woods as claimed. The pictures don’t reflect what the rooms are like! Don’t be fooled! We were not the only ones complaining. When we arrived, a gentleman was there on his third room, this already threw red flags.

Posted by on Sep 29, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 1, 2021 by Hotel Manager.

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review. We are very sorry to read about the poor experience due to cleanliness issue during the stay. I have taken your comments and passed them on to our housekeeping department. We truly do work hard to provide an exceptional service and satisfactory stay. We urge you to give us another opportunity during your next visit. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.

2 out of 5
We booked and had confirmed a first floor suite but they only had 2nd floor.I am 75 yoa and have difficuly lugging heavy cases,knee problems.Although the young man kindly offered to lug our bags up to room not so upon leaving.The bath extractor was not working and bare wires hung from smoke detector.The microwave had wrong plate in it.Wont ever come back again

Posted by on Sep 22, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 23, 2021 by Hotel Manager

Dear VICTOR, Thank you very much for the feedback about your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear your experience with us was not what it should have been. I have taken your comments and passed them on to our concerned department as a whole. I can assure you the experience you had was not a normal occurrence. I know I cannot change your experience with us and for that I am sorry. I do want to thank you for staying with us and providing the feedback you did, no matter how hard it is to read. Sincerely Hotel Manager

1 out of 5
The room was horrible; it was to be non-smoking but we couldn't breathe for the stale smoke in the room. The bed sheets were not clean. The bed spread was full of cigarette burns, the only amenity was a small pack of tissues. There was a hole in the water closet door, the tub had hair in it. We had to get management to get smoke detector. Management had to twice call someone to electronically unlock our door so we could get in. There was no remote for the TV. I was scared to sleep there. We ended up checking out the next morning cutting short our stay. The clerk who checked us out said there would be no charge and the $50 deposit was to be refunded too. As of today, Monday 7/26 we do not show a refund on our credit card.

Posted by on Jul 26, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 27, 2021 by Hotel Manager

Dear Guest, It is highly regrettable that your stay with us was a huge disappointment. We are too concerned with the quality of the service, which you received, that was not acceptable at all. Please accept our sincerest apologies for all the inconvenience caused that you had to face. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

2 out of 5
Staff very friendly, facilities needs lots of work, especially in the bedding dept. Mattresses are like our fold out couch at our trailer. Could feel the springs. Flat pillows. Had "0" towels. Was able to get some though.

Posted by on Apr 23, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 22, 2021 by Hotel Manager

Dear Guest, Thanks for being a guest at our hotel for your stay. We regret that your stay did not turn out as per your expectation, except for the friendly staff. We are sorry that we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities & facilities you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues you encountered and ensure this is corrected. We hope you will consider staying with us again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

3 out of 5
The room was dirty, the door took forever to open with the card. The smoke detector was missing from the wall - exposed wires

Posted by on Jan 7, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5
Good but I payed and it took the money out of my account but then when I got there it didn’t accept or something

Posted by on Jul 16, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 22, 2020 by Steven Coster

Thank you for being our guest and sharing your concerns. My team and I appreciate the feedback and hope you allow us another to impress you on your future travels. Thank you, Steven Coster General Manager

5 out of 5
Clean, quite & professional customer service great coffee. What I didn't like was? They don't have a laundry area to wash clothes

Posted by on Dec 28, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 6, 2020 by Steven Coster

Thank you for being our guest and letting us know how great your stay was. It is our pleasure to provide a clean and comfortable nights stay for each of our guests. My team and I hope to see you again when your plans bring you back to Merrillville. Thank you, Steven Coster General Manager

4 out of 5

Quaint & Cozy, perfect for quick overnight stay!!

My husband and I were here for a quick overnight stay from Michigan. We are avid travelers and usually select 3-5 star hotels. But due to the short length of time and cost, we chose this one. By far, it is indeed the smallest room we've ever stayed in. But for the price, it turned out to be a nice and comfortable place to rest. However, without the renovations...I would definitely have NOT rated it at a 4, but given the price, we're gonna do it again this coming weekend! The room was clean and the staff was very friendly.

Posted by on Dec 31, 1999

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Red Roof Inn Merrillville

Location 8290 Georgia St, Merrillville, IN 46410

Property Features

As a guest of Red Roof Inn Merrillville, you'll find a vending machine, coffee/tea in a common area, and an ATM. Public spaces have free WiFi. Self parking is free. This Merrillville motel is smoke free.

  • 108 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • 2 buildings
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • ATM
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Microwave
  • Free cribs/infant beds

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Red Roof Inn Merrillville offers 108 air-conditioned accommodations, which are accessible via exterior corridors and feature safes and complimentary toiletries. Flat-screen televisions come with premium cable channels and pay movies. This Merrillville motel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones; local and long-distance calls are complimentary (restrictions may apply). Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Movies for purchase
  • Microwave
  • Cribs (free)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Long distance calls (free)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Exterior corridor access
  • Air conditioning
  • Ensuite bathroom

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Wheelchair accessible path of travel
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • In-room accessibility
  • Assistive listening devices available
  • Braille or raised signage
  • Wheelchair-accessible registration desk
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 3:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 21

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

This property allows guests 18 or over to check in with valid military ID.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11:00 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pet Policy

  • Pets are welcome and stay free
  • Maximum 2 per room (weight limit: 80 lbs)
  • Restrictions apply
  • For more information, you can reach out to the property at the number on the booking confirmation

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

Guests must contact this property in advance to reserve cribs/infant beds

This property accepts credit cards; cash is not accepted

Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property; the policies listed are provided by the property

Daily housekeeping is included for stays of 6 nights or less. Limited housekeeping is provided for stays of 7 nights or more.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property is managed by a professional host. The provision of housing is linked to their trade, business, or profession. Guests must contact this property in advance to reserve cribs/infant beds. This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover. Cash is not accepted. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; guests are provided with hand sanitizer. Contactless check-out is available. This property affirms that it adheres to the cleaning and disinfection practices of SafeStay (AHLA - USA).

  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Pets allowed (no fees)
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Property follows sanitization practices of SafeStay (AHLA - USA)
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • LGBTQ friendly
  • No elevators
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: USD 50 per accommodation, per stay

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Early check-in is available for a fee (subject to availability, amount varies)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Red Roof Inn Merrillville
  • Red Roof Inn Motel Merrillville
  • Red Roof Inn Merrillville Motel
  • Merrillville Red Roof Inn
  • Red Roof Inn Merrillville Motel
  • Red Roof Inn Merrillville Merrillville
  • Red Roof Inn Merrillville Motel Merrillville

You should know

  • To make arrangements for your pet, contact the property directly using the information on your booking confirmation.
  • This property welcomes guests of all sexual orientations and gender identities (LGBTQ friendly).
url importing http://www.travelocity.com/Merrillville-Hotels-Red-Roof-Inn-Merrillville.h4080-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Merrillville-Hotels-Red-Roof-Inn-Merrillville.h4080-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.travelocity.com/Merrillville-Hotels-Red-Roof-Inn-Merrillville.h4080-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.