Ratings based on 75 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Almost

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: see above
Cons: Better beds and pillows and lose the umbrella charge---the umbrella could not be worth more than $3-to add a $30 room charge seems unfriendly at best.
Location: perfect location restaurants off all types nearby and the same for shopping.
The hotel is perfectly located, charming and small-coffee available in the lounge each morning and a nice bar restaurant in the back. The hotel is bustling and thus there are a fair amount of people and luggage lingering in the lobby area throughout the day, which for me takes away from the aesthetic and charm of the hotel. The beds are hard as a brick and we woke up stiff and sore every morning. The shower which was not producing hot water when we first arrived, turned out to be a nice strong shower later on- though my husband 6'1" found the showerhead to be way too low and had to duck a fair amount to shampoo his hair. I asked for an umbrella the night before a rainy day---since the lobby is swarming with people not just checking in and out but just hanging around-I thought I would secure an umbrella and avoid standing in line the next morning. I was told by the women at the desk (who reluctantly gave me the umbrella) the night before that $30 would be charged to our room bill for the umbrella and only removed once it was retuned by the end of the day. I would not describe her as especially pleasant nor have I EVER experienced a charge for an umbrella while a guest in a hotel. All and all, would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from K. Florida

Can't go wrong

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Very comfortable room, coffee downstairs , umbrellas available, superb location, very capable staff, our second stay here.. Good value. Many restaurants, cafes, and shopping just minutes away.. A CTA pass and a Uber app on your phone is all you need to explore Chicago.
Comment from Hotel Management
by The Whitehall Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your response!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from New York

Great bed & location, clean & quiet room but dark

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: Location, bedding, cleanliness, quiet
Cons: Lighting was poor and view was terrible
Location: Near magnificent mile shopping and the Hancock tower.
We stayed in room 1213, which has a single, king size bed. The room is nicely furnished, but the décor is dark and lighting was limited. Keeping the window shades up for light wasn't a great option because the room opens to an air shaft and there are rooms directly opposite. On the bright side, the hotel is very nicely situated near magnificent mile shopping and a block from the Hancock tower. The bed and bedding were excellent and the room was very quiet. If you are looking for a clean, convenient place to sleep and you aren't planning to hang out in the hotel, this could be a good hotel choice for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Chicago

Very close to water tower area

Posted Jan 27, 2016
I saw this hotel from the secret hotel deals for $63/night, very good value for my money. I had no idea what this secret hotel will be like until I was done booking. Be careful because booking a secret hotel is not cancellable. This is a botique hotel so expect small lobby. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room is clean with good vintage interior design and has a decent size. My room has 2 connecting rooms, very convenient for families but I can hear conversations from the adjacent room. They have this automated mini bars, you have to call the receptionist to unlock the refrigerator if you like something from it. Unfortunately, I can't use it to store my yogurt but they sent an ice bucket instead . It is a short walk to the water tower area/magnificient mile from the hotel. The hotel has Chinese and Italian restaurant onsite. Chinese food was pretty good, has small portions. It's decent place to stay to relax at night after a busy day in the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Peachtree City, GA

Great hotel, great value, in the heart of the City

Posted Nov 20, 2015
The Whitehall Hotel took me by surprise, and exceeded my expectations. A quiet, but elegant North Lake hotel. Directly across the street from The Four Seasons. Walking distance to everything. My only issue was a distinct lack of outlets to plug in devices, a common issue in older buildings. Overall - a great choice in Chicago!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Cleveland Ohio

Amazing boutique hotel in best location

Posted Nov 9, 2015
The moment I arrived, l was greeted and taken care of as pleasant and professionally as any large 5 star hotel without the hoards of people. My room was spacious, elegant and pristine. Everything was within easy walking distance. I would definitely stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 23, 2015
Pros: Staff, room was quite comfortable & location.
Location: Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby.
The staff was really friendly and helpful. I enjoyed the location a lot. Only 1/2 block to Michigan Ave.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from MI

Not even trying

Posted Oct 8, 2015
Booked as 4 stars. Room had no fridge or microwave and ice had to be ordered from desk. Took 30 mins and 2 phone calls to get it. Used the gym, both machines were old and broken. Pictures online are deceiving...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A traveler from FL

Not the Talbot however comfortable.

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Staff tried to be very accommodating. The nice advantage was the computer access for confirming our plane reservations. That helped heaps. Bathroom was VERY small. Toilet issues however maintenance corrected. Clean however we thought expensive. Depending on what you expect. Again the staff really did make the difference. Great restaurants close by. Loved Didka's. Delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Chicago

Love the location and staff!

Posted Aug 21, 2015
We loved the Whitehall and will make it our Chicago hotel from now on. The staff, the valets, were top notch! The price was better than most and love the location. Coffee and internet were included, hard to beat!