Ratings based on 2,800 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Olympia, Wa

Long awaited Honeymoon

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Pros: Everything
Location: There is a wonderful mall, directly across the street from the hotel. You can do all your souvenir shopping there. Atm machines for cash.
Live Aqua was absolutely beautiful. We've been married for 2.5 years, and finally made the time to go on a honeymoon. I researched for about a month or more as many hotels as I could in cancun to assure that it would be top notch. I finally narrowed it down to 4 hotels and we picked live Aqua hotel. From the moment we stepped into the lobby, we were excited about being there. We had had a long day, hadn't eaten since 6 am that morning, no lunch and no dinner. The staff brought us something to drink and a cool wet cloth for us to wash our hands/ face, being that it was hot and humid and had traveled most of the day. When we went up to the room, it was cool, clean and what I expected. Not overly done but simple and perfect. We had the most amazing view of the whole hotel the pools, but especially the ocean. I saw the sunrise every morning and saw the cruise ships pass by. The food at the resturaunts, amazing! The staff was over the top kind, happy, hard working, and accommodating to our every need. The Hotel was gorgeous, clean, amazing, and adults only. No children running around splashing or crying, yelling and screaming, Just couples enjoying each others company and relaxing. We never wanted to leave our hotel, why would we? All inclusive, drink and food, service amazing and second to none. I recommend this hotel to everyone. My only suggestion is that you tip, tip, tip the staff. They work so hard and take care of all your needs In very hot weather.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Texas

Some inconsistencies, but overall a nice birthday!

Posted Dec 14, 2015
Pros: The beach, the staff and service.
Cons: The food. We didn't have good luck with what we selected either at the buffet or restaurants, other than I did enjoy the fresh omelettes.
Location: We didn't do anything except go across the street and check out the mall. The beach and pool were relaxing and we stayed there.
Many of the reviews raved about the food at this hotel, so I was really looking forward to it, but that was not our experience. The food was hit or miss. Best options at breakfast are the freshly made options, fruit, breads and cheeses. The other items on the bar that are under the heat lamps are dried out as if they have been there for days. As for restaurants, the first night we went to Hidden Garden. It was full of mosquitoes so we left there. We went to the Italian restaurant. They seated us in the dark, and I am not exaggerating. When I needed my phone flashlight to read the menu, I said this is enough. We left there and went to Azur. The food was not very good, left hungry and got some sushi. The meal we had at MB Restaurant was fantastic. The sushi station is good too, there just isn't really anywhere to sit so we took our food to our room. Having said that, the only other negative I can say is some issues with housekeeping, taking dirty items (towels, glasses) and not replacing them. They also took our aromatherapy oils. The rooms were clean, spacious and well appointed. The pool area is very nice. We had a deluxe ocean view in the middle on a low floor which was awesome. The beach is great and very clean. Staff is friendly and attentive. We rented a cabana two days which was fantastic as we could lounge and order food and drinks and it comes with a 20 minute foot massage. We would return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A traveler from Texas

Great beach, pool, and facilities.

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Pros: Great pools, drinks, and rooms.
Cons: If it's an all inclusive, don't have one restaurant that you have to pay extra. Keep change at the front desk. i don't want to attend a presentation.
Location: Delphinus....swim with the Dolphins...it was great!
We had a great time. The pool was wonderful...great service from Edgar! The room was comfortable and clean. The spa was great. Most of the food was good. We had a couple instances when we had poor service in the restaurants but overall had a good experience. The views from the room were fantastic. We would definitely visit again! Our only negative experiences were the couple times were forgotten at lunch and the additional charges for some meals. We paid for one lobster meal and it was horrible!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from ct

Wonderful stay at live aqua

Posted Nov 16, 2015
What a great hotel!!! No major complaints besides just asking to king bed but got two doubles. That was easily forgotten from the candles and rose petals to the champagne. The staff was excellent especially German however I must say the most exciting part of the trip was with estavan releasing the baby turtles that just hatched into the ocean. Live Aqua 5 stars!!! I would love to go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from CT

Great service, excellent food beautiful beaches

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Place was great. Relaxing spa atmosphere, great food, friendly service, and beautiful beaches. We went with a group of friends and had so much fun. Hotel has everything you don't ever have to leave.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Manassas, VA

Old hotel

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Expedia
DO NOT RELY on previous reviews and ratings. The hotel smells like public restroom and the hotel uses lots of diffuser to hide odor. I had to kill some cockroaches myself in the room. I hope they don't sneak into my bags...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful hotel close to the beach

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Expedia
I enjoyed staying at the resort because the food was really good in comparison to other hotels I've stayed at. My favorite restaurant was Azur for lunch and the little shack close to the beach. The Italian spot near Hidden Garden was good for dinner. The drinks were great! "Thank you" Manuel for making great drinks by the pool bar. Please see David if you want to learn to dance merengue, bachata, salsa! The nightlife and entertainment was sub par and the music selection they had at Egos was not great besides when they have the DJ on Tuesday and Thursday. They had 2 mock casinos which was fun and live band playing music by the pool near Azur which was great too. They have volleyball sessions at 11am and 3pm which was a good time to meet people. Overall my experience was amazing! The staff is great; they are friendly and attentive. They wait for you at the pool to make sure you have drinks readily available and take food orders too! There is also a shopping mall, with restaurants, shoppes, and an aquarium within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from CA

This is an absolute must stay!

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Expedia
You have to stay at this hotel if you're interested in a relaxing vacation. The whole time you're at Live Aqua you truly feel you're in a spa. From the moment you arrive and walk in you smell the eucalyptus in the air and the relaxing vibes. The staff is on point with everything. They're super polite and always there when you need them. The restaurants are all so so good. Way better then any other I've had in Mexico. I highly recommend MB that was our favorite restaurant. Ask for Ceasar to be your waiter you will not regret it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from los angeles

All around amazing hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Expedia
The hotel location, quality of food, and staff exceeded our expectations! There was always an activity or show since we were there over a holiday. Special events and activities during rainy days are also available. You will never be bored. It is close to a really nice mall, and a short ride from the crazy nightlife. We can't wait to come back and make this an annual trip!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from eagan,mn

Great hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Expedia
Absolutely loved our stay at Live Aqua! The staff was wonderful and so fun! The pools and beach were always clean and picked up. The restaurants were great the only minimal disappointment was breakfast buffet, there was so many other fabulous places to eat but no other selection for breakfast.