Enter dates to see availability

"Tyler made us feel welcome upon arriving! Check in was easy. The room was clean. We had some slight disappointments until we understood the working ... " More

By a verified traveler on Sun 17 Jul 2016

Hotel Description

Hotel near Sullivan Arena in Anchorage

Downtown Anchorage stay

You'll be steps from Anchorage Museum and within a 10-minute walk of SoNo District with a stay at this Downtown Anchorage hotel. The Rooftop and Alaska State Troopers Museum are also within half a mile (1 km).

Free breakfast

This hotel features an indoor pool and a fitness center. Business travelers can take advantage of the free WiFi in public areas. Enjoy the free on-the-go breakfast each morning.

Free WiFi, kitchens

The 90 guestrooms feature well-equipped kitchens with refrigerators, stovetops, and microwaves, as well as flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Free WiFi, phones, and ironing boards are also available. Housekeeping is available on request.

Studio, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
$95* Per night/room Sep 7 - Sep 8

Studio, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Deluxe Studio, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
2.6 out of 5 2.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 2.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 2.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown

Everyone (7) Couples (2) Family (3)
2 out of 5
Good location, company needs to invest more in caring for and properly staffing this property

Posted by on Aug 17, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 18, 2019 by Hotel Management

Thank you for your rating. We want every guest to have a pleasant experience, but we are sorry we fell short in some aspects. We hope to have another chance so we can deliver you a much better experience. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2 out of 5

Posted by on Jul 13, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
It was a little run down. A little dirty in the common areas. People were nice.

Posted by on Jul 12, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 25, 2019 by Hotel Management

Thank you for posting a review of your stay. We're glad to know you were pleased with the service provided by our associates, but we're sorry for the cleanliness issues you encountered while you were here. Please be assured that we have shared your feedback with our housekeeping team to see where we went wrong so necessary improvements to our processes can be made to correct our performance. We hope you will consider a return visit so we can make it up to you. Sincerely, Hotel Management

3 out of 5
The outside was well kept. The employees were nice and polite. The floors were horrible! It did not look like they ever vacuumed. Even on the day they were supposed to clean the room, they did not vacuum it. The fan on our A/C did not work. The cold air blew about only 5 inches from the vent. We told them about it the first morning. They sent some handy man and he could not fix it. He just set the thermostat on 50. It still did not help because the fan was not blowing. They said they could put us in another room but that A/C was doing the same thing. We asked the front desk about it a week later and she said she was trying to get the A/C guy there. We never saw him for 16 days. It got up to the 70s. We had to sign into their wifi every single day. TV channel list was wrong. They did not have channel AMC. Light over the stove did not work. We managed but will never stay there again.

Posted by on Jun 14, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 17, 2019 by Hotel Management

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are pleased to know you liked our associates, but we are sorry for the cleanliness and maintenance issue you encountered and regret our associates were unable to resolve the problem you had with the HVAC unit. We have taken note of your feedback and have shared it with the associates so that our future guests do not encounter a similar problem. We hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back in the future for a much better experience. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1 out of 5
Awful. The first room provided the mattress was half off the bed and a large stain was noted to the middle of the mattress. In the second room, the heat was broken and the room was very dirty. The floor was sticky, the mirror was missing from the wall, and many stains on the wall. I’ve stayed here before and it was ok but this was over the top disgusting. Will not be staying here again.

Posted by on May 5, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 6, 2019 by Hotel Management

We are truly sorry for the cleanliness issue you experienced in both of your rooms and regret the inconvenience it caused. Our housekeeping staff takes pride in what they do daily and we also have processes in place to double check each room prior to occupancy by the next guest. We fell short in our processes and are reviewing them so that this does not happen again. We are very sorry and hope you will consider staying with us again so that we can make it up to you. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1 out of 5

Posted by on Nov 24, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 25, 2018 by Hotel Management

First and foremost, we would like to offer you our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. We make every effort to be perfect, but sometimes we fall short. We hope you will consider giving us a chance in the future so we can provide you with the experience you should always expect from us. Sincerely, Hotel Management

3 out of 5
When checking in i wasnt told about "breakfast" or when checkout was. Or about the wifi The room was dirty. There was a booger In The window Refrigerator had Crums and hair in it. No soap or shampoo in the bathroom. Went to the front desk and tryed to get some but couldnt find who was working.When leaving in the morning there was a homeless man sleeping in the entry way.

Posted by on Oct 16, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 18, 2017 by Hotel Management

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Please accept our apology for the issue you experienced while here. We want every guest to have a comfortable experience, and regrettably, we did not succeed in your case. We will be working with the staff to make sure we don't repeat our mistakes. We hope you will give us a second chance to deliver the type of experience you should always expect from our hotel. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2 out of 5

The staff was nice but...

There was a lack of housekeeping staff so my room was only cleaned once in 3 weeks. The wifi was very slow or non-existent. I had to use my data to get any work done. Rooms were not very soundproof. I would not recommend this hotel chain for long term stays.

Posted by on May 17, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 19, 2017 by General Manager

Thank you for your feedback. Although you liked the service provided by our staff, we are sorry for the multiple issues you encountered while you were here and regret the inconvenience it caused. The condition you described is unacceptable and not at all representative of our quality standards. We are meeting with staff members to discuss this situation and reiterate the importance of impeccable customer service and attention to detail. We invite you to come back and validate the changes we will be implementing and to experience the stay you expect and deserve. Sincerely, General Manager

2 out of 5

So, So Hotel

Close to where we attended a convention, won't stay there again, the only thing we liked about staying there was the staff was very, very friendly and accommodating to the best of their ability. The staff made the hotel. Not too clean, grab and go breakfast sucked, no grocery store or breakfast place close by.

Posted by , from YELM, WA on Aug 11, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Alaska get away

Tyler made us feel welcome upon arriving! Check in was easy. The room was clean. We had some slight disappointments until we understood the workings of an extended stay hotel. (Rooms aren't made up each day, clean towels can be changed out at the front desk, kitchen supplies need to be asked for) but once we understood, the place was perfect. We didn't travel to Alaska to stay in our room. We were there for very limited amounts of time, and this place was perfect for that. Parking was convenient right next to the hotel. Everything was quiet. While we didn't use it, the pool seemed popular with the kids. Internet is offered free, but again, we weren't there long enough to use it. Great location. Friendly staff. Thanks for making our Alaska vacation memorable!

Posted by on Jul 17, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown

Location 108 E 8th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501

Property Features

Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown offers its guests an indoor pool and a fitness center. Public spaces have free WiFi. Free breakfast is served daily. The business-friendly Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown also features a fireplace in the lobby, laundry facilities, and a safe deposit box at the front desk. Limited parking is available for a fee and is offered on a first-come, first-served basis. This Anchorage hotel is smoke free.

  • 90 guestrooms or units
  • 4 levels
  • Built in 2003
  • To-go breakfast (free)
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Front-desk safe
  • Fireplace in lobby
  • Television in lobby
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Indoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Kitchen
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Self parking (surcharge) , Parking (limited spaces)

Transport

  • Airport: Anchorage, AK (ANC-Ted Stevens Anchorage Intl.) (10.2 km / 6.3 mi)
  • Train station: Anchorage Alaska Railroad Depot (1.5 km / 0.9 mi)
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown offers 90 air-conditioned accommodations with irons/ironing boards and complimentary toiletries. Flat-screen televisions come with premium cable channels. Kitchens offer refrigerators, stovetops, microwaves, and cookware/dishes/utensils. Rooms have partially open bathrooms. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations. This Anchorage hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Housekeeping is provided on request.

  • Bathrooms are partially open
  • In-room kitchen
  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Kitchenware
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Housekeeping (on request)
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Air conditioning

Food & Drink

Guests are served free on-the-go breakfast daily from 6 AM to 9:30 AM.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include an indoor pool and a fitness center.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Hiking/biking trails nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Special check-in instructions:

This property accepts credit cards only for all bookings where payment for the stay will be made on site instead of at the time of booking, and for all onsite purchases. Cash is not accepted. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pets

  • Pets: USD 25 per pet, per day (maximum USD 150 per stay)
  • Only dogs and cats are allowed
  • Maximum 2 per room
  • Restrictions apply
  • For more information, you can reach out to the property at the number on the booking confirmation

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • Service animals exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Self parking fee: USD 10 per stay
  • Pet fee: USD 25 per pet, per day (maximum USD 150 per stay)
  • Weekly housekeeping provided; additional cleaning fee: USD 10.00 per day

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Extended Stay America Anchorage Downtown
  • Extended Stay America Hotel Anchorage Downtown
  • Anchorage Extended Stay
  • Extended Stay Anchorage
  • Extended Stay Deluxe Anchorage - Downtown Hotel Anchorage
  • Extended Stay America Anchorage Downtown Aparthotel
  • Extended Stay America Anchorage Downtown Hotel
  • Extend Stay America Anchorage

You should know

  • Pool access available from 9 AM to 10 PM.
  • To make arrangements to bring your pet, contact the property directly at the number on your booking confirmation (please see the Fees section for related charges).
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.