Ratings based on 113 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Peotone, IL

Wonderful location right on Embarcadaro!

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: Location, balconies & shuttle.
Cons: Heat & def Wifi speed!
Location: Cruise Terminal, Maratime Museum & USS Midway
All rooms have balcony or patio, a nice plus. I have stayed here many times over the years since it was a Holiday Inn many years ago. In the last year I have stayed about six times. It seems as if Tower III is a stepchild of sorts. Parked in the garage to find the elevator not working so had to schlep my bags down the ramp. The Wifi is anything but high speed. Dial up would put the service to shame and it is pretty much useless. Tried to call the customer service and gave up after a half hour on hold. Upon arrival I was early and told I could have a room in Tower III but the heat wasn't working. Of course I opted to wait for a room with heat. Several hours later my room was ready ..... in Tower III! I asked if the heat worked now and was assured it did. I unpacked. Did some work and took a nap. Woke to a freezing room! Called and old them I was going out to eat and could they fix the heat? Was told the heat is on a motion sensor. Stayed back moved around for a while. Still no heat. I called back and they said someone would come and fix it. Upon my return I assumed it was repaired. Moved around in the room for a while .... no heat kicking on! I was too tired to continue to deal with the problem so bundle up with several layers of clothes an doff to bed! Nice facility but if you can try to avoid staying in Tower III as it seems the facility doesn't have as much interest in maintaining this part of the property or caring for the guest they stick there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from CO

All around great!

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: The staff was great, very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and quiet with a city view. And the location was perfect for us.
Cons: Breakfast was not included, there is a restaurant on site. But, you do get a one time discount to a nearby deli that was fantastic.
Location: Perfect location, walking distance to many activities, transportation and restaurants was under a mile, most less than 10 minutes away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from California

Confused

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: I loved the balcony and view of the bay. We watched the sailboats in the harbor.
Cons: They have a card/key system. It is used to get into everything BUT they have no explanation of how to use it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

Very Beautiful View

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: It was solid and great location.
Cons: That the room had full size beds instead of queens. The walls were thin an we had loud neighbors.
Location: Little Italy is a couple blocks away. Wonderful walking area with a park and next to the water. Very beautiful.
The hotel was solid. The only drop back is the walls were a bit thin and we had younger guest next to our room who were loud and up late. With the hotel being a bit older I don't believe it had the best sound proofing. Other then that great location and beautiful view.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from LV, NV

Where to begin?

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Security.
Cons: See above experience.
Location: The Midway was awesome, Little Italy was a great walk and the food was excellent.
Arrival and check in was pleasant. The hotel security was impressive. Then the room! With taxes and fees two nights came to almost $500. Parking was $29 per night, the room was small, a small refrigerator was $10 per day but they were out of them and the bathroom exited directly to the room which afforded minimal privacy due to it being a sliding door which left a .5" gap at the sides and bottom. There was no exhaust fan which rendered the mirror useless. Also it is not "bayside" but across the street. I will never stay there or any Windham property again.
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Desperately needs updating

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Update and advise guests of noise along front of hotel . Also walk to Tower 3 is less than acceptable
Very dated and both Tower 1 and 3 are very noisy at the lower levels!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from S

Great Location

Posted Aug 11, 2016
When staying at the Wyndham Bayside I highly recommend the " Bay View" rooms, they have large balconies overlooking the bay. The staff is pleasant , the airport shuttle is convenient and free. The above mentioned balconies are not very private your neighbors are very close and no privacy screens or panels on the balcony. The only drawback for me is that the Wyndham charges $10 per day if you want a refridgerator,, no fridges in rooms. Everything else about this hotel I enjoyed and would recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from San Francisco, CA

Great stay and awesome location!!

Posted Jul 22, 2016
We had full use of all amenities. Too bad there was not a hot tub for unwinding and relaxing after walking around all day. There's a Ruth Chris steakhouse right next door and an upcoming Claim Jumpers to be part of the hotel. The hotel is walking distance to all the touristy attractions at the pier and seaport village, the SD convention center and Petco Park (the farthest but still only roughly 1.5 miles away). We used Uber all around town and never waited more than 3 mins for a ride.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from NY

Would definitely stay again

Posted Jul 4, 2016
The hotel was very nice, the bed was very comfortable. So close to a lot of attraction. My husband and I walked to the gas lamp district and went to house of blues. Our stay was awesome! Balboa park was really nice but museum there were over priced and not as good. Specifically the museum of natural history. It was more for kids. Not enough for adults
1 out of 5
by A traveler

Very disappointed

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: looked nice
Cons: Staff, parking, information, AC
Location: San Diego is very nice with lots to do
This was a very disappointing stay for a hotel that should have been high end. From the start this stay was a problem as parking was ill defined and we had to call the front desk to figure out how to park and then only after we had parked did they note a valet service. Then we were charged for parking without being told until after the fact. The room was small but well appointed, but the Air conditioning was broken and we suffered through the night, only to be grouched at in the morning for not calling maintenance. Additionally they had unusual keycard readers including for the elevators with no directions, in order to getup the elevator, a guest had to show us the specifics of using the card. All in all a very unhappy stay, and we will never return to this hotel, and possibly to any other Wyndham hotel as well.