Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"Building we where in needs some updating. " More

By a verified traveler on Sun 19 Sep 2021

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Enjoy the free airport shuttle at this Anchorage motel

In Anchorage

You'll find Lake Hood Harbor and DeLong Lake Park within 2 miles (3 km) of this motel. Pop Carr Park and Alaska Aviation Heritage Museum are also within 3 miles (5 km).

Free perks

This motel doesn't skimp on freebies - guests receive free continental breakfast, free self parking, and a free airport shuttle. Traveling on business? Take advantage of the 24-hour business center and free WiFi in public areas. There's a gym on site, and a 24-hour front desk and a fireplace in the lobby are also provided.

Flat-screen TVs, refrigerators

Featuring conveniences like refrigerators and microwaves, the 85 guestrooms also offer coffee/tea makers and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Other amenities include free local calls, hair dryers, and ironing boards.

Annex, 1 Queen Bed

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$84* Per night/room Oct 17 - Oct 18

Deluxe, 1 Queen Bed

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Annex, 2 Queen Beds

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Deluxe Suite, 2 Queen Beds

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 7 Max

Moderate, 2 Queen Beds

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Deluxe, 2 Queen Beds

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Puffin Inn of Anchorage ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.5 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Puffin Inn of Anchorage

Everyone (27) Couples (6) Family (11)
4 out of 5
Building we where in needs some updating.

Posted by on Sep 19, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 20, 2021 by Taz

Hello Daryl, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your stay at our establishment. We hope to see you on your next trip to Anchorage. Have a wonderful day.

3 out of 5
The sheets on the bed were badly stained

Posted by on Sep 13, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 14, 2021 by Amber

I am very sorry you had this experience, we have new sheets for the entire property and our housekeepers are supposed to throw away any stained sheets. We do have new staff so I will be sure they are aware of this rule.

5 out of 5
Pricey

Posted by on Aug 31, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 31, 2021 by Amber

Thank you for your feedback. We ae actually priced lower hen alot of the properties in our area.

3 out of 5
Beds were not made properly top sheet was above the blanket and below the bed spread it

Posted by on Aug 20, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 20, 2021 by Taz

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your stay with us. We have addressed this issue with our new hire and it has been fixed. We appreciate your business and hope you have a great day.

4 out of 5
Very pleasant and helped us 6 people with storage of luggage for a few hours. Helped us connect with a taxi to do grocery shopping. We rented an RV and it was not ready until the next day so we had a lot of baggage. Spent the 1st night with them and then our last night. Great location with the airport so close. Over and above to accommodate all of us.

Posted by on Aug 18, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 18, 2021 by Amber

Thank you so much for your feedback1 We are very happy we could accommodate your needs and hope you stay with us again on your future visit.

3 out of 5
Good location near airport, but run down and not maintained. Moved a lamp and discovered no plate cover on outlet. Shower poor repaired. Not what I expected based on stars.

Posted by on Aug 12, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 13, 2021 by Taz

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your stay with us. Could you please let us know what room you were staying in so we can address the outlet issue. We apprentice your business and hope you have a great day.

2 out of 5
Cons: carpet dirty, bathroom door hanging at an angle and very squeaky, pretty much was a dive. Pros: The sheets were clean and fresh which was nice.

Posted by on Aug 3, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 4, 2021 by Taz

Hello, Thank you for taking your time to rate and review your stay. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy staying with us. We appreciate your business. Have a wonderful day.

2 out of 5
Had to stay in the Annex Bldg

Posted by on Aug 2, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 2, 2021 by Taz

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your stay. We appreciate your business and hope you have a great day.

3 out of 5
Biggest problem - our shower did not have hot water. I told the woman at the front desk when I was checking out and her reply was “That’s weird.” No apology. When we checked in - at midnight after having traveled all day - the woman informed us we would be staying in the annex in the third floor. I asked her if there was any other option since my husband had a back injury, we had luggage, and a 5-year-old in tow. She just gave a blank stare back. The gentleman also working up front kindly helped us carry our luggage down the street and up the three flight of stairs (no elevator), and I’m glad he did because our key card didn’t work, so he had to go back and get us another one.

Posted by on Jul 29, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 30, 2021 by Amber

I am very sorry you had this experience, if we have the availability we will always try our hardest to accommodate our guests the best we can. The hot water issue could have been resolved right away if you called before check out, I am again very sorry you had this experience.

4 out of 5
Fast airport pick up. Friendly and helpful staff. We were in the Annex building which has no elevators, so be prepared to go up 2 flights of stairs. Plus there is no soap provided (no hand soap, no shampoo, none...). Overall, it was what we paid for.

Posted by on Jul 28, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 28, 2021 by Amber

Thank you for your feedback!

About the Puffin Inn of Anchorage

Location 4400 Spenard Rd, Anchorage, AK 99517

Property Features

A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. There's an onsite 24-hour business center. Free breakfast is available daily. A roundtrip airport shuttle is free (available 24 hours). A fitness center, gift shops/newsstands, and coffee/tea in a common area are also featured at the business-friendly Puffin Inn of Anchorage. Free self parking is available. This Anchorage motel is smoke free.

  • 85 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • 5 buildings
  • Continental breakfast (free)
  • Business center (24 hours)
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Gift shop
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Fireplace in lobby
  • ATM
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Train station: Anchorage Alaska Railroad Depot (6.7 km / 4.2 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Free airport shuttle
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Puffin Inn of Anchorage offers 85 air-conditioned accommodations with coffee/tea makers and hair dryers. Guests can make use of the in-room refrigerators and microwaves. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations and complimentary toiletries. Flat-screen televisions come with premium cable channels. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones; free local calls are provided (restrictions may apply). Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and blackout drapes/curtains. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cribs (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Air conditioning
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

Guests are served free continental breakfast daily from 5 AM to 9 AM.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the motel include a fitness center.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Mountain biking nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby
  • Snowshoeing nearby
  • Cross-country skiing nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Braille or raised signage
  • Wheelchair accessible path of travel
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 2:30 AM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 21

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 10.0 per night.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available for USD 10.0 per night.

Pet Policy

  • Pets: USD 25.00 per pet, per day (maximum USD 200 per stay), plus a deposit of USD 250.00 per stay
  • Service animals are exempt from fees

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation

This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, and Diners Club; cash is not accepted

Noise-free guestrooms cannot be guaranteed

Safety features at this property include a smoke detector

Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property; the policies listed are provided by the property

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation. This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, and Diners Club. Cash is not accepted. Noise-free guestrooms cannot be guaranteed.

For guests' safety, the property includes a smoke detector in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Contactless check-out is available. Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast.

  • Noise-free rooms not guaranteed
  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Staff temperature checks are not conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are not available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff does not wear personal protective equipment
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Protective clothing is not available to guests
  • No shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Property does not follow sanitization practices of any association
  • Staffed front desk
  • Guests are not provided with hand sanitizer
  • Social distancing measures are not in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • No elevators
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast
  • No gap period between guest stays

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: USD 250.00 per accommodation, per stay

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Pet deposit: USD 250.00 per stay
  • Pet fee: USD 25.00 per pet, per day (maximum USD 200 per stay)
  • Service animals are exempt from fees
  • Crib (infant bed) fee: USD 10.0 per night
  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 10.0 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Puffin Anchorage
  • Puffin Inn
  • Puffin Inn Anchorage
  • Puffin Hotel Anchorage
  • Puffin Inn of Anchorage Motel
  • Puffin Inn of Anchorage Anchorage
  • Puffin Inn of Anchorage Motel Anchorage

You should know

  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
url importing http://www.travelocity.com/Anchorage-Hotels-Puffin-Inn-of-Anchorage.h50350-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Anchorage-Hotels-Puffin-Inn-of-Anchorage.h50350-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.travelocity.com/Anchorage-Hotels-Puffin-Inn-of-Anchorage.h50350-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.