Ratings based on 12 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.8 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Long Island, NY

Very good experience staying in this hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2016
I recommend this hotel very good location and the service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2016 by Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Inti, Thank you for sharing your experience. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Dayton

Business Center Had No Functioning Printer

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: Room was perfectly acceptable. Clean room, clean bed, bathroom plumbing worked with no issues, continental breakfast met standards.
Cons: Install the printer next to the business center computer on the business center computer. IF this is not feasible, buy new printer.
Location: Bethesda MD has become an upscale artsy area.
My complaint is specific. The business center printer was not installed on the business center computer. In 2016, we have smartphones or laptops or tablets for most computer needs. The only reason to have a business center is for a guest to print something (like a boarding pass). The workaround the clerk offered was to email the boarding pass to his personal email, so that he could print it at the front desk.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Sales, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you for your feedback. The business center poses a constant challenge as access is not restricted. It is good to know that you were able to work with guest services and find a suitable solution.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Small hotel perfectly located in Bethesda

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: location, friendly accommodating staff, great Tex Mex restaurant attached to hotel.
Cons: breakfast room closed early
Location: 10 minutes from the Metro and the NIH.
I enjoy the American Inn because it is small, friendly, quirky, and very close to both the NIH and the Metro. Although an older hotel with consistent quirks, I feel at home there because of the friendliness of the staff. The rates are reasonable for Bethesda. The breakfast room is pleasant with the basics, bagels, waffles, coffee, and fruit.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Do Not Stay Here

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: the front desk staff were friendly
Cons: almost everything. Heater is loud, water is cold, view is awful and the room is tiny.
Location: Several restaurants and Metro is nearby to get you everywhere in town.
The room is the less that 200 square feet and that includes the bathroom. You cannot move in this room with anyone else in the room. We never had hat water in the sink. Shower was tepid the the first day and after we asked someone to look into the water temperature the shower was warm... it never got to hot. I asked about it again the morning of day three and was told "there have not been any complaints regarding the hot water." apparently my stopping by the front desk and asking that it be fixed was not a complaint. The chair(at the desk) was so warn you felt like you were going to be thrown over the back. When someone was seated in that chair you had to walk across the bed or the person had to get up and push the chair in. Walls are paper thin and you can hear everything all night long. View from the window was straight into the apartments next door and a roof covered with material. The heater kept the room warm but was so loud it woke you up regularly throughout the night. This is a nice are of town with several restaurants and hotels... make another choice and stay otherwise.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from V

Charge twice for the room.

Posted Sep 20, 2015
Not good I had to pay for the room again when I got there
2 out of 5
by A traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2015
We had to park in a public parking lot across the street. The continental breakfast is only toast, waffles, orange juice and beagles.Are air conditioner made a terrible sound when it was on. The staff isn't bad but I would not recommend this hotel do to the facilities .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Darryl Calloway, Hotel Management
I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We are always working to improve our offerings and it is our goal to set reasonable expectation regarding our service and amenities for all of our guests. I apologize for the problems you experienced and assure you that we will use your comments to improve.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Raleigh, NC

Don't pass this up!

Posted Mar 30, 2015
My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel; the room itself was extremely comfortable and we even took advantage of the fitness room located in the garage! We will definitely book again next time we're in the area!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2015 by Darryl, Hotel Management
I'm glad to hear that you made full use of our facilities. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.
5 out of 5
by misphyt from Birmingham, AL

Room for improvement, but overall great!

Posted Jun 26, 2011
Pros: Free breakfast, Close restaurants, Free Internet, Quiet, lots of character, great staff
I stayed in an "oversize" double Annex room and it was terrific! The hotel is older and could use some TLC, but the room itself was clean, charming, and well appointed. Lots of natural light (4 windows!), nice furnishings, really nice beds and linens, A+ pillows & plenty of them, big closet with full-length mirror, minifridge, LCD TV, internet, nice pool... I live in an old house so I felt right at home. Of course it's not everyone's style, but the character of both room and staff more than made up for minor shortcomings (e.g., no exhaust fan in bathroom). The staff were consistently pleasant and accommodating - even checked my bag so I could walk the city and hang out by the pool (AFTER I'd checked out) 'cause I had time to kill before my flight home. Overall just a great experience.
5 out of 5
by A traveler

Overall very good value- great location

Posted Feb 22, 2011
For those needing easy access to major medical centers like NIH or Bethesda Naval, it doesn't get any better..it's literally within walking distance. I also like there's a 7-11 within walking distance so you don't need to go to a 4-star restaurant for a meal--- but you could. My only complaint this trip is the faucet handle for the shower was very loose and it took me quite a while to "play" with it the right way to get hot water. The rooms are small-- but for people like me it's just a place to rest your head---so it's fine. Front desk staff were pre-occupied but were certainly pleasant enough.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Comfortable and affordable

Posted Nov 27, 2010
This was a very good value. The room I had was small but very comfortable. The location was very close to public transportation and the area felt safe and there were restaurants and stores within walking distance. The "business center" consisted of one computer and printer but here never seemed to be a line to use it. I appreciated the free breakfast as well. I drove and the parking was free too. There are a limited number of spots but I was there during the week and didnt have a problem getting a spot. I would stay again.