Ratings based on 934 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Long Island, NY

Very good experience staying in this hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2016
I recommend this hotel very good location and the service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2016 by Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Inti, Thank you for sharing your experience. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from Dayton

Business Center Had No Functioning Printer

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: Room was perfectly acceptable. Clean room, clean bed, bathroom plumbing worked with no issues, continental breakfast met standards.
Cons: Install the printer next to the business center computer on the business center computer. IF this is not feasible, buy new printer.
Location: Bethesda MD has become an upscale artsy area.
My complaint is specific. The business center printer was not installed on the business center computer. In 2016, we have smartphones or laptops or tablets for most computer needs. The only reason to have a business center is for a guest to print something (like a boarding pass). The workaround the clerk offered was to email the boarding pass to his personal email, so that he could print it at the front desk.
5 out of 5
by A traveler from Reno, NV

Business Travel to Bethesda, MD

Posted May 1, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Clean.
Cons: Some building upgrades would help as the hotel is older but well kept.
Location: Location is good. Close to restaurants. CVS RX close by. Hospitals close by if needed.
Very please with America Inn. Room was clean. Had issue with water pressure in shower. Reported issue. The hotel maintenance replaced the shower promptly. Problem resolved. The hotel shuttle service was very good and prompted. Hotel close to multiple restaurant and convenience stores to purchase a few items needed. Breakfast offered in restaurant connected to the hotel was sufficient with typical breakfast items at no cost to the guests.
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Small hotel perfectly located in Bethesda

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: location, friendly accommodating staff, great Tex Mex restaurant attached to hotel.
Cons: breakfast room closed early
Location: 10 minutes from the Metro and the NIH.
I enjoy the American Inn because it is small, friendly, quirky, and very close to both the NIH and the Metro. Although an older hotel with consistent quirks, I feel at home there because of the friendliness of the staff. The rates are reasonable for Bethesda. The breakfast room is pleasant with the basics, bagels, waffles, coffee, and fruit.
5 out of 5
by Marjorie from Brooklyn, NY

Great place to stay.

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
Always a pleasant welcome. We stay here 5-6 times a year. They treat us like family. Great handicapped room with roll in shower. VERY NICE STAFF. Maid even remembers we like extra towels. Breakfast staff very helpful. Even Front Desk staff, Manager and Assistant remember us.
5 out of 5
by Naveen from Miami

great location with good comfort

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
Nice location and neighborhoods with cozy rooms. Grill was on walking distance with a less traffic drive to the capital
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Georgia

Convenient location to NIH

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Expedia
Ok place. Small parking area with few overflow options
4 out of 5
by A traveler

Very good and comfortable

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
Very good and comfortable
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Surprise AZ

Convinent to the Metro.

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Expedia
Pros: Walking distance to Metro.
Cons: Enclose pool.
Location: Nothing to do near by. Lots of small sandwich restaurants.
Room was very small. Two out of seven days they did not replace the wash clothes. Guaapos Restaurant was excellent.
3 out of 5
by A traveler

Convenient location to metrorail

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Expedia
Cons: The hotel needs serious updating.
The hotel is actually a 2-star hotel, not a 3-star hotel and you can tell. It's very old and occasionally smells. The beds are uncomfortable and the bathrooms outdated. However, if you're looking to see DC on a budget, this is the place for you. There's a free weekday shuttle, which conveniently takes you to the train station (its also only a 10-15 minute walk). From there you'll be in the city within 20-30 minutes. There are also tons of great places around the hotel including Peets cafe, &Pizza, and Max Brenner chocolate house. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, even helping us get checked in earlier.