Ratings based on 23 Guest Reviews

Hear it directly from our travelers
3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
TRAVELOCITY GUEST REVIEWS
Hear it directly from our travelers
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Maui, HI

Checked out of here risking not having a hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: That I was able to get some refund.
Cons: The smell. The suspicious activity in the back area Gates to get on and off property. Remodel rooms.
I tried to give this place the benefit of the doubt even though I read through the reviews. I've usually never relied on reviews because half would describe awesome, and the other half terrible If you are searching for a budget friendly hotel as I did, please, just spend the extra money for a better hotel and save yourself the headache I went through. Previous reviews were very right about the suspicious activity that goes on behind the hotel. They were also right about the weird smell when you first enter the property. The room was not only outdated, but there were mosquitoes in the room and the sheets did not feel clean. You know that sticky feeling sheets start get when you sleep in them without washing for so long; Yes, that feeling. Security was called to a room as we were checking in which did not feel so pleasant. My friend and I really wanted to get dinner, but we were so afraid to leave the room at the sole fact we'd have to return there after dark. We decided the best thing to do was check out of the hotel at the risk of not having a place to stay that night. That says a lot right there. We did pay for that one night which is fine; I am not totally unreasonable. And I was glad that they refunded us for the nights we were not going to be staying there.
3 out of 5
by A traveler from Jersey Shore

Pleasant staff, but hotel shows the years.

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Clean.
Cons: Needs major renovation and updating.
Location: 2 exits south of La Jolla, Miramar Road and MCAS Miramar.
Hotel is showing its age. Rooms were clean, but mattresses are saggy. When was the last time you stayed in a room where the door locked with a real metal key? The front half of the building may be quieter, but we stayed in the back half which surrounds the pool. Kids are kids and they are noisy. Closing doors are noisy as well. At first I was relieved to see the fully SWAT armed guard, but then I felt uncomfortable that the hotel needed that level of protection (nice Glock). Locked steel gates lead to the parking lot. It is located on the edge of a neighborhood that my daughter said reminded her of Mexico (yes, she has been there). Continental breakfast was disappointing. Coffee was good. I applaud the efforts of the staff who were pleasant and helpful. If you need economical lodging, this works. It is just a basic bed and bath hotel.
2 out of 5
by A traveler from utah

Our stay

Posted Aug 11, 2015
For the price it was ok. it was in a central area, however the beds were very uncomfortable, the drawers in the kitchen area were all broke and he lights took a while to come on, had to bend over in the shower because the shower head was lower then ther person taking shower. The cleaning staff were very loud in the morning I know they have lots of rooms to clean but when it is 7 am and they are yelling and slamming the doors it's rude!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

You get what you pay for.

Posted Aug 1, 2015
I wanted a somewhat cheap hotel for a weekend stay with friends. This hotel is what you would expect, not super fancy rooms, somewhat uncomfortable beds, but overall clean and nice staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Like a studio apartment in the heart of San Diego

Posted Jul 6, 2015
This hotel for the bill for me. Clean, comfy, and safe. Nice pool and spa area too. Lots of shopping and restaurants just down the street, making it very convenient too. Also right by the interstate, making travelling easy for an out of towner like me enjoying a little beach getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from California

Nice hotel and friendly staff

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: Close to a lot of shopping and restaurants. The hotel was about 15 minutes from the beach which was very convenient.
The hotel was clean. I liked that they offered a continental breakfast. I liked the fact that the internet was free, The staff were friendly and helpful when I had questions or even just passing by. One thing that would of helped was the room had a two burner stove in it but no pans to cook with.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler from Sullivan, Mo

Fabulous

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: N/A
Location: Location was great for me since my only destination was Miramar.
I was very impressed and completely satisfied with this hotel. Guest services very nice, housekeeping and maintenance amazing, beautiful hotel. I felt safe with the locked gates they have and even though the parking lot was full, it was very quiet, I slept great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A traveler

nice but

Posted Apr 19, 2015
it's a nice hotel but many people rent rooms as a place to live.... so you have smells from people cooking etc... but not too bad.
1 out of 5
by A traveler from Yuma, AZ

Not no, but hell no!!!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Garden area was ok
Cons: Yes, nearly all aspects.
Location: Location is in questionable area.
Booked a room with two beds for 3 people. showed up, they didn't have one. Offered a room with a roll-away. Went and looked at the room...One star would be too many. Asked for a refund...they couldn't do it then, had to wait until the next day. Office staff was VERY slow and unprofessional. Would just bas soon sleep in the car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jack2frendi from Atlanta, GA, USA

Best deal for budget travelers

Posted Feb 21, 2013
Though it is a 2 star hotel, room was clean and staff was very warm and friendly. Our room also had a microwave and a small fridge. Housekeeping was fine. It has the perfect location to go anywhere in San Diego. Beaches were just a short distance away. Balboa park is nearby. One thing I really liked about this hotel is its landscaped grounds. It has beautiful tropical plants and flowers which make you feel close to nature. I didn't like the breakfast much. It included baked goods, coffee, cereals. Fruits were not fresh. Swimming pool was good though it was chipped at some areas. It would be great if the hotel folks renovate the outdoor pool. Don't expect any 5 star treatments. It is a very basic hotel. Would recommend it to budget travelers.