Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

"Great location and easy walking to transit and points of interest. Limited property parking, but lots of street parking available. " More

By a verified traveler on Wed 10 Jul 2019

Hotel Description

Motel near Oregon Health and Science University in Portland

City center stay

At this Downtown Portland motel, you'll be well placed to visit Keller Auditorium and Portland State University, both within a 5-minute walk. Portland Art Museum and Pioneer Courthouse Square are also within half a mile (1 km).

Business services

This motel doesn't skimp on freebies - guests receive free WiFi and free self parking. Business travelers can take advantage of the business center. A restaurant, a 24-hour front desk, and laundry facilities are also provided.

Free WiFi, refrigerators

Featuring conveniences like refrigerators and microwaves, the 30 guestrooms also offer free WiFi and TVs with satellite channels. Other amenities include free local calls, desks, and free toiletries.

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max
$99* Per night/room Jun 22 - Jun 23

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Since Bed Mixed Dormitory Room

Bed Count room.options.bedSize.BunkBed.Singular Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Downtown Value Inn ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
2.8 out of 5 3.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 2.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Downtown Value Inn

Everyone (4) Business (1) Couples (2) Family (2)
4 out of 5

Posted by on Jan 23, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 4, 2021 by Downtown Value Inn

We thank you for taking the time to leave us a rating. It seems that over all you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon!

1 out of 5
Below one star rating. Has an awful smell. Parking is small.

Posted by on Jan 2, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 7, 2020 by Downtown Value Inn

We appreciate your review! We are sorry that our establishment was not to your taste. We wish you well in seeking alternative accommodations elsewhere in the future which you may find more suitable. Thank you for staying at The Downtown Value Inn.

3 out of 5

Posted by on Aug 9, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 10, 2019 by Guest Relations Downtown Value Inn

Thank you for taking the time to share your rating! We are happy to know that you were satisfied with your stay at The Downtown Value Inn. We are grateful for your patronage and look forward to your future visits.

5 out of 5
Great location and easy walking to transit and points of interest. Limited property parking, but lots of street parking available.

Posted by on Jul 10, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 11, 2019 by Guest Relations Downtown Value Inn

Thank you for sharing your opinion about The Downtown Value Inn! We are delighted that you so enjoyed your stay with us. We were also glad to see that our location worked out so well for your plans during your visit. Your business is appreciated and we hope that you shall return again to enjoy our hospitality again soon.

5 out of 5
Limited parking is first come first serve, but we were able to snag a spot upon arrival. Older building, but great location close to the waterfront with simple access to the freeway. Pizza pub next door and a college town vibe. (The hotel is practically on the PSU campus) The staff was amazing, bending over backwards to make us feel at home! Best of all the great night sleep... great beds!

Posted by on Jul 5, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 6, 2019 by Guest Relations Downtown Value Inn

Thank you for your kind comments! We were delighted to read that you that you were so happy with your stay. We were also pleased to note that our location was to your liking, the bedding met your needs, and most of all that you felt our personnel went the extra mile to provide you with the hospitality experience that you deserve. Whatever amenities we might have available to our patrons we depend the most on our employees to make sure our guests receive the highest quality service we can offer. It was a privilege to serve you and we hope that The Downtown Value Inn will always be your first choice for accommodations whenever your travels bring you back to Portland.

2 out of 5
Shower was broken. Location is very noisy. Next to two construction sites and a trolley route. The owner or manager was very rude and unreasonable. He proposed charging $5 to check bags after the 11 am check out time. Other employees were pleasant enough. The location is convenient to Portland State University.

Posted by on Jul 2, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 3, 2019 by Guest Relations Downtown Value Inn

Your review is much appreciated! We were sorry to see that your stay with us was less pleasant than you had expected. Were our hospitality associates notified that there was a maintenance issue with your shower? Were they unable to promptly resolve the issue to your satisfaction by either having the shower repaired or making another room available for your use? Unfortunately it was decided to institute the Storage Fee for luggage after a number of guests left a great deal of luggage with us for days and even weeks. We regret that you were disturbed by the nearby construction and the public transportation that runs by the property. Thankfully the construction will eventually end. We apologize that your experience with a member of the on site personnel was a negative one. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. Your comments have been forwarded to the ownership for evaluation. Whenever you travel to Portland you are welcome here at The Downtown value Inn.

3 out of 5
Front desk was very friendly. The room was just ok...room smelled like bleach. Bedding was clean. Pillows were nice but bed was really hard. Had just basics, a table,mini fridge, microwave, shower only but large bathroom, one chair and the bed. The place is right next to the railroad tracks also.

Posted by on May 27, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 4, 2019 by Guest Relations Downtown Value Inn

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay! We were happy to read that you were treated kindly by our hospitality associates and that you were satisfied with the accommodations provided. We are grateful for your patronage and we hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again often.

2 out of 5

Friendly staff

The staff was great. Super friendly. The facility was a bit run down. Our room was right by a bus/tram stop, and it was really loud. The tv didn't work either.

Posted by , from Texas on Jan 17, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 21, 2018 by Guest Relations Downtown Value Inn

We appreciate your review! We were happy to see that you had a positive experience with our personnel. We were sorry to see that the local public transit noise disturbed you, and that you had issues with the television. Were our hospitality associates made aware of the problem with the TV? Were they unable to get it swapped out, or perhaps move you to another room? We apologize that your time with us was not as enjoyable as it could have been. Thank you for choosing The Downtown Value Inn.

1 out of 5

Downtown Value Inn - NO VALUE

Pros: NOTHING.
Cons: EVERYTHING - it needs to be gutted and redone from scratch.
Location: It is in a shaddy neighborhood.
The hotel should be condemned. Everything about it is awful - the hotel smells (mildew, dirt), the rooms are terrible - sheets are dirty, the bathroom cabinet is broken looking like rodents have lived there, the carpets are stained and torn, there is no insulation so you hear all the road traffic and street car. It is really more of a home for the homeless and not for any traveler.

Posted by on Sep 15, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 6, 2017 by Guest Relations Downtown Value Inn

Thank you for posting your opinion! We were sorry to read that you were displeased with your hospitality experience. We wish you well in finding other lodgings in a neighborhood that is less shaddy on your next visit to The Rose City.

3 out of 5

adequate hotel for non-vacation stay

Pros: convenient free parking across the street.
Location: It is near downtown.main advantage for me was proximity to travel route that I needed.
I was in town for a class, so just needed a place to stay. Nothing fancy, but quiet, clean and in a good location for my needs.

Posted by on Aug 14, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?

Property Features

There's a restaurant on site. WiFi is free in public spaces. You'll find a business center on site. The business-friendly Downtown Value Inn also features laundry facilities and a television in a common area. Limited free parking is available on a first-come, first-served basis. This Portland motel is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 30 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • Dining venue
  • Business facilities
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Television in lobby
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking , Parking (limited spaces)

Transport

  • Airport: Portland International Airport (PDX) (16.5 km / 10.2 mi)
  • Train station: Portland Union Station (6.5 km / 4.1 mi)
  • Metro station: PSU Urban Center-SW 5th and Mill Street Station (0.1 km / 0.1 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Downtown Value Inn offers 30 air-conditioned accommodations with complimentary toiletries. Satellite television is provided. Guests can make use of the in-room refrigerators and microwaves. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations. This Portland motel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones; free local calls are provided (restrictions may apply). Housekeeping is offered daily and hair dryers can be requested.

  • Television
  • Satellite channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer available
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Desk
  • Air conditioning
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

Downtown Value Inn has a restaurant on site.

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Handrails in stairways

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 5:30 AM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 21

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • Pets and service animals are not allowed at Downtown Value Inn

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation

This property accepts credit cards, debit cards, and cash

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation. This property accepts credit cards, debit cards, and cash.

This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas.

  • Staff temperature checks are not conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are not available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Contactless check-out is not available
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is not available to guests
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Property does not follow sanitization practices of any association
  • Staffed front desk
  • Guests are not provided with hand sanitizer
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available
  • No elevators
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Service animals not allowed
  • Individually-wrapped food options are not available
  • Debit cards
  • No gap period between guest stays

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: USD 100.00 per accommodation, per stay

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property.

Optional extras

Hotel Names

  • Downtown Value
  • Downtown Value Inn
  • Downtown Value Hotel Portland
  • Downtown Value Inn Portland
  • Downtown Value Portland
  • Downtown Value Inn Motel
  • Downtown Value Inn Portland
  • Downtown Value Inn Motel Portland

You should know

  • Certain facilities might have restricted access. For details, you can contact the property at the number on the booking confirmation.
  • Pets and service animals are not allowed on site.
  • Guests may experience noise disturbance due to nearby construction work.
url importing http://www.travelocity.com/Portland-Hotels-Downtown-Value-Inn.h863793-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Portland-Hotels-Downtown-Value-Inn.h863793-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.travelocity.com/Portland-Hotels-Downtown-Value-Inn.h863793-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.