Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

"Check in took forever even though I had a confirmation number and copy of reservation on my cell phone. Travelosity put my name as my email user name ... " More

By a verified traveler on Fri 19 Jul 2019

Hotel Description

Hotel near 17-Mile Drive in Pacific Grove

Close to the beach

With a stay at this well-placed hotel, you'll be half a mile (1 km) from 17-Mile Drive and within 2 miles (3 km) of Monterey Bay. Cannery Row and Monterey Bay Aquarium are also within 2 miles (3 km).

Free perks

This hotel features free WiFi in public areas, concierge services, and free self parking. Enjoy the free continental breakfast each morning. The front desk is staffed around-the-clock and free newspapers are on offer.

Free WiFi, sofa beds

Featuring conveniences like sofa beds and refrigerators, the 25 guestrooms also offer free WiFi and LED TVs with satellite channels. Other amenities include microwaves, room service, and premium bedding.

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Suite, 1 Queen Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Clarion Collection ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.6 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Clarion Collection

Everyone (9) Couples (2)
5 out of 5

Posted by on Oct 15, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 20, 2019 by Customer Care Team

Dear guest, thank you so much for your stellar review! This means a lot to us. Hope you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit the area. Safe travels!

1 out of 5
We liked the location, but miserable, substandard old mattress in our room. Toilet would not flush properly, plunger next to toilet. Horrible front desk service. Rooms are dated and no reinvestment in newer mattress. Coffee from coffee machine was not drinkable. Owner wouldn’t respond via email to our complaints. Don’t waste your time or money here.

Posted by on Sep 18, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 18, 2019 by Customer Care Team

Dear guest, We are disappointed if one of our guests leaves with less than first rate experience. Our aim is to provide a clean, comfortable and pleasant place to stay. We sincerely apologize that our hospitality and attention to details left something to be desired, this is very unlike us. Thank you for sharing your feedback. Please feel free to connect if there is anything we can do to help. We sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to restore your faith in our hotel and hospitality.

2 out of 5
This hotel is really just a place to stay - clean rooms and a parking lot.

Posted by on Aug 13, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 15, 2019 by Customer Care Team

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay with us. We are disappointed that you don't seem to have had the wonderful experience that the vast majority of our guests do. We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel and hospitality.

3 out of 5
Check in took forever even though I had a confirmation number and copy of reservation on my cell phone. Travelosity put my name as my email user name which was different than my real name and could not correct the error

Posted by on Jul 19, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 20, 2019 by Mike

Thank you for your feedback. When you came to check in you gave us a different name that was not on the reservation as of security reasons we have to confirm the name on reservation and the name on ID card. In this case you had a completely different name on the reservation and you never told us the email user name so how could we know that this is your room. And you made the reservation through the third party site so you have to get it changed through them the hotel cannot make any modification on a third party reservation. So once you got all this taken care of we ran a smooth check-in.

3 out of 5
Breakfast is a carb load. Waffles, cereal, English muffins, Danish, yoghurt. No protein to be found like peanut butter or boiled eggs. Bathroom is small and the toilets are kids size. Really difficult for tall folks. Rooms are neat, beds comfortable, pillows need replacing (soft) , staff was friendly.

Posted by on Apr 28, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5

Look elsewhere!

Rundown place. Uncomfortable bed perched on a box instead of a proper bed frame so it makes horrible creaks and groans with every movement. Also the bed upstairs makes the same noise! Clean is about all it had going for it. Couldn’t seem to turn off heater so had to open window to counter the heat. Unsecured WiFi! Had basic breakfast food but only dark, cold outside area in which to eat it. Rude front desk clerk. Have a brass turtle bell to call desk help. No wires, but didn’t really ring like a bell, so I pushed more than once and was told in a rude tone—“I heard you, just ring once! It’s very loud!” Can’t hear anything at desk. Maybe they should put a note to explain situation since it appears to be a bell that sued by work!

Posted by on Aug 21, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Language Day visit

Check in was at 3:00, located walking distance to Monarch butterfly sanctuary, about half way between town of Pacific Grove and ocean, 2 miles from event at Presidio. Very quiet, bed was comfortable, plenty of towels, continental breakfast (We left early and did not try it).

Posted by , from Hanford, CA on May 14, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5

Noisy motel in good location.

The staff was kind. The room was disappointing. We chose this motel due to reviews on website. We felt the room was old and in major need of updating. We hardly slept in the room due to the people above us pacing all night. You could hear every noise your neighbor was making and the street noise of Lighthouse dr was very noisy too. So we felt for the money it wasn't worth the stay. We will go back and stay at the other motels in the area that are much nicer, like the Bid A Wee or the Sea Breeze.

Posted by , from Lodi, Ca. on Mar 30, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Location Location

We planned on seeing the monarch butterflies, some beach time and running around Monterey. The location of this hotel was great...the butterflies were located just across the street. It was too bad they had already flown away. The beach was close by and so is Monterey. Overall good stay. The hotel provided a Continental breakfastvnot a Full breakfast...it was fine. The hotel room was nice. Pressure in the shower was great. I'd go back.

Posted by , from Walnut Creek, CA on Mar 20, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Nice hotel not too far from downtown Pacific Grove

Pros: The fact that we had a double bed and a single bed; worked real well for my friend and me.
Cons: A better place to eat breakfast. They could enclose the area where their tables are and put some cushions on the chairs to make them more comfortable
Location: It's about a mile from the quaint downtown of Pacific Grove where there is lots of shops and restaurants. Really close to the 17 mile scenic drive.
We were really comfortable in our room. The breakfast was minimal, and only place to sit and eat is outside; it was too cold. I would stay there again. Very close to the ocean and the entrance to the 17 mile scenic drive.

Posted by , from San Angelo TX on Jul 26, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?

Renovations + Closures

Due to COVID-19, this property’s food and beverage options may be limited.

Property Features

Free breakfast is served daily. Public spaces have free WiFi. The business-friendly Clarion Collection also features spa services, coffee/tea in a common area, and concierge services. Free self parking is available. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this Pacific Grove hotel.

  • 25 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • Continental breakfast (free)
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Concierge
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Television in lobby
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Sofa bed
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Monterey Peninsula Airport (MRY) (9.8 km / 6.1 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Clarion Collection offers 25 accommodations, which are accessible via exterior corridors and feature coffee/tea makers and hair dryers. Beds feature premium bedding. 32-inch LED televisions come with premium satellite channels and pay movies. Refrigerators and microwaves are provided. Bathrooms include bathtubs or showers and complimentary toiletries. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks along with free local calls (restrictions may apply). Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and ceiling fans. Housekeeping is offered daily and in-room massages can be requested.

  • Pull-out sofa bed
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • LED television
  • Satellite channels
  • Premium channels
  • Movies for purchase
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Luxury bedding
  • Bathtub or shower
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Massage in room (surcharge)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Exterior corridor access
  • Heating
  • Ceiling fan
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

Guests are served free continental breakfast daily.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Nearby Activities

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Bicycle rentals nearby
  • Golfing nearby
  • Segway rental/tour nearby
  • Surfing/boogie boarding nearby
  • Mountain biking nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby
  • Kayaking nearby

Spa Services

Guests can pamper themselves by indulging in the onsite spa services. Services include massages.

  • Massages

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Accessible bathroom

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3:00 PM

Special check-in instructions:

If you arrive at the property after hours, you'll need to check in at an alternate location: Call hotel for late check inIf you are planning to arrive after 5:00 PM please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Due to COVID-19, this property's food and beverage options may be limited pursuant to local regulations.

Guests arriving after hours will need to go to the following location to check in: Call hotel for late check in
Guests arriving after 5:00 PM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 2 children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 30 per day.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation

This property accepts credit cards and cash

Safety features at this property include a carbon monoxide detector, a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, and a first aid kit

Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property; the policies listed are provided by the property

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation. This property accepts credit cards and cash.

For guests' safety, the property includes a carbon monoxide detector, a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, and a first aid kit in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Masks are required in public areas. This property affirms that it follows the cleaning and disinfection practices of Commitment to Clean (Choice). This property affirms that it adheres to the cleaning and disinfection practices of SafeStay (AHLA - USA).

  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Service animals are allowed
  • Property follows sanitization practices of SafeStay (AHLA - USA)
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Staffed front desk
  • No cribs (infant beds) available
  • Property follows a brand or regulatory agency's sanitization guidelines Commitment to Clean (Choice)
  • No elevators
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Masks are compulsory at the property
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Number of children who can stay free - 2
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Tourism fee: USD 3.50 per accommodation, per night

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 30 per day

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Clarion Collection Pacific Grove
  • Clarion Hotel Pacific Grove Collection
  • Clarion Collection Pacific Grove Motel
  • Clarion Collection Motel Pacific Grove
  • Clarion Collection Pacific Gr
  • Clarion Collection Hotel
  • Clarion Collection Pacific Grove
  • Clarion Collection Hotel Pacific Grove

You should know

  • Reservations are needed for massage services and spa treatments. For reservations, contact the hotel before arrival using the contact information on the booking confirmation.
url importing http://www.travelocity.com/Monterey-Hotels-Clarion-Collection.h800749-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Monterey-Hotels-Clarion-Collection.h800749-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.travelocity.com/Monterey-Hotels-Clarion-Collection.h800749-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.