Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

"While a clean and very pleasant hotel, some rooms don’t have AC necessitating open windows, which makes for a poor sleep, as trains run by regularly a ... " More

By a verified traveler on Thu 30 Jul 2020

Hotel Description

Ski hotel near Lake Louise Mountain Resort

Near the slopes

With a stay at this well-placed hotel, you'll be half a mile (1 km) from Icefields Parkway and within 3 miles (5 km) of Lake Louise Mountain Resort. Lake Louise Gondola and Louise Lake are also within 3 miles (5 km).

Free perks

This hotel features a spa tub and a steam room. Enjoy the ski shuttle and onsite ski storage. There's no skimping on freebies - guests receive free continental breakfast, free WiFi, and free self parking.

Free Internet, satellite TV

Featuring conveniences like sitting areas and refrigerators, the 80 guestrooms offer free WiFi and free wired Internet, as well as TVs with satellite channels. Other amenities include microwaves, coffee/tea makers, and down comforters.

Standard Queen (Not Pet Friendly)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$91* Per night/room Nov 11 - Nov 12

Lodge 2 Queens (Not Pet Friendly)

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Superior Room, 1 Queen Bed with Sofa bed (Not Pet Friendly)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Superior Room, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed (Not Pet Friendly)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard King (Not Pet Friendly)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed with Sofa bed, Ground Floor (Pet Friendly)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Mountaineer Lodge ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.9 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 0.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Mountaineer Lodge

Everyone (6) Couples (3) Family (3)
5 out of 5

Posted by on Sep 24, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Posted by on Sep 18, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5
Not as advertised, this place was more like a hostel or motel definitely not a hotel. For the price they our asking they could at least ensure the place is CLEAN. My room was filthy, toe nail clippings, dust, dirty unhygienic fridge, uncleaned bathroom. Deluxe breakfast not so deluxe. There are no amenities at all here. After a fantastic day exploring the Lake Louise area staying at this place put a damper on it not to mention made my skin crawl. I slept in my clothes!!! Definitely one to avoid, stay in the woods its cleaner.

Posted by on Aug 23, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 5, 2019 by Mountaineer Lodge

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay in our Lodge. We welcome such comprehensive feedback, as we are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience. I do nonetheless hope that the rest of your stay was enjoyable and that you had an opportunity to explore everything else Lake Louise has to offer.

4 out of 5

Posted by on Aug 14, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 5, 2019 by Mountaineer Lodge

Thank you for choosing Mountaineer for your recent stay to Lake Louise. We surely appreciate your feedback and trust that your stay in the Canadian Rockies was nothing short of amazing!

4 out of 5

Posted by on Jul 6, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
At check in they insisted on a $200 deposit on our credit card in case we damaged anything. At check out, they would not remove it without the maid checking the room. I wouldn't know if there was a problem until I was long gone. They also refused to give me a receipt for my night stay. They claimed they didn't know the total because I used Travelocity. My other hotels gave receipts at check out

Posted by on Jun 30, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Posted by on Sep 19, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 19, 2020 by General Manager

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am pleased to learn that you were happy with the overall provided accommodations & amenities. We trust you had a wonderful time exploring all that Banff National Park has to offer and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

4 out of 5
While a clean and very pleasant hotel, some rooms don’t have AC necessitating open windows, which makes for a poor sleep, as trains run by regularly and all night less than 100 yards away.

Posted by , from Vancouver on Jul 30, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 31, 2020 by General Manager

Thank you for sharing your review and for choosing the Mountaineer Lodge. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We do apologize that you did not have A/C in your room and for the disruption caused to your stay from the noise. Your feedback is important to us and we appreciate the time you took to share your comments with us. Nonetheless, we all trust you had a wonderful time exploring all that Lake Louise has to offer and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

4 out of 5
We stayed for one night. The room is outdated but it’s clean.

Posted by , from Edmonton on Jul 26, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 26, 2020 by General Manager

Thank you for sharing your review! We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and found the accommodations to be clean. We would like to mention that we do have a total of 48 fully renovated rooms and plan to continue these renovations on the remaining rooms in the future. We trust you had a wonderful time exploring all that Lake Louise has to offer and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

5 out of 5
Very quiet room. Comfortable beds. TV could have been better, standard definition signal displayed on a large screen tv and stretched to fill the screen width never works, also interference could be seen in the screen.

Posted by on Nov 14, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?

Renovations + Closures

The following facilities or services will be unavailable from July 2 2020 to December 31 2020 (dates subject to change):

  • Sauna
  • Spa tub

Property Features

Relax in the spa tub after a day on the slopes or enjoy the use of a steam room. Getting to the slopes is a breeze with this mountain hotel's ski shuttle (surcharge). Free breakfast is served daily. WiFi and wired Internet are free in public spaces. Self parking is free. This Lake Louise hotel is smoke free.

  • 80 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • 2 buildings
  • Built in 1968
  • Continental breakfast (free)
  • Ski equipment storage
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet

Parking

Free self parking , Free RV, bus, truck parking

Transport

  • Airport: Calgary Intl. Airport (YYC) (191.6 km / 119 mi)
  • Train station: Lake Louise Station (1 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Ski shuttle
  • Parking: Free self parking and RV/bus/truck parking

Room Amenities

Mountaineer Lodge offers 80 accommodations with safes and coffee/tea makers. Accommodations offer separate sitting areas. Beds feature down comforters. Refrigerators and microwaves are provided. Bathrooms include bathtubs or showers, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wired and wireless Internet access. Satellite television is provided. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Separate bedroom
  • Sitting area
  • Television
  • Satellite channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Down blanket
  • Bathtub or shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Wheelchair accessible

Food & Drink

Guests are served free continental breakfast daily from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include a spa tub and a steam room.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Snowboarding nearby
  • Golfing nearby
  • Mountain biking nearby
  • Snowshoeing nearby
  • Downhill skiing nearby
  • Cross-country skiing nearby
  • Bicycle rentals nearby
  • Rafting nearby
  • Ecotours nearby
  • Snow tubing nearby
  • Ski lessons available nearby
  • Ski equipment rental shops nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby
  • Kayaking nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 4:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

If you are planning to arrive after 6:00 PM please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in instructions. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Guests arriving after 6:00 PM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in information. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

Safety features at this property include a smoke detector

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. For guests' safety, the property includes a smoke detector in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place.Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F.Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; guests are provided with hand sanitizer.Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast.The property affirms that it adheres to the Safe Travels (WTTC - Global) sanitization guidelines.

  • Staff temperature checks are not conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are not available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Property follows sanitization practices of Safe Travels (WTTC - Global)
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No elevators
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast

Hotel Names

  • Mountaineer Lake Louise
  • Mountaineer Lodge
  • Mountaineer Lodge Lake Louise
  • Mountaineer Hotel Lake Louise
  • Mountaineer Lake Louise
  • Mountaineer Lodge Hotel
  • Mountaineer Lodge Lake Louise
  • Mountaineer Lodge Hotel Lake Louise
url importing http://www.travelocity.com/Lake-Louise-Hotels-Mountaineer-Lodge.h5157510-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Lake-Louise-Hotels-Mountaineer-Lodge.h5157510-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.travelocity.com/Lake-Louise-Hotels-Mountaineer-Lodge.h5157510-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.