Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

"Not friendly staff in morning, however in the evening staff were very friendly. " More

By a verified traveler on Mon 06 Aug 2018

Hotel Description

Motel near Mission Santa Cruz in Santa Cruz

Heart of Santa Cruz

Your stay at this Westside Santa Cruz motel places you within 2 miles (3 km) of Mission Santa Cruz and Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk. Main Beach and Monterey Bay are also within 2 miles (3 km).

Renovated in 2016

An outdoor pool is featured at this motel, along with free self parking. WiFi in public areas is free. Staff at the 24-hour front desk can provide around-the-clock assistance.

Free WiFi, refrigerators

The individually decorated guestrooms offer free WiFi and free local calls. Entertainment options include flat-screen TVs with cable channels, while refrigerators and microwaves provide the conveniences of home. Housekeeping is available on request.

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$62* Per night/room Nov 11 - Nov 12

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Single Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Room, 2 Bedrooms, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Room, 2 Bedrooms

Bed Count room.options.bedSize.TwinXLBed.Singular Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

The Islander Motel ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.6 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for The Islander Motel

Everyone (6) Couples (3) Students (1)
4 out of 5
Was clean and room had been updated fairly recent. Didnt have in room coffee just an outside vending machine. Luckily restaurants were very close by.

Posted by on Sep 15, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 15, 2019 by mo

Dear Thank you for your recent stay at the islander motel. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Santa Cruz.

5 out of 5
Simple pleasures for simple needs. The building is aging but scrupulously maintained. Our room had only basic amenities but was recently remodeled with upscale finishes. I felt treated as luxuriously as possible on such a budget-friendly cost. Definitely feel like a got a great deal for the low cost.

Posted by on Jul 24, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 26, 2019 by mo

Dear Thank you for your recent stay at the islander motel. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Santa Cruz

4 out of 5
It’s right across from an amazing dispensary!! Bathtub is awesome and water stays hot. We got the king size bed. The bed kinda tricks you though. At first you think it’s going to be the best sleep of your life. But slowly you realize it’s sorta like sleeping on a soft rock. Our bodies hurt pretty bad and didn’t get much sleep. :/ beds were our only complaint. But that’s sorta a big part.

Posted by on May 29, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 29, 2019 by Moe

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

1 out of 5
The Motel indoor parking had incorrect markings and ended with my cars roof racks being pulled off, the entrance is higher than the inner beams leaving you to beleive it is overall much higher than it really is, this left me being able to get into the parking structure but later on get my racks torn off by a low lying beam, this is beyond ridiculous, after that happened the owner came out and yelled at me, I then showed him that he had incorrect signage and this was ultimitaley due to his structure being inproperly labeled and designed

Posted by on Jan 9, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jan 13, 2019 by mo

We are so sorry you did not stay with The Islander motel you left saying you will bee back you never came back you draw your car with roof rack on it even you show sign sorry is your fault and you where more then 2 persons any way you did admitted.

3 out of 5
Not friendly staff in morning, however in the evening staff were very friendly.

Posted by , from san luis obispo, ca on Aug 6, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 7, 2018 by mo

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

4 out of 5
Just your basic hotel room, nothing special. Wish the vending machines worked.

Posted by on Jun 10, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 13, 2018 by Moe

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback

4 out of 5

No Fuss

Pros: Room 224
Cons: New Drink machine
Location: Not to close, not to fare
The room had; privacy, cleanliness and location access to entertainment and freeways. We had a self-paced 3 day experience without hotel issues, rare at our price limit. Staff was pleasant and professional.

Posted by , from California on Feb 12, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Feb 18, 2018 by mo

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback

5 out of 5
Last minute stay, hotel nice, will use again. Easy access to santa Cruz .............................................

Posted by on Dec 7, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 16, 2017 by mo

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback

5 out of 5

Beautiful little place, wonderful, friendly people

Pros: Friendly staff and warm comfortable rooms
Cons: No was a great place
Location: Lots of places to eat within walking distance. Loved it.
This is a very pleasant, quite place to stay. Very comfortable rooms with beds to match. I highly recommend this place.

Posted by on Jan 23, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5

Vacation disaster!

No hot water. Mold. Cigarette burns in the mattress only covered by a flat sheet. Broken down beds. No a/c. No screens on the windows. "Even if you don't like it you will still be charged". Bad manager attitude.DON'T STAY HERE. Does not look little the pics!

Posted by , from Placerville on Aug 16, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?

Property Features

As a guest of The Islander Motel, you'll find an outdoor pool and a vending machine. WiFi is free in public spaces. Limited free parking is available on a first-come, first-served basis. A complete renovation of The Islander Motel was completed in December 2016. This Santa Cruz motel is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 22 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • Built in 1963
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Smoking in designated areas
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Outdoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking , Parking (limited spaces) , Free parking nearby

Transport

  • Airport: San Jose, CA (SJC-Norman Y. Mineta San Jose Intl.) (55.1 km / 34.2 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

The Islander Motel offers 22 air-conditioned accommodations, which are accessible via exterior corridors and feature hair dryers and complimentary toiletries. Each accommodation is individually furnished and decorated. Beds feature premium bedding. 40-inch flat-screen televisions come with premium cable channels. Refrigerators and microwaves are provided. Bathrooms include bathtubs or showers. This Santa Cruz motel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include phones along with free local calls (restrictions may apply). Housekeeping is provided on request.

  • Flat-screen television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Luxury bedding
  • Bathtub or shower
  • Housekeeping (on request)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Blackout drapes
  • Exterior corridor access
  • Air conditioning
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Unique furnishings
  • Unique decor

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the motel include an outdoor pool.

  • Golfing nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

  • Wheelchair accessible parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 11:30 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 21

Special check-in instructions:

If you are planning to arrive after 6 PM please contact the property at least 72 hours in advance using the information on the booking confirmation.

The credit card used to book the reservation must be presented by the cardholder at check-in along with matching photo identification. Any other arrangements must be coordinated with the property prior to arrival. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

Guests arriving after 6 PM must contact the property at least 72 hours prior to arrival using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. Minimum Spring Break check-in age is 21 years old. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation. Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. Minimum Spring Break check-in age is 21 years old. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available
  • No elevators

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: USD 100.00 per stay
  • Breakage deposit: USD 100 per stay

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Early check-in fee: USD 25.00 (subject to availability)
  • Late check-out fee: USD 25.00 (subject to availability)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Islander Motel Santa Cruz
  • Islander Santa Cruz
  • The Islander Motel Motel
  • The Islander Motel Santa Cruz
  • The Islander Motel Motel Santa Cruz

You should know

  • The seasonal pool will open in May and close in October.
  • Pool access available from 8:30 AM to 9 PM.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
  • Alcohol isn't served at The Islander Motel.
url importing https://www.travelocity.com/Santa-Cruz-Hotels-The-Islander-Motel.h801035-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.