Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"The property is well maintained and very pleasant to look at. The ocean is what makes this unique. You hear, see and smell the ocean at all times. I i ... " More

By a verified traveler on Mon 09 May 2022

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

3.5-star beachfront hotel near Lae Nani Beach

On the beach

You'll be within half a mile (1 km) of Lae Nani Beach and 2 miles (3 km) of Lydgate Beach Park with a stay here. Also within 9 miles (15 km) are Kauai Museum and Kalapaki Beach.

2 outdoor pools

This hotel features 2 outdoor pools, a spa tub, and a restaurant. Enjoy beachfront dining and relax with sun loungers and beach umbrellas. Relax with a drink at the bar/lounge and enjoy perks like free valet parking.

Standard Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max
$299* Per night/room Mar 6 - Mar 7

Room, Pool View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Room, Garden View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Room, Ocean View

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Deluxe Garden View with Kitchenette

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Kauai Shores Hotel ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.7 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 0.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Kauai Shores Hotel

Everyone (7) Couples (8) Family (5)
4 out of 5

Posted by , from Springfield on Dec 13, 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 14, 2022 by Customer Service Satisfaction Team


1 out of 5
This is not a resort on any level. It is a 1960s aged attempted remodel that is so bad that I can’t even image why it had not be condemned. The place stinks of mold. The AC and fan do not work. There is uneven water pressures and little hot water. The towels smell. The door locks don’t work all the time. This hotel in not ADA compliant hence no ramps or elevators. The parking is bad. The on site eating location is not owned by the motel so they have a separate set of rules such as no drinks in the pool or no food. The wait staff hate their jobs. Really hate them. The drinks are not good. The parking is tight. And the layout to get in and out is tough. The rooms are too small. The bathroom counter is 20 inches so not room for anything. The beds hit the walls so you have to climb in the bed from the footer, the place was dirty. The have a lot of bugs in my room I booked for 7 nights and try to make it work but bay day 3 I left this circus circus looking attempt at a resort and went down 3 properties to stay at the Sheraton which was excellent across the board. What a difference. This was the worst place I ever stayed anywhere in the world and I had a few bad ones but this is simply so low end everywhere. The food was bad. The drinks were bad. I still have nightmares about so clown living in the closet it is really that bad.

Posted by on Oct 18, 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 19, 2022 by Dale

Thank you for your recent feedback concerning your stay at the Royal Kona Resort. We are extremely sorry to hear about your negative experience. We will be forwarding your review to the management team to resolve the concerns you have listed so we can improve our service.

1 out of 5
We paid extra for an ocean view and we had no ocean view. I’m fCt, there are no rooms on this property that can view the ocean because on the layout. I feel like a gigantic sucker. It was complete false advertising. As you can see from their pictures on line. I feel very badly for anyone that gets roped into staying here on their vacation.

Posted by , from Briarcliff on Jul 5, 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 7, 2022 by Customer Satisfaction Team

Mahalo for your feedback! Oceanview rooms are located in the Lei and Mauka building and have either a side view or direct view. We are very sorry for your negative experience and that you were not happy with your room. Should you return we'd be happy to place your room in a more favorable area.

5 out of 5
The property is well maintained and very pleasant to look at. The ocean is what makes this unique. You hear, see and smell the ocean at all times. I is so beautiful and peaceful. The staff sets this property apart. Kaipo, Kama, Dominick, Luh'ee and Dell were just stellar. They love their island and their jobs.

Posted by on May 9, 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 12, 2022 by Customer Satisfaction Team

Thank you so much for sharing you positive feedback! We are delighted to read that service was outstanding and that you loved your stay! We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

5 out of 5
Hotel was very close to the beach. Hotel staff was attentive and great.

Posted by on Apr 15, 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Apr 25, 2022 by Customer Satisfaction Team

Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are happy that you enjoyed our oceanfront location and that our staff provided great service! We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

2 out of 5
The outside areas of the property were nice, but our room was unacceptable. Unfortunately it was a last minute because of spring break everything was booked. Lets just say we stayed at another hotel the next night for a third of the price and it was cleaner

Posted by , from Modesto on Mar 14, 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 21, 2022 by Customer Satisfaction Team

Thank you for sharing your review. We are so sorry to read that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. We would have been happy to move or refresh your room had we known you were dissatisfied. Should you return, we would be happy to welcome you and provide the high quality stay we are known for.

3 out of 5
Although a great spot, and the adjoining Restaurant Lava Lava was nice. The pool is old, undated, and uninviting and with 200 rooms only had around 14 chairs at the pool. The beach they did nothing with it chairs ect.... when going for two weeks you was not provided a dresser only two small nightstand like drawers and only about 10 hangers, your room does not have a microwave only a minifridge. I did eventually find a microwave inconveniently located in the ice room in another building. The beds were comfy the staff was friendly I just feel like they could do so much more with this property to make it more accepting and appealing.

Posted by on Mar 5, 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Mar 7, 2022 by Customer Satisfaction Team

Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are sorry to read that you did not thoroughly enjoy your visit. We hope that you had a lovely time in Kauai and we will share your feedback with our team for review.

4 out of 5
Nice beachfront location with two swimming pools, hot tub and on-site dining. Property is a 60s era hotel, and only big complaint is the horrifically small parking spaces; we had a very small car and could barely fit between the painted lines!

Posted by , from FALLS CHURCH on Dec 16, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Dec 17, 2021 by Dale

Mahalo! We appreciate your valuable feedback.

4 out of 5

Posted by , from PASADENA on Sep 16, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
Had an issue with the air conditioner, a thumping noise had to turn it off several times Finally ran the ceiling fan to cool the room Told the front desk about the issue

Posted by on Jun 19, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 22, 2021 by Kauai Shores Hotel

Mahalo for your feedback! We apologize for the AC inconvenience. We hope the issue was resolved and hope you had a great stay otherwise. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again!

About the Kauai Shores Hotel

Location 420 Papaloa Rd, Kapaa, HI 96746

Property Features

Spend the day at the beach and work on your tan with sun loungers (chaise longues) or relax in the shade with umbrellas. Cool off in one of the 2 outdoor swimming pools at Kauai Shores Hotel, and enjoy amenities like complimentary bicycles and a spa tub. There's a restaurant on site, as well as a snack bar/deli. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. This beach hotel also offers a garden and a terrace. Valet parking is free. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 3.5-star Kapaa hotel.

  • 200 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • Deli
  • Beach lounge chairs
  • Towels for the beach
  • Umbrellas for the beach
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Umbrellas for the pool
  • Business center (24 hours)
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Convenience store
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Gift shop
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • ATM
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • Smoking in designated areas
  • Microwave in a common area
  • Water dispenser
  • Bar or lounge
  • Dining venue

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Number of outdoor pools - 2
  • Free WiFi
  • Grocery/convenience store
  • Snack bar/deli
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator


Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi


Free valet parking


  • Parking: Free valet parking

Room Amenities

Kauai Shores Hotel offers 200 air-conditioned accommodations with safes and complimentary newspapers. Rooms open to balconies or patios. Accommodations offer separate sitting areas. Guests can make use of the in-room refrigerators and coffee/tea makers. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations and complimentary toiletries. 42-inch LCD televisions come with cable channels. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones; free local calls are provided (restrictions may apply). Additionally, rooms include complimentary bottled water and irons/ironing boards. Housekeeping is offered daily and hair dryers can be requested.

  • Private balcony or patio
  • Sitting area
  • LCD television
  • Cable channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cribs (surcharge)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Newspapers (free)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer available
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fan
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy cooked-to-order breakfast daily from 7 AM to 10:00 AM.

Lava Lava Beach Club - This beachfront restaurant specializes in local cuisine and serves breakfast, brunch, lunch, and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar. Happy hour is offered.

Nearby Activities

2 outdoor swimming pools are on site along with a spa tub.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Free bicycles on site
  • Snorkeling nearby
  • Surfing/bodyboarding nearby
  • Fishing nearby
  • Yoga classes/instruction on site
  • Ziplining nearby
  • Horse riding nearby
  • Boat tours nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby
  • Kayaking nearby
  • Swimming nearby
  • Water tubing nearby


If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Wheelchair-accessible on-site restaurant
  • Wheelchair-accessible lounge
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)
  • Wheelchair accessible path of travel
  • Accessible bathroom (in select rooms)
  • Roll-in shower (in select rooms)
  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • Wheelchair-accessible concierge desk
  • In-room accessibility (in select rooms)
  • Wheelchair-accessible van parking
  • Wheelchair-accessible path to elevator
  • Wheelchair-accessible registration desk
  • Wheelchair-accessible fitness center
  • Wheelchair-accessible meeting spaces/business center

Hotel Policies


  • Check-in time starts at 4 PM
  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.


  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 4 children 18 years old and younger stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 30.0 per day.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available for USD 5.0 per day.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome


Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

Tax ID - TA-187-270-1440-01

Safety features at this property include a smoke detector

Be prepared: check the latest COVID-19 travel requirements and measures in place for this destination before you travel.

Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property; the policies listed are provided by the property

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property is managed by a professional host. The provision of housing is linked to their trade, business, or profession. The tax ID number is TA-187-270-1440-01. This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, Diners Club, JCB International, and Union Pay. Cash is not accepted. For guests' safety, the property includes a smoke detector in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; temperature checks are available to guests; guests are provided with hand sanitizer. This property affirms that it adheres to the cleaning and disinfection practices of SafeStay (AHLA - USA).

  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • UnionPay
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Contactless check-out is not available
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Property follows sanitization practices of SafeStay (AHLA - USA)
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Staffed front desk
  • Children stay free - maximum age 18
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Smoke detector
  • Children stay free
  • State tax ID - TA-187-270-1440-01
  • Number of children who can stay free - 4


Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Resort fee: USD 25.29 per accommodation, per night

The resort fee includes:

  • Pool access
  • Beach access
  • Beach loungers
  • Beach towels
  • Fitness/yoga classes
  • Sporting facilities or equipment
  • Internet access
  • Newspaper
  • Phone calls
  • In-room safe
  • In-room bottled water
  • In-room coffee
  • Concierge service
  • Additional inclusions

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between USD 10 and USD 20 for adults, USD 10 and USD 20 for children (approximately)
  • Crib (infant bed) fee: USD 5.0 per day
  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 30.0 per day

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Hotel Kauai Sands
  • Kauai Sands
  • Kauai Sands Hotel
  • Kauai Sands Hotel Kapaa
  • Kauai Sands Kapaa
  • Sands Hotel Kauai
  • Kauai Shores Hotel Hotel
  • Kauai Shores Hotel Kapaa
  • Kauai Shores Hotel Hotel Kapaa
  • Kauai Shores Hotel Kapaa
  • Kauai Shores Kapaa

You should know

  • Pool access available from 9:00 AM to 10:00 PM.
  • Up to 4 children 18 years old and younger stay free in the same room as the parent or guardian when using existing bedding.
url importing
There was an error importing /Kapaa-Hotels-Kauai-Shores-Hotel.h9733-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.