4.1 out of 5

"Just a bit hard to get in and out of the tub but everything else was fine. Staff most friendly, helpful, courteous. " More

By a verified traveler on Sat 10 Jun 2017

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Family-friendly 4-star hotel near Croke Park

Near the airport

You'll be within half a mile (1 km) of Croke Park and 2 miles (3 km) of Dublin City University with a stay at this Dublin hotel. O'Connell Street and Abbey Street are also within 2 miles (3 km).

Business services

A restaurant and a bar/lounge are featured at this hotel. Families will appreciate the onsite laundry facilities and in-room childcare. WiFi in public areas is free.

Free WiFi, flat-screen TVs

Along with free WiFi, the 126 guestrooms offer room service and flat-screen TVs. Coffee/tea makers, free newspapers, and free bottled water are also available.

Twin Room, 2 Twin Beds

Bed Count 2 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$80 per night

Classic Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Family Room

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Single Room

Bed Count 1 Twin Bed Maximum Occupancy 1 Max

Triple Room

Bed Count 3 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Double Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Dublin Skylon Hotel ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.1 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Dublin Skylon Hotel

Everyone (10)
5 out of 5
I could not find a nicer group of people. They were spot on with all of our needs.

Posted by , from North Carolina on Sep 29, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 30, 2018 by Maja, Front Office Manager

Good afternoon Amanda, Many thanks for giving us this excellent review upon you recent stay with us in Dublin Skylon Hotel. Thanks for this special shout out to our team - We do hope to see you again! Kind regards,

5 out of 5
Excellent staff, perfect location, and wonderful overall experience

Posted by , from Norfolk VA on Sep 28, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 30, 2018 by Maja, Front Office Manager

Hi B, Aren't you most kind for giving us this excellent review upon your recent stay in Dublin Skylon Hotel!! We do hope to see you again. Kind regards,

5 out of 5
Such a nice hotel! We had stayed at another hotel prior for 7 days and you could not compare the two. This hotel had a beautiful/great sized bathroom with a shower /tub combination, a huge comfortable bed, plus two twin beds in the room... and everything was perfect. I so wish we had just stayed here the whole trip!! It would have made our trip to Ireland so much better. Great hotel and restaurant, great price for the room! Book a room here, you won't regret it.

Posted by , from USA on Sep 11, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 17, 2018 by Maja, Front Office Manager

Hi Tammy, Many thanks for this excellent review. Give me a shout next time when in Dublin and we'll have a special treat for you! Kind regards,

2 out of 5

TWO STARS at best ...

Pros: The location was near a bus stop but this did not make up for the problems we encountered with this hotel and its uninterested staff.
Cons: My first suggestion would be to hire people at the front desk who seem to care about customer service and fulfilllling reasonable requests.
Location: The location was good for catching a bus into Dublin. Plus there was a market and many restaurants within walking distance of the motel.
We arrived to find our room keys did not work, our rooms (that we requested to be adjoining) were hallways apart, and that the room was hot and uncomfortable and did not have a working fan. It took three trips down to the front desk to get any of these issues resolved by an uninterested staff. There are many hotels in Dublin and I would suggest staying at another one ...

Posted by , from Ventura, California on Jul 15, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 27, 2018 by Maja, Front Office Manager

Good afternoon Cheryl, I would like to thank you taking the time and effort to record your valued comments regarding your recent stay at the Dublin Skylon hotel. I am very sorry for your disappointment. My lovely team will go over and beyond for our guests and for me it's hard to believe that they seemed uninterested about fulfilling requests you placed. I need to inform you that when you made your reservation in March 2018 the only special request you had was a late check out and you never asked for adjoining rooms. At the time of your arrival in the hotel which was fully booked that night adjoining rooms were already occupied so my staff did the second best thing and allocated you as close as possible. Ireland is experiencing the hottest weather since 1976 and we did our best to provide refreshments for all our guests – complimentary bottled water in the room and reception or porter to assist you with temperature adjusting in room was only one phone call away. On your next visit please ask for me and I’ll personally look after you. Kind regards,

3 out of 5

Average. Friendly and unfriendly staffs

Good hotel, a bit far from the city centre. Some staffs were extremely helpful wish I remembered the name of the two who swapped my room after unfriendly staff made me feel there was no point asking again.

Posted by , from ireland on May 17, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 23, 2018 by Maja, Front Office Manager

Good afternoon Arthur, Thank you for taking time to give us a positive review upon your departure. My sincere apologies for inconvenience with staff. I do hope to see you again in Skylon. On your next stay please look up for me and I'll personally look after you. Best regards,

5 out of 5
Just a bit hard to get in and out of the tub but everything else was fine. Staff most friendly, helpful, courteous.

Posted by on Jun 10, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Pros: The location and the bar staff.
Location: The location was great for us to walk to restaurants and bars. Also we enjoyed walking to and from the downtown centre.
We liked the location, there were restaurants and bars within walking distance. It is on the bus stop and also close enough to the downtown centre for us to walk back. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed talking to the servers at the bar, they were very friendly to us. I thought the rooms were clean and comfortable but a little on the small side.

Posted by , from Iowa on May 1, 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Very Nice hotel is a great location for reasonable

Pros: Location, spacious and clean rooms, comfortable beds, friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Would have been great to have a small fridge to put some drinks and snacks in.
Location: Easy, walk-able access to Dublin Buses. Grocery/convenience stores as well as several restaurants/bars walking distance.
Great location, close to Dublin bus stops, safe area a couple grocery/convenience stores right across the street. Rooms where spacious enough for 2 adults and 2 teenagers. Beds were comfortable and house keeping did great job with keeping the place clean every day. Front staff were very helpful and when assisted us with making phone calls when we had trouble checking into our return flight.

Posted by on Nov 28, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Good Value

Pros: Cleanliness
Location: Near some good restaurants and botanical gardens.
It was a brief overnight stay prior to early airline departure.

Posted by on Jun 21, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5

The Hotel Double Charged

Pros: The restaurant was nice.
Cons: They can be accurate in their billing and correct errors in a reasonable amount of time.
Location: The location seemed a bit run down.
We prepaid for our hotel through Travelocity and yet the hotel charged our credit card for the evening stay, even though I corrected the employee the evening we checked in, and he verified that we prepaid. I called Travelocity last Friday and as of today, Monday the charges stand. I will have to incur International phone fees to try to get our money back. Plus the bank fees for the transaction as well as the currency exchange. I am very disappointed with both Travelocity and the Hotel. This never should have happened and when it did, it should have been settled immediately. I shouldn't have to be spending extra money to fix their mistake much less taking all this extra time off of work to sort it out. Travelocity has not been helpful at all.

Posted by , from Wisconsin on Jun 20, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?

Property Features

There's a restaurant on site, as well as a coffee shop/café. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. You'll find a 24-hour business center on site. WiFi is free in public spaces. Tour/ticket assistance, multilingual staff, and coffee/tea in a common area are also featured at the family-friendly Dublin Skylon Hotel. Parking is available for a fee. This 4-star Dublin hotel is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 126 guestrooms or units
  • 5 levels
  • Built in 1967
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • Childcare (surcharge)
  • Business center (24 hours)
  • Conference center
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Fireplace in lobby
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site
  • Water dispenser

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Babysitting or childcare (surcharge)
  • In-room childcare (surcharge)
  • Free cribs/infant beds


Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi


Self parking (surcharge)


  • Airport: Dublin (DUB) (8.4 km / 5.2 mi)
  • Train station: Dublin Drumcondra Station (1.8 km / 1.1 mi)
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Dublin Skylon Hotel offers 126 accommodations with laptop-compatible safes and complimentary newspapers. Flat-screen televisions are featured in guestrooms. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Additionally, rooms include complimentary bottled water and coffee/tea makers. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Flat-screen television
  • Premium channels
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cribs (free)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Newspapers (free)
  • Childcare in room (surcharge)
  • Hair dryer
  • Laptop safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy full breakfast daily from 7 AM to 10:30 AM.

Dublin Skylon Hotel has a restaurant on site.

Late night fare is available from room service (during limited hours).


If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

  • Accessible bathroom
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies


  • Check-in time ends at 3 AM
  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18


  • Check-out by noon

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! One child stays free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!


  • No pets allowed


Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation. Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property. The policies listed are provided by the property.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available


Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for full breakfast: EUR 12.50 for adults and EUR 6 for children (approximately)
  • Self parking fee: EUR 5 per day
  • Late check-out fee: EUR 20 (subject to availability)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Skylon Hotel
  • Dublin Skylon
  • Dublin Skylon Hotel
  • Skylon Hotel Dublin

National Rating

Fáilte Ireland (The National Tourism Development Authority) assigns an official star rating for accommodations in Ireland. This Hotel property is rated 4 stars.