Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Enter dates to see availability

"A little disappointed that we didn’t have maid service while we were there. We had to find bags to put our garbage in and continue to ask for towels ... " More

By a verified traveler on Mon 02 Aug 2021

Hotel Description

Hotel near Bob Carpenter Center in Newark

City center stay

Stay at this Newark hotel and you'll be within half a mile (1 km) of Bob Carpenter Center and 2 miles (3 km) of University of Delaware. Newark Shopping Center and The Patriot Ice Center are also within 3 miles (5 km).

Renovated in 2016

This hotel doesn't skimp on freebies - guests receive free WiFi and free self parking. Business travelers can take advantage of the 24-hour business center. There's a fitness center on site, and a 24-hour front desk and dry cleaning are also provided.

Free WiFi, refrigerators

The individually furnished guestrooms offer free WiFi and hair dryers. TVs come with cable channels, and other amenities include refrigerators and microwaves.

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking (Mobility)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$76* Per night/room Oct 4 - Oct 5

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Studio Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking (Mobility)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Baymont by Wyndham Newark at University of Delaware ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
2.9 out of 5 3.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 2.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Baymont by Wyndham Newark at University of Delaware

Everyone (4) Family (5)
4 out of 5
A little disappointed that we didn’t have maid service while we were there. We had to find bags to put our garbage in and continue to ask for towels everyday. I guess I understand, but I thought that when I boos it we were going to have breakfast every morning. When we arrived we were told no breakfast was available in the morning. It didn’t ruin our trip but I wish that we were a little more informed about these changes.

Posted by on Aug 2, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 2, 2021 by Manager

We appreciate the time you have taken to bring to our attention your feedback with regards to our towels and your insights regarding our breakfast. Thank you for choosing our hotel. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

3 out of 5
It was OK good price

Posted by on Jul 22, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 24, 2021 by Manager

We are all thrilled to learn that you enjoyed such a pleasant experience with us. I'm glad to hear that our services, hospitality, and accommodations exceeded your expectations and hope that you experience the same comfortable stay during your next visit! We enjoy sharing these reviews with our staff and we all look forward to seeing you again.

1 out of 5
The lobby had a strong smell of cigarette smoke. I'd hoped this was due to the people smoking just outside the entrance but it carried throughout the hallways as if people were smoking in their rooms. It worsened though our stay. The carpets in the hallways were stained in many places. We were also disappointed in the lack of enforcement on the mask policy. Though there were signs to wear masks, we waited behind 2 parties at the front desk not wearing masks, and the staff said nothing to them. I would not stay at this hotel again.

Posted by , from Brewster, NY on Aug 31, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 4, 2020 by Manager

Thank you for letting us know about the inconveniences that you encountered during your recent stay at our hotel. It is disheartening to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and that the room was not properly and thoroughly cleaned and maintained according to the high standards of our housekeeping and maintenance staff. Thank you so much for taking the time to share and to give us the opportunity to address this error and make things right.

2 out of 5
The gentleman at the front was very pleasant. I was very disappointed with the cleanliness of the hotel. We were on the 3rd floor all NON-SMOKING rooms!! Coming straight off the elevator the entire floor smelled like weed and cigarettes. The little “snack area” downstairs was pretty sad. They are better off investing in a vending machine. I totally understand due to certain circumstances they were not serving breakfast, but it should be removed from their website or should be noted somewhere to let guests know before booking. Overall I was disappointed.

Posted by on Aug 6, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 6, 2020 by Manager

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the housekeeping issues that you encountered during your stay in our hotel. Our housekeeping staff is held to a very high standard and we appreciate that you've informed us of a need to address housekeeping policies and procedures. We hope to someday see you again and completely transform your view of our service and hospitality.

4 out of 5
Maitenance person was excellent. Maid service not so good. Asked numerous times for towels and never received them. Had to dump our own trash cans that were in the room. Rooms were never checked during our stay.

Posted by on Mar 17, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

May 2, 2019 by Manager

Thank you for your valued and motivating feedback. Our team works hard to the best of our ability to ensure we satisfy your everyday needs and we are pleased to know we succeed in doing so. Please come again to see us soon!

2 out of 5
Shower not great a bit dirty. Ok for quick stay for one but would not go back

Posted by on Dec 15, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Convenient location to U D. Only complaint was that room was close to laundry, and there was some late night, early morning usage.

Posted by , from Mass on Nov 25, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
Everything was great till Sat, night when we returned to the room and found it had not had any maid service any way shape or form. beds not made, trash cans full, no towels or bathroom supplies,just like we left it Sat morning at 6;00 AM. Get a new maid for this floor.

Posted by , from High Point, NC on Jul 16, 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Aug 14, 2018 by Dhruv, J

Dear Robert, I apologized for the experience you had during your stay at Baymont Inn & Suites. We aim to provide all our guests a pleasant and comfortable stay. I am saddened to hear that we failed to achieve our goal during your stay. Rest assured, we have an excellent housekeeping team that is performing at highest capacities to avoid such instances. Regards,

2 out of 5

Smells

Open door of room and smelled like cigarette smoke and also a musty smell, starting getting a little colde turned on heat and another bad smell from the heater. Roof leaked in bathroom dripping onto to toilet seat which has my shorts on it and was dripped on and water and paint fragments accumullated. Staff was OK but did not feel it was worth telling them anything because i felt they could care less. Two very hotels next door next time i will stay there

Posted by on Sep 28, 2015

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Baymont by Wyndham Newark at University of Delaware

Location 630 S College Ave, Newark, DE 19713

Renovations + Closures

The following facilities or services will be unavailable from July 1 2021 to January 1 2022 (dates subject to change):

  • Dining venue(s)
  • Fitness facilities

Due to COVID-19, this property’s food and beverage options may be limited.

Property Features

A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. A 24-hour business center and a meeting room are available. A fitness center, tour/ticket assistance, and multilingual staff are also featured at the business-friendly Baymont by Wyndham Newark at University of Delaware. Limited free parking is available on a first-come, first-served basis. A complete renovation of Baymont by Wyndham Newark at University of Delaware was completed in January 2016. This Newark hotel is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 82 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • Built in 2000
  • Business center (24 hours)
  • 1 conference room
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Television in lobby
  • ATM
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site
  • Microwave in a common area
  • Refrigerator in a common area

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking , Free RV, bus, truck parking , Parking (limited spaces)

Transport

  • Train station: Newark Station (1.7 km / 1.1 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking and RV/bus/truck parking

Room Amenities

Baymont by Wyndham Newark at University of Delaware offers 82 accommodations, which are accessible via exterior corridors and feature coffee/tea makers and hair dryers. Each accommodation is individually furnished. Beds feature Egyptian cotton sheets and premium bedding. Televisions come with premium cable channels. Refrigerators and microwaves are provided. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and complimentary toiletries. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Egyptian cotton linens
  • Cribs (free)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Exterior corridor access
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Unique furnishings
  • Connecting rooms available

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include a fitness center.

Guests under 14 years old are not allowed in the fitness facility.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Rock climbing nearby
  • Mountain biking nearby
  • Hiking/biking trails nearby
  • Golfing nearby
  • Ziplining nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Wheelchair-accessible registration desk
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Roll-in shower
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Minimum check-in age is: 21

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 10.0 per night.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation

This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover; cash is not accepted

Noise-free guestrooms cannot be guaranteed

Safety features at this property include a carbon monoxide detector, a smoke detector, and window guards

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation. This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover. Cash is not accepted. Noise-free guestrooms cannot be guaranteed.

For guests' safety, the property includes a carbon monoxide detector, a smoke detector, and window guards in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; temperature checks are available to guests; guests are provided with hand sanitizer; masks are required in public areas for unvaccinated guests. Contactless check-in is available. Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast. This property affirms that it follows the cleaning and disinfection practices of Count on Us (Wyndham).

  • Noise-free rooms not guaranteed
  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Guest accommodation is not sealed after cleaning
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Masks are available to guests
  • Mobile key entry is not available
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Gloves are available to guests
  • Protective clothing is not available to guests
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Property does not follow sanitization practices of any association
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • Property follows a brand or regulatory agency's sanitization guidelines Count on Us (Wyndham)
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available
  • Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast
  • Masks are compulsory at the property for guests without full COVID-19 vaccination
  • No gap period between guest stays

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: USD 200.00 per stay

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Early check-in fee: USD 10.00 (subject to availability)
  • Late check-out fee: USD 10.00 (subject to availability)
  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 10.0 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Nuevo Inn
  • Nuevo Inn Newark
  • Nuevo Newark
  • Baymont Inn Newark University Delaware Hotel
  • Baymont Inn University Hotel
  • Baymont Inn Newark University Delaware
  • Baymont Inn University
  • Baymont Wyndham Newark University Delaware Hotel
  • Baymont Wyndham University Delaware Hotel
  • Baymont Wyndham Newark University Delaware
  • Baymont Wyndham University Delaware
  • Baymont Inn Suites Newark at University of Delaware
  • Baymont by Wyndham Newark at University of Delaware Hotel
  • Baymont by Wyndham Newark at University of Delaware Newark
  • Baymont by Wyndham Newark at University of Delaware Hotel Newark

You should know

  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
url importing http://www.travelocity.com/Newark-Hotels-Baymont-by-Wyndham-Newark-at-University-of-Delaware.h41973-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Newark-Hotels-Baymont-by-Wyndham-Newark-at-University-of-Delaware.h41973-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.travelocity.com/Newark-Hotels-Baymont-by-Wyndham-Newark-at-University-of-Delaware.h41973-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.