Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"Friendly staff and clean place. Could use closer parking but there's nothing they can do about that given the surrounding area " More

By a verified traveler on Thu 19 May 2022

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

3-star beachfront hotel near Virginia Beach Fishing Pier

On the beach

At this Northeast Virginia Beach hotel, you'll be well placed to visit Virginia Beach Boardwalk and Pacific Avenue, both within a 5-minute walk. Also, Virginia Beach Fishing Pier is within half a mile (1 km) and Rudee Inlet is within 2 miles (3 km).

Fun at the beach

This hotel features a restaurant, a seasonal outdoor pool, and a bar/lounge. Traveling on business? Take advantage of the 24-hour business center, free WiFi in public areas, and free valet parking. Free self parking, a computer station, and dry cleaning are also offered.

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, Oceanfront

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
$189* Per night/room Jun 28 - Jun 29

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Oceanfront

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, Balcony

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.4 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection

Everyone (15) Couples (8) Family (10)
5 out of 5
Friendly staff and clean place. Could use closer parking but there's nothing they can do about that given the surrounding area

Posted by on May 19, 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 16, 2022 by General Manager

Matthew, thank you for your lovely review of Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection. We are glad you were impressed with our outstanding hospitality and spotless accommodations. We strive to provide an exceptional stay to every guest every day, so we celebrate reviews like yours. It was our pleasure hosting you, and we hope we will be your hotel of choice every time you are in the area. We look forward to welcoming you again! Jessica Corley General Manager

5 out of 5

Posted by , from KENNESAW on Feb 7, 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
The location is convenient. It's an older hotel so some renovations are needed.

Posted by on Nov 3, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Nov 3, 2021 by General Manager

Renne, thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay at Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your time in our beautiful city, and we especially appreciate your comments regarding our location. we appreciate your suggestion regarding the update and have taken note of it. It was our pleasure having you as our guest, we wish you all the best with your travels. We look forward to welcoming you again! Stacie Dodson General Manager

3 out of 5
Beautiful view, easy to walk to everything.

Posted by , from Absecon on Oct 18, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 19, 2021 by General Manager

Kelliann, thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed our views, and our location was perfect for your needs. We hope to be your hotel of choice if another visit to our area is in your plans. We look forward to welcoming you again! Stacie Dodson General Manager

2 out of 5
I could write a book on this stay, but I’ll try to keep it brief. You have to park off-site and if you’re traveling alone and trekking your luggage back to the hotel it’s a pain. I cleaned my room with Lysol wipes (because COVID-19) and it was filthy. Once I was satisfied I found used empty lotion on my bed and called for a room change (which I’ve never done). They couldn’t move me until the next day. My second room had more light but will still just as filthy. The floor clearly hadn’t been vacuumed (bobby pins on floor), there was hair on the walls of the shower, change in the sink drain, a clean bathtub mat in full packaging just tossed in the tub for me to open. The balcony screen door was ripped and sitting outside was loud from the AC kicking on constantly. The bed was hard as a rock and so were the pillows. The couch was stained. They were out of do not disturb signs and told me they’d being a makeshift one (never did). I considered complaining but it was clearly a hotel problem, not a room problem at this point. The friendly staff is the only reason I didn’t mark this as the lowest possible rating. Do not stay here, I would not recommend to anyone.

Posted by , from Harrisonburg on Sep 17, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Sep 19, 2021 by General Manager

Carly, thank you for posting a review of your recent stay. We are sorry for the difficulties you experienced during your stay. We apologize for the cleanliness and maintenance issue you mentioned. Please be assured we will share your concerns with the appropriate team members so we can take corrective actions. We encourage you to try us again in the near future. We are confident you will enjoy the exceptional stay you deserve. We look forward to welcoming you again, Stacie Dodson General Manager

3 out of 5
While the location was beautiful-beach front, the area around the hotel on the street side was a little run down, the room it self had a stained couch and the AC unit sounded like a jet. We requested towels 3 did time and never received them, however our request for extra sheet to cover the stained couch and a replacement coffee maker was done quickly. I was a bit more hopeful for better service. While it’s a non smoking location we often smelt smoke and pot wafting from the other balconies. The hote for my taste is not what I believed we were getting. But the beach was stunning.

Posted by on Jul 18, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jul 19, 2021 by General Manager

Thanks for the feedback. We are happy you liked our location being close to the beach. However, we appreciate you sharing your concerns regarding our service. Our top priority is excellent service, and we are sorry for any lack of responsiveness to your needs. This will be addressed appropriately, and we are grateful for your patience. We hope you will return as we would welcome the opportunity to provide the service you deserve from us every visit. We look forward to welcoming you again, Stacie Dodson General Manager

3 out of 5

Posted by on Jun 11, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 22, 2021 by General Manager

thank you for being our guest. We are pleased if you enjoyed your stay overall; however, we do regret if we missed meeting some of your expectations. We apologize if we disappointed you, and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back for a perfect visit. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we wish you all the best. We look forward to welcoming you again! Stacie Dodson General Manager

1 out of 5
The worst stay ever my vehicle was stolen from there parking lot. An nothing was done by the hotel I’m so upset and I’m asking for my refunds and my lawyers will be In touch.

Posted by on May 23, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5

Posted by on May 22, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 3, 2021 by Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel

We are working to provide quality in both service and accommodations and are sorry your expectations were not met during your stay

5 out of 5

Posted by on May 20, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Jun 3, 2021 by Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel

Thank you! We hope to see you again soon!

About the Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection

Location 1101 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451

Renovations + Closures

The property is closed between November 1 and March 4.

Property Features

There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. There's an onsite 24-hour business center. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. A seasonal outdoor pool, tour/ticket assistance, and coffee/tea in a common area are also featured at the business-friendly Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection. Limited free parking is available on a first-come, first-served basis. This 3-star Virginia Beach hotel is smoke free.

  • 110 guestrooms or units
  • 8 levels
  • Beach lounge chairs
  • Umbrellas for the pool
  • Business center (24 hours)
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site
  • Bar or lounge
  • Dining venue

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Free cribs/infant beds

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi , Internet access (complimentary)

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking , Free valet parking , Parking (limited spaces)

Transport

  • Train station: Virginia Beach Station (1 km / 0.6 mi)
  • Parking: Free valet parking and self parking

Room Amenities

Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection offers 110 accommodations with safes and hair dryers. Rooms open to balconies. Televisions come with cable channels. Refrigerators and microwaves are provided. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations and complimentary toiletries. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones; free local calls are provided (restrictions may apply). Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and blackout drapes/curtains. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Private balcony
  • Television
  • Cable channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cribs (free)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Wheelchair accessible

Food & Drink

Calypso Bar and Grill - This beachfront restaurant serves lunch and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include a seasonal outdoor pool.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Water skiing nearby
  • Golfing nearby
  • Snorkeling nearby
  • Surfing/bodyboarding nearby
  • Windsurfing nearby
  • Ecotours nearby
  • Segway rental/tour nearby
  • Bicycle rentals on site
  • Golf lessons available nearby
  • Sailing nearby
  • Scuba diving nearby
  • Scooter/moped rentals nearby

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Wheelchair accessible parking
  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at anytime
  • Minimum check-in age is: 21

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for USD 25.0 per stay.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

This property accepts credit cards, debit cards, and cash

This property reserves the right to pre-authorize the guest's credit card prior to arrival.

Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property; the policies listed are provided by the property

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property is managed by a professional host. The provision of housing is linked to their trade, business, or profession. This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, debit cards, and cash. This property reserves the right to pre-authorize the guest's credit card prior to arrival. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property and commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays. Personal protective equipment, including masks and gloves, will be available to guests. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; temperature checks are available to guests; guests are provided with hand sanitizer; masks are required in public areas. Contactless check-in and contactless check-out are available. This property affirms that it follows the cleaning and disinfection practices of Commitment to Clean (Choice). This property affirms that it adheres to the cleaning and disinfection practices of COVID-19 Guidelines (CDC).

  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Property follows sanitization practices of COVID-19 Guidelines (CDC)
  • Credit card pre-authorization
  • Guest accommodation is not sealed after cleaning
  • Electrostatic spray is not used for disinfection
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Masks are compulsory at the property
  • Temperature checks are available to guests
  • Commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is available to guests
  • Masks are available to guests
  • Mobile key entry is not available
  • Gloves are available to guests
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitizer
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • Property follows a brand or regulatory agency's sanitization guidelines Commitment to Clean (Choice)
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually-wrapped food options are not available
  • Debit cards

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Rollaway bed fee: USD 25.0 per stay

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Grand Hotel Ocean
  • Grand Ocean
  • Grand Ocean Hotel
  • Grand Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach
  • Grand Ocean Virginia Beach
  • Hotel Grand Ocean
  • Ocean Grand Hotel
  • Atlantic Sands Oceanfront Virginia Beach
  • Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
  • Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
  • Surfbreak Oceanfront Virginia Beach
  • Surfbreak Oceanfront
  • Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
  • Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection Hotel
  • Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

You should know

  • The seasonal pool will open in May and close in October.
  • Pool access available from 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM.
url importing http://www.travelocity.com/Virginia-Beach-Hotels-Surfbreak-Oceanfront-Hotel,-Ascend-Hotel-Collection.h12727-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Virginia-Beach-Hotels-Surfbreak-Oceanfront-Hotel,-Ascend-Hotel-Collection.h12727-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.travelocity.com/Virginia-Beach-Hotels-Surfbreak-Oceanfront-Hotel,-Ascend-Hotel-Collection.h12727-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.