Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"Didn't expect to pay for a deposit. it was not very noticeable on the website. I won't be returning. " More

By a verified traveler on Sun 18 Apr 2021

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Enjoy the free WiFi at this Whittier hotel

In Whittier

You'll find Whittier College and Presbyterian Intercommunity Hospital within 3 miles (5 km) of this hotel. Biola College and Hsi Lai Temple are also within 6 miles (10 km).

Round-the-clock service

This hotel doesn't skimp on freebies - guests receive free WiFi and free self parking. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can provide around-the-clock assistance.

Free WiFi, refrigerators

Featuring conveniences like refrigerators and microwaves, the 49 guestrooms also offer free WiFi and LED TVs with cable channels. Other amenities include coffee/tea makers, free local calls, and hair dryers.

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Bathtub

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
$81* Per night/room Dec 5 - Dec 6

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible, Bathtub

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Vagabond Inn Whittier ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.5 out of 5 3.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 2.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Vagabond Inn Whittier

Everyone (5) Couples (2) Family (2)
2 out of 5
Clean room

Posted by on Aug 12, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Didn't expect to pay for a deposit. it was not very noticeable on the website. I won't be returning.

Posted by on Apr 18, 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5
You have to YELL through a bullet proof window, they charge an additional $150, lots of shady people handing out on balcony.. There were 2 remotes, but didn't work.. Could only watch one channel.. And the speaker on TV is broke, so couldn't even understand what was being said.. Neighbors were Smoking pot, so our room STUNK.. After 2hours had to call upstairs people and ask them to calm their kids down.. It was midnight & we had to work at 6..they obliged thank goodness.. At check out YOU HAVE TO MAKE SURE THEY RETURN YOUR DEPOSIT OR IT'LL BE HELD FOR OVER A WEEK.. We were going to stay at doubletree but since it was only an 8hr stay, we took the cheaper route.. Not going to do that again.. Oh. And we didn't feel safe.. Again.. Shady people hanging out in parking lot watching..

Posted by , from Az on Aug 12, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Posted by on Jul 29, 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Property is very well taken care of. The room was very clean.

Posted by on Dec 1, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
I didnt like that the guy was rude when we checked in. I was not told that i would have to leave a $100 deposit until after i paid for 2 rooms found out after rooms we're paid for through an email Ben the room we're not clean to my standard there was food on the floor the floors were dirty if you walked around in your socks they turn them black and her ironing board didn't even have an ironing board cover so I couldn't iron but the beds were comfortable that was a plus the continental breakfast was not much of a variety

Posted by on Nov 16, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Great stay. Great room. Those are the only comments

Posted by on Nov 15, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised how good the facilities were, Good location for me, big TV SONY TV, Frigerator with separate Freezer. Closet with enough hangers.

Posted by , from Lake Oswego, OR on Aug 6, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Posted by on Jul 25, 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5

DIRTY!!!

Pros: Not much
Cons: See above....management can give me a partial refund. It was that dirty.
Location: UNK
Had chosen this hotel based on star rating on Travelocity. I understood it was an older hotel BUT there is NO excuse for MOLD all over the grout at base of shower-tub wall. EEEWWWW. The carpet was sooo dirty it was almost CRISPY. The hair dryer did not work at all. The sheets and the bed appeared clean enough being totally white and all but only 3 small pillows for a KING size bed was also a bit odd. I would NOT return and I would NOT recommend unless you ask if rooms are cleaner and the carpets done recently. I still feel grubby. I did report this to the front desk and was given an OK response.

Posted by on Oct 3, 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

Oct 11, 2016 by General Manager

Dear Customer...I want to thank you for taking the time to post your review about your stay at our Hotel. I apologize for the problems that you had while you were here. We are in the process of upgraded to all tile floors and also we will be doing the bathrooms as well. Once again we apologize and we hope to see you again in the future

Property Features

Vagabond Inn Whittier offers its guests multilingual staff. WiFi is free in public spaces. Limited free parking is available on a first-come, first-served basis. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this Whittier hotel.

  • 49 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Free WiFi
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking , Parking (limited spaces)

Transport

  • Train station: Norwalk- Santa Fe Springs Station (8 km / 5 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Vagabond Inn Whittier offers 49 accommodations, which are accessible via exterior corridors and feature coffee/tea makers and hair dryers. 42-inch LED televisions come with cable channels. Refrigerators and microwaves are provided. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations and complimentary toiletries. This Whittier hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access, with a speed of 25+ Mbps. Business-friendly amenities include desks along with free local calls (restrictions may apply). Housekeeping is offered daily and irons/ironing boards can be requested.

  • LED television
  • Cable channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board available
  • Desk
  • Exterior corridor access
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom

Accessibility

If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

  • Wheelchair accessible (may have limitations)
  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 2:00 AM

Special check-in instructions:

This property doesn't offer after-hours check-in. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

This property doesn't offer after-hours check-in. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

This property is managed by a professional host; the provision of housing is linked to their trade, business, or profession, within the meaning of article 155 of the French Tax Code

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card may be required at check-in for incidental charges

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed

The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation

This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover; cash is not accepted

Please note that cultural norms and guest policies may differ by country and by property; the policies listed are provided by the property

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property is managed by a professional host. The provision of housing is linked to their trade, business, or profession, within the meaning of article 155 of the French Tax Code. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation. This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover. Cash is not accepted.

This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas. Contactless check-in and contactless check-out are available.

  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Staff wears personal protective equipment
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Protective clothing is not available to guests
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Property does not follow sanitization practices of any association
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cribs (infant beds) available
  • No elevators
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: USD 150.00 per stay

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property.

Optional extras

Hotel Names

  • Vagabond Inn Hotel Whittier
  • Vagabond Inn Whittier
  • The Vagabond Hotel Whittier
  • Vagabond Inn Whittier Hotel
  • Vagabond Inn Whittier Hotel
  • Vagabond Inn Whittier Whittier
  • Vagabond Inn Whittier Hotel Whittier
url importing http://www.travelocity.com/Los-Angeles-Hotels-Vagabond-Inn-Whittier.h41962-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Los-Angeles-Hotels-Vagabond-Inn-Whittier.h41962-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.travelocity.com/Los-Angeles-Hotels-Vagabond-Inn-Whittier.h41962-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.